iRobot Scooba experience

kimsim

mine coming to 2 years still working great, only replaced battery

I clean the container and brush after every job, take out the base plate once every 3 - 6 months and then use vacuum to suck out all the stuck dirt

When you removed the sidebrush and Caster wheel and found lots of hairs stuck turning cycle whole piece of hairs stuck over, even the beater & bristle brush yellow bearings inside still need to clean up the hairs.

Sometime forgoted and fews mths later and taken out it few thing you really surprise of the hairs and dust, ha ha

kimsim

Agree! Just like an air-con and a car or a motorcycle, you still need to wash filter, do maintenence and if there is anything wrong with the set, replace parts before it goes fully bonkers!

Ya, r u right. Just keep well maintenance likes you care your pets, ha ha

AugzCooler

When you removed the sidebrush and Caster wheel and found lots of hairs stuck turning cycle whole piece of hairs stuck over, even the beater & bristle brush yellow bearings inside still need to clean up the hairs.

Sometime forgoted and fews mths later and taken out it few thing you really surprise of the hairs and dust, ha ha
lol. i remembered finding my curtain hooks in the container bin once. dunno how the roomba managed to "eat" them when I recalled leaving them on the table

uno_bliss

Roomba vs Neato

There's been a lot of debate on Roomba vs Neato. So here's my contribution. For those who read my posts, u'll know I only state facts.

Neato XV-11
- Laser scanning 8 cm above ground
- Closest wall following: 5 mm (1/4")
- Wheels: 2 rubber drive wheels & 4 plastic fixed-axis wheels (fixed-axis wheels will scratch floor as Neato turns)
- Sidebrush: NIL
- Uncleaned wall edge: 4.5 cm. See diagram: http://i1228.photobucket.com/albums/ee451/uno_bliss/Cornercleaning.gif
- Bristle brush: NIL
- Carpet resistance adjustment: NIL (not required since there's only beater brush)
- Volume: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9wZMzYW4J8
- No. of times each spot is cleaned: 1x, not supposed to miss any spot except for cases of curtain & slanted furniture legs (see below)
- Average time to clean 500 sq ft: 40 mins
- Barrier setup: Magnetic strip cut to desired length & laid across floor
NeatoXV11anatomy.jpg

iRobot Roomba 500 series
- Closest wall following: 5 mm (1/4") or less
- Wheels: 2 rubber drive wheels & 1 swiveling nylon wheel
- Sidebrush: Yes
- Uncleaned wall edge: NIL (swept by sidebrush)
- Bristle brush: Yes
- Carpet resistance adjustment: Yes (prevents motor overload as brushes comb carpet)
- Volume: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9wZMzYW4J8
Note: Roomba when new is quieter than hairdryer, but gets louder over time from wear & tear
- No. of times each spot is cleaned: Average 4x, may miss certain spots if area is large and full of obstacles
- Average time to clean 500 sq ft: 60-75 mins
- Barrier setup: Virtual Wall (max range 3 m)
Roomba560anatomy.jpg

Curtain
Neato laser scanner treat curtains as walls and steers around them, thus leaving edges below curtains completely untouched.

Slanted furniture legs
Many times, Neato enters into "More than meets the eye" traps, eg. a dining table with slanted legs. See photo: http://i1228.photobucket.com/albums/ee451/uno_bliss/DiningTable.jpg
Having planned that smooth entry is possible, Neato gets "surprised" when it starts knocking into obstacles that it didn't "see".
When it tries to reverse, the rear end rides up obstacles (eg. chair legs), and the whole robot is stuck in a 30 degree nose dive position & pause operation until user "rescues" it.
This is attributed by the square front which makes it necessary to reverse before it can negotiate corners.

Running both together
I ran both Roomba & Neato together and watched them do "courtship dance" when both collided, Roomba was trying to wall-follow around Neato, while Neato was trying to steer clear of Roomba's path. It's like "Come'on baby..." and "No, get away from me psycho!!!".
Anyway, when Neato was done & went back to dock, I also stopped Roomba. Roomba bin picked up a fair bit of debris, most probably from all the edges that Neato did not touch at all.

Non-US citizen point of view
iRobot Roomba 500 series was designed to simplify self-repair through modular units (eg. removable wheel module, etc.). If u encounter fault, iRobot will ship u the replacement module, u pay air freight to ship it to SG (eg. using Vpost).
Neato XV-11 is not designed for end-user to fiddle around. Doing so may void warranty, and if ur fiddling does no good, u can try ship whole unit to US & hope warranty is still intact. The laser may not spoil in 1 yr, but can it last 5 yrs? I know many Roomba users who've used 5 yrs.

acchien

Anyway, when Neato was done & went back to dock, I also stopped Roomba. Roomba bin picked up a fair bit of debris, most probably from all the edges that Neato did not touch at all.

Well when Roomba is going about its blind bounce around the house, it will be going across areas where Neato have not reached yet. So no surprises here.

I have both Neato (since last year) and Roomba 530 and here's my views
1. Neato cleans my entire five-room HDB unsupervised in the time Roomba partially cleans my living room (less than an hour), without any need to set up battery-operated barriers or using the magnetic strip
2. Roomba with new battery needs more than one charge to get the job done by Neato in a single charge
3. Roomba is relatively quiet
4. Neato is much noiser
5. Neato's suction is much much stronger (i.e. a true vacuum) while Roomba's bristle does most of its cleaning
6. After Neato does its job, emptying Neato's bin is non-messy, quick and the only thing you need to do.
7. After Roomba does its job, cleaning out Roomba's backside where the dust chamber is located inevitably leads to some spilled dust. Lots of hair (espy long hair) needs to be periodically removed from the bearings and bristle brush
8. If Roomba go crazy there's local (uno) tech support but none for Neato
9. My roomba crashes full speed into dark coloured furniture with a loud thump! while Neato avoids them
10. Roomba versus Neato Amazon.com customer satisfaction survey
http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=14944

Regardless, they both do a much better job in getting the floor clean than a human (or me at least) can! :)

sgbikee80

can anyone enlightened me on the different btw auto virtual wall and slim virtual wall?

does both of them auto turn on when roomba 560 is near them?

uno_bliss

Well when Roomba is going about its blind bounce around the house, it will be going across areas where Neato have not reached yet. So no surprises here.
Hehe... i knew readers would say that, actually i ran Neato on day 1, then i ran both robots together on day 2. So if Neato had thoroughly cleaned on day 1, there should be nothing left for day 2.
After i posted, i realised i didn't specify this but didn't bother to edit unless got people point out, which u did.

There are 2 places that Neato did not go in at all, one is between my desk and sliding glass door with curtain: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6011/5957957694_cfb66172f7_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6011/5957957694_3443ea5486_b.jpg
The gap is well enough for Roomba or Neato to squeeze in with a 3" allowance: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6128/5957957718_7697559d44_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6128/5957957718_71cae4dab0_b.jpg
Roomba right up against left side: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6006/5957957710_3710b8d449_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6006/5957957710_d36784abc8_b.jpg
Neato right up against left side: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6010/5957957712_5530d96a7c_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6010/5957957712_73f642d589_b.jpg

Roomba will squeeze in during wall-following cos it's not stopped by curtain.
Neato scanned the curtain and determined it's only 9" & not possible to squeeze in: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6136/5957957702_d83945deee_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6136/5957957702_0af05cab6d_b.jpg

There's a similar tight spot in family hall where a cane arm chair is near wall with curtain. Same story for Neato, it didn't go in at all.
Not to mention all the 4.5 cm wall edge that Neato left untouched, that's why Roomba still picked up dust & debris.

US people favour Neato cos they have huge houses which Roomba can't cover within one charge, that's where Neato's resume after charge comes in. And also, with lotsa pets & carpet, regular combing of Roomba bristle brush becomes a chore (the Aerovac bin came to the rescue). Neato doesn't have bristle brush, only a rubber beater brush & heavy reliance on vacuum suction to lift debris out of carpet.
Omitting bristle brush is a clever way to "siam" the problem, for those who have used or seen Philips/Karcher/Swivel Sweeper, hair also gets coiled around and a mini cutting tool is included for user to remove coiled hair.

abgNERD

Hi guys saw this guy having a samsung or Korean robot vacuum - navibot. How does that compare to irobot or the laser one?

uno_bliss

There are 2 places that Neato did not go in at all, one is between my desk and sliding glass door with curtain: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6011/5957957694_cfb66172f7_b.jpg
The gap is well enough for Roomba or Neato to squeeze in with a 3" allowance: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6128/5957957718_7697559d44_b.jpg
Roomba right up against left side: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6006/5957957710_3710b8d449_b.jpg
Neato right up against left side: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6010/5957957712_5530d96a7c_b.jpg

Roomba will squeeze in during wall-following cos it's not stopped by curtain.
Neato scanned the curtain and determined it's only 9" & not possible to squeeze in: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6136/5957957702_d83945deee_b.jpg
Video of Roomba squeezing in & cleaning below curtain: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S0eO1fpJ7PM
Video of Neato avoiding curtain & did not squeeze in at all: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlrlV9iS50M

kimsim

can anyone enlightened me on the different btw auto virtual wall and slim virtual wall?

does both of them auto turn on when roomba 560 is near them?

From both of virtual wall diff :

Auto virtual wall when you switch on the power, can left up to 6-months, until battery died. everytime when roomba is on schedule mission or pressing clean button for doing cleaning job it does auto works, not need switch on everytime.

Slim virtual wall once your roomba is doing cleaning job, you may switch on power,
For that power only can last up to 190mins. And auto turn off power.

e5c93c54.jpg

Thanks

uno_bliss

Auto virtual wall... can left up to 6-months, until battery died.

Slim virtual wall... can last up to 190mins. And auto turn off power.
Just to clarify for Kimsim:
- Auto Virtual Wall will only last 6 mths with Alkaline C-size batteries. I personally used Low-self discharge rechargeable AA 2000mAh in C-size adaptor, but I've also never keep track how long it lasted. If using C-size non-alkaline, I guess-timate 3 mths.
- Compact Virtual Wall will stay on 135 mins then auto-off (as stated in manual, see Kimsim's extracted page).

Libbis

Scooba 350

Hi, I ve been thinking of getting robots cleaners. But got delima hopefully you seniors can help enlighten.

Initially, I dun understand y some can get 2/3 or more robots. As search more, more I can understand why -> each robots has its own benefits and 'talent' - so some buy vacumm + washer.

Now, I feel washer is more appropriate for my use(light dirt where washing+vacum suits well. 7yrs on and I stil using a reliable Vax wet+dry vacumm cleaner). I feel the expense shud be alright if scooba can works reliably for 3/4 years.

Ques:
1. Anyone using scooba 350 or (yr model) can help me know the lifespan of a scooba -presumbly 2 runs/week of 105sqMeter ?

2. So far anyone got problem out of the box ? Reliability ? Becos forummers complain problems on these washer (roomba I am very confident though)

3. At 1st I wantogo for a new set, but reviews on problems puts me back. Now I am thinking of re-manufactured set (throw away cost).
Again. the comment on Amazon, remanufacture scooba is quite -ve too with out the box issue. I am worry this is really! -> throw away.

Guys, wat is yr queue ? Another combi I comtemplate: Roomba 560 + Mint floor cleaner.

uno_bliss

Hi, I ve been thinking of getting robots cleaners. But got delima hopefully you seniors can help enlighten.

Initially, I dun understand y some can get 2/3 or more robots. As search more, more I can understand why -> each robots has its own benefits and 'talent' - so some buy vacumm + washer.

Now, I feel washer is more appropriate for my use(light dirt where washing+vacum suits well. 7yrs on and I stil using a reliable Vax wet+dry vacumm cleaner). I feel the expense shud be alright if scooba can works reliably for 3/4 years.

Ques:
1. Anyone using scooba 350 or (yr model) can help me know the lifespan of a scooba -presumbly 2 runs/week of 105sqMeter ?

2. So far anyone got problem out of the box ? Reliability ? Becos forummers complain problems on these washer (roomba I am very confident though)

3. At 1st I want to go for a new set, but reviews on problems puts me back. Now I am thinking of re-manufactured set (throw away cost).
Again. the comment on Amazon, remanufacture scooba is quite -ve too with out the box issue. I am worry this is really! -> throw away.

Guys, wat is yr queue ? Another combi I contemplate: Roomba 560 + Mint floor cleaner.
For ur 105 sq m (1130 sq ft), u'll need Scooba 380 (the 850 sq ft model). There's bound to be some areas that u hardly use Scooba, eg. storeroom, balcony, and less off all the built-in cabinets. So Scooba 380 will work fine.

Remanufactured Roomba & Scooba will always come with old stock batteries. I've sold lotsa Remanufactured Scooba and now have ~5 rejected batteries which I replaced for customers at my own cost.
These batteries were made in 2007 & 2008, some delivered only 20 mins initially & progressively delivered 40 mins after many many charging cycles. But still not delivering the 60 to 100 mins they were rated for.

So my vast experience with Remanufactured Scooba is that the machine is usually almost new, but the battery it comes with can be lemon. Even if all goes well, it'll not cover 850 sq ft, cos the battery iRobot bundles in will either be 2008 low capacity 60 mins battery, or old stock 2006/7 high capacity 100 mins battery but can only deliver ~60 mins.

Mint? U should ask Bakasa, I think he's shelving (or shelved) his Mint. Mint is an automated floor wiper, NOT a wet washing machine like Scooba. Have u used Magiclean broom with wet microfibre paper, it's basically that, except automated.
Try this test, drip dark soya sauce on ur kitchen tiles, now use Magiclean broom with wet microfibre paper, u'll be spreading the deliciousness all over for ants to find paradise. Now imagine the soya sauce is someone's mucus. Anyway, the wet paper will dry up after using on a small area, at which u're suppose to change or rinse the it.
This "mopping" is the same misleading marketing by Korean's iClebo.

Now iRobot Scooba is at a level way above all other "mopping" robots. Scooba sprays thin layer of clean water, scrubs the floor using high speed spinning brush (just like motorised toothbrush & car wax buffer), and sucks up the dirty water immediately. With just tap water, u get shiny floor that produces squeaking sound when u gently run ur fingers over. It's ridiculously clean, 98% germ-free as stated by iRobot.
Mint & iClebo, knocked out in one punch (Bakasa, just stating facts, u made good choice...:D).

Anyway, u can visit my eBay iRobot store: http://shop.ebay.com.sg/uno_bliss/m.html
I know iRobot inside-out, and I don't give warranty that I've no confidence of honouring. Queries just email me unobliss@yahoo.com
I've sent u a HWZ PM, pls check inbox.

Libbis

Thks Uno, good point storeroom seldom cleans ends up smaller sq area!

The mucus example urrghhh....

how long can the scooba 'lives' 350 or 5800/5900? what are the normal problems ppl encounter ?

When the battery needs replacement, wat is the price of battery ?

knightskid

Few days back I bought Envizyme floor cleaner $6.8 from NTUC.
Wrote a bit about it here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=56335409&postcount=8096

Envizyme.jpg

It's clear & non-viscous, contrary to what I expected from concentrated detergent (eg. Mama Lemon).

I used ~10 ml for full Scooba tank, after using, floor isn't super smooth like what I get from Kiwi Kleen (milky light blue Super Active).
There's no foam on the floor, but got big bubbles (10 cts size) when I empty dirty tank. Maybe I put too much since the exact dilution factor should be 3 ml to 1 L water. So far only used on my parquet floor & toilet, yet to try in oily kitchen.

Then next day I used Kiwi Kleen on same floor, the Kiwi Kleen was still noticeably greyish after use. So... either Envizyme can't dissolve as much dirt compared to "non-organic" detergent, or my floor is simply too dirty (cos I never Scooba >2 wks liao).

Hi, am wondering can I use this product for my scooba 380? :s22:http://www.melaleuca.com/ProductStore/Product.aspx?sku=1235&cm_re=201107-_-ps_cl_3-_-1235

uno_bliss

Thks Uno, good point storeroom seldom cleans ends up smaller sq area!

The mucus example urrghhh....

how long can the scooba 'lives' 350 or 5800/5900? what are the normal problems ppl encounter ?

When the battery needs replacement, wat is the price of battery ?
Ok, mucus too gross, maybe I just say dog drool & baby snot. Better?:D

Purely objective & based on real-life experience, Scooba can fail in various ways in as early as few mths, sometimes from rough handling (ie. breakage), usually from poor maintenance & occasionally from manufacturing defects. I fix all sorts of problems, including battery pre-mature failure.

Battery got original & non-original, price range ~S$100.

Libbis

Ok, mucus too gross, maybe I just say dog drool & baby snot. Better?:D

Purely objective & based on real-life experience, Scooba can fail in various ways in as early as few mths, sometimes from rough handling (ie. breakage), usually from poor maintenance & occasionally from manufacturing defects. I fix all sorts of problems, including battery pre-mature failure.

Battery got original & non-original, price range ~S$100.
mmm....thinking now .... what combi is best for me. Someone just posted the enyzme, now the enzyme can be use on the old scooba(scooby) as well as the new scooba 230 (scrappy).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.