jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

Wanted to provide some updates since I have not posted here for a while. My age now is 37.

Started running in early 2023 with jogs of 4 to 8km. Average is 7 to 720min/km. Heart rate 140 to 150bpm. Reduced or almost stop completely after jul 2023 with injuries (sprained ankle, groin injuries, upper body strains) from runs and other sports.

Started jogging again in May 2024 with shorter distances and target is 30min of moderate cardio 3 times a week for better blood circulation (health). Distance about 4.3km.
Average is about 720min/km now. When just started my average is 830min/km. Heart rate from 155bpm to 135bpm now.

Nowadays also having lower back ache when standing for prolonged periods, duno whether is age problems. Seeing physio now for my groin (scan no issues) and back (waiting scan) issues. Will continue with this pace.

Still young doubt it's age issue. Most probably of your past injuries.

Take care 👍🏻

raylong

Wanted to provide some updates since I have not posted here for a while. My age now is 37.

Started running in early 2023 with jogs of 4 to 8km. Average is 7 to 720min/km. Heart rate 140 to 150bpm. Reduced or almost stop completely after jul 2023 with injuries (sprained ankle, groin injuries, upper body strains) from runs and other sports.

Started jogging again in May 2024 with shorter distances and target is 30min of moderate cardio 3 times a week for better blood circulation (health). Distance about 4.3km.
Average is about 720min/km now. When just started my average is 830min/km. Heart rate from 155bpm to 135bpm now.

Nowadays also having lower back ache when standing for prolonged periods, duno whether is age problems. Seeing physio now for my groin (scan no issues) and back (waiting scan) issues. Will continue with this pace.
Do you follow any low HR training regime. Lowering HR from 155 to 135 bpm is a great achievement.

Ender

If I can run in Zone 2, think FM no problem liao but it's always at Zome 3/4 most of the time :sad:
Lol try first then say. Steady state zone 2 need to train one. Even til now I can't steady state at z2 after 23km. When I was in my late 40s, used to be able to do 30 km with no cardiac drift at night.

Jeremy1

Yeah......but it's risky.

Today buanged again.

Very impt to take D3 and Mg. Calcium and boron optional ( i do take from time to time esp boron)

Road rash not a big deal (already booster jab with DTaP last year), what i scared is bones nia.

Ride slowly and carefully.

Nowadays a lot of traffic accidents.

Ender

Will get strengthened. Been there done that. ....

(1) I already know the D3 and Calcium supplements that we are taking gets into the bloodstream, did bloodwork before both my wife and I. Mg / boron not so sure. My wife actually 4 times annually (25-hydroxy vitamin D ), covered by insurance, she needs to monitor.
My wife preferably needs to maintain between 60-100ng/mL

2. Running is an impact exercise too. Go google how cyclists are at higher risk of fractures vs runners due to impact nature
Side story : Wierd thnig is that even tho i am already > age 50, my height rose like 2.5cm after i started running.
Wierd but true. Scienthifically and medically, this should not happen.
Don't ask me why, some others prob will scold me again for pseudo-sciencing, but i think there is more to it.

Of coz, point 2 means that pure cyclists wont be as solid as runners. For me no issue coz i do both, next year aiming to gun dualthlons.
Height increase is new to me... Any good side effects is welcome. LOL.

Jeremy1

Lol try first then say. Steady state zone 2 need to train one. Even til now I can't steady state at z2 after 23km. When I was in my late 40s, used to be able to do 30 km with no cardiac drift at night.

Z2 after 23Km 😱

2 persons ever told me it's take quite long for that to happen.

Ender

Z2 after 23Km 😱

2 persons ever told me it's take quite long for that to happen.
If you have patience, and after you have improve your threshold to a level you are satisfied. Find about 6 months of your time and dedicate it to MAF training. Down side is very boring, threshold will take a little hit.
Or just 80/20 , where 80% is your steady state training.

WussRedXLi

Height increase is new to me... Any good side effects is welcome. LOL.

It might not be totally be my bones "lengthening"coz of running, medically there is no evidence this is true. Could also be due to some joints or other reasons.
At first i was also shocked, it's not a small increase so it's most probably not due to measurement errors. Also i have my past full body checkup records, at the same clinic somemore

I just know that i got a 2.5cm increase. This is confirmed via various measurements be it on my own, at the clinic where i do my full body checkups for years so i do have past records, and now those automatic measurement machines at Mt E Novena and Farrer Park hosp (my wife visits there to hoot Rituximab and Inflximab mah).
So the final height is 174.5cm (174cm). Last time was 172cm, measured quite a few times already. So very very little chance is it is wrong.
In fact, the same height chart is stuck on my bedroom wall for 14 years already, well before i hooted running.....never moved at all. It's for the kids, you know lah......i mean literally every parent does this.
With the same method of measuring (i use the same plastic tissue paper box).

Jeremy1

Supposedly, height should not increased when you reached a certain age unlike the weight.

Unless you everyday do jumping rope :s13:

dreamaurora

If I can run in Zone 2, think FM no problem liao but it's always at Zome 3/4 most of the time :sad:
Since you got Forerunner 965, utilize the metrics available to you.

One very useful metric found in newer Garmin watches like 965 and Epix is Running Power. Last time had to attach pod to shoe but now built into the watch. It is much easier to run at lower HR consistently by observing your Running Power because it is a measure of how much you are exerting yourself.

Kuudere

For you okay 👌

For me maybe can do on treadmill :s13:
Managed to run 11.9km earlier, clocked 61km week. My longest mileage week ever in my life. 11.9km (1.02.43), will post later after dinner.
wow, 4 min/km is impressive, all the way sustain.

Btw what equipment can record and retrieve heart rate & pace & km like he does? cos i only using the national steps watch n app
4 min/km long distance is a lot of pain. You can see him struggling a lot. When I was running 4.09 min/km 16km pacing with another runner, I felt the same exact pain as him. Breathless, leg ache. That's what happens when you run zone 4 for an extended period.

WussRedXLi

wow, 4 min/km is impressive, all the way sustain.

Btw what equipment can record and retrieve heart rate & pace & km like he does? cos i only using the national steps watch n app

He really very good endurance 👍🏻

At his HR, I don't know how he can take it 🤔

How about this one. This one not a paid pro, nevertheless super elite for non-pro. I think his PR just wee wee bit under 2.20h

For cycling i think i read they use GARMIN VIRB program to add telemetry data. Not sure for running leh.

Foetid

How about this one. This one not a paid pro, nevertheless super elite for non-pro. I think his PR just wee wee bit under 2.20h

For cycling i think i read they use GARMIN VIRB program to add telemetry data. Not sure for running leh.

when i 18yrs old, 2.4km also never as fast as this guy in his marathon... cant compare... :ROFLMAO:

Kuudere

He really very good endurance 👍🏻

At his HR, I don't know how he can take it 🤔
He strategise well, first 1-2km try to settle into HMP, 2km - 10.5km turning point @ HMP, 10.5km - 17.3km @ 10k, 17.3km - 21.1km hit wall and hover around HMP and slower than that.

The pacer really keep him going until he hit the wall.

More consistent pacing, first half 21km is controlled (3.12 - 3.18 min/km). Injected speed at 21km to run at 3.09 min/km. He kept 3.15 and under for 21 - 27km. Paid the price from 30km onwards running at 3.20. At 34km, he tried to speed up back to his old pace. And from 35km till the end, start to struggle a lot, closing in at 3.43.

Ran at your favourite place earlier @sph777 :geek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.