IMG-20240329-192032.jpg

Mission accomplished this week. Have a nice weekend everyone πŸ™πŸ™

xllms

Great job
thank you. initially didn't plan to do a HM, wanted to do a slow recovery run after yesterday's 6+7km run, thats y started really slow at 7min/km pace. Felt good and went beyond 6km, likewise at 10km, so instead of stop and rest, made a u-turn and head back to where i started. Ended up HM. 😜

apriliasiao

finding a good route to run >10km is quite hard as I don't like to run on main rd breathing all the fume. only places are to chiong beachs and reservoirs in the evening. any other ideas?

WussRedXLi

20240330 18degC brooks hyperion elite 3
21.52km @ 6’38” (2:22:52)
1st HM distance without any stops in my life.
1711761200971-water-mark-share-name.png

18 deg C i think i need to wear those long sleeves for cycling liao.

Any issue with the HR this time round?

WussRedXLi

finding a good route to run >10km is quite hard as I don't like to run on main rd breathing all the fume. only places are to chiong beachs and reservoirs in the evening. any other ideas?

For me is Sentosa. Other than MBS area. Bicycle as "transporation"
Sentosa is good as it is somewhat hilly. Slightly different type of stimulus

Kuudere

thank you. initially didn't plan to do a HM, wanted to do a slow recovery run after yesterday's 6+7km run, thats y started really slow at 7min/km pace. Felt good and went beyond 6km, likewise at 10km, so instead of stop and rest, made a u-turn and head back to where i started. Ended up HM. 😜
Start slow and end fast helps a lot with pacing.

You'll naturally find the right pace and gain momentum as you continue running.
I mostly go rail corridor. Punggol is good if you stay in the north side.

Ender

Which area you stay ? Most parks in singapore can do loops till you reach your targeted distance.
Sometimes I do loops around Punggol park, roughly 1.2km per loop. Advantages of park over PCN is alot less bicycles. My areaz sengkang and punggol waterway PCN has a lot of cyclist.

Ender

20240330 18degC brooks hyperion elite 3
21.52km @ 6’38” (2:22:52)
1st HM distance without any stops in my life.
1711761200971-water-mark-share-name.png
Excellent. Can do it without stopping means base improved. I believe by now 7km- 13km might be your base for easy days.

xllms

18 deg C i think i need to wear those long sleeves for cycling liao.

Any issue with the HR this time round?
depends on individual, today saw many on short sleeves and some in running singlets.
no heart rate issues. today started really slow so i guess that could be the main issue previously.
today's average around 156, max at around 174.

xllms

Start slow and end fast helps a lot with pacing.

You'll naturally find the right pace and gain momentum as you continue running.
for my current level, i think i found mine at around 6'30" although at times wish to go faster. Last Nov, running at below 6Β΄00" for 10km was quite natural. have to keep running to adjust/adapt slowly.

xllms

Excellent. Can do it without stopping means base improved. I believe by now 7km- 13km might be your base for easy days.
i think 8km is my base for faster runs as i found in my 10km runs, i have the tendency to slow down around 8km mark.
as for slower runs like today, i think doing 15km shouldn't be an issue, but had to work harder around and after 15km mark.

Ender

i think 8km is my base for faster runs as i found in my 10km runs, i have the tendency to slow down around 8km mark.
as for slower runs like today, i think doing 15km shouldn't be an issue, but had to work harder around and after 15km mark.
Take 13km and below as your easy day filler runs. 15 km , if you feel you are pushing then I guess 16km onwards are LSD which require some recovery the day after. Complete rest or a short 20 to 30 min at a pace slower than easy day .

xllms

Take 13km and below as your easy day filler runs. 15 km , if you feel you are pushing then I guess 16km onwards are LSD which require some recovery the day after. Complete rest or a short 20 to 30 min at a pace slower than easy day .
ideally, i think should be doing the following:
Sun: 2x10km or HM
Mon: rest
Tues: 2x6km
Wed: 12-13km slow run
Thu: 5-6x1km or 8x400m speedwork
Fri: 2x6km
Sat: 12-13km slow run

due to work not likely do daily runs. at best alternate days runs, eg.
Sun, Tues, Thur, Fri/Sat

apriliasiao

Which area you stay ? Most parks in singapore can do loops till you reach your targeted distance.
Sometimes I do loops around Punggol park, roughly 1.2km per loop. Advantages of park over PCN is alot less bicycles. My areaz sengkang and punggol waterway PCN has a lot of cyclist.

I mostly go rail corridor. Punggol is good if you stay in the north side.

Hmmm.. I stay in Tampines so sometimes will jog over to Punggol via Lor Halus red bridge. Joggers in Punggol and Sengkang got really nice running environment sia.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.