Jeremy1

:sad:

IMG-9755.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ok back, see how it goes later go "TT". Heng wife prepped some easy dinner, nothing to buy at hawker too. Luckily stayed back for 1hr 15 mins

Kuudere

Cycling on the road the risk of accidents i believe is even higher than motorcyclist. Came across figure of 700 for cyclists for a certain year vs just under 4k for motorcyclist accidents? Absolute number. What's the absolutely number of people in road cycling vis motorcyclists using it as mode of transport and also factoring in the number of hours they use per wk/month as a means of transport?
And even for motorbikes, it's already said to be "人包铁“。

Typical bicycles are much less visible than even motorcycles. You just try to notice that while using the roads, heck even as a pedestrian. Then add in the speed difference between bicycles and other vehicles, worse.
Of coz if you come across me, you might utter the word "absolutely ridiculous"......that's also the reason why i don't/cannot join group rides. :ROFLMAO: My aim is to be at least 1X as visible as cars, sometimes 2X. Anyway i just use some short parts of roads to get from point A to B fast and only during super off peak periods, not really for recreation.
Motorbike of course more risky, can't compare with cycling.

But it's best to be cautious regardless. That's why I prefer to do indoor cycling instead 😂
Good observation, Guess this is the reason why not all IAAF certified marathon courses are the same. WC are only broken on certain countries route, other than weather, it's the flatness and straightness. No one will ever achieve WC on our SCSM and will never see the best elite to compete in Singapore. Our course may be certified by legit race directors, even our undulation meets the standard, other thn weather, the Sheare bridge is one heck of a speed dampener.

There's lies the consistency question of doing TT to see if you had improve. I only do it on Stadium. So end of a training block, need to do the trial on the exact same measured route to compare past and present. All elements are the same, the curve and distance. Except weather.
Those who are serious in running, will go abroad and try to get in some overseas PB. But at the very least, if you can do well in Sg, then it will be better overseas. The training wouldn't go to waste.

Bridge time trials usually inaccurate. ASICS made everyone do a 5k time trial, which I did the other time. Some guy ran his PB of 21.45 for the Bishan Parkrun but 22.00 for the ASICS run since got to run up/down a bridge 2x. I remembered being ahead of him by a bit during the time trial.
My recovery time is 3 days, will actually do recovery/easy runs for the next 2 days and take a break from running on monday
He plateaued for 2.5 years.

With his build and mileage, already very good to run 2.2x marathon.

Jeremy1

My recovery time is 3 days, will actually do recovery/easy runs for the next 2 days and take a break from running on monday

If you do recovery/easy runs for the next 2 days, wouldn't your recovery time will be extended to more days ?

Actually, my recovery yesterday was only 1 day but due to I run and exercise again today, it extended to another day.

I thought when I never used my Garmin Watch to record my run, it's will never take into consideration but I was wrong.

WussRedXLi

Not a full send and redlining, i could sustain a bit longer for 10k with that kinda HR in 160s but dont wanna whack that long lah it's pointless, a bit tired coz been hard cycling session with sprints/climbs for 1hr and later extended session for another nearly 5 hours was on Wed and also just now prior to knock off for 2 hrs with 1.5hrs OT i had been running around and stressed out like a headless chicken, mentally shagged already.

So i believe is got improvement from my feeling and recent other 5k run and also recent 10K TTs, and looking at the heart rate now.

Regardless, really no need to be that super accurate since it's for fun, no prize. And besides i am not a pure runner.....just play play. (training to do dualthlon anyway, so being super accurate dont matter, the transition between the disciplines can totally screw you up).

With my weekly running mileage of 20-25k, i think ok ba.,......

vkZvGMA.jpg

WussRedXLi

Actually what i really wanna do is a 5k and 10k road TT on the bike. Location is a 1.25km loop on the roadss near MB area. But it's even more difficult coz really gotta be early / late + good weather. Distance based on google map distance measurement and then GPS of coz. Anyway all of these stints are far away from building obstructions here South side

WussRedXLi

That kind of pace in the midday afternoon under the sun.....just see the shadow (and you know how high the Heat Index could be at MB area....is higher than other parts of SG, i shared that a few times before), HR 120. Somemore these are young fellas so that could be zone 1. KNN

xllms

If you do recovery/easy runs for the next 2 days, wouldn't your recovery time will be extended to more days ?

Actually, my recovery yesterday was only 1 day but due to I run and exercise again today, it extended to another day.

I thought when I never used my Garmin Watch to record my run, it's will never take into consideration but I was wrong.
no need to recover fully 100% before next run. just listen to your body and don't over exert.

WussRedXLi

20240413 15degC saucony endorphin pro 3
narrow window without rain
17.26km @ 6'14"

Also raining here SG liao, finally....... hot weather streak broken a bit, can have more options.
Not good for biking tho......cannot go fast. Esp those leaves and road markings when wet are killer. (no need to talk about grass, never ever get onto the grass areas when wet trying to avoid others)

xllms

Also raining here SG liao, finally....... hot weather streak broken a bit, can have more options.
Not good for biking tho......cannot go fast. Esp those leaves and road markings when wet are killer. (no need to talk about grass, never ever get onto the grass areas when wet trying to avoid others)
the bush hammered granite finish pavements are wet here and I almost slipped when I ran down and up slopes, had to slow down and take small steps. outsole of the saucony endorphin pro 3 cmi.

Kuudere

Quite expected for me since I did a long run followed by threshold run the next day. So, I definitely need more recovery time. Slow runs wouldn't really affect the recovery time so much since I am not pushing my weekly mileage above 50km/week.

1.37 min off my 6km PB, but good enough. Probably can cut another 30s off if I wear carbon-plate shoes. Will take some time to reach the PB, will aim for 4.20 min/km next week

Jeremy1

Quite expected for me since I did a long run followed by threshold run the next day. So, I definitely need more recovery time. Slow runs wouldn't really affect the recovery time so much since I am not pushing my weekly mileage above 50km/week.

1.37 min off my 6km PB, but good enough. Probably can cut another 30s off if I wear carbon-plate shoes. Will take some time to reach the PB, will aim for 4.20 min/km next week

Your slow run is 4.20min/km pace 😱

Slow run that's mean your heart rate should be at easy zone 2 in order not affecting the recovery timing ?

Kuudere

Your slow run is 4.20min/km pace 😱

Slow run that's mean your heart rate should be at easy zone 2 in order not affecting the recovery timing ?
Easy for me is 5.20-5.30 min/km.

4.20 min/km slow run, don't know of Singaporeans that run that fast for easy runs. Even those that can run under 34 min 10k in Sg, run 4.35 - 4.45 min/km slow runs. Mostly high 4s.

If run too fast, then legs get too fatigue. Defeats the point of easy runs.

Jeremy1

Easy for me is 5.20-5.30 min/km.

4.20 min/km slow run, don't know of Singaporeans that run that fast for easy runs. Even those that can run under 34 min 10k in Sg, run 4.35 - 4.45 min/km slow runs. Mostly high 4s.

If run too fast, then legs get too fatigue. Defeats the point of easy runs.

But at that pace, your heart rate should be high ?

I think till the day I died also cannot achieved that kind of pace outside.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.