jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Seeing more and more TT bikes around (+ the ang mohs / foreigners on them. among the locals of coz).
ECP and Sentosa. And runners in their tri suits.

Signs of T100......

Soon folks on TT helmets and full rear disc will also be out. (full rear disc sound damn sexy one)
Remember last year close to the dates so many, even on PCNs also saw a few.

Too bad my whole coy blardy bonus no good basket.....
No money no honey.
I recently bought a beginner tri suit from decathlon, will probably try soon. I signed up for run swim run by trifactor in June. 10.5 km run, 1.5km swim then 10.5km run.

sph777

My VO2 max is only 50 :cry:

Wish I could commit more time to training, but so busy with work recently.
I usually wake up early to train before work. After work I’m too tired to train so for me it’s early morning. 50 is also quite good alr

WussRedXLi

Do runners need creatine?

Just saw this......

1, If you have any need for bursts in efforts particularly in the 12 seconds range, and in my opinion even within 20 seconds range, then yes. Utilizing the ATP-PC energy system.
Coz i still sometimes do hill sprints and SITs, yeah i guess so.
Running is up to 800m, or kicks at the end of your 2.4, 3k, 5k, 10k. Of coz for distance running it's going to be minimal.

2. For cycling, i think practically quite useful in the real life since riding has quite a fair bit of surgey bursty ride on the roads. Or short climbs when you off saddle.

3. Then for strength training where you hoot until near failure needing these shorter near max bursts of energy and my sets are within 15-20 reps , yes.

4, Side effect is increase in muscle bulk due to water retention in the muscles. A bit bad thing is if you climb a lot then yeah that 2 to even 3kg increase sucks, dont bother to buy climbing bikes then lah, just climb and enjoy no PB attempts etc. But the good thing is that aesthetically your quads (one big muscle of your body) and for me upper body since i strength train there also look more pleasing in cycling jersey or running singlet or even my tighter running t-shirts.

5. There is some studies regarding recovery helped by Creatine, not really sure how that works but i hope it works for me. 🤣

So for me, in real world usages, yes it potentially is pretty useful.

ps. Within 20 seconds is a bit short, but if you are also aiming for the 5-7 seconds range, go google Beta Alanine. Some studies even cite as long as 25 mins might have a bit of gains. These 2 combined have a high chance that presents better value than spending a few Ks on a pair of wheels or even TT helmet.

I use these 2. Basically around 30 cents a day for the 2 (after iherb discounts) or 109 a year. Sometimes i do cut down dosages a little.

https://sg.iherb.com/pr/california-...atine-monohydrate-unflavored-1-lb-454-g/71026

https://sg.iherb.com/pr/nutricost-beta-alanine-unflavored-17-9-oz-500-g/145284

rarenick

Just saw this......
1, If you have any need for bursts in efforts particularly in the 12 seconds range, and in my opinion even within 20 seconds range, then yes. Utilizing the ATP-PC energy system.
Coz i still sometimes do hill sprints and SITs, yeah i guess so.
Running is up to 800m, or kicks at the end of your 2.4, 3k, 5k, 10k. Of coz for distance running it's going to be minimal.
2. For cycling, i think practically quite useful in the real life since riding has quite a fair bit of surgey bursty ride on the roads. Or short climbs when you off saddle.
3. Then for strength training where you hoot until near failure needing these shorter near max bursts of energy and my sets are within 15-20 reps , yes.
4, Side effect is increase in muscle bulk due to water retention in the muscles. A bit bad thing is if you climb a lot then yeah that 2 to even 3kg increase sucks, dont bother to buy climbing bikes then lah, just climb and enjoy no PB attempts etc. But the good thing is that aesthetically your quads (one big muscle of your body) and for me upper body since i strength train there also look more pleasing in cycling jersey or running singlet or even my tighter running t-shirts.
5. There is some studies regarding recovery helped by Creatine, not really sure how that works but i hope it works for me.
1f923.png

So for me, in real world usages, yes it potentially is pretty useful.
ps. Within 20 seconds is a bit short, but if you are also aiming for the 5-7 seconds range, go google Beta Alanine. Some studies even cite as long as 25 mins might have a bit of gains. These 2 combined have a high chance that presents better value than spending a few Ks on a pair of wheels or even TT helmet.
I use these 2. Basically around 30 cents a day for the 2 (after iherb discounts) or 109 a year. Sometimes i do cut down dosages a little.
https://sg.iherb.com/pr/california-...atine-monohydrate-unflavored-1-lb-454-g/71026
https://sg.iherb.com/pr/nutricost-beta-alanine-unflavored-17-9-oz-500-g/145284

I'm taking creatine occasionally only and it's not even before work out. Waste money? My activities are slow jog no sprint. Cycling (trying not to sprint), pull ups and some low weights training. Like these should increase my creatine intake or doesn't matter?

WussRedXLi

71 mins for her first HM

Her hubby The Athlete Special (Spencer) ran 66 mins and now wants to hire a coach so as to "take it farther with proper training"

Both siao lang fast and gifted runners

WussRedXLi

20250216 6degC Qiaodan 飞影pb3.0
10km @ 55:33 HR @160av
first time under 56min.
Screenshot-2025-02-16-11-21-46-75-d4809424e5a924e1603f7bdd2e10c44f.jpg

Faster liao lah......just continue with it, Summer time can touch 5:00 with some slightly harder worker + focussing a bit more on recovery (just sleep with good sleep hygiene habits, best bang for your buck)

WussRedXLi

I'm taking creatine occasionally only and it's not even before work out. Waste money? My activities are slow jog no sprint. Cycling (trying not to sprint), pull ups and some low weights training. Like these should increase my creatine intake or doesn't matter?
I think 3-4g daily would be fine.... since have pull ups, low weights.....maybe can up the weights and try to improve in pull ups.
For me i am into push ups, can feel got use. But mindset needs to be focussed on max efforts (very near failure, failure or drop sets even)

It's not waste money, for me i am a hard gainer so now i can hit 66-67kg at 173cm with very little fats, is a literally god send. At least "got something to see". When i was racewalker and then water up to middle of last year, my family members all said i sibeh pai kua and i look like i am in the 60s possibly touching 70.

My estate also got 1 super runner and senior in age also, 6am already up there running, my in-law family members also see one, near daily, also extremely lanky. They mentioned i look just like him if discount the face, and from then on i decided to change a bit liao.

xllms

Faster liao lah......just continue with it, Summer time can touch 5:00 with some slightly harder worker + focussing a bit more on recovery (just sleep with good sleep hygiene habits, best bang for your buck)
yah i need sufficient rest and greater intake of water.
i was monitoring myself for past half a year, i tend to feel tired the day when i had long and hard runs, even the day after. Bought an affordable BP reader that links to mobile phone and found out BP gets higher (exercise induced higg BP?). Made some adjustments and getting better BP nowadays.
Also my recent work on 8x1km runs + some gym work appears to be helping.
To hit 5min/km mark, i need to work more on strength, interval trainings and improve anaerobic levels. Target 5km first.

xllms

how do you guys determine whats a "long" and "easy" run ?
observe your body reaction. With ample runs of variety, one will know how to distinguish
and if you have a smart watch with appropriate app, it will give you some info, eg. Coros app will have information on "training load".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.