Jln Tenteram Developments

cheongking888

Actually going to Whampoa by bus is a drag.

Whampoa Dr and Kim Keat Road are both narrow and congested.

Not to mention Balestier Road, the Chinese Temple (Combat Durian) aggravated the jam.

If MRT is to be built, the road infrastructure need to be upgraded.

Sinkie

Actually going to Whampoa by bus is a drag.

Whampoa Dr and Kim Keat Road are both narrow and congested.

Not to mention Balestier Road, the Chinese Temple (Combat Durian) aggravated the jam.

If MRT is to be built, the road infrastructure need to be upgraded.

They made the road driving in whampoa narrower now because of the silver zone upgrading, and driving in really become very drag, and that is the only road in whampoa, if one car or bus break down, the traffic into whampoa will come to an halt

cheongking888

Exact reason why there shld be a MRT!

I don't think Sg Mrt is designed as a standalone transportation catering for people in one designated spot. Unlike in London you can suddenly find one tube station in a very ulu deserted place. People there walk to tube station due to cool weather.

SG Mrt is more for connectivity. People take escoot/cycle/bus/taxi/car to Mrt station to connect to other places. Due to hot weather, people do not want to walk/cycle to MRT station. That why you see more SG Mrt stations are beside bus interchanges/big roads etc.

I believe LTA fully aware of this shortcoming and tried to intro PMD (like eScooters) and allow them into MRT trains. Never did they realise and kenna screw big time by technology that allow Escooter to become a menace on the road.

What2do4life

I don't think Sg Mrt is designed as a standalone transportation catering for people in one designated spot. Unlike in London you can suddenly find one tube station in a very ulu deserted place. People there walk to tube station due to cool weather.

SG Mrt is more for connectivity. People take escoot/cycle/bus/taxi/car to Mrt station to connect to other places. Due to hot weather, people do not want to walk/cycle to MRT station. That why you see more SG Mrt stations are beside bus interchanges/big roads etc.

I believe LTA fully aware of this shortcoming and tried to intro PMD (like eScooters) and allow them into MRT trains. Never did they realise and kenna screw big time by technology that allow Escooter to become a menace on the road.

Back to the topic, your rationale will support the upcoming whampoa mrt to be build and intergrated with St Michael bus terminal which is more practical.

cheongking888

Now at Whampoa Market.

Maybe Mrt station could be at the market's car park. Then gov can do a cynical compulsory acquisition of the surrounding private properties land and just pay peanuts.

The Chinese Temple, row of 3 storey terraces shop plus many FH condo could face compulsory acquisition.

What2do4life

Now at Whampoa Market.

Maybe Mrt station could be at the market's car park. Then gov can do a cynical compulsory acquisition of the surrounding private properties land and just pay peanuts.

The Chinese Temple, row of 3 storey terraces shop plus many FH condo could face compulsory acquisition.

Doubt it will be ard that area.
Most likely at st michael bus terminal then it is connected to the surrounding estates

htc_user

Doubt it will be ard that area.
Most likely at st michael bus terminal then it is connected to the surrounding estates
Looking at the picture of the new MRT line possible alignment,

https://mothership.sg/2019/05/new-mrt-line-whampoa-serangoon-north/

possible for it to link up to existing circle line Lorong Chuan, cross island line Serangoon North and perhaps have a station in between in Toa Payoh East/ Lor 8 as well, maybe near the Toa Payoh polyclinic ?

cheongking888

I just wonder whether those stay between the north of Whampoa river (Jln Tenteram) and PIE, do you guys walk to Toa Payoh?

I have been staying at Balestier (Novena side) for several years liao and have yet to explore the inner Whampoa (except Giant).

I prefer to go to Pek Kio hawkers center (but not the wet market).

edwinttt1978

I just wonder whether those stay between the north of Whampoa river (Jln Tenteram) and PIE, do you guys walk to Toa Payoh?

I have been staying at Balestier (Novena side) for several years liao and have yet to explore the inner Whampoa (except Giant).

It’s a nice walk. Experience it now before the Whampoa kampong spirit is gone.

AndreFLo

Whampoa food centre has lots of nice food. The duck rice and prawn mee especially. I stay tpy but I do walk to Whampoa once in awhile.

Sinkie

It’s a nice walk. Experience it now before the Whampoa kampong spirit is gone.

Quite far to walk to tpy from jln tenteram side, usually can just take bus to tpy from the pie bus stop, then take 139 back.

But I haven’t explored kim Keat or tpy east area yet, any fun or good food to recommend?

edwinttt1978

Quite far to walk to tpy from jln tenteram side, usually can just take bus to tpy from the pie bus stop, then take 139 back.

But I haven’t explored kim Keat or tpy east area yet, any fun or good food to recommend?

I run there occasionally. Yes, it is far to walk.

Nothing special about the food in Kim Keat area.
A BTO is taking over the golf course.

htc_user

henrylbh

I run there occasionally. Yes, it is far to walk.

Nothing special about the food in Kim Keat area.
A BTO is taking over the golf course.

Jalan Tenteram is now a ulu place compared to when I was living there.

That time I used to walk to tpy lorong 4 near the Y blocks to lim kopi at the market till 2/3 am on weekends and walked back.

That time no expressway but big open land to the temple with a small longkang in between near kim keat close.

Every evening the buffaloes would pass the open land for their evening walk :s13: The open land was regularly used for kite fighting.

iam7377

D12 will Huat (for those holding FH)

For e.g.. FH property.

D11 (Mandalay/Shan Road) very difficult to go up liao. Now already at 1.2k to 1.4k psf

D12 (Kim Keat/ Raja Raja) Now you Can find $900 to $1.1k psf. Once Whampoa MRT up, price will go up. Just like St Michael when Boon Keng MRT was up.

How come Mandalay Road there the price will no go up? i hope it is not stagnant?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.