Japan Sample Itinerary thread

dungeonalley

where have :eek:

shinjuku - gala yuzawa is 1 hour +/-

shinjuku - fuji/nagano also also 1 hour +/-

ive been to tokyo many times alr, just gonna save 1-2 days for shopping :s13:

Is meaning the trip to Osaka. you flying out from KIX is it? since you go Tokyo many times, then no need stay 2.5days there lah. somemore, some of the shopping can be done in Kansai region also. sama sama one.

sharshar

:eek: Really is jin satki.
tokyo is my fav city to visit :love:

Is meaning the trip to Osaka. you flying out from KIX is it? since you go Tokyo many times, then no need stay 2.5days there lah. somemore, some of the shopping can be done in Kansai region also. sama sama one.

yesh, i flying out KIX. i have a shopping list that can only be bought in tokyo :sad:

** adding on, would it be more worth to follow the 1 day fuji /nagano tour package from klook or kkday or changi reccommends :s11:

carey

It's been almost 10 years since we last visited Japan

Need some help with my itinerary and suggestions for hotel

More of a eating trip with Disneyland and USJ thrown in :D

Day 1 (Thu 18/1): Arrive in Haneda afternoon, hotel in Shinjuku?
Day 2 (Fri 19/1): Gala Yuzawa (day trip for ski-ing?)
Day 3 (Sat 20/1): Tsuijki Fish Market; Akibahara; Pokemon City
Day 4 (Sun 21/1): Ginza; Harajuku; Kabukicho
Day 5 (Mon 22/1): DisneyLand
Day 6 (Tue 23/1): Train to Osaka;
Day 7 (Wed 24/1): USJ
Day 8 (Thu 25/1): Nara (feed deer);
Day 9 (Fri 26/1): Morning flight out of Osaka to SG

Thayvia

I recommend hotel to be in shinjuku as well.. because that's the city centre.. transport there is convenient too! probably on the first day, you can explore shinjuku and go drinking/supper at kabukicho or shinjuku golden gai..

carey

I recommend hotel to be in shinjuku as well.. because that's the city centre.. transport there is convenient too! probably on the first day, you can explore shinjuku and go drinking/supper at kabukicho or shinjuku golden gai..

Thanks for the suggestion

Any reasonablw hotels to recommend

I was thinking of ABnB - any good?

Thanks in advance

rain_myth

hi brother

does romancecar to hakone yumoto operate on a public holiday? im going next mth..was tinking 25 dec go there..but forgot is a xmas.. and not sure does train operate on that day

thwysg

How about staying near Tokyo Station? Easy to go to Gala-Yuzawa, TDL, Osaka. It’s a quieter area if you’re looking at Yaesu area such as Ryumeikan or Hotel Mitsui Garden Kyobashi. Lots of business hotels around Yaesu Exit.

Shinjuku is convenient if you’re taking buses to other areas such as Kawaguchiko or Haneda/Narita Airport, or heading to Hakone. Can try JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom, Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, Century Southern Tower, Keio Plaza Tokyo.

If you’ve got a tight budget, then look at business hotels.

carey

How about staying near Tokyo Station? Easy to go to Gala-Yuzawa, TDL, Osaka. It’s a quieter area if you’re looking at Yaesu area such as Ryumeikan or Hotel Mitsui Garden Kyobashi. Lots of business hotels around Yaesu Exit.

Shinjuku is convenient if you’re taking buses to other areas such as Kawaguchiko or Haneda/Narita Airport, or heading to Hakone. Can try JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom, Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, Century Southern Tower, Keio Plaza Tokyo.

If you’ve got a tight budget, then look at business hotels.

Thanks for the tip - will consider staying near Tokyo Station

Don't have a budget constraint but also don't like spending too much on accommodations since we won't be in the room much hahah

evilerniex

hi brother

does romancecar to hakone yumoto operate on a public holiday? im going next mth..was tinking 25 dec go there..but forgot is a xmas.. and not sure does train operate on that day
U can check the schedule on hyperdia

evilerniex

Maybe put tsukiji on the morning before ginza? Coz it is walking distance from tsukiji to ginza

evilerniex

Means I should go on Sat since the market is not open on Sun?
U can shift ginza to sat.
Sunday morning can go meiji shrine walk walk before going harajuku.
Pokemon city u refering to the sunshine city one? If so, can put is on sunday coz ikebukuro is nearer to harajuku

carey

U can shift ginza to sat.
Sunday morning can go meiji shrine walk walk before going harajuku.
Pokemon city u refering to the sunshine city one? If so, can put is on sunday coz ikebukuro is nearer to harajuku

Thanks, already shifted to Sat

Day 3 (Sat 20/1): Tsuijki Fish Market; Ginza; Akibahara

Day 4 (Sun 21/1): Meji Shrine; Harajuku; Kabukicho; Pokemon City

VacheronLim

Seeking some general input from collective intelligence on my itinerary below (in late Feb'18)

Day 1 (Saturday) - Arrival in Osaka 5.30pm, travel to Kyoto
Day 2 - Kyoto
Day 3 - Return to Osaka
Day 4 to 8 - Mainly in Osaka, planning to do 2 x day trips to Kobe & Nara
Day 9 - Return to SG by afternoon flight

It will be 2 night stay at Kyoto, and 6 nights stay in Osaka

The day trips to Kobe & Nara can be done on any of the days in Osaka, so it's flexible

Some questions that I need help with some pointers to narrow down the options further
- Is there any good ryokan to stay in Kyoto (that is not too far from the train station heading back to Osaka) for recommendation? If it's readily accessible to the attractions in Kyoto that will be a bonus
- There are so many temple and shrines in Kyoto, which are the top 2 or 3 that I should consider? Not a very temple person, so I'm trying to limit it to within half a day (on day two)
- What is a must do in Kobe since we're planning it as a day-trip? Apart from the beef that is a given :D

evilerniex

Seeking some general input from collective intelligence on my itinerary below (in late Feb'18)

Day 1 (Saturday) - Arrival in Osaka 5.30pm, travel to Kyoto
Day 2 - Kyoto
Day 3 - Return to Osaka
Day 4 to 8 - Mainly in Osaka, planning to do 2 x day trips to Kobe & Nara
Day 9 - Return to SG by afternoon flight

It will be 2 night stay at Kyoto, and 6 nights stay in Osaka

The day trips to Kobe & Nara can be done on any of the days in Osaka, so it's flexible

Some questions that I need help with some pointers to narrow down the options further
- Is there any good ryokan to stay in Kyoto (that is not too far from the train station heading back to Osaka) for recommendation? If it's readily accessible to the attractions in Kyoto that will be a bonus
- There are so many temple and shrines in Kyoto, which are the top 2 or 3 that I should consider? Not a very temple person, so I'm trying to limit it to within half a day (on day two)
- What is a must do in Kobe since we're planning it as a day-trip? Apart from the beef that is a given :D
How abt staying in osaka for all 8 nights and make day trips to kyoto? Then u have the flexibility to adjust ur plans. e.g if raining, the maybe shop in osaka instead of going kyoto.

The more popular attractions in kyoto are probably kiyomizudera, fushimi inari, and kinkakuji. Do check whether kiyomizudera is still undergoing reno

For kobe, i personally like mount rokko for night view, and asahi kaikyo bridge.

VacheronLim

How abt staying in osaka for all 8 nights and make day trips to kyoto? Then u have the flexibility to adjust ur plans. e.g if raining, the maybe shop in osaka instead of going kyoto.

The more popular attractions in kyoto are probably kiyomizudera, fushimi inari, and kinkakuji. Do check whether kiyomizudera is still undergoing reno

For kobe, i personally like mount rokko for night view, and asahi kaikyo bridge.

Thanks! I think that's a valid point worth considering, as I'm going in late Feb when the weather can be cold, the flexibility will certainly come in handy.

That means I should look at umeda (kita) area when checking out for accommodation places in Osaka?

Itachi978

Sorry to hijack, I'm heading to Osaka in May'18.
Just wondering is it possible to cover Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka in 9 days? Covering both DisneySEA & USJ?
Will it be too rush to plan for such itinerary?

evilerniex

Thanks! I think that's a valid point worth considering, as I'm going in late Feb when the weather can be cold, the flexibility will certainly come in handy.

That means I should look at umeda (kita) area when checking out for accommodation places in Osaka?
Yah.. Umeda/osaka station will have good connectivity if u are making day trips out of osaka

evilerniex

Sorry to hijack, I'm heading to Osaka in May'18.
Just wondering is it possible to cover Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka in 9 days? Covering both DisneySEA & USJ?
Will it be too rush to plan for such itinerary?
I personally find it too rush, especially if it is the first time u are visiting these places.
But if u want to go ahead with the plan, try to get open-jaw tickets so u dun have to travel 2 way between tokyo and osaka

VacheronLim

Yah.. Umeda/osaka station will have good connectivity if u are making day trips out of osaka

Thank you!

Was searching around online for some comparisons, some liken Umeda to Orchard Road, and Namba to Bugis - both are very accessible just that the latter is less pricey for accommodation which can be pivotal given I'm doing 8 night stay :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.