jogging and motivation thread

bbbbbw

ate too much buffet and bak kwa and cny oranges recently. feeling lazy to run...

Kuudere

brand not important, more crucial is consistency and committment to keep running.
most of us have a variety of running shoes brands, eg. Adidas, Asics, Brooks, Hoka, Mizuno, Nike, On, Qiaodan, Puma, Saucony, Skechers, etc.
if you are new, don't spend too much money, wear whatever current running shoes you have, eg. army. once you know more about your preferences and pace, tests them out at various shops.

jogging really have to be consistent one sia

slack a month can really feel the difference in stamina

no wonder people stop exercising all together really demoralizing

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/evening-joggers-lip-lai-part-4.6130820/page-249

October 29, 2022 evening runner thread
I was hit with covid close to 5 months ago, where I didn't run for 3 weeks. Had to go hospital too. When I went back to running, felt very breathless. Went from ~5km on usual runs to 2.4-2.5km. Did not do interval training during the first few months, since there were times I felt chest pains. Only started doing intervals last month. My usual runs are now back to high 3km to low 4km.

My interval yesterday was 4x400m (with unrestricted rest):

Top speed not really affected, endurance still currently down 20%, largely because I didn't make much effort to scale up in the last 2-3 months due to my busy schedule.

Muscle recovery is longer than before, but since I run every alternate day, it's not so bad on my legs.

I only realise it became a lot better in early september. That's slightly after my 3 months mark.

When I realise that I manage to recover better, I started to run longer, which also means that I can push myself beyond 3k and consistently run 3k.

When I push distance, I run at a lot slower pace, just to complete the distance. The speed doesn't matter, so usually jogging (13-14 minutes 2.4km pace).

Was I demoralised? Yes for sure. But not for long. Before that thought affect me too much, I was back running again.

xllms

Abit too little to be consider consistent. Try a week , 3 times.
yah, do it consistently. also mix up your running. for me i run 2 x 6km at different paces. the return run usually is at slower pace, eg. tried to maintain at zone 2. the first one i go as fast as i can. weekends i do 2 x 10km.
you can also mix up one day do speedwork, other days clock up the mileage.

luei74

Planning for the evening jog ruin by the heavy rains at NE side....tmr bah

raylong

Currently I am running in 6 pairs of shoe. In addition to this I still hoard 3 pair of endorphin shift, 3 pair of supercomp trainer v1, Still got one pair of unworn reebok harmony road 3 from 4 years ago. Buy shoe buy until scared.

WussRedXLi

Planning for the evening jog ruin by the heavy rains at NE side....tmr bah
7.15 stop liao mah.

I went out at 7.45pm after looking at the radar and it was definitely all clear. Now 11+ then return.
Quite tiring but just now was a bloody good 3.5hr session.

Ender

7.15 stop liao mah.

I went out at 7.45pm after looking at the radar and it was definitely all clear. Now 11+ then return.
Ya, I went out around 7pm for a 5km recovery run. First run after 5 days of rest from flu.

luei74

7.15 stop liao mah.

but my area the jogging pathway still wet, don't like to jog at wet pathway, hopefully today evening can go for an hour jog.

WussRedXLi

Ya, I went out around 7pm for a 5km recovery run. First run after 5 days of rest from flu.

Still can find relatively good cool weather if carefully timed and chosen.

This cny weekend will have a monsoon surge, shd be windy with short passing showers....not say really cool tho but if carefully chosen it might be.

Kuudere

Vanessa is insane, her stride is very efficient. Same as Shing Ling.

Went to search her up and apparently Shing Ling did SCMS with a time of 3.16 and 3.19 in 2022 and 2023 respectively.

Very decent scaling into long distance, considering how 39.28 10km will give a 3.01 marathon pace on the race time predictor.

As for Aaron, he should've been faster initially and paced with the other 38 minute runners, but maybe was too conservative to save energy. And the last part, got too overconfident, happens a lot when not many people are ahead of you and not much competition to go for.

I got outkicked once in the ASICs run recently but that was mostly because I underestimated the route (non-track) due to unfamiliarity, surged too early and end up one guy use me as the pacer and overtook me.

WussRedXLi

Vanessa is insane, her stride is very efficient. Same as Shing Ling.

Went to search her up and apparently Shing Ling did SCMS with a time of 3.16 and 3.19 in 2022 and 2023 respectively.

Very decent scaling into long distance, considering how 39.28 10km will give a 3.01 marathon pace on the race time predictor.

As for Aaron, he should've been faster initially and paced with the other 38 minute runners, but maybe was too conservative to save energy. And the last part, got too overconfident, happens a lot when not many people are ahead of you and not much competition to go for.

I got outkicked once in the ASICs run recently but that was mostly because I underestimated the route (non-track) due to unfamiliarity, surged too early and end up one guy use me as the pacer and overtook me.

For me i keep it really simple for the timed runs wanting to see if can hit the best timing or even PB, just calculate the pace and stick to it via GPS as much as possible. Then if can get new PB then just let it happen. If not try again. More and more tries will eventually get PB, as in relying on probability and luck. That's my simple strategy.
Already quite the challenge to stick to the watch first before relying more on feel and rhythm more.
Dont have more CPU power to stick to pace groups or other folks.

Usually from experience i have no issue negative splitting this way, mostly shd still have a bit left in the tank.

Cannot go too slow / easy one, for these 3k, 5k, even 10k. Not the fun runs.

This chap Aaron is capable of quite a bit more one.

coern

I expected the timing to get faster, but it didn't... why leh?

[jogless] jogging and motivation thread​

So i am jogless already. And going to use the extra time to get healthier.

Plans to jog at least 4-5times week.
Each at least 4.5km.

Can edmwer bros and sis come in motivate me and together fulfil your new year resolutions.

To put words to action so everyday i will post here to track (at least until CNY or get new jog) my joggings.

Those who want to join me also are welcome!

Rough jog numbers
1/1/23 - 4.6km 30min
2/1/23 - 4.8km 31min
3/1/23 - 4.6km 31min
4/1/23 - 4.8km 31min
Screenshot-2023-01-04-20-47-05-032-edit-com-xiaomi-hm-health.jpg
5/1/23 - rest day
6/1/23 - 4.6km 29.5min
7/1/23 - 4.8km 31min =(
8/1/23 - 4.8km 31min (few seconds faster than yesterday)
9/1/23 - rest day
10/1/23 - 4.6km 29.5min
11/1/23 - 4.6km 30min =(
12/1/23 - 4.8km 31.5min =(
13/1/23 - rest day
14/1/23am - 4.8km 32.5min =(
15/1/23 - 4.6km 31min =(
Screenshot-2023-01-15-21-21-57-862-com-xiaomi-hm-health.jpg
16/1/23 - 4.6km 30.5min
17/1/23 - rest day
18/1/23 - ippt day 2.4km 13.5min 😍 谢谢阿公
19/1/23 - rest day
20/1/23am - 4.6km 32.5min 😵
21/1/23am - 4.6km 31.5min
22/1/23 - raining 😂
23/1/23 - eat snake day 😂
24/1/23 - nursing hangover :ROFLMAO:
25/1/23 - light static
26/1/23 - 4.6km 30.5min
27/1/23 - no jogging, but walked 11k steps
28/1/23am - 4.6km 32min😞
29/1/23 - 4.6km 29.5min
30/1/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
31/1/23 - 4.8km 30min
End Jan lo!
1/2/23 - eat snake statics
2/2/23am - 4.6km 37min😝 can't jog with a weakened core!
3/2/23 - 4.8km 30min Heng ar.. rain stopped in time for evening jog
4/2/23 - walking day. 15k steps
5/2/23 - rest and eat snake day
6/2/23 - 4.8km 30min
7/2/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
8/2/23 - 4.6km 30min
9/2/23 - use drizzling as eat snake excuse day
10/2/23- eat snake day 2 cause morning and evening both raining :ROFLMAO:
11/2/23am - 4.8km 33min😝
12/2/23 - 4.8km 30min
13/2/23 - 4.8km 30.5min
14/2/23 - 4.6km 29.5min
15/2/23 - 4.8km 31min 😡😡😡😡😡
16/2/23 - rest day
17/2/23 - 4.8km 30.5min
18/2/23 - 4.8km 30min
19/2/23 - 4.8km 30min
20/2/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
21/2/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
22/2/23 - 4.8km 31min 😞
23/2/23 - rest day
24/2/23 - rest day2
25/2/23 am - 4.8km 31.5min 😞
26/2/23 am - 4.8km 32min 🤣
27/2/23 am - 4.8km 33.5min 😭
28/2/23 - raining ~~
1/3/23 - 4.8km 29.5min ☺️
2/3/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
3/3/23 - rest day
4/3/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
5/3/23 - 4.8km 30min
6/3/23 - 4.8km 29min
7/3/23 - rest day
8/3/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
9/3/23 - 4.8km 30min
10/3/23 - 5.0km 32min
11/3/23 - rest day
12/3/23am - 5km 32min
13/3/23 - 5.0km 30.5min
14/3/23 - 5.0km 31min
15/3/23 - 5.0km 30.5min
16/3/23 - rest day
17/3/23 - 5.0km 32min
18/3/23 am - 4.8km 33.5min
19/3/23 - 5.0km 31min
20/3/23 - rest day
21/3/23 - 5.0km 33.5min
22/3/23 - 5.0km 31.5min
23/3/23 - 4.6km 30.5min
24/3/23 - rest day
25/3/23 - 5.0km 31min
26/3/23 - 5.0km 31.5min
27/3/23 - 4.6km 32.5min
28/3/23 - rest day
29/3/23am - 4.6km 36min
30/3/23 - eat snake day
31/3/23am - 4.6km 32.5min
1/4/23 - eat snake day
2/4/23 - eat snake day2
3/4/23 - 4.8km 30.5min
4/4/23 - 4.8km 32.5min
5/4/23 - 5.0km 32min
6/4/23 - rest day
7/4/23am - 4.6km 32min
8/4/23 - 4.8km 30.5min
9/4/23 - 5.0km 31min
10/4/23 - rest day
11/4/23 - 5.0km 31.5min
12/4/23 - 4.8km 32.5min 💨
13/4/23 - 4.8km 29.5min
14/4/23 - rest day
15/4/23 - Pak badminton day
16/4/23 - badminton recovery day :ROFLMAO:
17/4/23 - 4.6km 31min badminton recovery day 2
18/4/23 - raining.... eat snake day!
19/4/23 - 4.8km 31min
20/4/23 - eat snake day
21/4/23 - 4.6km 29.5min
22/4/23 - pak badminton day
23/4/23 - 5.0km 31.5min
24/4/23 - 4.8km 30min
25/4/23 - rest day
26/4/23 - 4.8km 31min
27/4/23 - rest....
28/4/23 - eat snake..
29/4/23 - eat snake 🐍 day2
30/4/23 - pak badminton
1/5/23 - badminton recovery day
2/5/23 - 4.6km 28.5min
3/5/23 - rest day
4/5/23 - rest day2
5/5/23 - 4.6km 29.5min
6/5/23 - 4.8km 31min
7/5/23 - rest
8/5/23 - 3.8km 24min
9/5/23 - rest
10/5/23 - rest day2
11/5/23 - 3.8km 24min
12/5/23 - rest
13/5/23 - 4.6km 31min
14/5/23 - rest
15/5/23 - rest
16/5/23 - rest
17/5/23 - 4.8km 30.5min
18/5/23 - rest
19/5/23 - rest
20/5/23 - 4.8km 32min
21/5/23 - rest
22/5/23 - rest
23/5/23 - 4.8km 32.5min
24/5/23 - rest
25/5/23 - rest
26/5/23 - rest
27/5/23 - 4.8km 31min
28/5/23 - rest
29/5/23 - 4.8km 30.5min
30/5/23 - rest
31/5/23 - rest

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.