jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Ya, learn to lower expectations. Since almost all races on Singapore are not certified. So literally no one can pb HM in Singapore. Even SCSM , I am not too sure if they are certified. I email to them before, and but they never respond. They only publish they certify the FM.

10 km race and 5 km still can pb via certified courses and park runs and doable by diy at the stadium.
nowadays I dun even pb during race, I go by my smartwatch distance LOL

Ender

nowadays I dun even pb during race, I go by my smartwatch distance LOL
I still try my best races even though cannot be sure of the distance. I paid for the atmosphere of getting pushed and might as well cheong ar. My modest target of sub 2hr regardless distance zhun or not.

kaixax555

Ya, learn to lower expectations. Since almost all races on Singapore are not certified. So literally no one can pb HM in Singapore. Even SCSM , I am not too sure if they are certified. I email to them before, and but they never respond. They only publish they certify the FM.

10 km race and 5 km still can pb via certified courses and park runs and doable by diy at the stadium.
From official World athletics site all 4 distances are certified

Ender

From official World athletics site all 4 distances are certified
How to see this info, do you have the direct link? Went to World Athletics, can't seem to find.

Edited, managed to find a pdf file at the site.. Thanks, really helpful info. At least we have some races where we can gauge our performance across several distances including HM.

WussRedXLi

Bruh. The route is the generic stadium to gardens by the bay/esplanade loop. Nothing special also

For long time regular racers or folks living near there yes of coz. SG is really too small even for running, all the races are basically centerd here, with some at the prison and some at the west side gardens.

But for those newer runners (covid runners?) living farther away, then yeah it might most probably be refreshing . Maybe even covid cyclists living farther and only occasionally come down to town so will find it refreshing. (hence all the instagram pics on esplanade/helix bridge, MBS, BEG etc).

Like for me as I am at Tg Pagar, this MBS esplanade , Bay East Garden all the way to Mountbatten Rd route, i believe i have looped well over a thousand times. Same goes to Sentosa/Faber. Coz of cycling training on weekdays that is. 🤣 Weekends then roads proper in the early morning. Weekday roads i dont do road cycling training one, coz i am not those 3am 4am risers cycling folks. By 7am it is already way too late for road cycling already, buses also will be out and about and will need to fight for bus lanes etc. Same for night road cycling, post 11pm then is good. Not that cannot do, but the risk of accidents and unhappy altercations with vehicles as quite a few do not think roads are to be shared with cyclists at all. So the extreme timings is not conducive for salaried workers and recovery etc.

WussRedXLi

I sort of regret joining 2XU, now I need to find the 1.1km to patch up :s22:

Just detour here ba. Starting from the toilet area towards the bus stop direction, turn right. ....to the traffic junction of GBTB then u-turn back

1jBCRoX,jpg

WussRedXLi

Heng ah. Never joined with my kid.
You all lucky 2XU never hold 1 weekend later.

NOTICE ON 17 APRIL 2025: OCBC Cycle 2025 goes virtual!
OCBC Cycle 2025 will now be held entirely in a virtual format.
This decision is due to the significant security resources required to ensure the safety of participants during the event, which will be limited during the weekend of 3 and 4 May 2025.
We explored rescheduling the event and/or relocating it. Unfortunately, there is no suitable venue in the city that can accommodate long-distance routes for up to 7,000 cyclists.
What this means for you:
  • Refunds: All paying participants will get full refunds on the registration fee. Refunds will be through the following methods:
    i. Payment by credit/debit card – Refund will be automatically credited to the same card during registration.
    ii. Payment by OCBC Digital / NETS – Refund will be made to the participant’s registered mobile number via PayNow.
    Refunds will be made by 31 May 2025.
  • Virtual participation: Your ride will automatically be converted to its virtual equivalent for free

winningeleven

Lucky I didn't join and sign up 2xu after found out that the distance is 20km . I have been constantly running half marathon below 2 hours during my long run and yet I never accomplish it during any race day.

My friend always tell me why i want to pay to run half marathon where I could do it most of the time . Save the money and buy better running shoe!

songboh9696

slipped while running on a patch of sandy concrete..breaking fall with my right hand and as a result.. LOL.

I run the same route for years.. this is the probably 3rd time i fell while running... was on my Magicspeed 4.. think friction not so good also even though it's barely 200km milege.

Zq7fzXo.jpg

kxlflcp.jpg

kaixax555

Just detour here ba. Starting from the toilet area towards the bus stop direction, turn right. ....to the traffic junction of GBTB then u-turn back

1jBCRoX,jpg
OK need to plan le, I'll have to work out a GPX file

Honestly I needed a gauge in the early half of the year so I can have a realistic target for StanChart full marathon, but 2XU really shortchanged too much distance :s22:

Kuudere

slipped while running on a patch of sandy concrete..breaking fall with my right hand and as a result.. LOL.

I run the same route for years.. this is the probably 3rd time i fell while running... was on my Magicspeed 4.. think friction not so good also even though it's barely 200km milege.

Zq7fzXo.jpg

kxlflcp.jpg
Get well soon! Magic Speed 4 is not known for it's stability. I have a lot of troubles turning corners because of the shoe. But otherwise, good to run with it on straight roads.

https://runrepeat.com/asics-magic-speed-4 > Review of the shoes - stability not good

Ender

Zq7fzXo.jpg

kxlflcp.jpg
I never slip and fell because I only do slow run on wet days. I also fell three times, but all due to trip on high spots.
Speedy recovery.

Ender

Lucky I didn't join and sign up 2xu after found out that the distance is 20km . I have been constantly running half marathon below 2 hours during my long run and yet I never accomplish it during any race day.

My friend always tell me why i want to pay to run half marathon where I could do it most of the time . Save the money and buy better running shoe!
Race got magic to run faster. Adrenaline and mood, so more tolerant to suffering.

winningeleven

Race got magic to run faster. Adrenaline and mood, so more tolerant to suffering.
I ran in 2023 2xu half marathon. I completed in 2hr 20 mins. I was a far cry for my usual 1hr 55 mins timing when I did my long run before the actual race day .

I ran out of gas after 10km because as I was in the last few pen and I was running zig zag for almost the 1st 10km because I had to overtake many slower runners . Then I encountered 2 bottleneck near the overhead bridge and ended up walking. I feel very demoralised after that...

Ender

I ran in 2023 2xu half marathon. I completed in 2hr 20 mins. I was a far cry for my usual 1hr 55 mins timing when I did my long run before the actual race day .

I ran out of gas after 10km because as I was in the last few pen and I was running zig zag for almost the 1st 10km because I had to overtake many slower runners . Then I encountered 2 bottleneck near the overhead bridge and ended up walking. I feel very demoralised after that...
That was 2 years go, is you sub 2 hours during training came after that? Coz seem like you post your sub 2 Hm training during 2024. Maybe you improve after that 2023 2xu

WussRedXLi

Zq7fzXo.jpg

kxlflcp.jpg

Looks ok bro....no need to bao, just water and soap can liao.

Can consider taking the combi jab (diptheria, tetanus), around 70 dollars i think.

I have taken it, esp so that i am cycling as well.

Also one reason why need to train upper body with strength training. Push ups and then progressing to plyo type push ups (clapping or lifting). Very good for clavicle, wrist, humerus, radius/ulna bone density. The wrist and clavicle are most susceptible. There is a reason why prevalence of osteopenia here in SG is like 50% for ladies past age 50.
Same goes to cyclists (significantly higher risk).
And supp with D3, magnesium, calcium (if drinking whey then no need calcium liao). I do boron as well.

If break any bones, can kiss goodbye to cycling / running for at least chao chao 6 months. If want totally discomfort free it might be 9-12 months. Kiss goodbye to the preciously built up fitness.
I broke 1 of my fingers before, the Ti implant still there coz i didnt want to do another operation to take it out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.