jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

now i dont wear slippers anymore, prefer to wear shoes cos i scared slip and fall.

Just last week in one of my smash rides, one fella nearly fell when going past that KFC/Mcdonald's Kallang carpark gantry, in which the gap between the gantry and orange/white bollard is bloody small. He tot he could squeeze through w/o unclipping. These fellas are nowhere near beginner level somemore, quite experienced cyclists.
Age 16-30 young cyclist if fall i think still ok. But for age 50 and above, esp if never adequately strength trained or impact trained and/or calcium/Mg/D3 screw up, god bless. Osteopenia prevalence in general pop here is like 50% over age 50....my wife has it even though she brisk walks and jogs nearly every day but really recreational durations of below 30 mins. But only thing heng is not osteoporosis yet.
My team colleague motorcyclist 2 years ago very low speed crash and fall, maciam like 20kmh, also popped his clavicle (collar bone). He showed me the vid, crazy slow speed maciam like Hellobike speeds.

Bro, can try this. 12 pins, good for flat pedals. The shoes you can just choose cheap chinese stuff on TB, but even Shimano got some flat pedal shoes for below $100.

I have used it in "races", or more of group 1 smash rides. High force high rpm in my 30/15 microintervals, climbing, flat routes, off saddle, all no issue, safe.....feet wont slip one.

Safety is of paramount importance esp if your riding type calls for it...... for me since i do sometimes ride around the neighbourhood, do errands go hawker centre with slipper floors and so there is presence of pedestrians, dogs and also i transition between road and walkways repeated and constantly and also squeeze between bollards and carpark gantries and i also transit past my carpark to a section of HDB "void deck" daily in the presence of pedestrians etc, i need this.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?i...oughtlist.suborder_itemtitle.1.59f12e8dMJNQTb

Shimano RF300 flats
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ab...c808d95bebd71b8fdd28dbf9c4"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

WussRedXLi

Salute ahbang. 62 year old already, still wake up 3.30am to go hoot.
@xllms

For me i cannot do very early morning rides coz i prioritize recovery. (nor do i train in the night time)

These rides, really can be any level. Can be "slowish", can be mid, can be %%@#!@# vomit fast and surge like crazy or they press hard when climbing viaduct so your massive aerobic base doesnt matter much and then you lose the draft of the peloton and that is game over already.
Once i met an Italian triathlete in my group who was visiting Singapore and his in-laws here (wife i guess is SGrean), small size i tot is ok my level type...... all of us got dropped, post ride i chatted with him, his 5k timing during parkrun is 14:49 if i rem correctly, maciam like SRY or Shaun Goh one. KNN. :oops:

sph777

Haiz... Bought my first wide shoes Asics novablast 6. First run trip and fall down already. New shoes now got one hole at the side and injured my shoulder also. :sad:
oh man, get well soon, how did you fall?

sales69

I think the shoes are a bit wide and tripped on the outside sole, landed on my right shoulder. Went x-ray and seems like a tear in the ligament.
Get well soon man. Luckily not so severe. Trip at steps?

WussRedXLi

Haiz... Bought my first wide shoes Asics novablast 6. First run trip and fall down already. New shoes now got one hole at the side and injured my shoulder also. :sad:

Wow.....shd be quite the fall man, upper also ripped one hole. But heng heng no perm damage can liao.

xllms

@xllms

I think in future, majority of the chinese manufacturers will follow this trend.
No need to buy ang moh brands already.
Chinese manufacturing and biz model etc really power nowadays.

DaIyIZ5.jpg

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?abbucket=18&id=1028781813237&mi_id=0000sLNuGcwCtYwaGdFDswBf0xuggs4z73cpaH8YjOWGgL4&ns=1&priceTId=2147840e17836477990266007e1162&skuId=6040479249158&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.1&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"7c180274d37afa3dbf7a0f8affc336db"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

It is common that Chinese biz ppl develop system building mentality since the market has the size to scale up. They will look for working partners to establish the entire biz chain to ensure full control. This approach minimize costs and maximize productivity.

DigDub

Get well soon man. Luckily not so severe. Trip at steps?
Tripped over the shoes. Think maybe the shoes are a bit wider as I went with the wide version. During the run the sole already scrapped the floor more than usual, plus the grippy asicsgrip outsole means I couldn't roll much during the fall.

xllms

Anyone has good running socks to recommend, my usual brand last time no issue. Recently due to the humidity, ponding more frequently. Thinking of trying something new
my most effective socks to minimize discomfort during ponding in summer are cycling socks. You can try if they fit you well
【淘宝】7天无理由退换 https://e.tb.cn/h.RAxZKDKnsq8cw6l?tk=VWkwgpWs8Hr CZ009 「Liteskin轻云骑行袜马卡龙自行车男女运动袜子马拉松跑步2025」
点击链接直接打开 或者 淘宝搜索直接打开

sales69

Tripped over the shoes. Think maybe the shoes are a bit wider as I went with the wide version. During the run the sole already scrapped the floor more than usual, plus the grippy asicsgrip outsole means I couldn't roll much during the fall.
Maybe muscle memory default to previous shoes. This new one wider so knock into each other. :(

Get well soon.

Kitaro9202

Seem like my new shoe is tight and I loosen it my feet is ok liao
But not used to this shoe run slowly and muscle feel some strain
Has anyone try running 2 time in a day?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.