jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

8 x 1k w/ 3 min rest (10k pace down to 5k pace)

Goal pace: 4.10 - 4.15
Avg. pace: 4.03

1. Hit my left knee on the door, not sure if it affects the run pace
2. First time I attempted 8 x 1km, glad that I didn't get stitch, compared to the last time I did 5 x 1km w/ 2.30 min rest
3. Was able to negative split the entire workout, possible to do more sets

Future plans

1. Change the goal pace to 4.05 - 4.10 min/km
2. Keep the rest time the same
3. Increase to 9 x 1k

Ya, tonight was hotter than pat few days. My heavy sweating wasn't helping much for my night run as compare to the past few days. My home thermometer showing 30.7C even at night. It used to show 29.5C last week.
Yeah sweat a ton yesterday, too bad have to run with singlet since I was at poly track. The singlet accumulated so much sweat that after 5km, I can feel the additional weight of the singlet.

Running at night, usually I try to do at 7pm. The running clubs I go to, both start their training at 7pm and end before 9pm.

That timing is the best for me since it's not too humid and hot as the sun already set by then.

Kuudere

Also, SRY just did a crazy training.

6 x 2.4km w/ 200m jog rest at 7.34 - 7.35 (3.10/km)

7:34, 7:35, 7:34, 7:34, 7:35, 7:34

This pace is faster than his recent HM race pace (3.16/km) 2 weeks ago.

Jeremy1

If talking about cushioning, the very short 2X i tried it in the shops and just walked / jogged around, cushioning felt somewhat similar to my Rocket X 2. I am a bounce and cushioning fan, so i think it's soft enough while also having enough energy return and aggressive nature so it works for more aggressive running or races. I can only do direct A-B comparios of shoes that i have purchased, one on each foot, that'd be much more indicative and accurate, but of coz not possible with shoes that i have not purchased.

OF coz that's very little info....but all in all, shd be fine.
Just find some place where you can run in it on a treadmill at 3, 4, 5, 6 min paces, that's impt. Like iRun or Runninglab. Also check if there are any hotspots/rubbing here and there. See if stable enough for you, the NB Elite V4 shd be fine. I have the V3.

I think if you run shorter distances like me eg up to 10k (not often also) and usually more of 3k, 5k range, can just buy this one and use it for everything literally. Until it gets worn out (not so easy coz shorter distances).
Yes it's relatively expensive, but still cheap enough for a working fella professional here in SG ba. Buying multiple but cheaper shoes lagi more ex in the long run.

ps. Just found out that some cycling peeps cycling jerseys (the tops) already the price of such super shoes. :oops: And then another one for the bibs/bottoms. That cycling hobby and pricing maciam HiFi / Home Theatre one. :unsure:
Of coz, still, nothing beats playing and modding cars.
See open a bit, running still relatively cheap.

I had the 1080 V13 and was wondering how does it compare.

I did tried the rebel V4 and find that the cushioning was much lesser.

Jeremy1

8 x 1k w/ 3 min rest (10k pace down to 5k pace)

Goal pace: 4.10 - 4.15
Avg. pace: 4.03

1. Hit my left knee on the door, not sure if it affects the run pace
2. First time I attempted 8 x 1km, glad that I didn't get stitch, compared to the last time I did 5 x 1km w/ 2.30 min rest
3. Was able to negative split the entire workout, possible to do more sets

Future plans

1. Change the goal pace to 4.05 - 4.10 min/km
2. Keep the rest time the same
3. Increase to 9 x 1k

Yeah sweat a ton yesterday, too bad have to run with singlet since I was at poly track. The singlet accumulated so much sweat that after 5km, I can feel the additional weight of the singlet.

Running at night, usually I try to do at 7pm. The running clubs I go to, both start their training at 7pm and end before 9pm.

That timing is the best for me since it's not too humid and hot as the sun already set by then.

At this pace, what zone are you running at 🤔

sph777

Also, SRY just did a crazy training.

6 x 2.4km w/ 200m jog rest at 7.34 - 7.35 (3.10/km)

7:34, 7:35, 7:34, 7:34, 7:35, 7:34

This pace is faster than his recent HM race pace (3.16/km) 2 weeks ago.
His HM he was saying weather damn hot at Portugal 10 am race haha.

xllms

I dont earn much, can only go for value.

I go buy Don don donki 250g $7.80 beef shabu shabu type........ put beef slices into a PP bowl and pour boiling water into the bowl, beef slices defrosted of coz. Use fork to separate out the slices, once pink colour gone can serve liao, if you dont mind a wee bit of risk can serve even if it's a bit pinkish. I pour some decents amounts of Soba sauce (from don don donki also) and it works out great.
Quite nice to eat, my kid likes that also.
Can also do that for the Pork slices, pork belly etc.

Good source of protein which i need coz do a fair amt of strength stuff. A bit > 60g of protein daily is my aim.
70g is nice, eg that is like 300g of chicken, fish like sardines/saba..... don don donki pork or beef slices, or economy rice chicken rice, eggs etc.
usually i satisfy my cravings via burgers, kfc or ownself home prepared medium rare beef. last month had 2x250g steak at home, had to lie down after dinner. too full 😂

mewmew

any recommendation for durable wireless buds for jogging?

moi bought tis huan, dint even last 1 yr

monster_earbud_1686066469_12914169.jpg

Ender

usually i satisfy my cravings via burgers, kfc or ownself home prepared medium rare beef. last month had 2x250g steak at home, had to lie down after dinner. too full 😂
500gm of steak is huge. One 200gram for dinner is just nice for me, plus potatoe and vege.

But try not to take huge amount of protein in one session. Our body can utilize only a certain amount of protein per session, so spread them out.

Ender

ps. Just found out that some cycling peeps cycling jerseys (the tops) already the price of such super shoes. :oops: And then another one for the bibs/bottoms. That cycling hobby and pricing maciam HiFi / Home Theatre one. :unsure:
Of coz, still, nothing beats playing and modding cars.
See open a bit, running still relatively cheap.
Ya, save money and come to running. Even the after run makan for running group are usually kopitiam, instead of those simi cycling cafe.. :ROFLMAO:

Jeremy1

Anyone here a member of NBRC ?

I see all of you elite runner 😄

WussRedXLi

Basket 500g of meat is power.......

Jeremy1

This one.....

She was wearing the V4, got 1.41 for HM.......think she chin chin chai chai run nia

Today I went Queensway and tried the V4 but all shops run out of stocks for the men one so I tried the V3 instead.

This is my first time testing a plated running shoe and I really can feel it's really pushed you forward when running and also the shoes was really light and it really gripped my whole leg very well and comfortable. The cushioning was not so much as compared to my 1080 V13 but then I would said adequate.

Then I also tried the Boston 12 as read a lot of good reviews from YouTube. It's light but then in terms of the cushioning. It's more grounded especially if you're mid sole striker, u will feel it's firmer and the heel cushioning is more. I wasn't quite like it as I am a mid sole striker.

No discount for the Fuelcell Elite so I didn't buy, thought have 20% discount but all prices are net.

WussRedXLi

Today I went Queensway and tried the V4 but all shops run out of stocks for the men one so I tried the V3 instead.

This is my first time testing a plated running shoe and I really can feel it's really pushed you forward when running and also the shoes was really light and it really gripped my whole leg very well and comfortable. The cushioning was not so much as compared to my 1080 V13 but then I would said adequate.

Then I also tried the Boston 12 as read a lot of good reviews from YouTube. It's light but then in terms of the cushioning. It's more grounded especially if you're mid sole striker, u will feel it's firmer and the heel cushioning is more. I wasn't quite like it as I am a mid sole striker.

No discount for the Fuelcell Elite so I didn't buy, thought have 20% discount but all prices are net.

If full price then aim for the V4 lor.

Anyway, the softest / cushiest shoe that i have is the Qiaodan PLAID. Problem is that no local retailer.
I just whacked based on other pple's reviews. Midsole landing is fine for this shoe, and a bit of heel striking, but no serious heel strikers coz that would be dangerous on cambered surfaces at the corners.
eg 1 Marina Boulevard corner, just beside all those bicycle sharing parking area.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.