jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Got 10 minutes pace or not :s13:
There was once they have the sweeper pacer. i.e anyone who are behind these pacers, they would run the risk of being kenna 'sweeped' off the race from the various time check points. I thought I would one day join this pacing group when I totally retire from FM training. But too bad no more liao, it was only that one year they have it,

WussRedXLi

Gotta keep running and let time pass. Eventually, will get better.

10 x 150 for 5k workout is strange. It's a 800m specific workout. The mileage is too short for even a pre-season 5k workout. It only makes sense in very situational contexts, for example he wants to outkick another runner in the last 200-300m stretch.

His goal is to eventually translate the pace to marathon, which is even more strange. Marathon is mostly aerobic. He'll benefit more out of distributing energy to run the last 2k fast than last 200-300m. In that case, longer intervals make more sense.

I usually prefer doing strides after easy run (2.40-2.50). If I do it too fast, I don't feel like it helps me in running 5/10k. I can do 2.15-2.25 100m, but the running form isn't really necessary. Too exaggerated in stride length/cadence. Got muscle ache from this once and could've affected my subsequent workouts. From then on, I am more cautious.

Dont know leh but i tend to agree if talking about pros doing mid/long distance running....maybe he really wants to outkick others, like what Sifan Hassan is known for. So can be used in 5k to FM. There are also other benefits of doing SITs, eg time efficiency but those apply to the health group exercisers.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5684281/

But lately after 2022 where i started very regular sessions (literally daily), this one only once per week....just for fun.

For me is to feel good and train neuro, damn song. For cycling on the roads (sprint training on the bike be it on the flat or +ve gradient slopes) it is also pretty practical in real world use, and sometimes might even "save your life".

Ender

What is considered a long run ?

How often should you run ?
For me, when duration of the slow pace is enough to make my legs fatigue, and the goal is to push thru the fatigue, that is a long run. If no fatigue, and at slow pace, then it is a easy day.
How often? if training for FM, once a week. For me, usually more than 1 hr 45 minutes.

If not doing HM or FM, no need for long run.

Jeremy1

For me, when duration of the slow pace is enough to make my legs fatigue, and the goal is to push thru the fatigue, that is a long run. If no fatigue, and at slow pace, then it is a easy day.
How often? if training for FM, once a week. For me, usually more than 1 hr 45 minutes.

If not doing HM or FM, no need for long run.

The problem is my right leg, not pain but knee n ankle a bit uncomfortable 🤔

WussRedXLi

2.4 tempo session with kicks right at the end.
It's quite a large part neuro, CNS.....in addition to power/form/muscle fibre type 2 esp 2b, if not cannot gun for high cadence, legs just wouldnt turn.

For cycling, must train until wont get dropped by Grabfood riders until they top 25kmh (those not modified ones). (y) :ROFLMAO:

vmVPyLW.jpg

Kuudere

Time is running up :s13:
Nah, if you can join that many races, means that you still have some physical fitness. Speaking of races, still considering which race to join.

Running Lab seems like a good idea. Should be less crowded than Skechers with Race For Good in mid Sept and Singtel run in end Sept.

Route seems better than Skechers + 2 waves. Avoid the crowded dome + small bridge. Remembered those 2 spots really made me lose my mental during Skechers run.
Dont know leh but i tend to agree if talking about pros doing mid/long distance running....maybe he really wants to outkick others, like what Sifan Hassan is known for. So can be used in 5k to FM. There are also other benefits of doing SITs, eg time efficiency but those apply to the health group exercisers.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5684281/

But lately after 2022 where i started very regular sessions (literally daily), this one only once per week....just for fun.

For me is to feel good and train neuro, damn song. For cycling on the roads (sprint training on the bike be it on the flat or +ve gradient slopes) it is also pretty practical in real world use, and sometimes might even "save your life".
Sifan Hassan makes sense since she is pro, but not Matt.

Matt is more of utilising 5k training to boost his marathon pace, which doesn't make sense since he already has the speed/fast twitch from his old days as a 800m runner. Not only that, he runs his marathon initially at goal pace of 2.20, but burn out later on. For him, progressive runs help a lot. But then again, 2.20 is a really fast time. Could also be gated by physique since he has a big build.

I do 6x 80-100m strides after easy runs just to get a feel of my strides. Not an all out sprint, since I am not a short-distance runner.
What is considered a long run ?

How often should you run ?
25-30% of weekly mileage. Once a week. ~1 min/km slower than race pace of the distance you run. For example, I ran my 16km in 4.35 min/km. Garmin gives me 5.30 min/km for 70+min long runs at a pace I feel comfortable.
2.4 tempo session with kicks right at the end.
It's quite a large part neuro, CNS.....in addition to power/form/muscle fibre type 2, if not cannot gun for high cadence, legs just wouldnt turn.

vmVPyLW.jpg
Will run 2.4km tomorrow at 5k pace, targeting 3.55. Waiting for the rain to clear up now so I can go run.

WussRedXLi

Will run 2.4km tomorrow at 5k pace, targeting 3.55. Waiting for the rain to clear up now so I can go run.

I managed to squeeze in the run b4 the rain. cooling, was intending to do the typical 5k threshold but then saw dark clouds so 2.4 tempo la, coz emember about this kick thing so might as well try since short distance and not PB effort.

Now makan and it shd stop later, go cycle.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.