Japan Sample Itinerary thread

The Big Bang Theory

Dont know Nara leh. probably after 4pm you should head back to Kyoto bah. Over there Gion, Nishiki, Teramachi etc still can visit in the evening, but they wont stay open for too long. Maybe visit an Izakaya at Pontocho, and stroll along the Kamogawa? Or maybe take a dip in a nearby onsen?

Funaoka Onsen | Kyoto Baths

thanks!! is it true that private osens in japan are very limited and ex?

The Big Bang Theory

realized it's my last day in kyoto...:eek:
have to decide between golden pavilion and kiyomizu...after googling, i think i'll choose kiyomizu, will leave golden pavilion for my next trip again lol
ONyJnBK.png

any comments?

dunno what to do at night again, any suggestions? else will leave it as free & easy and plan on the spot during that night.

saffronsatire

fwah!so early ah!? lol, ok will bring forward my nara excursion....after 4:30 leh? shld i explore areas around nara or go back kyoto ah?

another option is to go osaka for dinner and stroll around umeda/namba if you don't mind running about more. if you head to osaka by 5pm, should have a few hours there b4 taking the train back to kyoto at 10pm like that.

The Big Bang Theory

another option is to go osaka for dinner and stroll around umeda/namba if you don't mind running about more. if you head to osaka by 5pm, should have a few hours there b4 taking the train back to kyoto at 10pm like that.

thanks, but i dun wanna tired ourself for this trip, wanna make it as little rush as possible....

evilerniex

thanks, but i dun wanna tired ourself for this trip, wanna make it as little rush as possible....

suggest u start ur day earlier so u have more time during daylight. u are starting at 9+am, which leaves u only about 7hrs of daylight for sightseeing coz sky gets dark about 4+pm.
since Kyoto doesn't have much to do at night, u can go back hotel and sleep early so u can start earlier the next day.

The Big Bang Theory

suggest u start ur day earlier so u have more time during daylight. u are starting at 9+am, which leaves u only about 7hrs of daylight for sightseeing coz sky gets dark about 4+pm.
since Kyoto doesn't have much to do at night, u can go back hotel and sleep early so u can start earlier the next day.

noted, will wake up earlier, and sleep early too. thanks.

The Big Bang Theory

my day 8, from kyoto to osaka, any advice/comments?

fHkNpPG.png

btw anyone took peach airline before? im very confused by their T&C on checked-in baggage...i took the normal, lowest fare, but i added extra baggage at 1680 yen, i dunno it's a hand carry luggage or checked-in luggage...very confusing

evilerniex

yup, I have taken peach before. normal fare allow 1 hand carry, the extra 1680yen u paid is for check in luggage.
do note that peach operates from a budget terminal away from the main terminal in KIX. have to take a shuttle bus from main terminal.

btw, I suggest u start a new thread and post all ur itinerary together so it is easier for others to comment. we will be able to see the big picture and give suggestions on wat else to include, or whether it might be better to reshuffle some items

arhjaye

yup, I have taken peach before. normal fare allow 1 hand carry, the extra 1680yen u paid is for check in luggage.
do note that peach operates from a budget terminal away from the main terminal in KIX. have to take a shuttle bus from main terminal.

btw, I suggest u start a new thread and post all ur itinerary together so it is easier for others to comment. we will be able to see the big picture and give suggestions on wat else to include, or whether it might be better to reshuffle some items

Any idea if its possible to carry a laptop backpack and a duffel bag for carry on?

The Big Bang Theory

thanks bro, will create a thread later. :)

So the extra 1,680 i paid is check in luggage hor? basic fare already included hand carry one right? i very scare coz i google review, many ppl kenna charged on the spot coz they didnt know basic fare dun hav check in

marcho21

First Trip to Japan (5D4N)

Need assistance for my itinerary.

Day 1 - via Scoot (11am reach)
NEX Train to Shinjuku [advice where to purchase, SG or JP?]
Transfer train at Nippori Station, Pitstop at Ueno Park
Check-in Hotel (Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku)
Explore Shinjuku & Shibuya

Day 2
Check-out to Hakone [Purchase Hakone Free Pass, where to get it cheaper?]
Check-in Ooike Hotel
Explore Hakone

Day 3
Gotemba Outlet (Morning)
Check-out back to Shinjuku
Meiji Shrine, Yoyoji Park, Harajuku

Day 4
Senjoji Shrine, Akihabara, Ginza, Tokyo Towers

Day 5
Flying to Taipei at noon

renjitehsmex

The moment you exit the declaration customs after getting your baggage, you will see a Narita Express counter right in front of you. Purchase it there.

There is no cheaper Freepass. Get the Freepass at Odakyu Sightseeing Centre. It's at the Shinjuku Odakyu station. If it's difficult to locate the sightseeing centre, look for Odakyu Department Store and then ask the people there.

Need assistance for my itinerary.

Day 1 - via Scoot (11am reach)
NEX Train to Shinjuku [advice where to purchase, SG or JP?]
Transfer train at Nippori Station, Pitstop at Ueno Park
Check-in Hotel (Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku)
Explore Shinjuku & Shibuya

Day 2
Check-out to Hakone [Purchase Hakone Free Pass, where to get it cheaper?]
Check-in Ooike Hotel
Explore Hakone

Day 3
Gotemba Outlet (Morning)
Check-out back to Shinjuku
Meiji Shrine, Yoyoji Park, Harajuku

Day 4
Senjoji Shrine, Akihabara, Ginza, Tokyo Towers

Day 5
Flying to Taipei at noon

Sunny85

Can I check when can I buy narita express ticket for my departing ticket from shinjuku to narita airport?

lsharon70

Hi,*

Below are our draft itineraries. This is our first trip to Japan and we're confused with the different type of pass. Based on our itineraries, which pass should we buy ?*Should we get at 7 days JPR and travel from Day 5 to 11 and the rest on Sucia card ?Hope someone can help us.*

Day 1 Reach Osaka 21.20, proceed to Hotel*
Day 2 Nara Park, Osaka Castle
Day 3 Umeda, Shinsaibashi/Dotonbori
Day 4 Universal Studio
Day 5 Kobe-Explore by Kobe Loop Bus or Walk*
Day 6 Kyoto-Explore by Kyoto City Bus.
1)Take bus 南5 to Fushimi Inari Shrine.
2) Back to Kyoto Station and take Bus 100 or 206 to Kiymizudera
3) Take bus 207 to Shjio Takakura. Takakura Dori walk inward will reach Nishiki Market
Day 7 Check out Hotel and arrange luggage courier to Tokyo. Take morning train to Kanazawa. Visit Omi-Chio Market, Hida Kokubunji Temple
Day 8 Kanazawa to Shirakawago by bus
Day 9 Kanazawa to Nagano. Take morning 10.00 train. Drop by Zenko Ji Temple (Walking distrance from station). Proceed to Yudanaka Onsen
Day 10 Snow Monkey trial in the morning. Take train to Tokyo afternoon 4pm.
Day 11 DisneylandDay 12 Disyneysea
Day 13 Asakusa Temple, Kappabashi Street , Akihabara
Day 14 Shibuya/Harajuku/Shinjuku/Odaiba-Kaihinkoen
Day 15 Tokyo - Yokohama(Cup Noodle Museum, Chinatown, Yamashita Park, Kamakura)
Day 16 No plan (Flt home at 20.50)

We have total 2 adults 3 kids. Is 5k enough for our 16days trip?
Soley on food n maybe some shopping?

evilerniex

Hi,*

Below are our draft itineraries. This is our first trip to Japan and we're confused with the different type of pass. Based on our itineraries, which pass should we buy ?*Should we get at 7 days JPR and travel from Day 5 to 11 and the rest on Sucia card ?Hope someone can help us.*

Day 1 Reach Osaka 21.20, proceed to Hotel*
Day 2 Nara Park, Osaka Castle
Day 3 Umeda, Shinsaibashi/Dotonbori
Day 4 Universal Studio
Day 5 Kobe-Explore by Kobe Loop Bus or Walk*
Day 6 Kyoto-Explore by Kyoto City Bus.
1)Take bus 南5 to Fushimi Inari Shrine.
2) Back to Kyoto Station and take Bus 100 or 206 to Kiymizudera
3) Take bus 207 to Shjio Takakura. Takakura Dori walk inward will reach Nishiki Market
Day 7 Check out Hotel and arrange luggage courier to Tokyo. Take morning train to Kanazawa. Visit Omi-Chio Market, Hida Kokubunji Temple
Day 8 Kanazawa to Shirakawago by bus
Day 9 Kanazawa to Nagano. Take morning 10.00 train. Drop by Zenko Ji Temple (Walking distrance from station). Proceed to Yudanaka Onsen
Day 10 Snow Monkey trial in the morning. Take train to Tokyo afternoon 4pm.
Day 11 DisneylandDay 12 Disyneysea
Day 13 Asakusa Temple, Kappabashi Street , Akihabara
Day 14 Shibuya/Harajuku/Shinjuku/Odaiba-Kaihinkoen
Day 15 Tokyo - Yokohama(Cup Noodle Museum, Chinatown, Yamashita Park, Kamakura)
Day 16 No plan (Flt home at 20.50)

We have total 2 adults 3 kids. Is 5k enough for our 16days trip?
Soley on food n maybe some shopping?

the JR pass part is going to be complicated due to the changes new Horuriku Shinkansen, which covers some of the areas u are visiting.
Hokuriku Shinkansen Extension on March 14, 2015

train fares for the new train is not available on hyperdia yet, so I can only base on the current fare, which may not be correct. 7-day JR pass is not worth it base on current fare on limited express train. but with the new shinkansen, it may be different.

one suggestion is to get the JR Hokuriku Area Pass:
JR West Rail Pass - Hokuriku Area Pass

Osaka - Tsuruga: 4820yen
Tsuruga - Kanazawa - Kurobe: JR Hokuriku Area Pass 5000yen
Kurobe - Nagano: 4920yen
Nagano - Tokyo: 8000yen

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.