jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Do you feel heaviness on your legs even on non-running days? If yes, that's a very good sign on time to stop for a rest liao. If you need to maintain your cardio fitness, go do non-weight bearing non-impactful exercises like stationary cycling or swimming for the next 8-10 days before resuming light running lah. A small "sacrifice" of mileage for a longer sustainable journey ahead.
I don't feel heaviness la but yeah will be doing some spin or swimming to keep up cardio,

sph777

The day after you get cramp, take a break from running and stretch the affected part.

The day after that, do a short easy run.

Depending on your leg condition, can do a hard run or just do easy for the week.

Usually works for me

Start your first 2km at steady state (6'20 - 6'25), maintain the pace for 3km. Last 5km, increase the pace gradually and then burst for your last 2km.

Less likely to get stitch since you are slowly warming up to run a faster pace. Even if you get stitch in the last few km, at least it wouldn't affect the run as much as getting stitch earlier on.

Recovery more impt bro, there's always another day to run. Especially when approaching race.
Yeah, used massage gun and stretched but today I took one step of easy run and still felt a pull in the upper calf so best to just rest. Will do other forms of cardio

Ender

have been drinking coffee regularly on daily basis, planning to quit coffee for now and see if any changes.
Has your ave hr increased for same pace? Have you done a threshold hr test? Else really can't tell if your HR too high. Last time there's a young 30s guy here, hr at 160+ is zone 2 for him.
I also have higher hr now for same pace after the hard to recover flu a month back . So re adjust to lower pace to my zone2. My weekly mileage is now also reduce by a lot. as I run base on time now. Slower zone 2 means shorter distance for the same given time.

Ender

Test run and coffee ride.

2.5 weeks ago left upper hamstring (could be tendon or something also) a bit niggled.
Feels ok now. Though not a fast run, dont dare to push.

Think aerobic fitness managed to maintain also......no doubt, heng no slide.

1cnlr78.jpg
As always, fantastic aerobics. You are the type that won't lose much cardio fitness even take a month break.

xllms

Has your ave hr increased for same pace? Have you done a threshold hr test? Else really can't tell if your HR too high. Last time there's a young 30s guy here, hr at 160+ is zone 2 for him.
I also have higher hr now for same pace after the hard to recover flu a month back . So re adjust to lower pace to my zone2. My weekly mileage is now also reduce by a lot. as I run base on time now. Slower zone 2 means shorter distance for the same given time.
me now same pace higher HR. never do threshold HR test. as you said maybe i should cut down on longet distance and revert back to 6km x 2 runs and slower runs for now until HR is more stabilized.

sph777

me now same pace higher HR. never do threshold HR test. as you said maybe i should cut down on longet distance and revert back to 6km x 2 runs and slower runs for now until HR is more stabilized.
I think can do that but also do follow up with doctor if needed

Ender

Personally,I feel when trying to improve overall fitness or recovery, I prefer to do time base training rather than distance base. Distance base only for FM training, when I feel I at least need to peak at certain mileage.
For recovery, i.e. right now, I would train at zone 2 for a certain duration. Like for easy days, not more than 1.5 hours. usually 40mins to 1:10 hour and end with not feeling too shag, that is ok for one night recovery to do another 1 hour easy run the next day, else is just 40mins or even 30mins . But 1.5 only if when I feel like can do LSD on that day. Right now my fitness is not like before the flu, so 1.5 hours is considered LSD, quite fatigue. This is the time , I ignore targeted weekly mileage.

xllms

Personally,I feel when trying to improve overall fitness or recovery, I prefer to do time base training rather than distance base. Distance base only for FM training, when I feel I at least need to peak at certain mileage.
For recovery, i.e. right now, I would train at zone 2 for a certain duration. Like for easy days, not more than 1.5 hours. usually 40mins to 1:10 hour and end with not feeling too shag, that is ok for one night recovery to do another 1 hour easy run the next day, else is just 40mins or even 30mins . But 1.5 only if when I feel like can do LSD on that day. Right now my fitness is not like before the flu, so 1.5 hours is considered LSD, quite fatigue. This is the time , I ignore targeted weekly mileage.
understand this logic which was why i didn't run much in end dec, jan and before CNY. from CNY onwards, tried to slowly ramp up my runs. Appears that my body isn't responding well. Time to scale down the runs and let body accustom to it slowly
1) keep to 6km x 2
2) slower pace throughout, eg. 7-8min/km
3) no coffee
4) more rest
5) more warm up/cool down efforts
6) more stretchings

Ender

understand this logic which was why i didn't run much in end dec, jan and before CNY. from CNY onwards, tried to slowly ramp up my runs. Appears that my body isn't responding well. Time to scale down the runs and let body accustom to it slowly
1) keep to 6km x 2
2) slower pace throughout, eg. 7-8min/km
3) no coffee
4) more rest
5) more warm up/cool down efforts
6) more stretchings
Need to play play abit to see what works. Good luck.

Ender

My right big toe nail finally came off. It was loose for a few weeks, today split upwards.. Not much pain. It's the Qiaodan 强风SE shoe. Always had slight toe pain and numb after running in that shoes. Guess will retire it sooner.
Big-Toe-Nail.png

Solojaywalker

As mentioned to luei74 yesterday, just need to be disiciplined, tune mindset that it is something that you need to do like bathing, makan etc. Then if got interest as well that is cherry on top of the cake......coz it becomes a hobby as well.

If it is feeling like a chore to get a session in, then high chance it would not be sustainable.
thanks chiu for the insights, quoting for to increase awareness too!

bbbbbw

My right big toe nail finally came off. It was loose for a few weeks, today split upwards.. Not much pain. It's the Qiaodan 强风SE shoe. Always had slight toe pain and numb after running in that shoes. Guess will retire it sooner.
Big-Toe-Nail.png

omg then what to do now? see doc remove the remaining nail so the new nail can grow out...

kawarides

Very warm after 2 km of jogging feels like someone poured a glass of water on my head. Drenched & sweat all over my face staining my spec

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.