iRobot Scooba experience

kimsim

Brother bakasa

You own a lot vacuum robot at home?
Did you have consider for naeto or picabot, navibot?
All you can try out. :)

I hope to get so much, but only no money leh~

tekster

u guys are really into vacuum cleaners... hahaha :s22:

yea, i'm not into household chores, but my wife is appreciative that at least i keep the floor clean from dust and grime although by some non-conventional method. so she's happy and i'm happy cause i can let these robots do the work. it's like these robots are cheaper than hiring a maid, but the functionality also limited la. heh...

i think the plus point is, you can let it do the cleaning when you are out. and i think this should be the way, to be out of the robot's way. heh....

Jubooo

Deirt Devil Kone, what a funny shape for a vacuum cleaner :s22: I thought it was some kind of air purifier initially. Can get a pylon salom on the road and vacuum liao.

Actually I got many customer whom hire maid and still get roomba. It's more like a daily maintainance and the maid will have more time for other chores. Taking care of the kids is already a headache for them.

I remember I had a customer at east coast road who buy 3 roomba and 2 scooba from me even though they had 2 maids. (the house super big sia, the living room alone can be my 5 room flat) The daughter was so impress by roomba that she said it looks like it can do a better job than the maids :s13:

thewiseone

Dont bother with the Samsung Navibot... its not worth the $$$ IMO. Its ceiling navigation is flawed... not a very smart bot. :s22:

Brother bakasa

bakasa2002

Brother bakasa

Eh, my 535 was adopted by a relative, 581 is main helper currently!
As for the scooba, my 340 has been giving me problems of wet floor, so thought of trying out the 230! :)

Mint is a interesting option but I have not had time to fully try it out yet. Not so keen on the Navibot and Neato, so didn't really pursue.
The robovacs were bought over a few years, so I didn't splash the cash, in case you were wondering. :)

bakasa2002

Deirt Devil Kone, what a funny shape for a vacuum cleaner :s22: I thought it was some kind of air purifier initially. Can get a pylon salom on the road and vacuum liao.

Actually I got many customer whom hire maid and still get roomba. It's more like a daily maintainance and the maid will have more time for other chores. Taking care of the kids is already a headache for them.

I remember I had a customer at east coast road who buy 3 roomba and 2 scooba from me even though they had 2 maids. (the house super big sia, the living room alone can be my 5 room flat) The daughter was so impress by roomba that she said it looks like it can do a better job than the maids :s13:

This one diff lah, rice mah, I think basically they should buy more from you! Like 3-4 in the living room and one for each room. Money is no object if the house is that big, then e 2 maids will be out of job! lolx!

bakasa2002

Dont bother with the Samsung Navibot... its not worth the $$$ IMO. Its ceiling navigation is flawed... not a very smart bot. :s22:

Based on what I have read so far, it's quite a dumb bot! lolx ...

Wiseone bro, do you prefer the Roomba or the Neato, since u owe both?

bakasa2002

Quick review of the first run in my small bathroom -

- Effective in cleaning hard to reach areas, that my 340 can't access previously
- Nimble and moves much faster compare to 340
- Definitely more quiet due to the lack of prep stage
- Bathroom titles and grout are clean thoroughly
- Active reservoir system is intelligent, but practical or not only time will tell.

Dislikes
- Batt life can be longer, only last about 40 mins.
- It got stuck once, possibly due to my bathroom layout.
- As FILL water door is part of the robot, I am quite worried about wetting the robot compare to conventional when you can keep it separate.

Video of the my Scooba 230 first run as promised -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOkneNobC8M

thewiseone

Looks really small and zippy, thanks for sharing the video! :)

Quick review of the first run in my small bathroom -

- Effective in cleaning hard to reach areas, that my 340 can't access previously
- Nimble and moves much faster compare to 340
- Definitely more quiet due to the lack of prep stage
- Bathroom titles and grout are clean thoroughly
- Active reservoir system is intelligent, but practical or not only time will tell.

Dislikes
- Batt life can be longer, only last about 40 mins.
- It got stuck once, possibly due to my bathroom layout.
- As FILL water door is part of the robot, I am quite worried about wetting the robot compare to conventional when you can keep it separate.

Jubooo

Actually they are smart too but the problem is our HDB ceiling had not much fixtures so imagine yourself navigating in a dessert.

Jubooo

This one diff lah, rice mah, I think basically they should buy more from you! Like 3-4 in the living room and one for each room. Money is no object if the house is that big, then e 2 maids will be out of job! lolx!

The 2 maids are mother & daughter. Good life, when the mum said schedule at 7am they said later wake them up lol.

Jubooo

Alamak, your bathroom needs to run twice or needs you to bring it down the step :s13:

From the video it seems to be scrubbing pretty hard on the floor. Can hear the scrubbing sound clearly or was it some other noise?

How dry is the floor as compared to the 340 when you first get it?

uno_bliss

The 2 maids are mother & daughter. Good life, when the mum said schedule at 7am they said later wake them up lol.
Few wks ago I delivered multiple robots to super big Serangoon Garden 4 storey house with PERSONAL POOL!!!

I had to teach the maid (very horrible english type). The master was uninterested to learn, busy watching TV ("America's Got Talent", not Bloomberg or CNBC).
The wife was onlooking, but she very quickly learnt how to use.

Imagine teaching limited-english speaking maid on how to maintain Roomba brush, latch & unlatch Scooba tank, remove/insert brush case, remove/insert battery. She struggled all the way with opening Scooba brush case, prying at all the wrong places (cold sweat...scared she break).

Had to test run each robot, set daily Schedules for each Roomba, survey 4 storeys for potential Roomba "traps", find strategic spots to set up Home Base & virtual walls. Beyond living room glass door is drop into adjoined swimming pool, so if cliff sensor fails, the Roomba will have to Scuba.

I left the home after 3 hrs, shack out!:s22:

bakasa2002

Looks really small and zippy, thanks for sharing the video! :)

No problem. One thing to note, if you stay in a humble HDB and has the recessed water draining square like mine, it's very like the scooba 230 will get stuck. Just had a 2nd run, and it got stuck ... :(

Glad to hear you like the Neato so much, I hope the next version, they can work on the looks department a bit and slim it down. hehehehe ...

bakasa2002

Alamak, your bathroom needs to run twice or needs you to bring it down the step :s13:

From the video it seems to be scrubbing pretty hard on the floor. Can hear the scrubbing sound clearly or was it some other noise?

How dry is the floor as compared to the 340 when you first get it?

Yeap, my bathroom is a problem, there's a step down, so need to run twice. :(
I don't think it scrub as hard as the 340, maybe becos it's moving too fast, so I had the perception. I think what you mentioned is the operating noise, it doesn't really get louder than that.

It uses comparatively less water too, so it's at least 50% dryer than my 340, before it was having problems.

bakasa2002

Few wks ago I delivered multiple robots to super big Serangoon Garden 4 storey house with PERSONAL POOL!!!

I had to teach the maid (very horrible english type). The master was uninterested to learn, busy watching TV ("America's Got Talent", not Bloomberg or CNBC).
The wife was onlooking, but she very quickly learnt how to use.

Imagine teaching limited-english speaking maid on how to maintain Roomba brush, latch & unlatch Scooba tank, remove/insert brush case, remove/insert battery. She struggled all the way with opening Scooba brush case, prying at all the wrong places (cold sweat...scared she break).

Had to test run each robot, set daily Schedules for each Roomba, survey 4 storeys for potential Roomba "traps", find strategic spots to set up Home Base & virtual walls. Beyond living room glass door is drop into adjoined swimming pool, so if cliff sensor fails, the Roomba will have to Scuba.

I left the home after 3 hrs, shack out!:s22:

Hmm ... Case in point, both you and bro juboo are making good $$$$. ;)

Jubooo

So when you starting on your mint? You can consider Neato, they got great CS support :s13: I am going US for about 4 months and if I can find time, maybe can enquire about Neato distributorship =:p lai lai, join me :s13:

bakasa2002

So when you starting on your mint? You can consider Neato, they got great CS support :s13: I am going US for about 4 months and if I can find time, maybe can enquire about Neato distributorship =:p lai lai, join me :s13:

Wah, 4 months can do Naeto, iRobot, Mint and lots leh ... lolx

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.