jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

My sleep hour usually don't get points. Can never have a decent night of more than 6 hour of sleep to get a min points.
I wonder how am I still alive with average sleep hour of about 4 to 5 hours a day for so many years.
you morning or evening run person?
personally I have difficulty falling asleep after evening runs especially hard workouts. Have since shifted all running and workouts to the mornings. my sleep quality and duration is much better after this adjustment.

Ender

personally I have difficulty falling asleep after evening runs especially hard workouts. Have since shifted all running and workouts to the mornings. my sleep quality and duration is much better after this adjustment.
Yah evening runner. But hard to change to morning, so being used to evening. But I think this could be a possibility. Lots' of sleeping youtuber also discourage exercising before bed time.

xllms

My sleep hours also low. Maybe average 5-6. Downside of recreational runners with a passion. I think it’s very hard to get a solid 7-8 hours of sleep if doing 80-100km/week.
when young, 5-6hrs are ok when body can recover fast. But too much of it will probably experience payback in later years. But everyone's body is different.

Ender

I think this model is getting more attention after Suguru Osako broke the Japanese NR in it.

Ender

Looks like the bar for SEA game 10,000m has risen a lot. All top 4 would have won gold for the previous SEA Game.

2023 results as below. I don't think Shuan or SRY can catch up if the bar is maintain for 2027.

RankAthleteTimeNotes
1st place, gold medalist(s)
40px-Flag_of_Indonesia.svg.png
Rikki Marthin Simbolon (INA)​
31:08.85
2nd place, silver medalist(s)
31:10.70NR
3rd place, bronze medalist(s)
40px-Flag_of_Myanmar.svg.png
Tan Htike Soe (MYA)​
31:25.55

WussRedXLi

Looks like the bar for SEA game 10,000m has risen a lot. All top 4 would have won gold for the previous SEA Game.

2023 results as below. I don't think Shuan or SRY can catch up if the bar is maintain for 2027.

RankAthleteTimeNotes
1st place, gold medalist(s)
40px-Flag_of_Indonesia.svg.png
Rikki Marthin Simbolon (INA)​
31:08.85
2nd place, silver medalist(s)
31:10.70NR
3rd place, bronze medalist(s)
40px-Flag_of_Myanmar.svg.png
Tan Htike Soe (MYA)​
31:25.55

Seems like this fella Nike athlete ba, go USA tak cek one like Schooling. Must be super gifted in some ways. All stars aligned.

This fella PB even faster than Hayden Wilde's (ok he is a short/medium course top triathlete) 10k....albeit by a few seconds.

WussRedXLi

My easy rides ending 10.30 to 11.30 i usually no issue sleeping by 12 to 1 period. These are usually comparatively long also, 2.5 to 3hrs. In fact will be tired and wanna doze off in front of the computer.
Very important also is the sleep mask and ear plugs (use good ones like Howard Leight MAX, superior NRR).

You are right, the hard workouts are the issue. It is the adrenaline.

That's also prob why 7-8pm timing really crowded and full of exercisers. All wanna space away from sleeping time. And maybe before their meal time. Wanna do workouts high chance of accident with others.
Not a track person but i believe the neighbourhood ones lagi worse over there vs PCNs or HDB areas. lol

xllms

I think this model is getting more attention after Suguru Osako broke the Japanese NR in it.

wonder when these new Lining running shoes will be available in SG. Although i did not run in the 飞电 Elite 6, just by doing some strides in them for a few minutes, my initial thoughts is consistent with Hui's. Too ex for me now tho. Hope running enthusiasts in SG will get to enjoy this soon.

xllms

Seems like this fella Nike athlete ba, go USA tak cek one like Schooling. Must be super gifted in some ways. All stars aligned.

This fella PB even faster than Hayden Wilde's (ok he is a short/medium course top triathlete) 10k....albeit by a few seconds.
overall standard improved so much! from approx 31:09 to 29:41! 4th place also win previous Gold & Silver by a huge margin.

winningeleven

[url=https://ibb.co/M4LFKDt] [/URL]

Make use of cooling morning weather just now and Wanted to run at least 30km .

after 25km. My left knee turned jelly and I have to stop at 26km. 😢 . Despite the cooling weather. My HR is quite high this time. Above 170 most of the time.

But is ok. I will attempt another long run this weekend!

VonDeVous

wonder when these new Lining running shoes will be available in SG. Although i did not run in the 飞电 Elite 6, just by doing some strides in them for a few minutes, my initial thoughts is consistent with Hui's. Too ex for me now tho. Hope running enthusiasts in SG will get to enjoy this soon.
my fd 5 bot about $270 after shop discount from plaza sing. it did well for me, thou high stack and full carbon, which is my first pure carbon shoes, legs need time to get used
looking forward to ver 6.

GlassDoor

after 25km. My left knee turned jelly and I have to stop at 26km. 😢 . Despite the cooling weather. My HR is quite high this time. Above 170 most of the time.

u started running 4+am??!! My idol :love:
I did a 27k at about the same pace as yours. But only step out the door at 6+am. Avg hr 131. Cold this morning.

WussRedXLi

Wah 26k at the track

WussRedXLi

u started running 4+am??!! My idol :love:
I did a 27k at about the same pace as yours. But only step out the door at 6+am. Avg hr 131. Cold this morning.

Coz need to finish by 7+ 8+ then go work, be it salaryman or own boss. You long session start at 6am that means you your own boss? :unsure:

Sometimes for me, i need to clear MC and MHC/Parkway Shenton opens at 9am, report straight to clinic. :s13:
(but srsly, i need to clear, coz i never get sick enough to get MC even when kena sick)

Cyclists very normal for their weekday social rides. Meetup 5am 5.30am. Like at my place Maap Lab / Rapha, Specialized at Spottiswoode park. Then 7am start to gather at Maxwell/Amoy for kopi.

WussRedXLi

her running form is very good.. is this suitable for like 10k running?
how to run like her?

Just saw this......

Masha Dunkel is a german athlete, rather former athlete (she in her 30s already)......pet events 400m and 400m hurdles. So naturally neuromuscular and form training, is all there, even if she is former athlete and does not compete now in the top meets. Coz her current training is more like short distance, plus all the associated strength and conditioning. Helps with running economy for longer distances as well.

Even the yesterday vid of Ni Jia (MY marathoner, SEA games), he guns at 2:30 pace.

Of coz, these kind of training is useful for 3k, 5k, 10k, HM distances esp if you wanna run fast type. Not direct training but my opinion is that esp if you some plateau already then really no harm trying for 6 months and see if this helps.

Bonus : Train your calves/quads/glutes power with strength exercises and plyo (in addition to other muscles as secondary)........see kangaroo jumps damn shiok. The more power your associated tendon elasticity, the better a runner you'd become.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.