jogging and motivation thread

Foetid

Won't faint 😱
ya not advisable, i only tried once, post the run, i think can see some stars .

5365947.jpg

Foetid

Fasting 1 day per week 😱

I think my stomach very hungry 🤤
ya no choice, cos i got high blood pressure despite my 11km jog so try all sorts, including reduce salt etc din help alot till i reduce sugar, keep to 2 meals a day. now bp normalised. hence i also do fasting. Breaking fast, i think i can eat 3 persons portion with room to spare.. :ROFLMAO:

Jeremy1

ya not advisable, i only tried once, post the run, i think can see some stars .

5365947.jpg

Actually for me, I usually run with an empty stomach and only eat after the run.

If I eat before run, will normally just eat some easily digested food like a banana or if heavier food, I will rest for at least 4 hours before I run.

Foetid

Actually for me, I usually run with an empty stomach and only eat after the run.

If I eat before run, will normally just eat some easily digested food like a banana or if heavier food, I will rest for at least 4 hours before I run.
unless u run marathan or HM, i think not necessary to have intake before run cos your liver has an immediate store of glycogen which the body can activate anytime after expanding all your reserve glycogen tank in the muscles.

WussRedXLi

I have no issue when come to eating and then run, so long as not to fill up to full. munch bit here and there is fine for me. But I can't comment on other people, coz everyone react differently. Even for energy gels, some runner will have GI issue, that's why some will only stick their own tried and preferred brand rather than use the 'free' ones from organizer. I am ok with any brands, so I plan my refueling with the help of the refuel station by the organizer so as not to burden with the weight of carrying extra gels.

I don't know about fat content being bad for race, but for endurance running, some runners use peanut butter as refueling since these type of runs are mostly zone 2 or 3, fat burning zone and also not to disrupt the fat burning process with sugar, coz we are training our body to burn fats with these activities. Race is another strategy, coz we are not training anymore but gunning for best time, so any quick release energy (gel) will be used.

For me zone 2 no need to refuel, shd be alright at 5.00-5.15 pace for running. It's the below 5.00 stuff that would be problematic say if over 12-15km. Same for cycling from what i experienced, if i ride zone 3 and some LT1 i need to refuel coz these can stretch into hours.

For me quite easy......i just pitstop at Vivo/SG River/Funan/Sentosa.Anson Rd or ECP Mcdonald's which are all along my routes, now got Hersey's somemore. Get the free iced water also (there is a limit even when i freeze nearly the whole 610ml insulated water bottle, can only last 2hrs worth of hydration with refills from toilet tap).
Raffles City Mcdonla's closed liao.

7-11 stuff too costly, the only thing i will get is Sentosa's ones with $1 Pokka coffee (500ml). Got caffine as well to perk up if early morning. If doing some road riding then see if the Gas stations have cheap stuff or not but most likely not .

Maybe Pinoy outlook to events also different. Got ice cream and their char kway teow also. (see below)
Japan more of those nice nice small packets stuff, and of coz TW always follows JP style.

Jeremy1

ya no choice, cos i got high blood pressure despite my 11km jog so try all sorts, including reduce salt etc din help alot till i reduce sugar, keep to 2 meals a day. now bp normalised. hence i also do fasting. Breaking fast, i think i can eat 3 persons portion with room to spare.. :ROFLMAO:

At least better than one of my colleagues who had high blood pressure, cholesterol, fell down on his back and now can't run.

Jeremy1

For me zone 2 no need to refuel, shd be alright at 5.00-5.15 pace for running. It's the below 5.00 stuff that would be problematic say if over 12-15km. Same for cycling from what i experienced, if i ride zone 3 and some LT1 i need to refuel coz these can stretch into hours.

For me quite easy......i just pitstop at Vivo/SG River/Funan/Sentosa.Anson Rd or ECP Mcdonald's which are all along my routes, now got Hersey's somemore. Get the free iced water also.
Raffles City one closed liao.

7-11 stuff too costly, the only thing i will get is Sentosa's ones with $1 Pokka coffee (500ml). Got caffine as well to perk up if early morning. If doing some road riding then see if the Gas stations have cheap stuff or not but most likely not .

Maybe Pinoy outlook to events also different. Got ice cream and their char kway teow also. (see below)
Japan more of those nice nice small packets stuff, and of coz TW always follows JP style.

That's the good thing if you know how to cycle.

WussRedXLi

This is call real music. But jogging cannot listen wait one step forward take one step back.

Would be good mah.......train 2 steps forward 1 step back for 15km, next time HM sup sup water.

Anyway, music is real impt for my rides, if not is not sustainable. The more i listen the more i ride.
Use bluetooth speaker.

But road riding cannot listen, quite dangerous even if weekends and early hours (always on the hear out for drunk/tiong chia drivers, in which i was one when i was in my 20s......i know what can happen even though very low probability....many other cyclists do not think how this is possible and proceed to go straight in a turning only lane etc......crazy one)

WussRedXLi

Now came down so much.

Itchy to get for Rail Corridor night rides. :ROFLMAO:
Kid scared of the dark. I have a 25k lumens one but overheats fast coz no active cooling, even 4k lumens barely sustain.
Of coz will turn off when approaching other cyclists / walkers. If not sure kena beaten.
This one can sustain @ 11k lumens and the handle would be good for me to cable tie to the bike. (my current 25k light has a carrying handle too, use 2 re-usable cable ties to tie)

The front rider use this, the back rider use the 25k light operating in 4k mode

736k lux is also very nice. The hotspot is both throwy as well as a bit floody, so it's very usable in real life.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?a...7.1.item.2.7ed0523clq1t1h&skuId=5236025653382

O1CN011fOgZV1zyfQTqO0u0_!!2068496783.jpg

WussRedXLi

That's the good thing if you know how to cycle.

Yeah......but it's risky.

Today buanged again.

Very impt to take D3 and Mg. Calcium and boron optional ( i do take from time to time esp boron)

Road rash not a big deal (already booster jab with DTaP last year), what i scared is bones nia.

Foetid

Yeah......but it's risky.

Today buanged again.

Very impt to take D3 and Mg. Calcium and boron optional ( i do take from time to time esp boron)

Road rash not a big deal (already booster jab with DTaP last year), what i scared is bones nia.
how u know the minerals u take goes into the bone and strengthened it? as far as i know, the people with very strong shin bones are the thai kickboxers, shin vs shin, the non-kickboxers sure get busted. Or how the kickboxers low kicks to the western fiighters cause them grieve.The stength of a bone is build layer by layer through microscopic fractures across time through sparring.

No doubt there should be improvements if u take more pills but
Wear knee guards or elbow guards if ur have more concerns.

WussRedXLi

how u know the minerals u take goes into the bone and strengthened it? as far as i know, the people with very strong shin bones are the thai kickboxers, shin vs shin, the non-kickboxers sure get busted. Or how the kickboxers low kicks to the western fiighters cause them grieve.The stength of a bone is build layer by layer through microscopic fractures across time through sparring.

No doubt there should be improvements if u take more pills but
Wear knee guards or elbow guards if ur have more concerns.

Will get strengthened. Been there done that. ....

(1) I already know the D3 and Calcium supplements that we are taking gets into the bloodstream, did bloodwork before both my wife and I. Mg / boron not so sure. My wife actually 4 times annually (25-hydroxy vitamin D ), covered by insurance, she needs to monitor.
My wife preferably needs to maintain between 60-100ng/mL

2. Running is an impact exercise too. Go google how cyclists are at higher risk of fractures vs runners due to impact nature
Side story : Wierd thnig is that even tho i am already > age 50, my height rose like 2.5cm after i started running.
Wierd but true. Scienthifically and medically, this should not happen.
Don't ask me why, some others prob will scold me again for pseudo-sciencing, but i think there is more to it.

Of coz, point 2 means that pure cyclists wont be as solid as runners. For me no issue coz i do both, next year aiming to gun dualthlons.

WussRedXLi

BTW, upper body fractures different hor........both cyclists and runners got this risk. Think only full proof ways to counter this is to do some plyo for upper body, like clapping push ups in an explosive nature way or what.

Clavicle (collar) is a very high probability for cyclists. Just ask the motorcyclists, they will tell you why.
Then humerus. High risk one. Or if you have physical therapist / physio friends, so many doing rehab.
Buang sure pecah one. I believe wrist portion also high risk.

Heng i do upper body strengthening. Not impact......but i think at least load bearing better than just "sedentary" for this part. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: Just thope for the best and what you have done at least helps. Nothing is fool proof anyway.

Anyway, the worst way that could happen is if some parts of the bike go poke your body and damage your organs. That one orh lan..... happened before.
Dont think about those already, these things are like run also kena lorry bang stuff. I saw with my own eyes before near my place, lorry was foreign worker driven, wet ground no ABS you hear the tyres sliding sound you know liao, wet grounds so no screeching,, and no fault of the "pedestrian" (carrying umbrella too, so it's not a small target).
Just maintain safety and caution as much as possible with lights and stuff ok liao. Neverending.

lasnoblur

Wanted to provide some updates since I have not posted here for a while. My age now is 37.

Started running in early 2023 with jogs of 4 to 8km. Average is 7 to 720min/km. Heart rate 140 to 150bpm. Reduced or almost stop completely after jul 2023 with injuries (sprained ankle, groin injuries, upper body strains) from runs and other sports.

Started jogging again in May 2024 with shorter distances and target is 30min of moderate cardio 3 times a week for better blood circulation (health). Distance about 4.3km.
Average is about 720min/km now. When just started my average is 830min/km. Heart rate from 155bpm to 135bpm now.

Nowadays also having lower back ache when standing for prolonged periods, duno whether is age problems. Seeing physio now for my groin (scan no issues) and back (waiting scan) issues. Will continue with this pace.

Jeremy1

If I can run in Zone 2, think FM no problem liao but it's always at Zome 3/4 most of the time :sad:

Ender

My experience with running wrt to bone strength is I had two serious fall ifrom tripping from raise floor. Both times sent me to A&E and had stitches. My face smash hard on the tarmac ground. First accident even bang my knee hard. After x-ray and CT scan on head, no fracture or concussion. I was around 53 years old then, the age for osteoporosis risk. I believe those two fall would break any bone if osteoporosis existed.
I don't take any supplement like Vit D or calcium, but I think my calcium intake is decent from my diet. Milk and cheese.

Jeremy1

Wanted to provide some updates since I have not posted here for a while. My age now is 37.

Started running in early 2023 with jogs of 4 to 8km. Average is 7 to 720min/km. Heart rate 140 to 150bpm. Reduced or almost stop completely after jul 2023 with injuries (sprained ankle, groin injuries, upper body strains) from runs and other sports.

Started jogging again in May 2024 with shorter distances and target is 30min of moderate cardio 3 times a week for better blood circulation (health). Distance about 4.3km.
Average is about 720min/km now. When just started my average is 830min/km. Heart rate from 155bpm to 135bpm now.

Nowadays also having lower back ache when standing for prolonged periods, duno whether is age problems. Seeing physio now for my groin (scan no issues) and back (waiting scan) issues. Will continue with this pace.

Still young doubt it's age issue. Most probably of your past injuries.

Take care 👍🏻

raylong

Do you follow any low HR training regime. Lowering HR from 155 to 135 bpm is a great achievement.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.