jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Ok ok, paiseh......just tot it'd be good for those training at the city centre area.
Coz really came across quite a few close calls and cases over there.
LOL, if really come close or actually bang into one, then can post here, we will join you to criticize that bugger who doesn't follow safety rules.

WussRedXLi

LOL, if really come close or actually bang into one, then can post here, we will join you to criticize that bugger who doesn't follow safety rules.

Ok, to be really honest, last time when still driving no dash cam tech yet. Now i am really contemplating some cheap but ones (still gonna be around 100 but that'd be times 2), for bicycles.
But yeah, as you'd all know, i am the kiasee / "wanna cater for every outcome" type. :ROFLMAO:
Bo bian, guess it's in my blood or something.

Esp now i believe it's really gonna be useful since im clocking in so many hours.
Really dont wanna get in trouble and then waste time arguing and debating, coz im sure you know lah.
With a vid, no need to debate much, and can move on with life liao.
There are cyclists with cams, but vast majority due to road riding.

xllms

20240324 20degC brooks hyperion elite 3
a) 10.08km @ 6'12" av (62'32")
b) 10.09km @ 7'27" av (75'15")

av HR @ 171, max 185.
don't seem to be able to maintain my pace below 6'00"/km throughout. by 2km experiencing stitch all the way.
had a challenging time finding my way pass hoards of crowd along the bund stretch.
return run was alot worse, stopped several times due to stitches 🤣

Kuudere

Think I’m going to take a break from running for a while although race coming soon. Yesterday supposed to do 18km at 4:30, ran 6km on pace then left calf cramp. Today tried again then 7km on pace then I felt a pull on the same left calf down to the ankle. Better to stop for a while and recover
The day after you get cramp, take a break from running and stretch the affected part.

The day after that, do a short easy run.

Depending on your leg condition, can do a hard run or just do easy for the week.

Usually works for me

av HR @ 171, max 185.
don't seem to be able to maintain my pace below 6'00"/km throughout. by 2km experiencing stitch all the way.
had a challenging time finding my way pass hoards of crowd along the bund stretch.
Start your first 2km at steady state (6'20 - 6'25), maintain the pace for 3km. Last 5km, increase the pace gradually and then burst for your last 2km.

Less likely to get stitch since you are slowly warming up to run a faster pace. Even if you get stitch in the last few km, at least it wouldn't affect the run as much as getting stitch earlier on.

xllms

Start your first 2km at steady state (6'20 - 6'25), maintain the pace for 3km. Last 5km, increase the pace gradually and then burst for your last 2km.

Less likely to get stitch since you are slowly warming up to run a faster pace. Even if you get stitch in the last few km, at least it wouldn't affect the run as much as getting stitch earlier on.
That’s what i thought, so on my return run, i started slow, approx. 6’30”-7’00”/km pace then slowed down even more as i still get the side stitch, to the extend i had to stop a few times and changed my pace to approx. 8’00”+/km.

Now am getting side stitch really often especially after i recover from the bad flu in end last year. Guses i have to slowly build back the mileage and conditioning.

Nevertheless, good suggestion. Will do a slower start in my next run.

Skyrillex

Think I’m going to take a break from running for a while although race coming soon. Yesterday supposed to do 18km at 4:30, ran 6km on pace then left calf cramp. Today tried again then 7km on pace then I felt a pull on the same left calf down to the ankle. Better to stop for a while and recover
Recovery more impt bro, there's always another day to run. Especially when approaching race.

Ender

Ok, to be really honest, last time when still driving no dash cam tech yet. Now i am really contemplating some cheap but ones (still gonna be around 100 but that'd be times 2), for bicycles.
But yeah, as you'd all know, i am the kiasee / "wanna cater for every outcome" type. :ROFLMAO:
Bo bian, guess it's in my blood or something.

Esp now i believe it's really gonna be useful since im clocking in so many hours.
Really dont wanna get in trouble and then waste time arguing and debating, coz im sure you know lah.
With a vid, no need to debate much, and can move on with life liao.
There are cyclists with cams, but vast majority due to road riding.
Install gopro on your helmet type? that will be fun, other than legal protection, great to log video of nice scenery and chio bu. Maybe you can become a youtuber.
I did try to video a run with a gimbal stick, but that was the last time too. I can't run like Kofuzi with a camera stick for long runs, keep changing hands, and after a while the stick gets very bothersome.

Ender

That’s what i thought, so on my return run, i started slow, approx. 6’30”-7’00”/km pace then slowed down even more as i still get the side stitch, to the extend i had to stop a few times and changed my pace to approx. 8’00”+/km.

Now am getting side stitch really often especially after i recover from the bad flu in end last year. Guses i have to slowly build back the mileage and conditioning.

Stitch can't advise much. But from my experience, I think it's a body adaptation thing. I had it when I started running in my early years after part of a lifestyle change as per Doctor advice . Regardless slow or fast, will kenna randomly. After I got serious with running, as in become very consistent, it just went away, never experience it for a long time. Don't know why, I just put it as body has adapted.

Kuudere

If your recovery point is 8.00/km for 20km long run, then it's very likely that your easy long run pace is somewhere around 7.30-7.40/km for that distance.

Just run slower like 7.30-7.40/km for the first half and if you feel good enough, then can speed up in the second half.

The FFRC club I usually go to. Those aiming for sub 2 hr HM, are doing their long runs at 7.00 - 7.15/km. Most of them are low 2 hr (2.06-2.10). That means for you, probably 7.30-7.40/km is better for your long run.

Generally, long run is about 50s - 1 min/km slower than your projected pace for that specific distance. Too fast = more likely to get injured. Too slow = bad form + not stimulating enough

ctan84

Do you feel heaviness on your legs even on non-running days? If yes, that's a very good sign on time to stop for a rest liao. If you need to maintain your cardio fitness, go do non-weight bearing non-impactful exercises like stationary cycling or swimming for the next 8-10 days before resuming light running lah. A small "sacrifice" of mileage for a longer sustainable journey ahead.

WussRedXLi

av HR @ 171, max 185.

Wow....your HR, is it anything out of the ordinary? Dont remember last time being so fast.
Somemore still spring over there

WussRedXLi

joining here to get motivated by chiu all!

As mentioned to luei74 yesterday, just need to be disiciplined, tune mindset that it is something that you need to do like bathing, makan etc. Then if got interest as well that is cherry on top of the cake......coz it becomes a hobby as well.

If it is feeling like a chore to get a session in, then high chance it would not be sustainable.

xllms

Wow....your HR, is it anything out of the ordinary? Dont remember last time being so fast.
Somemore still spring over there
am also concerned about my HR. never so high before.
maybe my high HR has somehow related to the geomagnetic storm. 🤣

"Geomagnetic disturbances are associated with significant increases in hospital admissions for depression, mental disorders, psychiatric admission, suicide attempts, homicides and traffic accidents23–29. Disturbed geomagnetic activity can also exacerbate existing diseases and is correlated with significant increases in cardiac arrhythmia, cardiovascular disease, incidence of myocardial infarction related death, alterations in blood flow, increased blood pressure, and epileptic seizures."

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5805718/

WussRedXLi

Test run and coffee ride.

2.5 weeks ago left upper hamstring (could be tendon or something also) a bit niggled.
Feels ok now. Though not a fast run, dont dare to push.

Think aerobic fitness managed to maintain also......no doubt, heng no slide.

1cnlr78.jpg

WussRedXLi

am also concerned about my HR. never so high before.
maybe my high HR has somehow related to the geomagnetic storm. 🤣

Yeah.....even me as an "outside" more or less can sense that. Somemore your area is not really affected by cardiac drift and whatnots.

Just get a typical FBC / full body check-up done? If it's an infection (WBC, neutrophils etc) then it would be typical ba. Nothing to worry.

Or just walk for the time being. Still can maintain aerobic fitness. That's how i grinded for nearly 2 years. :ROFLMAO:
Just enjoy the flowers and keep it within like 120-130, no shame in walking.

xllms

Yeah.....even me as an "outside" more or less can sense that. Somemore your area is not really affected by cardiac drift and whatnots.

Just get a typical FBC / full body check-up done? If it's an infection (WBC, neutrophils etc) then it would be typical ba. Nothing to worry.

Or just walk for the time being. Still can maintain aerobic fitness. That's how i grinded for nearly 2 years. :ROFLMAO:
Just enjoy the flowers and keep it within like 130, no shame in walking.
have been drinking coffee regularly on daily basis, planning to quit coffee for now and see if any changes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.