jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

One big reason why i always run with lights, and it's significantly more effective when it is dark. Need to cross far too many crossings already.

For bicycles, i use rather specific daytime visible lights (not to used when night time, 100% get punched one).
This one even higher risk.

Don't be surprised that @ pedestrian crossings also cannot see.

xllms

20240628 25degC BMAI 远征者5.0
10.07km @ 6'37" av
woke up realized no rain (first time past one week plus), quickly get changed and off for a run, halfway rained again
too long never run frequently, HR on apple watch redline all the way :ROFLMAO:
First run on BMAI 远征者5.0 and it feels smooth. Next run will try to pick up the pace to find out more. One issue is that it collects sweat within pretty much like PUMA DN2. Won't use this much until autumn/winter period. I have to give credit for its fitting, perfect.

Ender

One big reason why i always run with lights, and it's significantly more effective when it is dark. Need to cross far too many crossings already.

For bicycles, i use rather specific daytime visible lights (not to used when night time, 100% get punched one).
This one even higher risk.

Don't be surprised that @ pedestrian crossings also cannot see.

This is horrible way to get crushed, don't think can survive this. Visibility wasn't the issue here. Both bus driver and pedestrian are negligent.

WussRedXLi

This is horrible way to get crushed, don't think can survive this. Visibility wasn't the issue here. Both bus driver and pedestrian are negligent.

True, visibility wasn't the main issue here. Worker is visible in hi-vis + yellow helemt. But that is not the whole story as things is not that black and white on the road.
The risk cannot be totally eliminated, we just get it reduced as much as possible.

For the purpose of running + cycling (as vulnerable users) with road usages, the purpose is to really GRAB the attention of other road users' attention. Esp negligent users like drivers using mobile phones (and also cyclists and walkers/runners using mobile phones).
To be it more bluntly, it has to be "irritating", unfortunate gotta to say that coz some road users would not want to be "irritated". For that , i have encountered oncoming users while on phones alerting them with lights to get their attention, i can say for sure it works, though like it said it's gonna be irritating.

The general idea is to be AT LEAST as visible as other cars, in various ways.

Motorcycles have this "issue" here as well as being a small and less visible target....not new also, been driving for decades as well.

Cannot use normal lights, still can't GRAB the attention. But care needs to be taken, can literally get punched if this is abused. The risk for (road) cyclists is higher than runners/walkers of course, so really bo bian in a way.

Ender

True, visibility wasn't the main issue here. Worker is visible in hi-vis + yellow helemt. But t the whole story as things is not that black and white on the road.

For the purpose of running + cycling (as vulnerable users) with road usages, the purpose is to really GRAB the attention of other road users' attention. Esp negligent users like drivers using mobile phones (and also cyclists and walkers/runners using mobile phones).
To be it more bluntly, it has to be "irritating", unfortunately to say that coz some road users would not want to be "irritated".

The general idea is to be AT LEAST as visible as other cars, in various ways.

Motorcycles have this "issue" here as well as being a small and less visible target....not new also, been driving for decades.

Ya, we got to be vigilant on the road. Like the cyclist you posted before, no moment a visibility is going to help that guy when he is so kum gong to cheong during red light while the cars are already moving. Situation awareness is a must.
But irritating, till causing momentary blindness to opposing traffic is already a no and inconsideration. if you are trying to justify high beaming opposing traffic.

WussRedXLi

Ya, we got to be vigilant on the road. Like the cyclist you posted before, no moment a visibility is going to help that guy when he is so kum gong to cheong during red light while the cars are already moving. Situation awareness is a must.
But irritating, till causing momentary blindness to opposing traffic is already a no and inconsideration. if you are trying to justify high beaming opposing traffic.

Just some further details....

I have 1 front light with hi-beam function, it's not very high in lux....... it's used for other road users on their mobile phones (cyclists / walkers). I find that just a brief flash would do. I don't mind changing direction and be on my way, but risk is that the other fella might inadvertently get into my intended travel direction, simply coz he/she is on his phone so he isn't even seeing where they are going and not walking in a straight line even.

Actually i just kena 1 case like this last nite, a fella on his phone last night, he walked perpendicularly into the cycling path and stopped right there right in the cyclingj path outside Guoco Twr @ Tg Pagar MRT there, i flashed and rang bell, bo bian.
the cycling path no less, not shared path (over there got 2 paths)

This is rare of course, issue is that i am out there for too many hours coz fair amount of hours is recreational. Like 20 hours per week, as if every day also su[er long run.

For road cycling (not a high % anyway, mainly to go home or to get to a location during off-peak hrs), it would never be too blinding for day time unless you go super duper crazy with the lights and that is not easy, and rear is always higher risk.
As mentioned, a good comparison is car headlights and car tail brake lights as a minumum.
The vast majority of bicycles and even motorbikes really not there yet. For day time, the car really is a much bigger target, just to use lights to get/grab the attention of other road users is difficult for non-specialised lights.

Ender

Just some further details....

I have 1 front light with hi-beam function, it's not very high in lux....... it's used for other road users on their mobile phones (cyclists / walkers). I find that just a brief flash would do. I don't mind changing direction and be on my way, but risk is that the other fella might inadvertently get into my intended travel direction, simply coz he is on his phone.
This is rare of course, issue is that i am out there for too many hours coz fair amount of hours is recreational. Like 20 hours per week, as if every day also su[er long run.

For road cycling (not a high % anyway, mainly to go home or to get to a location during off-peak hrs), it would never be too blinding, and rear is always higher risk.
As mentioned, a good comparison is car headlights and car tail brake lights as a minumum.
The vast majority of bicycles and even motorbikes really not there yet.
Brief flash is alright. the damn irritating ones are those who high beam all the way.

Ender

According to him, China doesn't have a max cushion shoes for slow running. So if you are in a market for a high cushion shoes, like Nimbus, Kayano, Saucony Triump, NB 1080, can consider this Anta shoes. Very cheap at RMB 399.
Upper looks plush as usual like the western branded max cushioning shoes. No good for heavy sweater. I can only use this for short recovery run to dampen the impact for fatigue legs..

WussRedXLi

Brief flash is alright. the damn irritating ones are those who high beam all the way.
Cannot high beam constant or normal light aim too high lah. Even (just) 500 or so lumens from a badly / heck care aimed bicyele light i also cannot tahan, esp on PCN darker parts......i know the feeling.

Some side story : a car LED single headlight can be up to 4k lumens for front or 8k for both. Very good cut off of course. My multiple front lights all have decent cut off but i think for road cycling the lumens is probably still half of that (coz battery longevity/capacity issues). One factor is also the amount of light hitting the road and getting reflected esp from the lane markings etc, it does add to the visibility.

For car rear tailights in braking mode, 500 lumens approx in total for all 3 LED red lights, some modified cars have close to 1000 lumens. Those still on incandescent would be dimmer of coz.

But during day time esp if not under shade, literally can throw all these figures out the window, from experience it's nearly impossible to overpower the sun and blind others, can just go all out.

Ender

Talking about shoes I already own 18 pairs. Dunno how to finish :spin:
Up mileage or break to multiple shorter sessions, with each session using different shoes.
What is your size? maybe we can help you.

raylong

Talking about shoes I already own 18 pairs. Dunno how to finish :spin:
Rotate over two, three years. Then retire once they come apart or turn yellow. That's what I did. 😅
Actually not the first time like that. When I was injured in 2020 I stopped running and gib away 12 brand new pairs of of Hokas, NB, Asics, Reeboks to my helper where she send back to Philippines. I only resume running and start buying again in Jan 2023 :grin:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.