jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Morleng...... in the mood, so decided to try a fast 5k. In the end felt a bit pung chek by halfway mark (lactate burn was bad coz of the riding i done past 2 days the raw power output not there) but i think can push a bit and sprinted.

PB for 3K by 11 seconds, previous 11.38 now 11.27. Anyway it is not track so not sure about exact accuracy. But just take it la. for recreation only.

Wanted to continue to 5K but already redlined a bit, so didnt bother.

Anyway started to drizzle too. Rushed back on the bike, NB now stopped. Think makan first and see if wanna continue recovery ride.
Actually last evening/night also, rained a bit and then stopped, twice. Once i was halfway back from MBS liao then i u-turned back.

I sensitive / allergic to rain one. Trained by my years of kite flying also. (it's bloody difficult to dry my kites here in humid SG) :ROFLMAO:

X1vdkiG.jpg

WussRedXLi

I wanna improve my VO2 max, but I hate jogging. How ah?

Cycling. Hill climbs/sprints also. Sentosa, Mt Faber for south side. Even MBS Eslplande bride can (8 seconds sprints enough for normal folks starting out, 10 seconds max...that's how long your ATP can last).

Chinese type cheap bike can liao. The resistance is good for training.

WussRedXLi

Need to be hard enough though
Starting out take it easy too. No more than 2 times a week.
The benefits are better longevity and what nots.

BTW if you are over age 40, best to go do a $400 basic cardio checkup

Aerobic high-intensity intervals improve VO2max more than moderate training​

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17414804/

mrBooBoo

Cycling. Hill climbs/sprints also. Sentosa, Mt Faber for south side. Even MBS Eslplande bride can (8 seconds sprints enough for normal folks starting out, 10 seconds max...that's how long your ATP can last).

Chinese type cheap bike can liao. The resistance is good for training.
Cycle, swim, eliptical ... and any other exercise that you do in the aerobic zone. Aerobic stimulus is Aerobic stimulus no matter how and where it came from. Doesn't have to be running.

I have been doing sauna. Heard about the multitude of benefits, but haven't researched the correlation with VO2 max.

Life is truly no pain, no gain. Really need to endure physical discomfort to achieve physiological change. *sweat*.

WussRedXLi

Not sure about sauna. Ice baths too. No access to those stuff. :ROFLMAO:

Even if hate running, can still incorporate hill sprints. It wont take long one. In fact it's more than doable for the majority of busy working folks.

Why hill sprints over "normal" SITs? Coz (relatively) lower risk of injuries and got more resistance.
Even a shallow 3-5% gradient is good. It's just 10 secs max, so no need to be a long stretch.

I'd say it's very effective too. I actually started out running with SIT. (that time still walking too)

Ender

I wanna improve my VO2 max, but I hate jogging. How ah?
For Runners and cyclist, check out the Billats 30-30 . 30 sec all out activity, yes it's all out, not just above zone 5. Then followed by 30 sec rest and repeat 10 reps for each set. Do 3 sets. I did once, and almost fainted, as in really felt my head giddy. I know I had over did it and never went back to this training anymore, coz I am really not young anymore.

But it's strange the athletes with the higher VO2max are the endurance sports. So I think the endurance component should not be neglected, i.e I feel the Maximum aerobic function has a correlation to VO2max. despite the training regime works on different energy system.

xllms

Not sure about sauna. Ice baths too. No access to those stuff. :ROFLMAO:

Even if hate running, can still incorporate hill sprints. It wont take long one. In fact it's more than doable for the majority of busy working folks.

Why hill sprints over "normal" SITs? Coz (relatively) lower risk of injuries and got more resistance.
Even a shallow 3-5% gradient is good. It's just 10 secs max, so no need to be a long stretch.

I'd say it's very effective too. I actually started out running with SIT. (that time still walking too)

not sure ice baths approach is good for those not so young. shock the body if didn't go well may have negative impact.

Unic0rn

To be motivated when jogging, have a nice girl go jog with you and you will feel motivated to catch up to her 😊

WussRedXLi

not sure ice baths approach is good for those not so young. shock the body if didn't go well may have negative impact.

The science behind it is conflicting. But folks like kipchoge and olympic athletes do it (some cryo stuff).
I think those with no co-morbidities shd be fine.

But must have someone to be around for safety. Some people just stun and couldnt get up.
Cold shock syndrome

WussRedXLi

To be motivated when jogging, have a nice girl go jog with you and you will feel motivated to catch up to her 😊

MBS got a fair number. But not fast one.

The fast ones can tag along but then not chio one.

If i were to be on my bike (even tho chinese foldie only) lagi worse, need the charbo to be like Sifan Hassan or something, in order to get a decent workout.

I know, again.......i sibeh mafan

Bonus

WussRedXLi

Morleng...... in the mood, so decided to try a fast 5k. In the end felt a bit pung chek by halfway mark (lactate burn was bad coz of the riding i done past 2 days the raw power output not there) but i think can push a bit and sprinted.

PB for 3K by 11 seconds, previous 11.38 now 11.27. Anyway it is not track so not sure about exact accuracy. But just take it la. for recreation only.

Wanted to continue to 5K but already redlined a bit, so didnt bother.

Anyway started to drizzle too. Rushed back on the bike, NB now stopped. Think makan first and see if wanna continue recovery ride.
Actually last evening/night also, rained a bit and then stopped, twice. Once i was halfway back from MBS liao then i u-turned back.

I sensitive / allergic to rain one. Trained by my years of kite flying also. (it's bloody difficult to dry my kites here in humid SG) :ROFLMAO:

X1vdkiG.jpg

Basket, just realised 3K @ 11.27 = same pace for 2.4K @ 9 min 05 seconds. I have gotten multiple times 9 mins flat, very low 9 mins. In fact once i did not redline and got 9.03 i think, so i believe high 8 mins possible.

I think low 11 mins for 3K possible. Even though this is a PB for 3K, it's possibly not an optimal run. Anyway also usually don't try 3K

Will try again, just for fun, 3K is neither here nor there for most i guess. Not 2.4 (though for me is ex-NS) and not 5K

WussRedXLi

cycle intensively. most pro cyclists have incredible VO2 max levels. likewise pro skiing also, which quite far fetch to do so in SG.
Not an expert but in cycling it probably is more important than in running (possibly running economy the most impt in running, unless VO2max is so low that it becomes the limiting factor among the 3 factorsof lactate, RE and VO2max).

Sometimes they sprint repeatedly in clinbsm like in loops like that repeatedly. Competition scenario. Crazy one.

Anyway, different muscle groups utilization between the few sports, so not comparable directly, different muscles utilized also.

I go search vids. Came across a few

Bonus (nothing to do with VO2max)

WussRedXLi

Tonight go MBS, 3rd time today. :ROFLMAO: See if got Xmas mood. Too bad i no Xmas hat
Orchard too crowded to being bike, will get scolded probably.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.