iRobot Scooba experience

Jubooo

I'm really surprised that you get hold of a neato to try :) My neato is grounded and back to roomba. My wife also hate it and complains about it getting stuck at the entrance to the bathroom. As for now, I always recommends the old faithful roomba to neato when anybody ask :s13:

Now I'm experimenting with the mint :D Can't really figure out it's logic yet.

kimsim

Hi, for me I saw my Neato is a bit lazy to piking up dust on floor.

To be comparison of Roomba once the roomba completed done the job of that bin is totally near to full and every where is a dustly.

Neato can't do that,
Roomba can clean of side wall, cause roomba have side brush.

Neato batteries is very low, since not like long lasting.
Roomba can clean more efficient.

Roomba have virtual to blocking across,
Neato using ulgy magnet strip for what for.

When Neato dost not using the magnet still can be drop-off.
It is make me very headache.

All overall I will choose from Roomba.

Thanks

uno_bliss

I'm really surprised that you get hold of a neato to try :) My neato is grounded and back to roomba. My wife also hate it and complains about it getting stuck at the entrance to the bathroom. As for now, I always recommends the old faithful roomba to neato when anybody ask :s13:

knightskid shared the lobang & I couldn't resist: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57111305&postcount=8194
Plus I was curious ever since it launched but hesitant cos if faulty, then I'm doomed. As for why 18th July then reach, cos BuyHappier screwed up & only shipped upon my complain 1 wk later & gave me a US$10 discount.

knightskid, if u're reading this, u received ur Neato yet? Cannot be order liao "Bo Sia Bo Seng", I would think that every new toy will make owner so excited to share experience.
Just like me & Kimsim, talk non-stop about Neato once bought. Later Tekster angry again and ask us to shift Neato posts to another place. Tekster, as u can see, we still favour Roomba so don't scold us ok. :s13:

Jubooo, from fact that ur Neato stuck at bathroom entrance, izit cos u never put the silly magnetic strip? Mine still in the roll untouched, just don't feel like putting so I close bathroom door.
And despite u already warned about the 2" untouched wall edges here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=50175590&postcount=7329
I still bought cos wanna see the SLAM thing. But I felt Neato conned us, cos wasn't the square front supposed to enable it to fit into corner of wall & clean much deeper in. Turns out Neato is like a new L-plate driver, early early start turning at corner, instead of the Initial D can do sharp cornering yet marginally missing kerb.

uno_bliss

Hi, for me I saw my Neato is a bit lazy to piking up dust on floor.

To be comparison of Roomba once the roomba completed done the job of that bin is totally near to full and every where is a dustly.

Neato can't do that,
Roomba can clean of side wall, cause roomba have side brush.

Neato batteries is very low, since not like long lasting.
Roomba can clean more efficient.

Roomba have virtual to blocking across,
Neato using ulgy magnet strip for what for.

When Neato dost not using the magnet still can be drop-off.
It is make me very headache.

All overall I will choose from Roomba.

Thanks
The amount of dust Neato suck up can be misleading cos it's highly compacted, meaning by the time Neato bin is TOTALLY full, u can remove the compacted block of dust and tell someone it's a grey colour sponge cake, just say it's yam flavour.

The lack of sidebrush was covered in my previous posts: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57921142&postcount=8361

Neato battery is actually 3200 mAh NiMH 4/3A cells (same dimension as scooba battery) in 2x 6 cells pack, everything in series (total 14.4V). I once speculated that Neato uses 2 packs in parallel: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=53944077&postcount=7739
But it's not, fair enough since Scooba draws much higher current than Neato & is still a series pack.

Yah, Kimsim, the silly magnetic strip... maybe I put & I'll trip & spill my food, then use Roomba to clean up.:s22:

Kimsim, my Neato confirm won't drop down stairs cos got cliff sensors, so by "drop-off" u're referring to toilet or kitchen? If yes, then close door like me lor.

Jubooo

Yes I did not use the strip. I use a VW there for roomba but for neato I had to close it. The problem is the dr is always open and when neato is scheduled and I'm out, it will stuck there. Once inside, voila there's no way out. The tank will lick dry my toilet.

Actually there is a nicer colour beside this ugly army tank. I already mentioned before the square end is a bull, it will not hit the wall (a plus point) so it turns and creates a larger untouched area then roomba.

The stronger vacuum doesn't really picks up better. Roomba's 3 stage cleaning pattern is still the best proven method. If it were to combine the slam technology, I do not know if it will still be so efficient. The whole idea is just let it run and don't look at it. The bin will tells you the results.

If you ever follow my post in RR, neato is constantly charging at least 2-3 times a day even when not using. I wonder if this consumes electricity. A disconnection on either of the battery pack after a full charge is enough to make your neato complains that it's battery is weak and refuse to run.

Neato captures tons of dust but roomba captures MORE than dust. It is a wonderful piece of technology but I still prefer Roomba without any doubt. Go blindman go, bang that wall and eats up the debris!!!!

uno_bliss

Yes I did not use the strip. I use a VW there for roomba but for neato I had to close it. The problem is the dr is always open and when neato is scheduled and I'm out, it will stuck there. Once inside, voila there's no way out. The tank will lick dry my toilet.

Actually there is a nicer colour beside this ugly army tank. I already mentioned before the square end is a bull, it will not hit the wall (a plus point) so it turns and creates a larger untouched area then roomba.

The stronger vacuum doesn't really picks up better. Roomba's 3 stage cleaning pattern is still the best proven method. If it were to combine the slam technology, I do not know if it will still be so efficient. The whole idea is just let it run and don't look at it. The bin will tells you the results.

If you ever follow my post in RR, neato is constantly charging at least 2-3 times a day even when not using. I wonder if this consumes electricity. A disconnection on either of the battery pack after a full charge is enough to make your neato complains that it's battery is weak and refuse to run.

Neato captures tons of dust but roomba captures MORE than dust. It is a wonderful piece of technology but I still prefer Roomba without any doubt. Go blindman go, bang that wall and eats up the debris!!!!
I've also seen my Neato auto-charge mid day even though it already fully charged earlier. At first I thought it's dock loose connection, but now I conclude it's some kinda battery refresh cycle. I've seen my post-OSMO v7 Roomba do that too, auto-entering into long charging cycle whereby charger isn't hot, so must be low rate.

By "roomba captures MORE than dust", I believe u're referring to small kids toys & curtain hook.
For AugzCooler's case, it got spooky cos I know Roomba doesn't climb onto table to "eat" things... or does it???...(hair stand): http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57647069&postcount=8326

kimsim

The amount of dust Neato suck up can be misleading cos it's highly compacted, meaning by the time Neato bin is TOTALLY full, u can remove the compacted block of dust and tell someone it's a grey colour sponge cake, just say it's yam flavour.

The lack of sidebrush was covered in my previous posts: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57921142&postcount=8361

Neato battery is actually 3200 mAh NiMH 4/3A cells (same dimension as scooba battery) in 2x 6 cells pack, everything in series (total 14.4V). I once speculated that Neato uses 2 packs in parallel: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=53944077&postcount=7739
But it's not, fair enough since Scooba draws much higher current than Neato & is still a series pack.

Yah, Kimsim, the silly magnetic strip... maybe I put & I'll trip & spill my food, then use Roomba to clean up.:s22:

Kimsim, my Neato confirm won't drop down stairs cos got cliff sensors, so by "drop-off" u're referring to toilet or kitchen? If yes, then close door like me lor.

Hi, my Neato bought Until now, still doing uncompleted job, cause most of time is drop-off at kitchen area ha ha, when forget to close up door, after when back you can see My Neato is stuck at kitchen drop.

I can't used the magnetic strip, cause my daughter, she like to playing like toys and throw to anywhere. Ha ha looks her is very fun!

So is make me very disappointed robotic product.
Most of time the Neato when runing to the chair leg is more worst from rear side is alway jump up and hit down to the floor, I dunno when the LCD will be impacted until failure.

That is what I can said :) no reviews by own or purchased you won't knew the product is good, now I know already ha ha. Good luck for Neato user!

tekster

knightskid shared the lobang & I couldn't resist: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=57111305&postcount=8194
Plus I was curious ever since it launched but hesitant cos if faulty, then I'm doomed. As for why 18th July then reach, cos BuyHappier screwed up & only shipped upon my complain 1 wk later & gave me a US$10 discount.

knightskid, if u're reading this, u received ur Neato yet? Cannot be order liao "Bo Sia Bo Seng", I would think that every new toy will make owner so excited to share experience.
Just like me & Kimsim, talk non-stop about Neato once bought. Later Tekster angry again and ask us to shift Neato posts to another place. Tekster, as u can see, we still favour Roomba so don't scold us ok. :s13:

Jubooo, from fact that ur Neato stuck at bathroom entrance, izit cos u never put the silly magnetic strip? Mine still in the roll untouched, just don't feel like putting so I close bathroom door.
And despite u already warned about the 2" untouched wall edges here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=50175590&postcount=7329
I still bought cos wanna see the SLAM thing. But I felt Neato conned us, cos wasn't the square front supposed to enable it to fit into corner of wall & clean much deeper in. Turns out Neato is like a new L-plate driver, early early start turning at corner, instead of the Initial D can do sharp cornering yet marginally missing kerb.

shift the 2 of you out. no loyalty to good ol roomba. :p

kimsim

Ha ha after bought Neato to clean my floor or I wanted to care for Neato.

I am still prefer Roomba!

Looks like we should try out LG Hom-Bot, LRV5900 or Roomba 700 Series :)

Jubooo

shift the 2 of you out. no loyalty to good ol roomba. :p

Well, we have to try others to give a review :s13: if we don't go to hell, who else? :s13:

Ha ha after bought Neato to clean my floor or I wanted to care for Neato.

I am still prefer Roomba!

Looks like we should try out LG Hom-Bot, LRV5900 or Roomba 700 Series :)

I think you can start parking that tank in the dessert.

kimsim

Well, we have to try others to give a review :s13: if we don't go to hell, who else? :s13:

I think you can start parking that tank in the dessert.

Yap my wife told me to packing up and put in box see who wanted and resell for who needed ha ha :)
yesterday she told me it I'm very surprise :)

knightskid

Hi uno_bliss, my Neato order from BuyHappier has been cancelled. I emailed to them about why it is being cancelled and was told my billing and shipping address doesn't match, but yet they didn't inform me that there is a need for verification if both address doesn't match, so i ask them for the 15% discount given to me earlier on due to their fault, after that everything goes smoothly and my order will soon to reach the U.S address provided whom my niece go on holiday will bring back for me.

By the way, i placed order for Remanufacturer Roomba 560, reason being, you did a comparison for both Roomba 560 and Neato which convinced me that i should order the Roomba 560 instead. :D

Am sorry, i can't gives you my review on Neato.

Vachel Chan

Hi uno_bliss, my Neato order from BuyHappier has been cancelled. I emailed to them about why it is being cancelled and was told my billing and shipping address doesn't match, but yet they didn't inform me that there is a need for verification if both address doesn't match, so i ask them for the 15% discount given to me earlier on due to their fault, after that everything goes smoothly and my order will soon to reach the U.S address provided whom my niece go on holiday will bring back for me.

By the way, i placed order for Remanufacturer Roomba 560, reason being, you did a comparison for both Roomba 560 and Neato which convinced me that i should order the Roomba 560 instead. :D

Am sorry, i can't gives you my review on Neato.

Hope you will be pleased with your roomba 560 purchase, actually all this robot vacuum cleaners have their pros and their cons, both are not perfect. The neato although more powerful, cleans a larger surface area faster, is more systematic in its cleaning, does not bump into your furniture as often as the roomba, it misses the very edges and corners of the walls even with its square front design.
Although the roomba is able to sweep the edges of the walls better with its side brush, in a single cleaning cycle, it may not clean all the edges of the walls. Due to its very random cleaning pattern, it may misses some sides of the walls in some rooms. But if you don't mind its "randomness", it may do a better job over a period of time.
Another thing to consider is the interior design of your home, the neato may not be suitable for your home if you have full length mirror walls and reflective surfaces, it may cause error to the neato, as the "laser" would get reflected back.
Anyway its very important to do your own research before any purchases, lots of reviews and tips out there!!

tekster

Hope you will be pleased with your roomba 560 purchase, actually all this robot vacuum cleaners have their pros and their cons, both are not perfect. The neato although more powerful, cleans a larger surface area faster, is more systematic in its cleaning, does not bump into your furniture as often as the roomba, it misses the very edges and corners of the walls even with its square front design.
Although the roomba is able to sweep the edges of the walls better with its side brush, in a single cleaning cycle, it may not clean all the edges of the walls. Due to its very random cleaning pattern, it may misses some sides of the walls in some rooms. But if you don't mind its "randomness", it may do a better job over a period of time.
Another thing to consider is the interior design of your home, the neato may not be suitable for your home if you have full length mirror walls and reflective surfaces, it may cause error to the neato, as the "laser" would get reflected back.
Anyway its very important to do your own research before any purchases, lots of reviews and tips out there!!

not really, there is a perfect bot out there. and most will dump their roombas after getting one.

this bot is called iMaid

uno_bliss

not really, there is a perfect bot out there. and most will dump their roombas after getting one.

this bot is called "the maid".
- Voice operated
- Advance Dirt Detect (only cleans what the eye can see)
- Excellent navigation (cut corners)
- Cleverly shoves excess debris under couches & hard to reach areas
- Devious mind of it's own
- Face Recognition (attracted to FT from Dark Side)
- Wirelessly updates & cohoots at Lucky Plaza

"Good morning ma'am', good morning sir! My name is Leticia"...:s8:

bakasa2002

Auto, u feeling rich leh, shd take over mine mah! Lolx. Post a review when u r done. It's really a cool & quiet robot, just charging take damn long!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.