jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Congrats! I tot u first timer road bike so recommended something friendlier pricing for u to try out in case regret. I was so wrong. 动不动就超过一万。

Again, safety first. Don't be influenced by peer riders. Speed doesn't mean anything. Strength, fitness, health, and safety are the things that matter.

BTW since you old bird, is it common (or have you heard) folks "scolding" people bringing road bikes into the lift?

I "only" have foldies now but it's the kid and me.....so we occupy the lift together. We try to wait for our own "dedicated" lift and not go wait for one in which 1-2 other pax have already been waiting.

Kena "commented" twice before. Eg we went into the lift and suddenly found got 2-3 pax coming in. Not in the face but after they got out.

Actually for groups, depending on one's character/goals......also no need to join i feel......own time own target. I also dont join any running groups, or those triathlon/duathlon groups on TT bikes etc.

Many Singaporeans (maybe foreigners as well now) really hate cyclists, trust me on the hate (driver of nearly 30 years as well and i used to join car groups / track etc).
But i fully understand the hate, last night Shenton Way came across 2 roadies beating the red chionging past at no less than 30kmh just outside UIC with a family and carrying a young kid just 1 lane away. The father was raising his hand and my guess is that it was not a friendly wave.
Other than the accident that i saw at Marina Barrage just beside the ramp/fountain at the turn junction.

And last weekend also saw 1 mountain biker chiong red man at the junction from Takashimaya -> Orchard Mandarin, i mean he checked the traffic first of coz but issue is that the junction is a semi-blind slight bend one plus blocked by shrubs and also 3 other trucks which were parked outside Taka to off load their goods.
The pedestrians' visibility is limited to no more than 6 car lengths probably. 1 fast speeding car and that is it.
I noticed that some mountain bikers in the area like to treat the steps at Taka, ION and Wisma as training.....seen it several times liao.

WussRedXLi

Actually there was also one time in which another fella came into the lift after us and commented on our lights as irritating. Coz reflecting off the lift walls, with rear red blinkers and front whites, 2 bikes.

KNN that one damn dulan. We just came from the carpark and saw the empty lift on first storey so just entered the light. Lift was totally empty when we entered and he was not even in the lobby when the lift doors opened.
Our motto is that we would never go squeeze with others one, only waiting for our own dedicated lift (it works coz my block got 1 fireman lift which operates separately from the 2 main lifts, so it's either one)
If lift got other pax, we wont get in and give a wave for them to get going and i always say "Thanks, it's ok", even if it was only 1 other fella.

Some folks also lift more or less full liao (2 bikes) and still wanna squeeze in, in fact 2-3 other pax no less. And then we 2 foldies could not get out liao, coz we entered first.
Once even kena blocked coz 1 fella was playing phone and so did not respond to my verbal Excuse Me, and when i touched him on the shoulder calling him Bro, he was like startled and looked pissed at me before getting out of the lift to let me out first.

I can't imagine if 1 big road bike (even if you stand it on the rear wheel so that it fits) + 1 foldie or worse 2 road bikes. Other things like budget aside (I no money one, also saving for retirement)

EDMW already got 1 thread bashing bikes in lifts before.

DigDub

My block each level only 5 households and 3 lifts, so rarely will have anyone sharing lift. Got one instance though, a boomer come in and commented "bicycles should keep at the void deck". Jitao kan him say my house your problem ah?

sph777

BTW since you old bird, is it common (or have you heard) folks "scolding" people bringing road bikes into the lift?

I "only" have foldies now but it's the kid and me.....so we occupy the lift together. We try to wait for our own "dedicated" lift and not go wait for one in which 1-2 other pax have already been waiting.

Kena "commented" twice before. Eg we went into the lift and suddenly found got 2-3 pax coming in. Not in the face but after they got out.

Actually for groups, depending on one's character/goals......also no need to join i feel......own time own target. I also dont join any running groups, or those triathlon/duathlon groups on TT bikes etc.

Many Singaporeans (maybe foreigners as well now) really hate cyclists, trust me on the hate (driver of nearly 30 years as well and i used to join car groups / track etc).
But i fully understand the hate, last night Shenton Way came across 2 roadies beating the red chionging past at no less than 30kmh just outside UIC with a family and carrying a young kid just 1 lane away. The father was raising his hand and my guess is that it was not a friendly wave.
Other than the accident that i saw at Marina Barrage just beside the ramp/fountain at the turn junction.

And last weekend also saw 1 mountain biker chiong red man at the junction from Takashimaya -> Orchard Mandarin, i mean he checked the traffic first of coz but issue is that the junction is a semi-blind slight bend one plus blocked by shrubs and also 3 other trucks which were parked outside Taka to off load their goods.
The pedestrians' visibility is limited to no more than 6 car lengths probably. 1 fast speeding car and that is it.
I noticed that some mountain bikers in the area like to treat the steps at Taka, ION and Wisma as training.....seen it several times liao.
I just crashed on hello ride yesterday too, at mbs area swerve to the left to avoid ppl although I rang the bell. Luckily only bang my leg on the bike. Some shin swelling, knee swelling a bit and a cut toenail as the pedal ripped through my toe area but otherwise ok.

WussRedXLi

My block each level only 5 households and 3 lifts, so rarely will have anyone sharing lift. Got one instance though, a boomer come in and commented "bicycles should keep at the void deck". Jitao kan him say my house your problem ah?

Wah..... your case power.

But srsly speaking of that my void deck racks also chocked full of unattended bikes. TC already came to clear like 3X already (over like 14 years), but still full of mainly unused bikes full of dust.

WussRedXLi

I just crashed on hello ride yesterday too, at mbs area swerve to the left to avoid ppl although I rang the bell. Luckily only bang my leg on the bike. Some shin swelling, knee swelling a bit and a cut toenail as the pedal ripped through my toe area but otherwise ok.

MBS area esp before 9.15pm need some skills one, even roadies without much "pavement" experience better keep to below 10. No need to bother ringing, it does not work/ineffective and just generates more ill feeling.
During weekend mornings go there for fun, i will never let my kid ride in front of me, coz his experience just insufficient.
One eg, overtaking via the left of runners/pedestrians is just asking for it. Cannot over take by left one.

Seen no less than 10 times fixies over there crashing into pple, not coz they are no skills but more of others being inpredictable. . Im not joking it's that many 🤣 (also coz i frequent there all the way till Mountbatten a lot lah, other than Republic Ave/Sentosa as training).
The interesting thing is that i have never seen the illegal PMDs there crashing into pple, maybe less numbers lah...hence less probability. Or maybe also coz they ride in a different way and are more often than not more careful with pax around (Relatively). The PMDs also only come out after 10pm @ MBS area, so naturally less pax around liao.

Luckily yours wounds sound superficial.

rarenick

Many Singaporeans (maybe foreigners as well now) really hate cyclists
, trust me on the hate (driver of nearly 30 years as well and i used to join car groups / track etc).
I stay hougang HDB. I have never been scolded for my road bike in the lift. Occasionally got people friendly to me and asked me how much is my bike. They also avoided taking same lift as me.

They be glad that yours are not ebikes. Even if 1 small one, people also don't dare to enter the lift.

I ride bike more than 30 yrs no one ever told me off regarding my bikes (foldie, mtb, roadie). Stayed Pasir Ris HDB also no problem.

sph777

MBS area esp before 9.15pm need some skills one, even roadies without much "pavement" experience better keep to below 10. No need to bother ringing, it does not work/ineffective and just generates more ill feeling.
During weekend mornings go there for fun, i will never let my kid ride in front of me, coz his experience just insufficient.
One eg, overtaking via the left of runners/pedestrians is just asking for it. Cannot over take by left one.

Seen no less than 10 times fixies over there crashing into pple, not coz they are no skills but more of others being inpredictable. . Im not joking it's that many 🤣 (also coz i frequent there all the way till Mountbatten a lot lah, other than Republic Ave/Sentosa as training).
The interesting thing is that i have never seen the illegal PMDs there crashing into pple, maybe less numbers lah...hence less probability. Or maybe also coz they ride in a different way and are more often than not more careful with pax around (Relatively). The PMDs also only come out after 10pm @ MBS area, so naturally less pax around liao.

Luckily yours sounds superficial.
Yeah I was at 5 am ish, alr not many people but I think they cannot hear the bell or ignore, I swerve cause otherwise cannot avoid. PMDs from afar can hear, very loud lol

WussRedXLi

I stay hougang HDB. I have never been scolded for my road bike in the lift. Occasionally got people friendly to me and asked me how much is my bike. They also avoided taking same lift as me.

They be glad that yours are not ebikes. Even if 1 small one, people also don't dare to enter the lift.

I ride bike more than 30 yrs no one ever told me off regarding my bikes (foldie, mtb, roadie). Stayed Pasir Ris HDB also no problem.

My house first batch that time 14-15 yrs ago before MOP quite ok, people were friendly. Now after MOP and changed hands for majority of the people here, some downgraded from condo some PRs some rented out etc..... we feel many are quite negow/touchy nowadays. My floor 6 units, only left 1 unit left, the other 5 all changed hands liao, in fact one unit changed hands 2X liao.

Even the bangladeshi cleaner for our block whom we are very close to agrees...know him for like close to 10 years.
Coz we esp my wife always bump into him at the rooftop running area as he cleans there one and we always give him things like mandarin oranges, packet drinks and actually i gave him 2 of my slightly old running shoes as obviously he walks around a lot :ROFLMAO: (1 pair Puma deviate nitro 2 and 1 pair NB 1080 v12).
Nowadays he always tell me got those funny calls like here and there dirty got dog urine dog shiat need to clear, need to clear rubbish etc.....last time no such thing one.

WussRedXLi

https://www.carousell.sg/p/java-ari...t-referrer_source=listing_page&t-tap_index=13

A bit gian on this......also looking out for a 3rd bike as wife now willing to join during weekend. No need to mod already, maybe change chainring to 60T at the shop, cheap cheap can liao.

But im a bit scared of the yellow part which is not a triangle, coz i will be using on the roads (potholes, i kena 2X pinch flat already coz could not see, even @ 70-80 PSI)...so the impact stresses i think no joke. If PCN still relatively ok.
Once was that stupid bloody huge pothole at the Customs House right at the bus stop there along Keppel....i totally forgot about it, not fast also, at most 25kmh.
Already instinctively raised my bum to try reduce the impact and not buang as i only detected it some metres away but still kena pinch flat....so you can imagine the impact stresses.
If that part break, i think a 25-30kmh crash on the road is no joke.

Java CF is i think still pretty ok, but the design i a bit skeptical.

NJbpghT.jpg

The Java mini velo design ok tho. Got triangle.

java_minivelo_carbon_1742708299_e888b4f8_progressive.jpg

Ender

Here's an education on why zone 2 helps in running and other pros. I am using Grok 3 for the breakdown of this interview for runners.

And how this leads to better running performance?
Based on the insights from the interview transcript, Zone 2 training can lead to better running performance, particularly for endurance runners (e.g., marathoners or long-distance athletes), through several physiological and metabolic adaptations. Here’s how the pros of Zone 2, as outlined earlier, translate into improved running performance:

1. Enhanced Fat Oxidation Improves Endurance
  • How It Helps Running: Zone 2 maximizes fat oxidation, allowing runners to rely more on fat as a fuel source during long runs. Since fat stores are nearly limitless compared to glycogen (carbohydrate stores), this preserves glycogen for later stages of a race or training session when higher intensity might be needed (e.g., a finishing kick).
  • Performance Impact: Runners can sustain effort longer without "hitting the wall" (glycogen depletion), which is critical for distances like half-marathons or marathons.

2. Improved Mitochondrial Function Boosts Energy Efficiency
  • How It Helps Running: Zone 2 stresses type 1 muscle fibers, increasing mitochondrial density and efficiency. Mitochondria are the powerhouses where aerobic ATP production occurs, and more efficient mitochondria mean more energy from the same oxygen intake.
  • Performance Impact: This enhances aerobic capacity, allowing runners to maintain a steady pace with less fatigue. For example, a marathon runner can hold a target pace longer because their muscles produce energy more effectively.

3. Stronger Aerobic Base Supports Sustained Effort
  • How It Helps Running: Zone 2 builds a robust aerobic foundation, as it’s fully aerobic and targets the oxidative system. The speaker notes that marathon runners, who rarely sprint, benefit most from this zone.
  • Performance Impact: A stronger aerobic base means runners can maintain sub-threshold paces (below lactate threshold) for extended periods, improving overall race times and reducing perceived effort. This is key for consistent performance over 10K, 21K, or 42K distances.

4. Better Lactate Clearance Delays Fatigue
  • How It Helps Running: The speaker highlights that Zone 2 training improves lactate clearance (or hydrogen ion buffering), as seen in swimmers. For runners, this means the body can handle slight lactate increases (noted at Zone 2’s first inflection point) without tipping into accumulation.
  • Performance Impact: This delays the onset of fatigue during a race. Even in endurance running, small lactate rises occur over time; better clearance keeps muscles functioning efficiently, allowing runners to push harder or longer before slowing down.

5. Sustainable Energy Production Prevents Burnout
  • How It Helps Running: Zone 2 produces ATP at a rate fat can sustain, avoiding the rapid glycogen depletion and lactate buildup of higher zones. The speaker contrasts this with Zone 4, where fat is no longer used, and glycolysis dominates.
  • Performance Impact: Runners can train or race at Zone 2 intensity for hours without crashing, making it ideal for long, steady efforts. This sustainability reduces the risk of overtraining and supports recovery, enabling consistent training volume—a key factor in running improvement.

6. Tailored Metabolic Stress Optimizes Training
  • How It Helps Running: The speaker’s metabolic map shows Zone 2 as a specific zone for oxidative adaptations, distinct from higher-intensity zones suited to sprinters or middle-distance runners (e.g., 1500m runners needing Zone 6).
  • Performance Impact: For distance runners, focusing on Zone 2 ensures training aligns with their event’s energy demands. Marathoners, as the speaker notes, don’t need sprint work but thrive on Zone 2’s fat-burning and aerobic benefits, leading to race-specific fitness.

Practical Example for Running
  • A marathon runner training in Zone 2 (e.g., 60-70% of max heart rate, often a conversational pace) might run 10-20 miles at this intensity. Over weeks, their body adapts by burning fat more efficiently, increasing mitochondrial capacity, and improving lactate handling. In a race, they maintain a steady 7:30/min mile pace longer, delay fatigue, and have glycogen left for a strong finish—potentially shaving minutes off their time.

Conclusion
Zone 2 training enhances running performance by building an efficient, fat-fueled aerobic engine that sustains effort, delays fatigue, and optimizes energy use. For endurance runners, these adaptations translate to faster times, greater stamina, and resilience over long distances, aligning perfectly with the speaker’s emphasis on its role in oxidative metabolism and athletic conditioning.

WussRedXLi

Part of this would be my dream run (TT). 1k doing 3 mins flat. Watch GPS also shiok.
No need to be intervals, just 1 time as PB enough liao.

WussRedXLi

Just hope no rain this weekend. Past few days got Sumatra squall risk in the morning, squalls always happen in the morning (this morning also). Even if it rained a bit, it's as good as race over.

rarenick

https://www.carousell.sg/p/java-ari...t-referrer_source=listing_page&t-tap_index=13
A bit gian on this......also looking out for a 3rd bike as wife now willing to join during weekend. No need to mod already, maybe change chainring to 60T at the shop, cheap cheap can liao.
But im a bit scared of the yellow part which is not a triangle, coz i will be using on the roads (potholes, i kena 2X pinch flat already coz could not see, even @ 70-80 PSI)...so the impact stresses i think no joke. If PCN still relatively ok.
Once was that stupid bloody huge pothole at the Customs House right at the bus stop there along Keppel....i totally forgot about it, not fast also, at most 25kmh.
Already instinctively raised my bum to try reduce the impact and not buang as i only detected it some metres away but still kena pinch flat....so you can imagine the impact stresses.

Most bifold bikes no triangle. I don't see a problem, unless is a fat rider. The pricing is very attractive. Just take note the carbon seatpost will have alot of scratches esp if ride on wet road and never clean properly. Seat post might also slip down during ride. Is your wife confident with thin tyres? 451 hard to find wide tyres.

If no need to take public transport like mrt, then bifold bikes quite OK. Trifold bikes more compact and in trend now, around $800 also can get, but heavy. Always push only, heavy doesn't matter.

bbbbbw

NJbpghT.jpg

The Java mini velo design ok tho. Got triangle.

java_minivelo_carbon_1742708299_e888b4f8_progressive.jpg

if me I will buy a Brompton or Birdy r20 very popular and keep resale value better. Or buy reconditioned at Birdy store or a good condition used from Carousell

bbbbbw

omg get well soon that’s why I like to ride at night or late evening on pcn less crowd

bbbbbw

Congrats! I tot u first timer road bike so recommended something friendlier pricing for u to try out in case regret. I was so wrong. 动不动就超过一万。

Again, safety first. Don't be influenced by peer riders. Speed doesn't mean anything. Strength, endurance, fitness, health, and safety are things that matter. (Strava doesn't matter)

haha I cancelled the sl8 pro cos is shimano ultegra di2 groupset. Would prefer sram force instead so hope they can find a sl8 pro sram force in my size or will go for sl8 expert sram rival at slightly cheaper price .

worse case will be Sworks sram red but not sure if I want to spend so much on a bike.

bbbbbw

That time cycle on the bridge with railway tracks and pebbles on the green corridor

then at the bridge somebody raised up his hands at me and another asked her friend- can bicycle ride here ?

WussRedXLi

Looks pretty heat adapted (they have got to be) even though from UK.
Coz the pro race is afternoon while the amateur age groupers are early morning and the longer races drag till late morning.

Looks like all the athletes would be putting up at Sofitel City Centre this year. I see India Lee, Flora Duffy (2020 Tokyo Gold) etc.
Wah lan, International Plaza....walking distance from my office / home. Wonder if i should go stalk my area for autographs these few days. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Most bifold bikes no triangle. I don't see a problem, unless is a fat rider. The pricing is very attractive. Just take note the carbon seatpost will have alot of scratches esp if ride on wet road and never clean properly. Seat post might also slip down during ride. Is your wife confident with thin tyres? 451 hard to find wide tyres.

If no need to take public transport like mrt, then bifold bikes quite OK. Trifold bikes more compact and in trend now, around $800 also can get, but heavy. Always push only, heavy doesn't matter.

Actually the (new) bike i will mainly ride.....so it will be gunned quite a fair bit sometimes. Then the current older bikes my kid and wife ride. haha.....

Yeah.....lots of those wierd issues potentially with these CF seat post esp with these less tested brands, esp with harder road use. Then end up need to DIY and tinker like hell. I think i might need to reconsider.

Seriously i have never folded my foldies before other than the 2x flats in which i need to fold to get on the bus and get to the LBS which is like 1.5km away.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.