jogging and motivation thread

sales69

Last Weekend Buff forest run, got some casualties for heat related injuries. Poor hydration logistic, no Isotonic (no electrolytes) , only plain water. A long duration under hot sun, above 34C.

Heat injury is worst than physical injuries. I can endure low grade pain to carry on running, but once giddiness set in, it's time to call off. Permanent damage can include brain damage and death. Fo heavy sweater with sweaty palms, one sign is suddenly your palms are dry, bad sign.
Last weekend weather brutal leh.
My kid and I woke up early and even then cycled in mostly shaded areas/roads, eg rounding Shenton/Cecil and under Keppel Viaduct went vivo la ice-cream, MBS shaded area......sun came out after 8+ we just left GBE/GBTB and went Keppel viaduct, etc. 8+ already bloody warm even if moderate intensity.

First and foremost if runners (or any exercisers) lack of water or isotonic drinks already kickstart the process. And exacerbated by personal lack of knowledge of the symptoms.
Must really auto-cut when feel not normal.....cannot push through one.

Wow no isotonic is criminal. Last Sunday I did my suntan run around 5pm.

Damn sunny and hot. Before 2km already felt heat fatigue setting in. If continue running, afraid gonna faint.

At 2.5km, quickly went for water/toilet break. Rest 5 mins then resume at slower pace.

Finally gave up running in the sun at 5km. Continue in shade for another 5k.

WussRedXLi

Wow. Her spilt time for her HM timing for the full marathon is below 1hr 20 mins. Even the current local top sg female runner also couldn't go below 1hr 20 mins for HM.

Yeah.....

I guess just have to understand that on youtube it's really a very large international ocean, so anything also got out there despite non pro. I have seen in other hobbies that some folks out there really play hobby hardcore until like no end one.

WussRedXLi

Damn sunny and hot. Before 2km already felt heat fatigue setting in. If continue running, afraid gonna faint.

At 2.5km, quickly went for water/toilet break. Rest 5 mins then resume at slower pace.

In very hot weather I confirm cannot run anything other than slow jog one........tried before and felt giddy saw stars and felt light headed, presumably BP high also.
But cycling it is better due to higher wind speeds wrt RPE, so if anything just pour water onto the top and let it evap. Somemore my water bottle is the PE insulated double walled type and i put lotsa ice into it so it slowly melts in a 2-3 hr timeframe, can even refill and let it melt if fully iced up. Very good for SG weather for training.

Kuudere

Sunday was tough to run, even though I managed to run 10k all-out and do well. I could've run faster if I picked another day but I guess it's not too bad since I can make my training goal more aggressive. Maybe try for 4.03 min/km 10k training and should still be ok.

sales69

Sunday was tough to run, even though I managed to run 10k all-out and do well. I could've run faster if I picked another day but I guess it's not too bad since I can make my training goal more aggressive. Maybe try for 4.03 min/km 10k training and should still be ok.
Keep it up man. Your pace is crazy fast for 10k.

If you ran yesterday which was cooling, should be much faster.

Today is cool as well, can try hoot a good one. :)

Jeremy1

Is warm up same as massage 🤔

Anyone here taking any supplements for their joints ?

WussRedXLi

Wah later those affected by Queenstown <-> Boon lay system down can look forward to running liao (if got gear in office). Still down.
Grab / bus will be overloaded, good luck boarding.

WussRedXLi

For bones, just the usual, around 100mg of Magnesium glycinate daily avg, calcium citrate around 400mg 2-3 times a week. A bit of D3 (around 10-15k IU) of capsules as weekends i get a fair bit of 9-10am sun. For me i have 10mg boron also, 2-3 times a week.

Joints - things get a bit placeboey here.....glycosamine sulfate / chondritin / MSM, collagen.

Jeremy1

For bones, just the usual, around 100mg of Magnesium glycinate daily avg, calcium citrate around 400mg 2-3 times a week. A bit of D3 (around 10-15k IU) of capsules as weekends i get a fair bit of 9-10am sun. For me i have 10mg boron also, 2-3 times a week.

Joints - things get a bit placeboey here.....glycosamine sulfate / chondritin / MSM, collagen.

So need to buy so many capsules or does it come with just 1 capsule which covered everything ?

Jeremy1

Yesterday tried a couple of running shoes :

Brooks Hyperion Elite 3
Asics Magic Speed 4
Asics Metaspeed Edge Paris
NB SC Trainer V3

Actually don't want to try one but my friend asked me to try so I know as no people around in store.

And the winner go to :s13:

Ender

Massage is to feel shiok. I don't feel shiok when warm up, so skip. Not the same to me.

As for supplement for joints, I don't take any. Running without overtraining keeps bone and joints healthy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.