jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

How's the vibe for the race? crowded?
We start later as they will do the run only first, my theory is that we cannot swim in the dark. Vibe wise, quite crowded at the starting line/ pen area with people cheering but along the route is just normal ecp with other cyclists/ runners. A few water points so not too bad.
How's the vibe for the race? crowded?

The metasprints/trifactor ones are fun but usually quite prone to rather huge discounts in distance, eg 10km it could be minus as large as 1km for the one held at Sentosa. Not sure about ECP. Could be space constraints @ Sentosa. This one can fight with Skechers 2023 10K, in which people claim it's more like 9.1k. :ROFLMAO:

Also, dont have much expectation for the vibes as being a race other than at the organized start/finished point area......... more like a parkrun. ie You can get the same effect from a parkrun.

Probably you can DIY the effect with just going to ECP or BEG and gunning 2 rounds for 10KM, lagi more accurate distance. Ender said it is super zhun one, as they do use measuring wheel.

Other than SCSM and track, this one confirm zhun and can claim true PB.
I think if you ran Skechers 10K, your 10k can claim 35 min liao. :oops:
edit correction, nope....3:45 pace for ~ 9.1k is like 34min flat.

Much better would be T100, but then 2026 they only started to do Youth distance, iirc only 400m swim and 3k run. They also started to do Olympic distance tri this year, 1.5k swim 40k bike and 10k run.
Also, it is done at Marina reservoir so no currents of any sort one, so relatively safe.

Too bad you or sph777 no bike. If not can do duathlon, in which T100 also "Gold" standard. Distance for the run also discount but just a little, not as bad.

WussRedXLi

If want true racing vibes and adrenaline, as in "true" racing with other people regarding tactics, drafting etc........like what you see on track or road marathons, i think the only option is cycling. Metasprint/trifactor/T100 you can't even draft.

But this is quite underground feel and rather dangerous.....esp for middle aged folks. (higher consequences). But with experience, risks can be managed, esp since there are also different "types" of races suitable for different people's risk appetites. Some are "just" fast group rides in which people know each other generally and are not out to kill but still competitive and are out to get top spots / top speeds on Strava segments, while a rare few are really no holds barred for a certain route.

Also, only a few grp 1 (fast group) rides observe the 10 max per group rule. All the others bo chup.
Traffic lights is mixed, some ( a bit rare) observe red lights 100%, some will go when it is all clear and no unlike what normal pedestrians or other runners would do in the early mornings with regards to jaywalking, some NBCB just gun it from far if all clear (obviously if got constant stream of vehicles they are not suicidal also) and appear on SGRV. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

looking at the 1st position for 40+ age group. timing seems doable. I have never done open water swimming with distance before (never had the need to swim across johor straits to run-road :ROFLMAO: ). i wonderwhats the differential between swimming pool and open waters.
I go try out this distance next run-swim workout.

If based on the super buay zhun distances, i think you both possible sub 1:25, if not 1:20 HM distance......
Some races are "better" than others.

Found aaron's vid. Metasprint @ Palawan.

2 x 5k run, aaron ran an additional 400m loop coz he made a mistake (didnt see the sign) so supposed to be "10.4km", but his Garmin still reads 9.77km.

Go figure.

T100 not so bad, but still not accurate enough. I think go run at Chinese garden on GPS still wayyyy more accurate.
But T100 will get all the logistic nailed down good, simply coz they also set up for the pros. Got Maurten hydrogel too, you can collect to your heart's content. (y) :ROFLMAO:
Actually are there any other races in SG which dishes out Maurten?

But racing is not cheap tho......standard duathlon is SGD 268 and 100km Tri is 468 already. But still, cheaper than Ironman 70.3 which is around the same distance as the 100km T100 triathlon......eg Danang 70.3 you are looking at close to SGD 700, havent factor in lodging and airfare.
Can splurge try once for the experience, but these things are way too costly to be racing for fun time after time.

But then to be very fair, running races in SG also super not zhun one lah......save for the timings done at SCSM / BYD SIM. And some other races/distance, eg AHM 2023 10k was pretty zhun, within like 100m guesstimate?
The only way is track, which is 100% zhun down to the centimeter.

sph777

The metasprints/trifactor ones are fun but usually quite prone to rather huge discounts in distance, eg 10km it could be minus as large as 1km for the one held at Sentosa. Not sure about ECP. Could be space constraints @ Sentosa. This one can fight with Skechers 2023 10K, in which people claim it's more like 9.1k. :ROFLMAO:

Also, dont have much expectation for the vibes as being a race other than at the organized start/finished point area......... more like a parkrun. ie You can get the same effect from a parkrun.

Probably you can DIY the effect with just going to ECP or BEG and gunning 2 rounds for 10KM, lagi more accurate distance. Ender said it is super zhun one, as they do use measuring wheel.

Much better would be T100, but then 2026 they only started to do Youth distance, iirc only 400m swim and 3k run. They also started to do Olympic distance tri this year, 1.5k swim 40k bike and 10k run.
Also, it is done at Marina reservoir so no currents of any sort one, so relatively safe.

Too bad you or sph777 no bike. If not can do duathlon, in which T100 also "Gold" standard. Distance for the run also discount but just a little, not as bad.
The trifactor run swim run usually abit longer than the 5.25km/ 10.5km. Quite accurate only because it's at ECP

GlassDoor

my definition of good vibes... i think very different from the masses.
To me good vibes mean "seasoned" participants... ie... not the type that hold hands and take selfie. And best if not crowded.

WussRedXLi

The trifactor run swim run usually abit longer than the 5.25km/ 10.5km. Quite accurate only because it's at ECP

Oh if that's the case then go do the ECP ones best. Coz for Palawan, 10k timing right at midday 1pm, M40-49 do 10k timings of 35-39 min and after the swim, is crazy.

WussRedXLi

my definition of good vibes... i think very different from the masses.
To me good vibes mean "seasoned" participants... ie... not the type that hold hands and take selfie. And best if not crowded.

I see what you mean. If that's the case, from what i have seen, shd be fine to participate be it metasprint/trifactor or T100, coz general masses wont go there as multisports here is much more niche than running. But metasprint/trifactor got youngsters esp for duathlons but generally not going there for instagram.

GlassDoor

I see what you mean. If that's the case, from what i have seen, shd be fine to participate be it metasprint/trifactor or T100, coz general masses wont go there as multisports here is much more niche than running. But metasprint/trifactor got youngsters esp for duathlons but generally not going there for instagram.
i think i got poisoned by @sph777 already :ROFLMAO:. seriously considering especially after knowing last year's timing. Maybe got a decent chance at podium. Next week go do a dry run with effort to determine current timing. Need to take it easy this week. resting HR at night is a good 10+ beats above normal the last two days after the 15K TT. old liao.....

WussRedXLi

i think i got poisoned by @sph777 already :ROFLMAO:. seriously considering especially after knowing last year's timing. Maybe got a decent chance at podium. Next week go do a dry run with effort to determine current timing. Need to take it easy this week. resting HR at night is a good 10+ beats above normal the last two days after the 15K TT. old liao.....

Can try multisports, it is fun. Just that, unfortunately for swimming the carryover effect to running is rather low, like 30-40%. Cycling to running is like 60-70%.
Can go TB and play with those triathlon laces for quicker transitions and more fuss free.

Kitaro9202

Has anyone try jogging in the morning before going to work?
Wanted to try but I don't think I can wake up earlier and afraid might feel tired during work

Lchlch

Hi Guys, can recommend a jogging / walking shoes that can walk for long distances?
Not too expensive....cos my current shoes, abit too big but then after long walk, sure will have blisters.
Not sure is it shoe? Cos when walk, can see the ground, the stones...
I saw the TK, so many jogging shoes and so nice....but scare buy already cannot wear or too tight or too loose.

Heard that socks also play a part for blisters.
Friends told me buy wool type?

rarenick

I got few weeks didn't jog, then decided to go to the newly renovated Hougang stadium to resume jogging. Only the first round on the soft track my left knee injured. Normal days I run a bit on hard ground with normal soft rubber walking shoes for a couple of minutes also problem. Go stadium with asics running shoes but get injured. Very demoralising.

rarenick

Wanted to try but I don't think I can wake up earlier and afraid might feel tired during work

I have a treadmill at home also didn't wake up early to jog. Instead I rather fast walk on treadmill at night than wake up early to jog. Then the weekend will go outdoor to jog. No need to jog everyday la. Got a bit of exercise every other day be it cardio or strength training will suffice. No need train so hard for good health. One to two generations before us don't even have any exercise regime/routine; they seldom purposely go jogging or hit the gym but they still managed to live a long life.

By the way having enough sleep is more important. Unless u are high profile ceo tell people u wake up very early in the dawn to go jogging, but 10am reach office to drink coffee.

sph777

It is really a matter of your body clock, I usually do all my runs at 4-5 am ish. Night time is taking care of kid haha. Have to get used to it

sph777

I got few weeks didn't jog, then decided to go to the newly renovated Hougang stadium to resume jogging. Only the first round on the soft track my left knee injured. Normal days I run a bit on hard ground with normal soft rubber walking shoes for a couple of minutes also problem. Go stadium with asics running shoes but get injured. Very demoralising.
Get well soon. Injuries are part and parcel of the sport. Heal up fully and come back

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.