jogging and motivation thread

rECKleSSfElla

WTF price......might as well just get EVO SL rather than imposter.
x4DLHn2.jpeg

Good thing is Puma slashes their prices quite fast. End of the year sale probably lelong price liao.

WussRedXLi

Just tried max L-sit pull ups. Only managed to hold legs up for a pathetic 6 reps using neutral grip.....actually to be honest, more like 5 reps as the 6th was totally not in good form as in the legs already slipping down to like 45 deg instead of nearly horizontal.

I can do 15 neutral grip pull ups normally.

This thing really no joke at all, and i had been strength training with mini bands my iliopsoas for like close to 2 years now.
I think can just ditch the bands and just use this for strength training.

WussRedXLi

2040h
Sentosa heat index temp 39.9 deg C
ECP heat index temp 40.6 deg C
West Coast Park area heat index temp 40.3 deg C
Ang Moh Kio heat index temp 39.9 deg C
Kim Chuan Road heat index temp 40.2 deg C
Sembawang Rd heat index temp 40.3 deg C

😅 😅

Tomorrow morning i think also need to pour cold water @ Sentosa Imbiah monorail station toilet. The water cooler there got ice cold water, esp during early morning. :ROFLMAO:

I have stopped going to MBS / BEG areas ever since they blocked the GBTB path for the bridge construction bt Bay South Garden and Bay East Garden. That one much more cooling coz totally flat.

5th June 2045h

Sentosa heat index temp 39.2
ECP 40.2 deg C
WCP area 40.5 deg C
AMK 39.9 deg C
Kim Chuan Rd 40.6 deg C
Sembawang Rd 41.3

More or less same as last night. But north side like Sembawang like "i feel" 1 full deg C warmer

GlassDoor

WTF price......might as well just get EVO SL rather than imposter.
x4DLHn2.jpeg

Good thing is Puma slashes their prices quite fast. End of the year sale probably lelong price liao.
puma shoes and my feet don't really get along. almost all the puma shoes i have tried on are narrow fitting and runs long :(

GlassDoor

5th June 2045h

Sentosa heat index temp 39.2
ECP 40.2 deg C
WCP area 40.5 deg C
AMK 39.9 deg C
Kim Chuan Rd 40.6 deg C
Sembawang Rd 41.3

More or less same as last night. But north side like Sembawang like "i feel" 1 full deg C warmer
sian 1/2... wake up tomorrow morning then decide

WussRedXLi

sian 1/2... wake up tomorrow morning then decide

Yeah weekend sure lots of runners.

Actually i'd like to share the story that i posted here before...think it was just last year, also during very warm weather.

Typical warm weekend morning, promonitory area. Usual runners / cyclists. Me and my kid cycling thru........saw 1 fella half naked (got chest strap, so confirm is runner) and lying against the tree with like 6 other pax around him. Half conscious and delirious.
Ambulance already called, nothing much i could do anyway coz still breathing according to those 6 at the scene, so my kid and i left after a while and learning that someone already called SCDF ambulance.

Was it heat exhaustion or cardiac or stroke, not sure....cant confirm coz i not expert. Regardless, warm weather /serious dehydration also can cause cardiac issues, got links one. For eg, the blood really thickens in viscosity.
But i tend towards heat issues, simply coz hair and shorts all wet. Maybe could be someone poured water also causing him to be all wet, not sure.

When my kid and i cycled back from BEG towards promonitory area, could see the man getting loaded into the ambulance along Marina Blvd main road.

WussRedXLi

Other than the heat exhaustion / heat stroke that comes to mind........

Yes, extreme hot weather can make your blood thicker. When exposed to high temperatures, your body sweats to cool down. If you do not replenish these fluids, your body loses blood volume and becomes dehydrated, causing blood cells and platelets to concentrate. This process, known as hemoconcentration, significantly increases blood viscosity (thickness) and raises the risk of blood clots. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

The Vicious Cycle of Hot Weather & Blood Thickness
  • Fluid Loss (Dehydration): Sweating heavily without adequate water intake reduces your total blood volume. As water leaves the blood plasma, the relative concentration of red blood cells increases, making the blood more viscous. [1, 2, 3]
  • Vascular Strain: Thicker blood moves more sluggishly through your veins. To compensate, your heart must pump harder and faster, which puts extra strain on your cardiovascular system. [1, 2, 3]
  • Thrombosis Risk: The combination of dehydration, sluggish blood flow, and heat-related inflammation significantly increases the chance of spontaneous blood clot formation (thrombosis), raising the risk of heat-related heart attacks or strokes. [1, 2]

ctstalin

Waking up at 5am to run best liao, at least got time for surroundings to cool down during the night and finish the workout the sun is up.

And can run topless in front of less people 😳

rECKleSSfElla

Waking up at 5am to run best liao, at least got time for surroundings to cool down during the night and finish the workout the sun is up.

And can run topless in front of less people 😳
Bro i thought the whole point is to run topless in front of alot of people why you the other way round lol. But seriously, its my usual routine to start at around 5.30am and end by 7am. Usually can get in 10-12km but past couple of runs have to abort after 8-9km. Constant elevated HR and running form gone. Also getting damn blisters on my toes due to poor running form. Think next week onwards gonna retreat back to treadmill running in the gym.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.