Finally not so warm weather.

Still have progress (vs 1 month ago).
Feel the same way when i cycling

5Yldrkz.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ppl like me bb, dun dare to ever run topless

How about starting with basic (weighted) calisthenics exercises. Will really give self-confidence one, also build more muscle in most cases (esp with improvement mindset). The muscles will then slowly but surely melt away fats....as one of the major factor.

My kid recently also lost a fair amount of fats/weight this way. Somemore on the long rides with me, we still carb load night before and whacked carbs during session as if there is no tomorrow.

sph777

How about starting with basic (weighted) calisthenics exercises. Will really give self-confidence one, also build more muscle in most cases (esp with improvement mindset). The muscles will then slowly but surely melt away fats....as one of the major factor.

My kid recently also lost a fair amount of fats/weight this way. Somemore on the long rides with me, we still carb load night before and whacked carbs during session as if there is no tomorrow.

I've been working on coach to lose weight for the past one year but tbh I dun listen to him about dieting cause I love eating too much so can't be helped haha. The reason I switched from Soh is cause I wanted to focus on weight loss but then I don't listen on dieting so I guess I am just paying for planned training haha

WussRedXLi

I've been working on coach to lose weight for the past one year but tbh I dun listen to him about dieting cause I love eating too much so can't be helped haha. The reason I switched from Soh is cause I wanted to focus on weight loss but then I don't listen on dieting so I guess I am just paying for planned training haha

My kid also still eats a fair bit, but really cut down on the carbs on non-training days. This way you can still eat the good stuffs.
Unfortunately, all the fast foods junk food and the worstest hawker foods need to cut out. Either that or twice a year max.

eg Actually chicken rice chicken noodles still can eat, but no add oil no add soya sauce .....minimal skin.

Also, one trick is to eat more protein.....just to fill up the satieting effect so that you dont feel hungry to eat other stuff.
eg 3-4 eggs for breakfast..... Do this for 2 weeks and you'll fall nicely into routine.

Once you locked into a routine and that feels normal, you can sustain liao.

sph777

My kid also still eats a fair bit, but really cut down on the carbs on non-training days. This way you can still eat the good stuffs.
Unfortunately, all the fast foods junk food and the worstest hawker foods need to cut out. Either that or twice a year max.

eg Actually chicken rice chicken noodles still can eat, but no add oil no add soya sauce .....minimal skin.

Also, one trick is to eat more protein.....just to fill up the satieting effect so that you dont feel hungry to eat other stuff.
eg 3-4 eggs for breakfast..... Do this for 2 weeks and you'll fall nicely into routine.

Once you locked into a routine and that feels normal, you can sustain liao.
I guess just need to find the motivation to start somewhere haha

WussRedXLi

I guess just need to find the motivation to start somewhere haha

Share with you 1 recipe to start.....for morning. Trust me, this works. (my kid, and my wife)
This is for BF / morning only, but it's a good starter.

3-4 eggs. Do it slow rolling boil with the eggs submerged for 30-45 seconds. Then cover for 6 mins.
Then put a fair bit of cold water (to cool the eggs fast).
Slowly crack open the egg into half, use spoon to dig out.

Put buldak 1x or 2x spicy sauce, or instant noodle powder. Or go don donki get any soba sauce.

For starting calisthenics.......just start with push ups. Heck, for those still in NS reservist this is somewhat staple liao. Watch the reps go up with 3X weekly training......for beginner gains stage just rep it up regularly 3X weekly and see it increase. That shd serve as decent motivation ie progress.

Then after that progress to dips, pull ups.....do progressions like banded/weighted, L-sit versions, blah.
^^^^^^
tip : You will feel motivated when you aura farm, that actually serves as a good source of motivation by thinking "hey, i can do it and progress, many others can't".
That aura farming mindset is quite a pull factor.

Watch your muscles and strength increase......it is addictive.

WussRedXLi

Thats is some sick pace for a non elite

I feel really need to try out everything from A-Z to see what can work for you and the schedule/amount of time you can put in.
Was actually stuck at a plateau for both cycling / running for like a year plus. :oops:

WussRedXLi

BTW, share 1 more point that i noticed might have helped me other than the few normal ones that i might have been harping on repeatedly. Theorectically it might also be a double edged sword if you join the wrong group.....but i noticed that the first point is pretty accurate, the Kohler effect.
Not sure how this works for running groups tho......

I think if you keep failing your structured workouts for one reason or another (say, giving up too easily), this might actually help.
Esp so if you like the "group experience" and so keep showing up. Rather than just following a zzz training plan which i am sure many would agree is often "too dry".
The social psychological effect, or "training partners".

So, can just join 1 or 2 and try try. I mean as key workouts, not for your regular sessions.
You also need to join a group and pack that actually is stronger than you.

Yes, joining group rides with faster riders will absolutely make you faster. Riding with a stronger pack forces you out of your comfort zone, improves your drafting and handling skills, and takes advantage of natural motivation. However, if the pace is too mismatched, it can hinder your progress. [1, 2, 3]

Why Faster Groups Make You Faster
  • The Köhler Effect: Sports psychology shows that weaker members of a group will dig deeper to match the performance of stronger members. You won't want to be dropped, which pushes your physical limits. [1, 2]

• Forced Skill Improvements: At faster speeds, your reaction time sharpens, your movements become smoother, and you quickly learn how to draft efficiently. [1]

WussRedXLi

shhhh.... neighbour aunties think I at most 30 nia :ROFLMAO:

I have quite a fair bit of overall balding now, and also hyperpigmentation on the face. Jialat.

Also starting to experience some dental issues (mainly enamel top gg coz of natural abrasion). That one every 6-12 months dental visit cant really fix much other than patching. Other areas i no issue, coz i electric toothbrush 2 times daily, water floss 1x daily and mouth rinse 3x daily.

winningeleven

@WussRedXLi and @GlassDoor are pretty elite considering they are both over 50

49 years old now and Even I turned back the clock and back to 25 years old also couldn't run 5km under 20 mins.

My best 2.4km was 9mins 26 sec. And I was like 23-24 years old.

Already feel like dying at the finishing line

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.