jogging and motivation thread

sph777

I still try my best races even though cannot be sure of the distance. I paid for the atmosphere of getting pushed and might as well cheong ar. My modest target of sub 2hr regardless distance zhun or not.
I try my best as well but somehow I do better during training. Maybe less people and less pressure haha

sph777

slipped while running on a patch of sandy concrete..breaking fall with my right hand and as a result.. LOL.

I run the same route for years.. this is the probably 3rd time i fell while running... was on my Magicspeed 4.. think friction not so good also even though it's barely 200km milege.

Zq7fzXo.jpg

kxlflcp.jpg
Get well soon

sph777

I ran in 2023 2xu half marathon. I completed in 2hr 20 mins. I was a far cry for my usual 1hr 55 mins timing when I did my long run before the actual race day .

I ran out of gas after 10km because as I was in the last few pen and I was running zig zag for almost the 1st 10km because I had to overtake many slower runners . Then I encountered 2 bottleneck near the overhead bridge and ended up walking. I feel very demoralised after that...
I learned from others to put a faster time to get in the earlier waves. Of course not so bad until u block the runners faster than yourself. Eg: maybe pen c of scsm rather than pen d. This year I am trying from pen B though

winningeleven

That was 2 years go, is you sub 2 hours during training came after that? Coz seem like you post your sub 2 Hm training during 2024. Maybe you improve after that 2023 2xu
I achieved my sub 2 HM way back in 2015..supposed to run a race and then LKY passed away that week and race cancelled . Actually my running timing is still identical than I did 10 years ago. Now 48 years old liao

winningeleven

I learned from others to put a faster time to get in the earlier waves. Of course not so bad until u block the runners faster than yourself. Eg: maybe pen c of scsm rather than pen d. This year I am trying from pen B though
I still undecided whether I should go for full marathon this year which is very likely . Will aim for pen C . I hope to run below 4.5 hours

WussRedXLi

Got XMMs and XDDs racewalk (5000, 3000m)
Not bad, 26 mins for 5k and 15 mins range for 3k
Equivalent pace to what i achieved last time, just over 5:00 pace (2.4 I can clock ~ 12:30 mins)

Regional boys so fast sia

RZWaXMK.jpg

endo5x5

For those running this weekend and want to do an honest 21.1km, this AMDK shows you in the video where you can split off from the main course, 550m out and 550m back loop for that extra 1.1km

https://www.facebook.com/reel/667785589517744

As I initially suspected (here), the extension he proposed is within Marina East, but I wasn't expecting it to be so close to the barrage bridge.

I mapped out his proposal as follows:
8Ssz51m.png

I only draw out the 1-way distance to see how far one must go to hit 550m, as u-turning to take the exact route out of this deviation would allow you to clock the extra 1.1km.

This proposed deviation occurs approximately at the 13.5km mark of the race route (see exact deviation here).

If google maps is to be trusted, you don't need to hit the actual road to have clocked the 550m. In fact, if you reach the road (Marina E Dr), you might have done closed to 580m.

Now here are a few challenges:
- Organiser should have closed off any outlets along the route which may confuse runners.
- Closure might be a simple un-manned cordon, or manned with staff/volunteers.
- If it is manned, there's no way to do this extension, as you would be stopped or even taken out from race, depending on the powers granted to such race marshals (volunteers/staff?)
- You may disrupt the race by confusing the other runners in your proximity.

Deviate at your own risk! :s13:

kaixax555

As I initially suspected (here), the extension he proposed is within Marina East, but I wasn't expecting it to be so close to the barrage bridge.

I mapped out his proposal as follows:
8Ssz51m.png

I only draw out the 1-way distance to see how far one must go to hit 550m, as u-turning to take the exact route out of this deviation would allow you to clock the extra 1.1km.

This proposed deviation occurs approximately at the 13.5km mark of the race route (see exact deviation here).

If google maps is to be trusted, you don't need to hit the actual road to have clocked the 550m. In fact, if you reach the road (Marina E Dr), you might have done closed to 580m.

Now here are a few challenges:
- Organiser should have closed off any outlets along the route which may confuse runners.
- Closure might be a simple un-manned cordon, or manned with staff/volunteers.
- If it is manned, there's no way to do this extension, as you would be stopped or even taken out from race, depending on the powers granted to such race marshals (volunteers/staff?)
- You may disrupt the race by confusing the other runners in your proximity.

Deviate at your own risk! :s13:
Honestly given the hoohaa they made and shortening the distance, do they have the right to stop people from running the proper distance? :vijayadmin:

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

If the Bay East Garden few exits might be blocked or manned ...... then just deviate towards the carpark @ MB lah......that one i dont think they will block coz toilets are there. Can then go to the route towards the traffic junction of GBTB i shared earlier.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.