jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

The "mistake" that the pedestrian made is that she checked clear the first time round but not check clear for all lanes + all the time. That's what i always advocate, simply coz a few weeks ago my parents also nearly got knocked down when crossing cantonment road from pinnacle duxton towards Cantonment Pri school, with the cheongster chiong red at the last lane and missing them by 1 lane 1 second. My father 83 years old already, so you can imagine what could have happened. Crossed 6 lanes (4 lanes 1 side 3 lanes the other) safely checked right first and then left, but must be last lane at the very last moment kena.

You check clear first lane is not 100% one. Must be all lanes at all time. And your view could be blocked by vehicles on the other lane and only visible near the second last lane.

Running / cycling across for runners / cyclists is worse, the reaction time needed is so much higher....and seriously even walking speed also like that if the driver is distracted by the mobile phone.

Ender

@milkiee Or any one interested in structures training and trying to save money from hiring a coach. I have been experimenting with AI as a running coach. I have tried various AI, and finally found one I think I will settle with for long term. I.e. GROK. Reason is it is the only free one that can process *.tcx file. The others doesn't and you have to cut and paste picture of your splits for them to analyze. Grok on the other hand takes in RAW data, so I feel it has access to more insight than just splits.

The other AI that can process *.tcx file is ChatGPT advance model. But I quickly used up my share of free usage by a few attachment. Quite frustrating, and I don't want to pay for the pro version.

I use it as a 2nd coach to complement TrainsAsone. TrainASone doesn't give feedback of post run analysis, that's where GROK comes in. The first line of question is important, you describe to grok what you want it to be, and give your goals to it. Below is my example, but you can be more demanding to it.

PS, don't forget to upload your zones for HR and PACe if you want more detail analysis. Just paste a screen shot from your Garmin or Coros apps.

image.png

Once I am satisfied how the chat is going, I just rename the chat to Running Coach so I can get back to the same chat everyday to upload my *.tcx files and discuss this with GRok. Normally those online coach will charge an arm just to have a weekly 30 minutes consultation. This is free.

image.png

One thing Grok got wrong is the Fitness, Fatigue and Form. But this can be corrected when you direct it to STRAVA, or other platform that uses the same definition.

image.png

WussRedXLi

10 min warmup

3X5km fast
1km jog

Cooldown to 20km

Yes! Finally broke the 20min barrier officially for 5km!

Congrats!

You saw the T100 age groupers for duathlon/triathlon?

Fooking scary going downhill Rochor exit Sheares Bridge and also the ECP towards airport. Bo bian, bike limited, had to coast down and keep it below 70. I saw my GPS was like WTF man. Uneven road.
Someone dropped a bidon bottle on the road and i just barely missed it. (luckily bottle was white and not black, which would be camo on the asphalt)

I dont know how others can do 80-90 one and gun down in full aero tuck. And no lights, wtf......barely could see esp with the shadows. The streetlamps barely helps when at speed.
Fooking scary. I really no balls.

KNN i think even the short duathlon even tougher / more energy expenditure than a HM. Like a 25-28km run. Nutrition and able to keep it down is a must. Nearly vomitted. But then if dont eat/drink will CMI. Unless if one treats this as a fun tourism ride/run.

KNN 2 laps sounds easy, but that is climbing Sheares 6X. WTF.... (12X for long dual and tri)

Really need to train more.....all aspects. this is not a 1 year training can liao kinda thingy.

WussRedXLi

I really dont know how these people can do it one. Skills one thing, but i think willing to give up living for the hobby is another (which i am not willing lol)

@bbbbbw this would be your big quad big glutes cyclist?

sph777

Congrats!

You saw the T100 age groupers for duathlon/triathlon?

Fooking scary going downhill Rochor exit Sheares Bridge and also the ECP towards airport. Bo bian, bike limited, had to coast down and keep it below 70. I saw my GPS was like WTF man. Uneven road.
Someone dropped a bidon bottle on the road and i just barely missed it. (luckily bottle was white and not black, which would be camo on the asphalt)

I dont know how others can do 80-90 one and gun down in full aero tuck. And no lights, wtf......barely could see esp with the shadows. The streetlamps barely helps when at speed.
Fooking scary. I really no balls.

KNN i think even the short duathlon even tougher / more energy expenditure than a HM. Like a 25-28km run. Nutrition and able to keep it down is a must. Nearly vomitted. But then if dont eat/drink will CMI. Unless if one treats this as a fun tourism ride/run.

KNN 2 laps sounds easy, but that is climbing Sheares 4X. WTF.... (8X for long dual and tri)

Really need to train more.....all aspects. this is not a 1 year training can liao kinda thingy.
Thanks! Didn’t see the bikers only saw the runners

WussRedXLi

Free "watts" free speed!!!!!!

Saw quite a few omius yesterday.

This article said a study found improvement of 1% in a 10k TT for just pouring water 4 times over the course (I lagi pour like twice of this and with iced water even 🤣 ).

That is 24 seconds for a 40 min race. Or possibly a whole minute for HM distance.

This is maciam the effect like deep section wheels + rear disk and those wide flaring aero helmets like POC Tempor / Rudy Project Wingdream. :oops:

Of coz for T100, this is a moot point, so many aid stations so can just splash with iced water/sponges. (run leg @ MBS to MB has got 3 aid stations per 1 lap, iirc 1.5k distance between them)

But the other local running races a bit different. And not all have iced water/sponges (sometimes even OOS by the time you reach ).

https://www.outsideonline.com/health/training-performance/omius-cooling-headband/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.