Is wireless@sgx still useable?

Epee

Wireless@SG usable or not depends on location and who's the operator. Some sites have WiFi6.

If your device comes with a SIM card then you use EAP SIM or AKA to authenticate. You can configure this on Android manually but needs the app on iOS to do it. This profile is valid as long as your SIM card is active.

If your device does not have a SIM card, then you need the app to create a profile. This profile is valid for 1 year. After which you need to recreate another one. In order to create this profile, you need some existing connectivity and a mobile number to receive an OTP. Once you create this profile, it will auto connect by default.

Wireless@SG is great for use cases in the library and hospitals when you're warded. Otherwise, it's pretty useless. Those at MRT is disruptive even because your phone keep connecting and disconnecting repeatedly as you arrive and depart through the stations.

kelvinti

I managed to connect to my office's Wireless@SGx which is Wi-Fi6 after setting up manually by selecting ST as my sim card provider in the app. :giggle:

Speed is 310/148. :whistle:

Monstruo^

I had it set up many many years ago liao. I think got 8 years or even more.

It will auto connect as wifi when you go to certain places which is annoying, you cannot disable it. So need to manually off it to connect back to your mobile data.

Then when you go library, their free wifi is this wireless SG. Sibei mafan to set up. They should just put username and password and let people connect right away.

But now I no need to use liao. 228GB mobile data.

kelvinti

It will auto connect as wifi when you go to certain places which is annoying, you cannot disable it. So need to manually off it to connect back to your mobile data.

Then when you go library, their free wifi is this wireless SG. Sibei mafan to set up. They should just put username and password and let people connect right away.

Ya! That's right.

I also don't use it even for my office one.

I just set it up for testing after hearing so many people are having problem getting it connected.

twosix

I go library quite often. Sometimes library have bad connections, so wireless@sgx helps.

Monstruo^

I go library quite often. Sometimes library have bad connections, so wireless@sgx helps.
You mean telco mobile reception not good at library ah? I haven’t tried yet. Seldom go library.

KPO_SAHM

After a long time , I tried to connect through Simba network.. all opt etc went through.. but unable to connect..
Does this infrastructure still relevant? Wasting public money?

I don use public free wifi locally and overseas.....cause U worry my HP kanna access . Even my sis who plays digital coins and has ewallet, she doesn use that too

kelvinti

Office no wifi?
Got.

In fact, my office has 4 Wi-Fi networks comprised of a dedicated wireless@sgx and secured.

But I don't login on to them except the secured one for works only and not for personal usages due to privacy or Pronacy whatever you wanna call it ... 😷 🤭

Else, kena rottan.. :D 🤭

helloicanseeu

After a long time , I tried to connect through Simba network.. all opt etc went through.. but unable to connect..
Depends on location and number of users especially, it's decent here in CC

Hakuna Matata

Still useable. Some hotspots doesn't work and unable to connect to the network.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.