jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

swollen toe me also kena. i was told by medical professions to just let it grow off and avoid wearing shoes that add further pressure on the same area.
i think still can continue running if you can, just wear shoes with larger toe space that does not aggravate the toe. Adjust running style and do not exert on your toes. If running outdoor is a potential hazard, can do it in gym treadmill. If cannot run, do brisk walking also better than nothing. This will help to maintain your conditioning.
just a personal thought after stopping running due to bad flu with persistent coughing + work demands + busy dealing with other stuffs.
just had a 10km run this morning after about1.5 mths laying off, the regressing is serious. my conditioning is approx. 4 mths ago based on my pacing and how i feel when i run.
I experienced regression before when I got covid, 1 month didn't run. And when I run again, mileage dropped by 40% and also completing that mileage made me more breathless.

I think the most important thing going forward is to:

1. Build back your aerobic base by slowly increasing your mileage
2. Introducing some speed workouts whenever you feel you are ready
3. Don't focus too much on the time, just take it easy until you are fully recovered.

The process of recovery took me very long. I got covid in June 2022. Recovered in July 2022. August 2022, barely can run because of dry cough. September can run but can't do hard runs. Only in October, I could do hard runs. By Feb 2023, I was more or less back to where I was. Was able to run the 2.4km IPPT too.

The thing that kept me going was grit. I wanted to get back what I lost badly, so I planned out what I need to improve during my downtime. When I was able to run again, I just execute the training.

4km (track)
12.37 - 2.4km
21.10.90 - 4km
Feb 6 2023 >> Exactly 1 year back on this thread

Went for the ASICS running group yesterday, did 2 x 3km hard run w/ 1 min rest in between.

First set: Didn't manage to track but should be around 4.40/km pace

Second set: Paced with another guy from the club and ran 13.26 in 3km, 4.29/km pace

Not feeling that good during the run due to eating fried food for lunch.

Lead pack was running at 4.00-4.10/km pace
Jan 30 2024 >> 51 week progression (1 week short of a year)

Lchlch

Well done.

How many hours you took ?
Thks bro, about 9 hours including lunch break ( which I skip due due to beginning i was at the back of the group n too far from the leading pack), then abit detour to take photos...

Lchlch

2h3Dmr9.jpg

Yesterday evening jog, my Ah Boyz still said. Uncle why so slowz....told him uncle old liao 🙏🙏
Where got slow bro...fast man!

animeonegai

Only thing i can think of is cycling, swimming.

If not can whack push ups, calf raises / tib raises, squats, use reisstance bands train TFL, hamstrings.....upper body and lower limbs. Mai hiam, still v good, is a positive step for your performance and health

I purchased full sets of resistance bands the short and long ones also for this reason. Sometimes like rain etc....cant really go out also, or cant go out for long. Several sessions just outside for 15 mins and that is it, need to turn back. IS a turn off. So if got more alternatives, is good.
Your mind wont feel that the day is wasted.
I do a mix of calisthenics and weights most of the time with a short run mixed in and a 5.4 to 6km run on weekend. Some times will add in swimming as recovery exercise. And every month will change the routine sets (rotation period before going back to the same set is 4 to 5 months)

@xllms thanks for the advice. Can't really go swimming as I have open wound on my right arm for now.

I not sure if I should see GP on my toe. It's not as bad as initial but right after that incident, I can still bend my toe. Now, it's harder and it's still 1.5 times bigger than my left toe of same (swollen). The toenail doesn't seem to be bleeding but there is some slight discoloration.

Ender

after running 2.4km & 6 sets of sprints, my middle shin bone tend to feel tender when i press on it. it takes a day or 2 before i can knock on the shin bone without feeling much pain. do u guys have this issue? my joints never gave me problems
Just take care in case it might be a prelude to shin splint. Had shin splint during the 2022 SCSM training, not easy to recover from.

Lchlch

I notice after doing long brisk walk once every weekend about average 35 km , i can managed to clock 10km plus slow jog...last Saturday I clocked 10km plus slow jog....usually around 6km , i already pongjak.

WussRedXLi

I do a mix of calisthenics and weights most of the time with a short run mixed in and a 5.4 to 6km run on weekend. Some times will add in swimming as recovery exercise. And every month will change the routine sets (rotation period before going back to the same set is 4 to 5 months)

@xllms thanks for the advice. Can't really go swimming as I have open wound on my right arm for now.

I not sure if I should see GP on my toe. It's not as bad as initial but right after that incident, I can still bend my toe. Now, it's harder and it's still 1.5 times bigger than my left toe of same (swollen). The toenail doesn't seem to be bleeding but there is some slight discoloration.

Wow now become more swollen confirm cannot do any impactful exercises.
Just continue with your calisthenics and strength training, think best to limit to upper body too.

If got company panel doc then can go see la, can even take MC for CNY period. heh.......

sph777

Here you all wear which brand of shoes for jogging ? 🤔
Novablast 3 for daily jogging, previously saucony triumph or hoka clifton but novablast cheaper considering now I spent a bit more on race shoes such as pb 3 and vaporfly 3

WussRedXLi

don't like running in cold conditions. maybe because of my pneumonia history and now lungs/throat induce cough easily when inhale large vol of cold air. Can't wait for warmer conditions to come sooner.

Maybe can try slower jogging paces with KF94 if you feel laying off totally from any exercise is wasteful....i think it helps a bit with the RH and temps that you inhale. I used to put on KF94 whenever i get past huge croweds at Merlion and MBS areas during the last covid and flu/cold surge which ended a month ago.

animeonegai

Wow now become more swollen confirm cannot do any impactful exercises.
Just continue with your calisthenics and strength training, think best to limit to upper body too.

If got company panel doc then can go see la, can even take MC for CNY period. heh.......
Sadly out of job atm. Looking for a new place with less office politics and less OT. :(

xllms

Here you all wear which brand of shoes for jogging ? 🤔
brand not important, more crucial is consistency and committment to keep running.
most of us have a variety of running shoes brands, eg. Adidas, Asics, Brooks, Hoka, Mizuno, Nike, On, Qiaodan, Puma, Saucony, Skechers, etc.
if you are new, don't spend too much money, wear whatever current running shoes you have, eg. army. once you know more about your preferences and pace, tests them out at various shops.

xllms

Maybe can try slower jogging paces with KF94 if you feel laying off totally from any exercise is wasteful....i think it helps a bit with the RH and temps that you inhale. I used to put on KF94 whenever i get past huge croweds at Merlion and MBS areas during the last covid and flu/cold surge which ended a month ago.
wearing mask not appropriate for me. my issue is more got to do with my throat/lungs allergic reaction to large vol. cold air.
i think i have passed that stage since yesterday's 11km i had no coughs. Now just need to pick up the running base again and slowly pick up the paces.

sph777

wearing mask not appropriate for me. my issue is more got to do with my throat/lungs allergic reaction to large vol. cold air.
i think i have passed that stage since yesterday's 11km i had no coughs. Now just need to pick up the running base again and slowly pick up the paces.
How long you've been in China bro? Maybe for the winters have to really try to minimise exposure to the winds by going treadmill instead?

Ender

Runners do have a higher risk of allergy related to respiration, coz they tend to spend more time outdoors and breathing in more volumes of air than normal people that contains contaminants , pollens.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.