iRobot Scooba experience

Hyphos

Hi, I am interested in getting an iRobot for my mom. Since this is my first purchase, I would just like to try out Roomba first before deciding to invest in Scooba. I would just like to ask, other than scheduling, what are the differences between 530 and 560? 530 is much cheaper than 560 so I'm probably getting that unless there is a very good reason not to. My house is a normal 100 sqm HDB btw.

Vachel Chan

Hi, I am interested in getting an iRobot for my mom. Since this is my first purchase, I would just like to try out Roomba first before deciding to invest in Scooba. I would just like to ask, other than scheduling, what are the differences between 530 and 560? 530 is much cheaper than 560 so I'm probably getting that unless there is a very good reason not to. My house is a normal 100 sqft HDB btw.

The Roomba 530 is a non-scheduling robot vacuum, while the roomba 560 can be scheduled to clean at your desired time daily. Another difference is that the roomba 530 is milky white in colour and it does turn yellowish and appear dirtier after months of usage. the rest of the specifications are similar. I believe your HDB is abt 100sqm (1100sqft) the roomba can cover around 3-4 rooms in a single cycle, cleaning your home shouldn't be a problem. You may want to consider the Neato XV-11 too, some ppl consider it to be a smarter and more powerful robot.

Hyphos

The Roomba 530 is a non-scheduling robot vacuum, while the roomba 560 can be scheduled to clean at your desired time daily. Another difference is that the roomba 530 is milky white in colour and it does turn yellowish and appear dirtier after months of usage. the rest of the specifications are similar. I believe your HDB is abt 100sqm (1100sqft) the roomba can cover around 3-4 rooms in a single cycle, cleaning your home shouldn't be a problem. You may want to consider the Neato XV-11 too, some ppl consider it to be a smarter and more powerful robot.
Oops sorry ya should be 100 sqm and not sqft. Anyway, are there any issues in buying remanufactured sets? Thanks.

uno_bliss

Oops sorry ya should be 100 sqm and not sqft. Anyway, are there any issues in buying remanufactured sets? Thanks.
I've already made 4 posts regarding Neato few days ago, u can read my posts and decide. Smarter yes... mainly cos it's got laser scanner. Cleaner, confirmed not since wall edges are left untouched.

I've sold many many remanufactured Roomba's and they're like new. The included rechargeable battery will be new but older stock.

Pls visit my eBay iRobot store: http://shop.ebay.com.sg/uno_bliss/m.html
Queries just PM me or email unobliss@yahoo.com

Vachel Chan

Remanufactured sets are pretty much the same thing, but however the face plate for the New Remanufactured Roomba 560 is a duller colour compared to the brand new set (matt silver), both the roomba 560 new and R models are 2011 made and with version 7 software. If you are able to find a good warranty on the remanufactured set, i don't see a problem in it. The battery may be of a older 2200mah capacity for some R sets as compared to the 3000mah capacity ones in the new set. But of course, you can always try to request for the yellow 3000mah batteries from the seller.

mkaung2000

Hi, I am interested in getting an iRobot for my mom. Since this is my first purchase, I would just like to try out Roomba first before deciding to invest in Scooba. I would just like to ask, other than scheduling, what are the differences between 530 and 560? 530 is much cheaper than 560 so I'm probably getting that unless there is a very good reason not to. My house is a normal 100 sqm HDB btw.
530 is good if you don't need scheduling. The rest of specs are same as 560, only diffferent is color.
I thought it's more cute in white color. =:p
Get 530 with high capacity battery. More than enough to cover your 100 sqft HDB.:s7:

bakasa2002

Scheduling is a gd to have, if price diff is too big .... ;)

Btw, how much does price diff for 530 and 560 nowadays ah? ;[

kimsim

Scheduling is a gd to have, if price diff is too big .... ;)

Btw, how much does price diff for 530 and 560 nowadays ah? ;[

Yesterday I done my 531 to schedule and changed on 561 PCB and keypad + black faceplate.
Cost is around $150+/- sure you can have it.

The looks is quite special white body with black top.

If buy new better go for 531 remanufactured unit it is cheaper and still work great.
No point to buy brand new, the diff. Only $50-80 can buy 561 with scheduling. :)

uno_bliss

Neato rattling noise

Yesterday night i'm first run on my Neato is really can't accept the vacuum noise, since like aircraft starting on the engine.
neato need some time to start up one meh? sounds like airplane taking off. hahaha...
Kimsim & Tekster, the Neato noise is mainly from the rubber beater brush. The high power vacuum fan is loud but it should maybe sound like hair dryer set on high power.

I dismantled the Neato beater brush, it's a weighted brush means it's heavy, probably for "gyroscopic stability", ie. it SHOULD spin in a fix-axis due to inertia. By right, such design should make it rattle less.

Analogy: I got a IKEA drink blender: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31aVtHLS3-L._SS500_.jpg
When battery is weak, it doesn't spin in fix-axis & will vibrate.
When battery is strong, it spins in fix-axis without vibration.

So why would Neato brush make the "Army tank-like" rattling noise? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9wZMzYW4J8
(Now we know why Neato was made Army dark green colour).
Ans: cos the brush head doesn't have height adjustment (unlike Roomba Cleaning Head), so it's literally slapping the floor with every turn (floor cries: "paining...:sad:").
Analogy: Try using those battery operated handheld fan with soft blade, and use ur hand to JUST touch the blade, u'll get rattling noise: http://s6.thisnext.com/media/largest_dimension/CDA8C74A.jpg

I inspected Neato brush bearings on both ends, it's very similar to Roomba brush bearing design. If I can somehow raise the beater brush slightly higher above ground level, I probably can reduce the slapping effect.
Better yet, if I can DIY a bristle brush version for Neato, then rattling noise will be greatly minimized/eliminated.

kimsim

I inspected Neato brush bearings on both ends, it's very similar to Roomba brush bearing design. If I can somehow raise the beater brush slightly higher above ground level, I probably can reduce the slapping effect.
Better yet, if I can DIY a bristle brush version for Neato, then rattling noise will be greatly minimized/eliminated.

This morning I have wrote in robotreviews,
They asking about bristle brush on Neato,
Cause Neato can't piking up as much pet fur.
But after mod it into bristle brush will be scratches on floor?
It is using timing belt same like car engine, very high RPM to turning the beater brush.
Cause on bristle brush more harder.

One more thing when I watch Neato cleaning job, like a STARCRAF inside the helping getting mineral to built-in construction material :)
When truning back from the rear body suddenly jamp up and some time emergency stop.

Ha ha a bit funny lah.

uno_bliss

This morning I have wrote in robotreviews,
They asking about bristle brush on Neato,
Cause Neato can't piking up as much pet fur.
But after mod it into bristle brush will be scratches on floor?
It is using timing belt same like car engine, very high RPM to turning the beater brush.

Cause on bristle brush more harder.
Kimsim, can put ur Robotreviews post URL here? I lazy to find lah...

Why would u say "Cause on bristle brush more harder"?
Roomba bristle brush isn't hard, so unless use milk bottle scrubber to make bristle brush, else won't scratch floor.

I can assure u Neato beater brush cannot remove as much pet fur from carpet vs Roomba.
Roomba bristle brush is like a high speed comb, which combs carpet.
I once demo Roomba at customer's place with carpet & dog fur, customer say can't even vacuum out the fur using big vacuum. But when Roomba went over carpet, 70% of fur came out in one pass.

I wrote about counter-rotating brushes here:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=48347422&postcount=6978
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=48370460&postcount=6981

And Jubooo also wrote about drawbacks of just a beater brush here:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=50175590&postcount=7329
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=50239955&postcount=7344

uno_bliss

Just the link :

http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=15023

Actually on Roomba CHM will self adjusted, but on Neato won't self adjust, just like a wheel to touching on floor.

Thanks
Thanks for the link Kimsim, I don't have carpet nor pet, so my preference for bristle brush is purely from scientific point of view.

Carpet + Pet fur
I've owned Neato for ~1 wk, and have not brought to anyone's house to test on fur-filled carpet. I'm amazed how many people on Robotreviews affirm my theory that beater brush + high power vacuum simply can't remove fur deeply embedded on carpet.

I won't even say Roomba + Aerovac bin will make bristle brush 100% fur-free when used on carpet with pet fur, there's still a bit of fur on bristle brush that user can easily remove using included Brush Cleaning Tool (the round comb).

Designed to "siam"
As I've stated right at bottom of my post here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57874674&postcount=8331
Neato "siam" the issues that Roomba face with bristle brush & sidebrush getting long hair coiled round & round.
Neato's lack of height-adjusting Cleaning Head is probably to keep design simply & cost effective.

Ideal Vacuum Robot
So, from "ideal world" point of view, iRobot (the super big company) should buy over Neato (the new budding company), and incorporate laser scanning SLAM, yet still retain the UFO round profile with sidebrush, counter-rotating brushes & CHM design + the high power vacuum in Aerovac bin.
Call it Roomba T-2000 series (better than Terminator), price it at US$2000. It'll be the premium ultimate elite machine that everyone can save for half-a-lifetime to get, just like a Ferrari.

It'll be like:
Joneses: "Yo Bill, check out my new T-2000."
Bill: Gasp! "U've got T-2000, no way!!! I'll never be able to keep up with u, I've got all these bills."

uno_bliss

One more thing when I watch Neato cleaning job, like a STARCRAF inside the helping getting mineral to built-in construction material :)
When truning back from the rear body suddenly jamp up and some time emergency stop.
I believe u're referring to "the whole robot is stuck in a 30 degree nose dive position & pause operation until user rescues it" which I wrote in 3rd last paragraph here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57852200&postcount=8328

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6135/5972958935_acb6bc219d_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6135/5972958935_9742172da4_b.jpg
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6022/5972958985_d37dcf27e8_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6022/5972958985_7072981250_b.jpg
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6147/5972959089_4ca308b881_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6147/5972959089_fc8cba09a0_b.jpg
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6127/5972959177_69e547ca18_b.jpg
23/9/2011 updated dead link: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6127/5972959177_ebb7bf6739_b.jpg

Jubooo

I believe u're referring to "the whole robot is stuck in a 30 degree nose dive position & pause operation until user rescues it" which I wrote in 3rd last paragraph here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57852200&postcount=8328

Actually the robot will simply raise itself up and suddendenly slam itself down on the floor. This is one on the reason why the holder for the spring in the wheel breaks so easily.

For some reasons, neato will also lost it's way sometime when searching for it's base and it will simply mount onto the wall, park there with it's nose up humping on the wall and play it's happy tune saying it's charging. By humping onto the wall??? That's hilarious :s13:

Anyone with RPS error can come to me. I can fixed it.

uno_bliss

Actually the robot will simply raise itself up and suddendenly slam itself down on the floor. This is one on the reason why the holder for the spring in the wheel breaks so easily.

For some reasons, neato will also lost it's way sometime when searching for it's base and it will simply mount onto the wall, park there with it's nose up humping on the wall and play it's happy tune saying it's charging. By humping onto the wall??? That's hilarious :s13:

Anyone with RPS error can come to me. I can fixed it.
Phew, I've yet to watch Neato hump the wall & play happy tune... I don't wanna watch anything above PG13.:s47:

I've only had Neato since 18th July 2011, so far it reverse mounted furniture legs 3 times with tail up & bumper down: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6147/5972959089_4ca308b881_b.jpg
Mine is just a normal chair with legs spacing wide enough for it to move around: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6135/5972958935_acb6bc219d_b.jpg
It also reverse mounted my IKEA table (55 x 55 cm): http://www.sgdeals.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/Ikea.jpg

To date, it stalled about 5 times with "stuck bumper", and when I "came to the rescue", all I did was tap the bumper & it resumed, so what's this??? "Chao Keng & needed a 5 min time-out?"
Once I witnessed the process, it kept hitting my door stopper which was below it's laser "eye-level", and it kept trying & trying the exact same route & finally says "clear my path". I thought it was designed to navigate based on things it can "see" as well as things it bumps into. Yet it kept bumping into my door stopper like that's the ONLY way to go.

I've yet to identify what sort of situations can trigger its confusion, but my observations so far is when there's more closely spaced large furniture (eg. sofa). It treats each gap between large furniture like a doorway, and sometimes postpone cleaning til after it has cleaned other rooms. Perhaps this piecing multiple rooms "jigsaw puzzle" eats up the memory & it can't find back the necessary jigsaw piece to navigate back to home/start point.

All in all, the navigating back to start point is very cool when it goes smoothly. Maybe if I draw a yellow box, it really will return to the box. I'm not yet that obsessed to do such experiment.

I've also observed that the Docking Base is cleverly designed with a large black surface, probably to do something special to the laser when it reflects. My guess is that it'll totally absorb the laser, so the Neato can "see" this "Black Hole" which doesn't reflect light and walk towards it when docking.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.