Japan Sample Itinerary thread

evilerniex

My itinerary to Hokkaido in Feb 2010, 14D in Hokkaido:
http://www.cattylatte.com/travel/itinerary/

Highlights was to catch the winter festivals, winter activities, winter limited trains. Quite similar to Kahlan's actually, except we go in diff directions and we covered Hakodate.

Click to view if you visiting Hokkaido ard this period.

sibei pro!

somemore it includes pre-trip preparations. can just take the itinerary wholesale if going hokkaido! =:p

thanx for sharing :)

blackroom

DAY 1 ( Sat )

6am Changi Airport
2pm Narita Airport
430pm Sunroute Shinjuku Hotel

Rest Of Day

Head to Metropolitan gov building
Tour around shinjuku

Day 2 ( Sun )
Harajuku - yoyogi park and meiji shrine
Shibuya

Day 3 ( Mon )
Disneyland

Day 4 ( Tues )
Disney Sea

Day 5 ( Wed )
Ueno Park (morning) Asakusa (noon) Akihabara (Evening - Night)

Day 6 ( Thurs )
Imperial Palace ( Morning ) , Ginza ( Noon ) , Tokyo Towers ( Evening - Night ) Roppong ( Night )

Day 7 ( Fri )
Yasukuni shrine ( Morning )
Tokyo Dome ( Morning - Noon )
Shiodome take elevated train to Odaiba ( Noon To Night )
- Decks Tokyo Beach
- Mega Web
- Ferris Wheel
- Panasonic Center

Day 8 ( Sat )
Finish up shopping at shinjuku/shibuya
6pm Flight back to SG

CREDIT TO Evilerniex THANKS BRO !!!

Anodised

Tokyo only
Is there any nice places that i miss out ?
Some questions
1. Should i get suica and nex will it be worthwhile how much should i top into my suica ?
2. Can i travel to all the stations using suica for the above places i visit ?

I can't really comment on yr itinerary but it seems sparse. Maybe it's just me haha. Have u considered Yokohama? Ueno? Asakusa? Or a day trip to Hakone? Nikko? Kamakura?

1. Unless u want to sacrifice comfort and time, ¥5,500 for a round trip seems reasonable.
2. Yes u can; it's like our ez-link card. But the last time i went, PASMO cards were more handy than Suica as Konbini (e.g. 7-11, lawson, family mart, am/pm) and vending machines were more likely to accept the former.

evilerniex

Some questions

1. Should i get suica and nex will it be worthwhile how much should i top into my suica ?
2. Can i travel to all the stations using suica for the above places i visit ?

a cheaper alternative to NEX will be to take keisei line. slightly slower though.
yah, can use suica for all the places u going.

for day 5, u may wanna squeeze another place into the itinerary. unless u plan to spend a long time in akiba (provide gf dun get bored of electronics and anime related stuff). tokyo dome also probably wouldnt take too long coz it is just another shopping mall. unless u plan to go to the amusement park there.

day 5 seems sparse too, unless u planning to spend a lot of time shopping at ginza. coz imperial palace doesnt take very long to cover. bear in mind that ginza is upmarket shopping... the longer ur gf spend there, the bigger the hole in ur pocket :s13:

pker88

Haha kahlan now then I know how to say your nick
Its kah lan
The beautiful gal from the legend of the seeker show on ch5 before
Nice nick too hehe

Now I might push forward my sapporo trip to xmas 2010 due to circumstances

pker88 and star, go read uncleG blog and his planning for winter. Very good tips there.

pker88

ok hehe back to topic
ya uncle your blog is quite good too

what glove u using for tyour sapporo?

and your snow boot this one
how u wear it
with your normal shoe in side or your feet and socks?
p1000924.jpg

the Ski Pants how u wear it
outer layer and inside the your longjohn
or can we wear this ski pants inside of our jeans?
how do we wear it

haha interesting u say uniqlo fleees works good
ya i saw tat one last yr when it on sale
and looks good and flurry
but looks thick too

alexljy

Just came back yesterday, here's my itinerary to share. I probably wont make it back to japan soon, so decided to cover as much as I can/want. Will create a seperate thread soon to share some photos

Day00: Night flight to Narita

Day01: Tokyo - Osaka
Walk around Umeda area, go up the observatory(Not worth IMO)

Day02: Osaka
Osaka Castle, Osaka Aquarium, Namba

Day03: Day trip to Miyajima and Hiroshima
Miyajima Torii Gate + Hiroshima Peace memorial Park

Day04: Osaka - Kyoto
Kiyomizudera (Cancelled Silver Pavilion n Philospher's walk due to rain)

Day05: Kyoto
Golden Pavilion, Nishiki Market, Gion

Day06: Day trip Nara
Todaiji Temple, Kaisuga Shrine
(Cancelled Kofukuji Temple, as we spend nearly 2 hours playing with deers)

Day07: Kyoto - Kawaguchiko via Mishima
Just RnR in the hotel waiting for fuji-san in vain.

Day08: Kawaguchiko - Tokyo
Odaiba

Day09: Tokyo
Disneysea

Day10: Tokyo
Disneyland

Day11: Tokyo
Asakusa, Akihabara, Tokyo Tower, Pokemon Center

Day12: Tokyo
Harajuku,Meiji Shrine, Shibuya, Shinjuku(Only squareenix store), Ginza

Day13:Tokyo
Shibuya area walk about before going home on evening flight

Hotels: (I was travelling with a company of 5, so hotels must have a 3 person rm)
Osaka - Hotel Kinki (Near umeda station, small room for semi double, otherwise nice)
Kyoto - Ark Hotel Kyoto (Near Shijo Omiya, location not very convenient, nice room)
Lake Kawaguchi - Konansu (Nice room, but the Kaiseki dinner was average)
Tokyo - Shibuya City Hotel (Nice room, but far from the Metro/JR station)

UncleG

hihi...actually uncleg account is shared btwn 2 of us. I am more active in Japan forum, whereas uncleg (my bf) is more active in edmw =:p

ok hehe back to topic
ya uncle your blog is quite good too
what glove u using for tyour sapporo?
>>> Ski Gloves

and your snow boot this one
how u wear it
with your normal shoe in side or your feet and socks?
p1000924.jpg
>>>This snow boots, I wear a pair of woollen socks inside then wear this pair of boots.

the Ski Pants how u wear it
outer layer and inside the your longjohn
or can we wear this ski pants inside of our jeans?
how do we wear it
>>> Ski pants are so bulky >_> I wear a pair of long john inside, then wear the ski pants. If not very cold, I wear jeans + long john.

For uncleg, he wear ski pants only.
I suppose leg hairs keeps the males warm.

haha interesting u say uniqlo fleees works good
ya i saw tat one last yr when it on sale
and looks good and flurry
but looks thick too
>>> I didn't expect the fleece to be that warm but I brought my down jacket to try with the fleece before buying it. After trying on, I find it quite comfy so I decided to get it and its pretty cheap after sales. In tokyo, just the fleece jacket alone was sufficient even when it snowed.

pker88

Haha np uncleg
The ski glove how much and where u got it
Is it bery thick kind?

The skit pant hmm I wonder if possible to wear inside jeans and skip longjhon
Btw how is the temp in sapporo when u r there in winter is jan or dec?

The ski boot looks kimochi is it for sale in everywhere in sapporo what about new chitose airport
Does it privent u from slipping from ice n snow?

But normally a jeans n longhonh enough or need to wear a track pant?

But the ski pant is not wind proof right its just to keep u warm only?

UncleG

Haha np uncleg
The ski glove how much and where u got it
Is it bery thick kind?
>>> I bought from Winning. Actually all winter shops in SG got sell. Got quite different prices, some $16+...some $25 above

The skit pant hmm I wonder if possible to wear inside jeans and skip longjhon
>>> If wear jeans with ski pants, will look like penguin >_<"

Btw how is the temp in sapporo when u r there in winter is jan or dec?
No idea about Jan/Dec, but Sapporo is not very cold except during snow festival when surrounded by ice sculptures. Maybe others can advise u better

The ski boot looks kimochi is it for sale in everywhere in sapporo what about new chitose airport
Does it privent u from slipping from ice n snow?
>>> Yah there is a latch you can engage at the heel area, can prevent slipping but you still need to be careful. Not sure about whether airport sells, but you can just get it in the streets for about 2k yen or so.

But normally a jeans n longhonh enough or need to wear a track pant?
>>> If you are not scared of cold, you can try jeans and long john. For -4, I wear jeans and long john...quite ok.

But the ski pant is not wind proof right its just to keep u warm only?
>>> My ski pants has inner lining made of polyester, kept me warm and its wind proof too.

Kahlan

Haha kahlan now then I know how to say your nick
Its kah lan
The beautiful gal from the legend of the seeker show on ch5 before
Nice nick too hehe

Now I might push forward my sapporo trip to xmas 2010 due to circumstances

yah i love the book hence i use that nick. So you going in December. Should still enjoy snow.

Kahlan

>>> I bought from Winning. Actually all winter shops in SG got sell. Got quite different prices, some $16+...some $25 above

I also got mine from WInning, but i found that it does not really keep me warm if temperature is very low and plus it's bulky. Yah Pker, you can go to dept stores in SG, eg OG, John Little, Robinsons, saw them, they have sale and it was cheaper than winning.

>>> If wear jeans with ski pants, will look like penguin >_<"

>>> My ski pants has inner lining made of polyester, kept me warm and its wind proof too.

Agreed with uncleg, try just wearing ski pants, if you cannot tahan then wear with long johns. But ski pants much better than jeans as it keep out the wind. Bought a pants from Winter time or is it the other winter shop. Went so many shops last time, can't remember.

No idea about Jan/Dec, but Sapporo is not very cold except during snow festival when surrounded by ice sculptures. Maybe others can advise u better

>>> If you are not scared of cold, you can try jeans and long john. For -4, I wear jeans and long john...quite ok.

When it is windy then it is very cold, otherwise tolerable with jeans and fleece.

pker88

Actually when I was at mt fuji jan winter it was windy my lower part still ok I don't feel chilled
Even my top I wear only longjohn & normal long sleevce I wear in sg & a pvc leather jacket
My only weak link is my face hand & the foot area where my jeans don't cover my foot area enough so but now I got a goretex timberland midcut shoe hope it will remedy it

Hmm winnings shop hmm maybe I go ask for ski pant I try if I can wear ski pant inside without longjohn pant & outside jeans see if its bulky enough since I want more pocket
But ski pant does not haver a lot of pockets right?

What I worry now is mostly hand head my lower part where the pants don't cover until fully to foot since wind can go in too
I tink I might not get flees since my pvc leather jacket can go up to neck and the front got dualzip layer with some fake fur haha
Then I just waer it over my downjacket but for my mum I should ask her get the uniqlo flees as it cheap even I lastyr saw it I feel tempted to buy as it cheap and feel warm haha

Ski glove hmm harder but is it bvery bulky?

The ski boot looks feel kimochi hehe at least it cover quite high on our legs so more protection from the cold I suspect

pker88

Robinson I went centrepoint don't have much winter inner clothing

Winning or where u recommend?
The one u show in your blog?
Coldwear I recall suntec got
I only know wintertime got a lot of shops but coldwear I'm not too sure anywhere in town will be good

pker88

Btw do u apply some oilment or somekind of of lubicant to protect your skin as I recall when I cameback my skin crack and reddish so I suspect the air is dry so I wonder do u guys use some kind of protection oilment to recommend

pker88

Np bro evil
Btw uncleg how do u contact u to ask u more?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.