iRobot Scooba experience

uno_bliss

Hi, I got few pieces of old yellow ASP made from 2007 product. Do you can repair it?
But the battery life can be last longer after repair it?

Lucky I didn't throw to bin. ha ha
I can repair when battery was working fine (eg. run >60 mins), then later got problem (run less than 15 mins) after never use for say 3 mths. But as u wrote, if used regularly (5 times/wk) for >1 yr, then unlikely can perform miracle.

How long repaired battery can run & how much lifespan left will depend on its history before spoilt.
Tekster's battery was a APS battery from Remanufactured unit, but old 2007 stock, so had bad cells and ran only 30 mins. I replaced 2 bad cells, and the whole battery came back to life & ran >100 mins. That was in Oct 2010, and running fine until now.

iMbEst

gotta thank uno_bliss for making the deal damn quick and smooth... but too bad my Roomba 550 (thought it's a 580) is suffering from Err3..... argh... damn far to travel all the way there for repair again....

Any other possible way for me to get over it fast?

Jubooo

Yah, I do charger mod service, I believe Jubooo is still providing such service as well.

Yes I am still doing it but for some reason it is a little inconvenient to do. I just recommended a few customer to you. You should be expecting some emails for a roomba with clunking sound and scooba charger mod. Should be an easy fix.

bakasa2002

Yes I am still doing it but for some reason it is a little inconvenient to do. I just recommended a few customer to you. You should be expecting some emails for a roomba with clunking sound and scooba charger mod. Should be an easy fix.

Simi reason? Is it the same one that I knew about? :p

uno_bliss

gotta thank uno_bliss for making the deal damn quick and smooth... but too bad my Roomba 550 (thought it's a 580) is suffering from Err3..... argh... damn far to travel all the way there for repair again....

Any other possible way for me to get over it fast?
I shall allow other people to comment on this Err3. Since I've got so many competitors that all claim to give warranty, some for only $1 more, some for 8% of purchase price. I applaud the "actuarial science" to come up with the figure 8%.

Call it arrogance, but real repair skills is different from "Insurance Style" warranty like what Harvey Norman & Courts are offering for 5 yr extended warranty.

iMbEst

haha, it depends what people wants. Some prefer it to be repaired, some simply just want a replacement..... Consumers are nowadays being over-spoiled.....

But well, I also practice that for those who offered "insurance based" protection. That's how I get to change TV once every few years without incurring much cost except the very first onez....hehe

Vachel Chan

I shall allow other people to comment on this Err3. Since I've got so many competitors that all claim to give warranty, some for only $1 more, some for 8% of purchase price. I applaud the "actuarial science" to come up with the figure 8%.

Call it arrogance, but real repair skills is different from "Insurance Style" warranty like what Harvey Norman & Courts are offering for 5 yr extended warranty.

if Err 3 for Roomba occuring during charging, can simply try to reset the battery to fix it. if it persist you might want to take out the battery and check on the connection.
We have done repairs on most errors for the iRobot Roomba and Scooba, even repairs for the Neato Xv-11 (Critical Batt Error, Replacing of Lidar sensors, etc)
I really feel you shouldn't undermine other competitiors as some have full time professional technicians and dedicated workshops. Anyway, we have done repairs for some senior forum members too and they can attest to our skill and works. By not posting all our repairs works on forums does not mean we do not do good repairs. At AutovacStore, if in any case of rarity that we cannot repair our sets which are under warranty, we would simply replace the set with a brand new set for our customers. You can have our assurance. Cheers!!

tekster

if Err 3 for Roomba occuring during charging, can simply try to reset the battery to fix it. if it persist you might want to take out the battery and check on the connection.
We have done repairs on most errors for the iRobot PoRoomba and Scooba, even repairs for the Neato Xv-11 (Critical Batt Error, Replacing of Lidar sensors, etc)
I really feel you shouldn't undermine other competitiors as some have full time professional technicians and dedicated workshops. Anyway, we have done repairs for some senior forum members too and they can attest to our skill and works. By not posting all our repairs works on forums does not mean we do not do good repairs. At AutovacStore, if in any case of rarity that we cannot repair our sets which are under warranty, we would simply replace the set with a brand new set for our customers. You can have our assurance. Cheers!!

So who are they?

iMbEst

ok ok, so how now? can help me on the Err3 charging issue?

I reset battery by taking out and putting back, in between got the dunno what press 5 seconds thingy, doesn't help at all lor....

kimsim

I reset battery by taking out and putting back, in between got the dunno what press 5 seconds thingy, doesn't help at all lor....

Err3 should be charger failure.
Pls change your charger.

uno_bliss

Err3 should be charger failure.
Pls change your charger.
!!! Error 5 is charger failure. Kimsim, don't sabo me leh. Check ur manual.

The charger I passed iMBest is tested >1 wk & working fine.
The battery iMBest is trying to charge is brand new original from Jan 2011 batch. So not battery problem.

kimsim

!!! Error 5 is charger failure. Kimsim, don't sabo me leh. Check ur manual.

The charger I passed iMBest is tested >1 wk & working fine.
The battery iMBest is trying to charge is brand new original from Jan 2011 batch. So not battery problem.

Oops like that have to bring whole robot for repair, cause everything should be ok, just worry about PCB error.
Does not work properly.

uno_bliss

Yup, u're right. The moment u took out the old battery & insert new one, u already reset. Whether or not u press the 10 sec thing no longer matters.
U may even briefly seem to be able to charge, but later u off & on charger, u get Err 3 again. I've repaired Err 3 more than 5 times, all those customer tried the reset & didn't work.

As for repairing for HWZ forum users, I've got a list of 23 user IDs of which 6 are regulars here. Another 20 HWZ forum users for non-repair related matters.
Talk is cheap, respect is given when it's due, but I can smell BS from far away.

tekster

i don't think can just reset lo. probably need to take it apart. if can hor, i also wun bother bringing my roomba to uno_bliss for doctor checkup liao.

really ish bo bian one.

he even repaired my scooba tank. real neat!

kimsim

i don't think can just reset lo. probably need to take it apart. if can hor, i also wun bother bringing my roomba to uno_bliss for doctor checkup liao.

really ish bo bian one.

he even repaired my scooba tank. real neat!

Same like human never see doctor and won't recover that fast :)

Vachel Chan

Actually did the error occur immediately after you got the set, on the first time you began charging it? Didin't you test the set and its apparel like the charger and docking station? In any case, you should be fine, i believe UNO will settle the problem for you.
Anyway we provide one-to-one exchange for all sets for customers within the first 3 days of purchase if any problem arises, cos no one like to buy a set and then send it in for repairs right away. And we deliver the replaced set to your home too. :)

kimsim

Actually did the error occur immediately after you got the set, on the first time you began charging it? Didin't you test the set and its apparel like the charger and docking station? In any case, you should be fine, i believe UNO will settle the problem for you.
Anyway we provide one-to-one exchange for all sets for customers within the first 3 days of purchase if any problem arises, cos no one like to buy a set and then send it in for repairs right away. And we deliver the replaced set to your home too. :)

Cool

Anywhere I got my selection for next time.

Thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.