jogging and motivation thread

Lchlch

I have done my block which is a bit lower than Fraser's (also near my place, few hundred metres away actually). Just keep in zone 3 can liao, it's not difficult at all.
I forgot what is my timing though.......coz i dont really do stairs climbing one.

Actually whenever i doing stuff to my bike, i sometimes hear sounds from the stairway (including BT speaker muzik), prob similar people having this stair climbing thingy doing their training.
Previously also saw folks with huge backpacks, probably training for mountain climbing/hiking.
Thks bro.
I will do it slow n enjoy it.

sph777

2km warmup, 20x400m, 60s rest, 800m cooldown.

all sets below 4:00/km except first one cause wanted to conserve energy but in the end, the rest all made it 😂

Saw Vanessa at the Kallang track but didn’t dare say hi. She was training with someone else I didn’t recognise

WussRedXLi

Lubricin and Irisin (in synovial fluid)

Interesting, already doing a close variant of exercise 1.
Maybe can incorporate some for ankles/knees.

WussRedXLi

Saw Vanessa at the Kallang track but didn’t dare say hi. She was training with someone else I didn’t recognise

"Public" pax is like that one, instantly recognisable. I also quite often see Jusjusjusworld (Justina) at MBS, ECP area esp on weekends. I think i have come across her well over a dozen times already.

Actually SG is so small wrt cycling, if there are more PCN routes to west side (i dont cycle West Coast Highway, if not over there 5k TT quite shiok) then i might come across more pax. I move between PCN and roads whenever they are safe enough.

Nice to cycle

WussRedXLi

Thks bro.
I will do it slow n enjoy it.

Yeah, folks who dont do other different forms of exercise/sports often might not be used to the different recruitment of the muscles (which viewing from a macro point of view are the same even) which are more localised compared to walking/running, so will be quite sng. Upper zone 2 first and then last 40% go hoot zone 3 is enough already. You will know it when you overcooked it too early on by going into zone 4 coz the muscles at latter part really too sng (very high levels of lactic acid).

Also, it's a bloody warm activity lah due to the slow speeds wrt exertion (watts).....and stuffy esp if many participants, even though there should be some active forced ventilation over there.

sph777

"Public" pax is like that one, instantly recognisable. I also quite often see Jusjusjusworld (Justina) at MBS, ECP area esp on weekends. I think i have come across her well over a dozen times already.

Actually SG is so small wrt cycling, if there are more PCN routes to west side (i dont cycle West Coast Highway, if not over there 5k TT quite shiok) then i might come across more pax. I move between PCN and roads whenever they are safe enough.

Nice to cycle

Honestly I think WCH damn dangerous. Many big vehicles

Kuudere

This year gold is 10.72. OR is 10.61.

I could dl it and time it very accurately in the editing sw but lazy ba.

But it is possible that he is wee wee bit faster than Shanti. Bill is still current WR holder in his age grp.
Coz heck, i came across an amateur 60 yr old male doing 17.2x for 5k, which is as fast as our latest/current 5k women's record (ie GCL or Vanessa). ie this t "random" senior age ang moh youtube fella was faster last year and then our ladies then improved. Not some super fast guy doing tri, semi pro runner or what.
I wish i can share the vid again right now but i cant, never sub it or saved it as fav and i cant recall his name / channel. Anyway, seems like this age grp WR is 15.52. :oops: :oops:

edit - **, age 70 also can beat my 5k timing. :oops: Same level as our current NR for women.
ps. And i think @Kuudere also gonna beat that, right brudder ku? (y) :s12:
My 5k end-goal is somewhere between high 17 or low 18 in Sg. I ran a 19.44 5k yesterday after 6km @ 4.18 min/km pace and 2 minute rest.

https://ibb.co/2cD1Kn9 >> 5k (coming back run)

https://ibb.co/hLFwKMX >> 6k (initial run)

Long term goal is to complete 6 stars marathon. After that, go into trail running. I joined the trail running club yesterday and one of the runners paced me for the last 5k.

The leader of the group, is the former national marathoner, Jasmine Goh. She switched to trail running liao, but I think she still runs the marathon though not as quick as before. She was running mid 4.2x pace yesterday for 2 x 6km (r2).

Kuudere

For those who are interested in a structured training and some data guided training, can have a look at this article on jakob Ingebristen's 6 months of prep for the Olympic.

Take a look at the attached chart you can see he started with a very low base fitness (green line). His low base fitness was due to recovering from a injury, hardly trained at all causing the drop in base fitness. From the chart you can guess there are three mesocycles in the 6 months.

1. Base Building with high volume. (8 weeks). Basically, low intensity, but high mileage runs (blue line indicate training load (factors are mileage, HR intensity)), this can improve base fitness a lot.
2. Recovery phase, in Elevated Strava terms(italic) which I more familiar than COROS terms, this will reduce Fatigue, improve Form but at the expense of Fitness. As can see his base fitness dropped a little. But for 5km training, this is not a big issue, because he had already built a huge base fitness during the first 8 weeks of base building. Let it drop a little is more than enough for his next phase which 3.
3. Intensity and Peak. Can look at the pie chart, of his intensity distribution in the linked article. A lot of zone1 + zone2, and even more zone 6. Very little in the middle zones intensity. 50/50... This peaking phase, don't think I can survive this training.

67aa0704cdefe8e17cf0351be6c73e5f.png

I shared his carrot philosophy of not testing your fitness during training period. You just have to trust your structured training plan, or in my case TAO, that our peak fitness will be on our race day. That is why even for tune up races, I don't go fully out so I don't need a full day to recover. Also why some runners labelled certain race as their 'A' races, these are the race where our fitness are projected to peak if our training plan goes smoothly.

Can look at his HR data during the race, also interesting. Match it with his different phase of strategy.

https://coros.com/stories/more-than...bers-jakob-ingebrigtsen-5000-meter-gold-medal
Jakob more of 1.5-5k build. Can check out Clayton Young.

Strava: https://www.strava.com/pros/23295862

Pre-race video:

His staple interval workout is 4 x 3 mile @ marathon pace.

milkiee

My 5k end-goal is somewhere between high 17 or low 18 in Sg. I ran a 19.44 5k yesterday after 6km @ 4.18 min/km pace and 2 minute rest.

Long term goal is to complete 6 stars marathon. After that, go into trail running. I joined the trail running club yesterday and one of the runners paced me for the last 5k.

The leader of the group, is the former national marathoner, Jasmine Goh. She switched to trail running liao, but I think she still runs the marathon though not as quick as before. She was running mid 4.2x pace yesterday for 2 x 6km (r2).
wah im interested to do trail running too.
i intend to join the BUFF Forest Force Run Series - 21k next year. Looks fun eh.

sph777

Your improvements are very very good. Looks like your workouts are paying off! Keep it up!

WussRedXLi

Oh Jasmine Goh, i think that Runner Kao (youtube) got interview her before.
But runner Kao i think "retire" from running liao.

WussRedXLi

Honestly I think WCH damn dangerous. Many big vehicles

got 1 additional danger for these viaducts. If kena sideswipe / knocked. Can superman from the viaduct down to street lvl. Confirm final destination then

edit - one thing, not sure about the traffic now, but early 2000 that time, people reach speeds of ~ 200kmh over there. That downslope @ Keppel towards city aids even normal sedans, reacgubg near 200 no issue, the corner already can take at 160-170 with just slightly modded stuff before going down. Maybe nowadays better enforcement......but i still hear either bikes 2 or 4 strokes and car exhausts from time to time esp from my high ground here which is clearly audible early mornings, so.......

Kuudere

wah im interested to do trail running too.
i intend to join the BUFF Forest Force Run Series - 21k next year. Looks fun eh.
If you want to prepare for trails, you can join Xtrailblazers, free running club, they do weekly trail long runs (16-20k).

https://xtrailblazers.com/
Your improvements are very very good. Looks like your workouts are paying off! Keep it up!
Just been focusing on what I can do correctly, rather than keep smashing times. As long as don't get injured and train healthily, should be quite ok.
Oh Jasmine Goh, i think that Runner Kao (youtube) got interview her before.
But runner Kao i think "retire" from running liao.
Runner Kao more of family guy now, see him signed up for Skechers Run in the walking group with his family.

Jasmine Goh is still quite a good runner, 3 hr 13 min for the SCMS marathon (3rd local) and 3 hr 1 min for berlin marathon last year.

She is very welcoming, brief all of the newcomers and make them feel welcome. Other running clubs, don't really have that.

WussRedXLi

If you want to prepare for trails, you can join Xtrailblazers, free running club, they do weekly trail long runs (16-20k).

https://xtrailblazers.com/

Just been focusing on what I can do correctly, rather than keep smashing times. As long as don't get injured and train healthily, should be quite ok.

Runner Kao more of family guy now, see him signed up for Skechers Run in the walking group with his family.

Jasmine Goh is still quite a good runner, 3 hr 13 min for the SCMS marathon (3rd local) and 3 hr 1 min for berlin marathon last year.

She is very welcoming, brief all of the newcomers and make them feel welcome. Other running clubs, don't really have that.

Yeah the clubs, not all are good, same for cycling. Some good some bad.

For me i soloist best, coz my habit / temperament i cannot tahan inefficiences as time is precious for me.......already not enough time to train and super-recover (eg more sleep, ice baths/soaks, plyo/strength etc) and do maintenance like clean biketrain or wash shoes/apparels daily liao, still wanna wait for others. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Went to search some results for this year T100 standard dualthlon. Dont know how they run and bike one. Power.

YtIYSYo.jpg

imEhdwR.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.