jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

No doubt about it. From another point of view, one will notice the vehicle was so near in front of him almost functioning as wind breaker, thus Kiplimo probably expended less energy and hardly show any signs of strain in his face. Nevertheless, an amazing run.

Races like T100 even more ngeow, vehicles/bikes BEHIND the athletes also must take into account. Got a few times in which the athletes gesturing the motorbikes (camera man) to fall back a bit more. There is a "push" effect of coz, but it is comparatively very very very little (can google, i think like 3-4% if draft from the real is @ 100%, and only if within a certain distance)
Other than bike leg being not draft legal race. That kind of super super super ultra duper marginal help also disallowed.

sales69

do check out these 天猫 shops if they offer shipping to SG (RMB599)
https://e.tb.cn/h.TrlcDPH2NcWMTbs?tk=cHM2ei55Kvu
https://e.tb.cn/h.Trld1OADNyFH3ya?tk=bwGmei56BGN

another shop with new colorways but not 天猫, bought from them before and they are reliable. (RMB579)
https://e.tb.cn/h.TIYikfHBl0JkibK?tk=J08Mei5Rmq0

Appreciate the links. The NB store "officially" don't ship direct to us.

But during checkout on app, it goes through smoothly to payment. Heck care, just do it!

No cancellation when "processing order". Few hours later, order shipped out. 😃

Thanks for the Vivi store link too. I wanted to buy from them but no stock available for my size.

I will likely get the Venym from them later. And Balos if available.

milkiee

Garmin VO2MAX estimation usually too optimistic, especially so for Asian. Alot of Garmin users have above 50 for VO2max from Garmin estimation, but can't do sub 20 minute 5km. You are using Runalyze, it would give a more realistic estimation. ANother good estimator is Vdot. Vdot is not VO2max, but it's a very close if running is the main sports. Else Cooper test.
Look thru your Strava, and SPH's, the big difference is weekly mileage and lot's of interval. I can't do SPH's training, too tough..
oh i guess so. it means that SPH VO2max is inaccurate. it should be +2/3 hahahhaha

wah runanalyze and garmin vo2max reading has such a high difference of 10 for me.

sph777

oh i guess so. it means that SPH VO2max is inaccurate. it should be +2/3 hahahhaha

wah runanalyze and garmin vo2max reading has such a high difference of 10 for me.

Basically we won't know unless we go lab and test. Take the readings with a pinch of salt haha

Ender

Basically we won't know unless we go lab and test. Take the readings with a pinch of salt haha
Still useful for trends to see if your high intensity training is yielding positive benefits. If it increases,you are on track.

I don't have Garmin any more, base on my own reading from 4 or 5 years back when I had my Garmin, My reading was 53. That time my Runalyze prediction was also low 40s. When I switched to coros, it estimate mine to be 42 plus minus. So big difference from Garmin. My Vdot was 43 then. So runanaylze, Vdot and coros were close to each other, only Garmin gave me 53. And I suspect it's the same for most Singaporean runners. Basically if you have a 50 vo2max, sub 20 for 5 km is a reality with decent training .But some like me have a rough time to even maintain 4:30 pace for 22:30 minutes 5km, it's a huge gap from the required 4 min pace for sub 20.

WussRedXLi

Interesting, did a quick google. Anyway dont quote me on absolute lab accuracy.

Runner's avg CdA is around 0.5. Compared to a time trialist cyclist of around 0.2 (or even below 0.2 for top level pros). But of coz, cycling speeds are faster, and double the speed is 4X the resistance.

Wattage at around 20kmh or 3:00 running pace by an upright runner due to aerodynamics is approx 40 watts.

WussRedXLi

UAE XRG team the team mate just behind Pogacar @ 7.7k from finish line was drinking water from bottle and then suddenly got unsettled (coz 1 hand) and then buanged.

That time i saw in one vid 1 recreational fella on WCH also buang like that, in the peloton. She fell onto second lane, luckily the truck just 1-2 seconds after her was in lane 1 (ultra defensive driving). The lady fooking heng.

That's why whenever i want to drink water, i slow down to around 20kmh thereabouts. Lower risks even if buang. My balls not that big. If on the roads, i wait till traffic lights then drink.

I believe another lady at NUS climbing hills also lost footing and fell, alas she did not make it coz the bus rolled over her head.

All these risks i think long term (defensive) drivers only can anticipate. (got licence does not mean you'd know.....esp those Getgo/bluesg folks)

ATP-PC for the win

WussRedXLi

Come here to look for motivation to run again ><

No time to run for 2 months sian,

Must really do something that you love.
So time would not be an issue, coz it would be prioritized over other things.
ie Matter of Priority.

Nearly every day nowadays i wake up 5am+ to do. No need motivation at all....it's automatic. Either that or later at night after 8pm 9pm, it depends.
So when it is auto, like you must brush teeth or bathe, you just do it, no need time table no need alarm clock. So when you follow the various workouts in various zones and balanced it out, day after day, you will inevitably improve coz the body just has no other way. There is no burnout.....coz you dont burn out from working if it is balanced. (of coz if everyday you war at work eg you do VO2max/thresholds daily, you will also burn out).

So in a way, your fitness does not slip, and next time no need simi build endurance phase, build-up phase etc.

Hope that helps.

fantasyrulz

Must really do something that you love.
So time would not be an issue, coz it would be prioritized over other things.
ie Matter of Priority.

Nearly every day nowadays i wake up 5am+ to do. No need motivation at all....it's automatic. Either that or later at night after 8pm 9pm, it depends.
So when it is auto, like you must brush teeth or bathe, you just do it, no need time table no need alarm clock. So when you follow the various workouts in various zones and balanced it out, day after day, you will inevitably improve coz the body just has no other way. There is no burnout.....coz you dont burn out from working if it is balanced. (of coz if everyday you war at work eg you do VO2max/thresholds daily, you will also burn out).

So in a way, your fitness does not slip, and next time no need simi build endurance phase, build-up phase etc.

Hope that helps.
real good mindset

easier for me as my work is and commitment is close to zero
for the others its really hard but the other side is much worst if really dont do anything

been 2 years jogging regularly already and its really hard every single time i run
always feel like dieing and fighting a internal urge to just stop.

never gets easier

WussRedXLi

real good mindset

easier for me as my work is and commitment is close to zero
for the others its really hard but the other side is much worst if really dont do anything

been 2 years jogging regularly already and its really hard every single time i run
always feel like dieing and fighting a internal urge to just stop.

never gets easier

To be honest, my work commitment is also close to zero.
Not a good thing most of the time, heng is that i am at most 10 years from retirement age. So can gamble a bit here. 🤣 🤣
It is a gamble, in fact my bonus just dropped to nearly zero as coy not doing well (fold up by next 2 years also i wont be surprised). Most middle aged workers have similar risks like kena bullied or ousted out of coy. In fact my CEO just a few years older last year kena ousted by top management.

Another factor for many people that affects things and time is family commitment, mine also not much, additionally also coz my kid likes and joins me for cycling so that's easy as it kills 2 birds with 1 stone. My wife is brisk walking cum a bit of jogging so around once a week i join her.
I tried to get him to run with me but cannot. Walk is at most walk 5K (nearly 1 hr) and then he bin chao chao. Even SITs he did a bit last time but also not so willing i must push him. Cycling he can manage to peak like 80s, 90km and touch 6hrs sometimes, good enough pace for him as a young teen and moreover he has built up fitness and strength over time (last time really turtle slow) . Travel + light makan everywhere or take breaks at special places, he likes that.

Whenever you need to push someone to do, is usually cannot one. At least not for the long term or for performance. Needs to be auto.

There is 1 -ve for me though, i lost all the interest to do anything else, from shopping to restaurant eating to travelling overseas. That is what my wife always kaobei.
In fact i didnt even bother to renew my passport at the tail-end of covid. :unsure:
So my "sacrifice" is this, for me i dont feel much of a sacrifice but others like colleagues esp family members see it that way.

WussRedXLi

BTW just a word of caution, for us mere mortals wo specialised biomechanical testing and analysis, if you are doing any of these for any decent or even somewhat extended duration of time (per session), i think best to strength train the associated/used muscles for 4-8 weeks first. Plus get on top of your recovery, things like zone 2 really is zone 2 (dont over do).
Then can do max 2 of such session per week if you are on it, if just basic maintenance or want slight slow improvements once per week.

That time i just went by feel and "motivation" (ie too motivated), i was on NSAIDs (120mg eteriocoxib) and Curcuwin for like first stretch 3 days, off a few days, then on 3-4 days, off a few days then on 3-4 days again.

421 watts HR 121 bpm. Not sure if something is off though. Coz pogi's Z2 is low 300W.
It might be medical even, too big heart or something.

WussRedXLi

Forgot to add, other than for hobby reasons, VO2Max workouts also good for those esp over 40s for longevity (the other one being type IIx and IIa fast twitch training).
Just that it's probably not a pure beginner exercise and some not in the best of health historically coz have not been taking care of their health or have some (mild) symptoms or another might need medical clearance in the interest of safety. I suspect it might be an extremely good bang for the buck for beginners having a lower base fitness (very good gains here), only issue is the corresponding barrier to entry.

The good thing is that you don't need a lot of duration at this, thankfully coz it's in the pain cave zone (most pple dont like it, only a few accustomsed would feel comfortable being uncomfortable).
And so of coz if polarized correctly, the Z2 base training would be correspondingly a good few magnitudes higher.

milkiee

Still useful for trends to see if your high intensity training is yielding positive benefits. If it increases,you are on track.

I don't have Garmin any more, base on my own reading from 4 or 5 years back when I had my Garmin, My reading was 53. That time my Runalyze prediction was also low 40s. When I switched to coros, it estimate mine to be 42 plus minus. So big difference from Garmin. My Vdot was 43 then. So runanaylze, Vdot and coros were close to each other, only Garmin gave me 53. And I suspect it's the same for most Singaporean runners. Basically if you have a 50 vo2max, sub 20 for 5 km is a reality with decent training .But some like me have a rough time to even maintain 4:30 pace for 22:30 minutes 5km, it's a huge gap from the required 4 min pace for sub 20.

it's been increasing slowly and more rapidly ever since i started interval trainings with Runna.
i feel that there is a still a long way to go though to hit my target.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.