Is it that difficult to choose a cca that you want in secondary school?

Emperor_Hippo

Some primary schools at P3 will select and form the first and 2nd classes... Which most IP students will come from there... Too bad my younger one did not... Even he is in the first class... 35/37 go IP
ehhhhhh.... depends.

some schools start segregation for HMT as early as P2. Then P3-P4 segregate out, P5-P6 additional filtering.

not surprised at this kind of arrangement since it allows the school to focus on strengths of kids.

but anyway, the top 4 annual intake got intake cap one.

hachi

u based on what ? PSLE cut off point?
that is only a popularity measure

cannot say a AL10 sch is "BETTER" than a AL 9 school
(using your range of IP vs non-IP)

plus with up to 75% cap for affliated kids
non-affliated entry score kena pushed lower (i.e more competitive)
(of cos not all affliated sch takes in 75%, some take in 25-30% only)
Affiliated don't bother... Range too wide.. One of my contractors told me. He was an old boy of a boys sch.. And affliction affects the quality of students as the range too big.

To me every sch is a good sch.. As parents we like better ones. But to suit your child learning profiles is still important.

Like my younger kid... His 3 best frds AL score add together also less than him.

But he is happy with neighbourhood sec sch as he suddenly become one of the better students in class.

hachi

ehhhhhh.... depends.

some schools start segregation for HMT as early as P2. Then P3-P4 segregate out, P5-P6 additional filtering.

not surprised at this kind of arrangement since it allows the school to focus on strengths of kids.

but anyway, the top 4 annual intake got intake cap one.
Ya my kids primary school did that l, the first 2 classes got HMT. Too had dragon year too many kids... Even better school COP can drop by 2-3

Emperor_Hippo

Wow need the top 4 schools meh? Any IPs is good enough.... They are alr top 10%...

Even some better schools with G3 which is non IP also good.
nope. nah.

anything short of International Top 5% of Academia - aka Oxbridge, Ivy League is a branded FAILURE.

hachi

nope. nah.

anything short of International Top 5% of Academia - aka Oxbridge, Ivy League is a branded FAILURE.
Mahahhaha then alot on failures on street... Then it is good country... Base on your standards. Failures can lead decent life... Good country..

Emperor_Hippo

Ya my kids primary school did that l, the first 2 classes got HMT. Too had dragon year too many kids... Even better school COP can drop by 2-3
Thus COP is a gauge.

aiming for mastery of subject knowledge is more sustainable than chasing scores tbh.

this is what PSLE is actually testing - subject mastery. not how well ppl answer questions.

wanna focus on scores alone? can, can be done. Spot questions loh. my statistics module scored a B grade when I was sleeping 3/4 of all my tutorials.

now tell me do trending, I also need to check back since I had not done it since i left school.

Emperor_Hippo

Mahahhaha then alot on failures on street... Then it is good country... Base on your standards. Failures can lead decent life... Good country..

hey, not my standards ok. someone's kid destined for 2 out of the 4 (cannot go the other 2 unless change gender) cos P3 scores is like >94% hokay!!!!!

hachi

Thus COP is a gauge.

aiming for mastery of subject knowledge is more sustainable than chasing scores tbh.

this is what PSLE is actually testing - subject mastery. not how well ppl answer questions.

wanna focus on scores alone? can, can be done. Spot questions loh. my statistics module scored a B grade when I was sleeping 3/4 of all my tutorials.

now tell me do trending, I also need to check back since I had not done it since i left school.
Agreed as well.. But PSLE did a good job I guess...
Observation from my elder kid sch.. 15 out of 300-330 students will go O level class or invite to go other JCs.

begintoend

ya
then what Leaps 2.0 la

got various qualifying conditions to get the elusive 2 points la
imagine the kena posted child needs to stay at NCC for 4 years just to get the A grade in the participation catagory (we haven't talk about the leadership / competition cat yet)

very depressing for the kids
it is only February lo
jin sucks sia.....
this leap 2.0 thing i also dunno...

i ask my gal since she is sch team badminton, she also dunno dun care :s13:

but for your boy, really jus machiam how we "serve and forget"

mummynew

jin sucks sia.....

By right, kids (at 13 yo) should not be bothered about this Leap 2.0 thing as CCAs supposed to be really based on interest. BUT some parents know and will make tremendous effort to steer kids to the CCAs to have the 'highest returns'.

CCAs are scams nowadays.

Emperor_Hippo

Agreed as well.. But PSLE did a good job I guess...
Observation from my elder kid sch.. 15 out of 300-330 students will go O level class or invite to go other JCs.
can agak the percentage one.

top 15 to 20% of each school's G3 cohort go JC to form top 20% of tertiary education alongside IP students.

bell curve is real.

sk0065

jin sucks sia.....

my boy heng - he went to audition for a more popular CCA and got offer
(wah lau eh, like DSA Lo !)

its his classmate that kena posting results to NCC
i hear also feel damn sad

Dracky

Some sports CCA are quite difficult to get into, because the kiasu kids already have private training or are DSA recruits.

Uniformed groups are easiest to join because they always need numbers.

Notbbfa

tiagong environment club is deemed as for outcasts and weird peepur
ish it true ?

sanukboy

I joined Photography Society for easy points :o But it was here I learnt 1 of the most valuable lessons in photography … take photo must gar gar go in front and take, cannot scareded paiseh block other people.

The Teacher-In-Charge of Photography Society wasn’t even a teacher but the school Administrative Manager :s14: But this lesson, where he showed us photos taken right in front of the stage vs those further away so you can really see the difference in photo quality side by side … that stayed with me for life.

Plus it was fun too, e.g. when old boy turned artist performed at our school we go in front of the stage to take photos, then stick our hand out to shake hands with him :s13: Memories :s19:
I was from Photography society too! Last time school still have a dark room to develope the photos...😄

elimmel

I had always thought we should select sch based on cop, but after seeing the CNA article, I wonder if I should place more importance on cca choices.
if your child academic good, cca can don't really need to bother too much. can be interest based.
alot cheong cca cos need to get the cca bonus points.

ChenHoNam

Like some schools, a kid may just want to pick up badminton or table tennis as cca for recreational purpose.

but no, school put you through selection trial. Not up to a certain level, sorry next.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.