jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Hakone coming next month, anyone have lobang for live streaming, please share. Quite exciting even though comment is in japanese.

Wah live stream i try, but likely nope, coz Jap centric and not worldwide,.....not so easy. After that have la....but i know u want live one. Ill see what i can manage to search :ROFLMAO:

xllms

The science behind it is conflicting. But folks like kipchoge and olympic athletes do it (some cryo stuff).
I think those with no co-morbidities shd be fine.

But must have someone to be around for safety. Some people just stun and couldnt get up.
Cold shock syndrome

yup, me old liao, don't dare to try. 15 yrs ago when i wake up in winter, i showered in cold water, super refreshing. But now, no way man. 😂

zeroX26

Not an expert but in cycling it probably is more important than in running (possibly running economy the most impt in running, unless VO2max is so low that it becomes the limiting factor among the 3 factorsof lactate, RE and VO2max).
This isn't true lah. In endurance running, the best predictor of performance is different for different distances. VO2max is the strongest predictor for performance for 3k and 5k races, velocity at LT2 for 10km and half marathon, while running economy for the marathon. Running economy is a useless predictor for performance for distances below half-marathon intensity becoz RE's measurement is done at a range of sub-max velocities below LT2. The same principle is applied to road cycling also.

WussRedXLi

those led arm band should be enough right?

Better to get something that is good.

Posted last night going out coz Xmas eve, went to MBS again (3rd time yesterday lol)

Really cluster fug everwhere, but ok lah got mood. Went to see concert @ the supertrees etc.
GBTB/Merlion was jam packed, for me only walking pace riding, good test of slow speed skills.

Reached Marina Barrage and i ventured off the red dotted shared track, was just at the path where joggers usually take...i was taking a water break when a SG Bike side swiped me. Luckily was pretty slow speed, so my bike just got bumped sideways and we fell but nothing serious, no injury.
But my main front light mounting was damaged and i had to keep it in my bag. I was only left with my aux front ligh.

Not totally sure but i think a contributing factor might be coz earlier on i went to the restroom at Gardens by the Bay and decided to dim to lowest setting my 3 rear solid mode lights (50 lumens each) on my bike. Then my 2 very bright flashing (2 x 250 lumens flashing) Moon Helix 450 i switched off.
Coz i didnt wanna blind people behind me, coz not useful for very bright stuff mah as everywhere crowded.

So i went home right? Was about to reach home and i had to take the road for around 200 metres. I could take the pavements but that part rather hilly and the ramps a bit difficult to navigate and climb at the same time, so usually i take the main road short section and then the side road.
Came to a carpark exit that i have to ride across and noticed a car coming out. So i slowed and decided to let it pass in front of me.
Suddenly the car jammed brake while crossing my path about 3 car lengths distance in front of me and so i also had to brake as it was right in front of me. I waved it on.
Apparently i guess it did not see my until the very last minute, coz i only had my aux front light on.
My 2 pcs of helmet front lights (around 10 lumens) didnt help also?

So, 2 safety incidents happened last night that im not very happy about with regards to safety.
But of coz, it's Xmas eve, so a lot of wierd things that could happen, from too cluster fug to maybe even slightly intoxicated drivers.

WussRedXLi

This isn't true lah. In endurance running, the best predictor of performance is different for different distances. VO2max is the strongest predictor for performance for 3k and 5k races, velocity at LT2 for 10km and half marathon, while running economy for the marathon. Running economy is a useless predictor for performance for distances below half-marathon intensity becoz RE's measurement is done at a range of sub-max velocities below LT2. The same principle is applied to road cycling also.

Wah I think i gotta look it up on google, the scientific papers. I just came across vids on youtube but i guess it might just be over generalizing things or it's mean for long distance running or something, not an expert in this vo2max, LT and RE relationship.

But good to know that vo2max is still not totally useless, coz i'd come across many statements like that, but you know, i prob still don't 100% fully understand such metrics.

WussRedXLi

BTW can i ask you one thing? I did this CO2 tolerance test and i managed to not feel the need to breathe again (ie inhale) until over 10-15 seconds over the 1 min mark. And even at 1 min mark, it was not that "wanna die" kinda threshold liao, ie i am not really pushing it in the quest of trying to get a good result. I am supposedly in the excellent grade for this, but not sure if it is of any decent significance.

Any predictor in performance or any significance for this?

WussRedXLi

Bro, if over 40, remember to get clearance from your GP, preferably the basic $400 range cardiac test ok liao.

But if you have been living rather healthily all these decades, maybe just a normal $165 "overall" body checkup blood test ok la.......most impt of interest before you start these 100% sessions (or even 80-95%) is perhaps your lipid panel?

Last time i late 40s just before covid, suddenly not sure why my left chest area near the heart maciam like sometimes slight pulling pain. But rather brief, didnt last > 1 -2 hrs. Occassionally.

But before that in my mid 40s i cleared the typical $400 treadmill stress test. My lipid panel then also ok, though at the higher end of normal.

When covid p2 time, i started racewalking + SIT, then after that no more of this very slight pulling pain.

WussRedXLi

When covid p2 time, i started racewalking + SIT, then after that no more of this very slight pulling pain.

ps. Ever since covid started, my diet has been pretty clean. In fact normal people would say i am overdoing it, but seriously i dont think so la.......i'd rather think the other way round is true, normal diets here in SG are mostly just "inedible" one.

My wife's health / weight and fitness also improved super heckloads via diet clean-up and brisk walking. (watch VO2max now 39 iirc the last i checked). Simply coz she came from a totally non-existent fitness (climb overhead bridge also nearly cannot, rather she'd walk 300m to traffic light or sometimes take bus for 1-2 bus stops, sometimes leading to quarrels coz the others need to wait for her).

^^^^
but tbh, i know quite a few colleagues need to take bus coz MRT from my coy is 550m away. Is not uncommon i think.

mrBooBoo

ps. Ever since covid started, my diet has been pretty clean. In fact normal people would say i am overdoing it, but seriously i dont think so la.......i'd rather think the other way round is true, normal diets here in SG are mostly just "inedible" one.
My wife's health / weight and fitness also improved super heckloads via diet clean-up and brisk walking. (watch VO2max now 39 iirc the last i checked). Simply coz she came from a totally non-existent fitness (climb overhead bridge also nearly cannot, rather she'd walk 300m to traffic light or sometimes take bus for 1-2 bus stops, sometimes leading to quarrels coz the others need to wait for her).
^^^^
but tbh, i know quite a few colleagues need to take bus coz MRT from my coy is 550m away. Is not uncommon i think.

like wise. Ever since I practice fasting and mindfulness of the body, I become more attune to the effect of "bad food". They will feel good at that moment but the after effect can be quite uncomfortable hours after.

Junk food is really no better than any other addiction. Once you got out of the hedonic trap, you will feel how much better it is. Now to me eating KFC is like drinking poison. The after effect is terrible.

binbinpon

Wah I think i gotta look it up on google, the scientific papers. I just came across vids on youtube but i guess it might just be over generalizing things or it's mean for long distance running or something, not an expert in this vo2max, LT and RE relationship.

But good to know that vo2max is still not totally useless, coz i'd come across many statements like that, but you know, i prob still don't 100% fully understand such metrics.
You have to understand the purpose of each training metric in relation to the running goal.

Training for health is different from ultra endurance running, mid distance runner or be a better sprinter.
VO2max is important in sports that involve only short intense efforts.

For vo2 max, 80/20 rule is not the most efficient way of improving it. Faster and harder is the way to go. So interval training, resistance training which involves anaerobic elements like lactate accumulation will stimulate metabolic adaptations for higher oxygen utilisation.

For recreational sportsman, doing runs 3x/wk including hitt, tempo, long distance run and 3x resistance training will be more than enough.

sph777

Morleng...... in the mood, so decided to try a fast 5k. In the end felt a bit pung chek by halfway mark (lactate burn was bad coz of the riding i done past 2 days the raw power output not there) but i think can push a bit and sprinted.

PB for 3K by 11 seconds, previous 11.38 now 11.27. Anyway it is not track so not sure about exact accuracy. But just take it la. for recreation only.

Wanted to continue to 5K but already redlined a bit, so didnt bother.

Anyway started to drizzle too. Rushed back on the bike, NB now stopped. Think makan first and see if wanna continue recovery ride.
Actually last evening/night also, rained a bit and then stopped, twice. Once i was halfway back from MBS liao then i u-turned back.

I sensitive / allergic to rain one. Trained by my years of kite flying also. (it's bloody difficult to dry my kites here in humid SG) :ROFLMAO:

X1vdkiG.jpg
Great timing nonetheless

Ender

Probably will be same I think maybe pace and distance adjusted? Haha
I worry that's how trainer think when they work with elite runners for too long. Most studies are done on elite runners on which is the optimum training regime. Very few on the gen pop. Their bio adaptation might be different from elite.
Jeff Galloway (famed for run-walk)is one of very rare trainer that design his training around gen pop despite him being an Olympian in his younger days.

I have only became aware of this recently when I started using this TrainAsOne AI adaptive trainer. It had prescribed a lot less mileage compare to one I used previously from the book Advance Marathoning. It's training philosophy is based on more shorter distance back to back rather the one super long LSD on a 7 days cycle. Rational was the conventional study of most periodization training were based on elite runners. It may not applies to gen pop. I thought I would hit the wall after 30km at SCSM 2033 since the longest LSD was only 26km. Guess what, I didn't hit the wall, and for the first time after so many years I was able to finish stronger with a 5:30min pace for the last km to finish line. Only walking was at the shear bridge which I made a strategic choice to conserve energy. Previously I would hit the wall at 35km, even though I followed the Pfitzinger's plan diligently till it's peak at 35km for a couple weeks. I walked most of the time after the wall till finish.

sph777

I worry that's how trainer think when they work with elite runners for too long. Most studies are done on elite runners on which is the optimum training regime. Very few on the gen pop. Their bio adaptation might be different from elite.
Jeff Galloway (famed for run-walk)is one of very rare trainer that design his training around gen pop despite him being an Olympian in his younger days.

I have only became aware of this recently when I started using this TrainAsOne AI adaptive trainer. It had prescribed a lot less mileage compare to one I used previously from the book Advance Marathoning. It's training philosophy is based on more shorter distance back to back rather the one super long LSD on a 7 days cycle. Rational was the conventional study of most periodization training were based on elite runners. It may not applies to gen poo. I thought I would hit the wall after 30km at SCSM 2033 since the longest LSD was only 26km. Guess what, I didn't hit the wall, and for the first time after so many years I was able to finish stronger with a 5:30min pace for the last km to finish line. Only walking was at the shear bridge which I made a strategic choice to conserve energy. Previously I would hit the wall at 35km, even though I followed the Pfitzinger's plan diligently till it's peak at 35km for a couple weeks. I walked most of the time after the wall till finish.
I think in the end also all training is subjective to how the person reacts. But glad you found what suits you.

for me, now it’s just running when I can 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.