jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Most of us only know China supershoes. But for daily trainers, we are not that familiar. What do you think of a china equivalent of the Novablast, Fuecell rebel. maybe Hoka Mach or Cliffton. I was hoping the Anta G21 may be the one such shoes.
i don't have asics novablast so can only rely on Deepseek.
---
In China’s running shoe market, several domestic models offer similar features to the ASICS Novablast 4 (lightweight, high rebound, thick midsole design) in terms of cushioning, energy return, and versatility. Below are the top recommendations:

1. Xtep特步 260X
Category: Speed training shoe (balance of cushioning and propulsion)
Core Tech: Power Nest PB midsole (supercritical foam ETPSIU material) with 85%+ energy return; nylon plate for propulsion.
Similarities: Thick midsole (24mm forefoot/32mm heel), lightweight (≈250g for size 42.5), and efficient rebound, ideal for long-distance training. Matches Novablast 4’s soft-yet-responsive feel.
Use Case: Half/full marathon training, tempo runs; best for advanced runners.

2. Li-Ning Liejun 李宁烈骏 8
Category: Stability/support shoe
Core Tech: Full-length Boom Foam midslice (lightweight, bouncy) + TPU support from arch to heel.
Similarities: Excellent cushioning with a wide forefoot for stability. While more supportive than Novablast 4, its midsole rebound is comparable. Ideal for low arches or overpronators.
Use Case: Daily jogging, long runs; suits heavier runners or those needing extra support.

3. 361° Spire International Line
Category: Cushioned daily trainer
Core Tech: QU!KFOAM midsole (layered cushioning) + heel geometry for stability.
Similarities: High-value professional cushioning; midsole feedback resembles Novablast 4’s FF Blast. Lightweight (≈300g) and durable.
Use Case: Daily training, long slow runs; ideal for budget-conscious runners.

4. Peak QIANLI 匹克千里
Category: Max-cushion shoe
Core Tech: Full-length State-of-the-Art midsole (adaptive foam), 24mm/32mm stack, 8mm drop.
Similarities: Thick midsole delivers cloud-like cushioning. Softer than Novablast 4 but with comparable rebound at 1/3 the price.
Use Case: Casual runs, commuting; perfect for heavy runners or cushioning enthusiasts.

5. Bmai必迈 42k Pro
Category: Versatile daily trainer
Core Tech: Dual-density midsole (zoned cushioning) for rebound and support.
Similarities: Thick midsole structure mimics Novablast 4’s design; excels in long runs with minimal fatigue. Slightly heavier but balanced.
Use Case: Marathon prep, daily runs; suits runners prioritizing stability.

---

Summary by Needs
A. Lightweight & Responsive: Xtep特步 260X, Peak QIANLI 匹克千里
B. Stability Focus: Li-Ning Liejun 李宁烈骏 8
C. Budget-Friendly Cushioning: 361° Spire, Bmai必迈42k Pro

The ASICS Novablast 4 shines with its FF Blast+ midslice’s bounce and rocker geometry. Among Chinese options, the Xtep 260X (performance) and Li-Ning Liejun 8 (support) are the closest matches. For affordability, Peak QIANLI and 361° Spire offer excellent alternatives.

Abit skeptical on deepseek's reply as i think 260X has a plate within, perhaps Xtep 2000km is a more appropriate option.😂

xllms

i don't have asics novablast so can only reply on Deepseek.
---
In China’s running shoe market, several domestic models offer similar features to the ASICS Novablast 4 (lightweight, high rebound, thick midsole design) in terms of cushioning, energy return, and versatility. Below are the top recommendations:

1. Xtep特步 260X
Category: Speed training shoe (balance of cushioning and propulsion)
Core Tech: Power Nest PB midsole (supercritical foam ETPSIU material) with 85%+ energy return; nylon plate for propulsion.
Similarities: Thick midsole (24mm forefoot/32mm heel), lightweight (≈250g for size 42.5), and efficient rebound, ideal for long-distance training. Matches Novablast 4’s soft-yet-responsive feel.
Use Case: Half/full marathon training, tempo runs; best for advanced runners.

2. Li-Ning Liejun 李宁烈骏 8
Category: Stability/support shoe
Core Tech: Full-length Boom Foam midslice (lightweight, bouncy) + TPU support from arch to heel.
Similarities: Excellent cushioning with a wide forefoot for stability. While more supportive than Novablast 4, its midsole rebound is comparable. Ideal for low arches or overpronators.
Use Case: Daily jogging, long runs; suits heavier runners or those needing extra support.

3. 361° Spire International Line
Category: Cushioned daily trainer
Core Tech: QU!KFOAM midsole (layered cushioning) + heel geometry for stability.
Similarities: High-value professional cushioning; midsole feedback resembles Novablast 4’s FF Blast. Lightweight (≈300g) and durable.
Use Case: Daily training, long slow runs; ideal for budget-conscious runners.

4. Peak QIANLI 匹克千里
Category: Max-cushion shoe
Core Tech: Full-length State-of-the-Art midsole (adaptive foam), 24mm/32mm stack, 8mm drop.
Similarities: Thick midsole delivers cloud-like cushioning. Softer than Novablast 4 but with comparable rebound at 1/3 the price.
Use Case: Casual runs, commuting; perfect for heavy runners or cushioning enthusiasts.

5. Bmai必迈 42k Pro
Category: Versatile daily trainer
Core Tech: Dual-density midsole (zoned cushioning) for rebound and support.
Similarities: Thick midsole structure mimics Novablast 4’s design; excels in long runs with minimal fatigue. Slightly heavier but balanced.
Use Case: Marathon prep, daily runs; suits runners prioritizing stability.

---

Summary by Needs
A. Lightweight & Responsive: Xtep特步 260X, Peak QIANLI 匹克千里
B. Stability Focus: Li-Ning Liejun 李宁烈骏 8
C. Budget-Friendly Cushioning: 361° Spire, Bmai必迈42k Pro

The ASICS Novablast 4 shines with its FF Blast+ midslice’s bounce and rocker geometry. Among Chinese options, the Xtep 260X (performance) and Li-Ning Liejun 8 (support) are the closest matches. For affordability, Peak QIANLI and 361° Spire offer excellent alternatives
am using Bmai必迈 远征者5.0, rotating with NB Rebel v4, which is more responsive. There is a newer version 6.0.
PEAK匹克has a new plateless shoe千层浪which appears interesting, but yet to be released.
Camera-XHS-17474598479481040g2sg31ha0s8a4jihg5n39h1jkgfjpu0nlcs0.jpg

sales69

Came across heat injury case just now while passing by Promonitory (near red dot), quite young fella (probably 20s) lying on the ground half naked against another girl , got HR chest strap sensor one. 2 ang mohs (prob tourists) calling SCDF. Little that my kid and I can do since got ice only, little cooling effect ba.
Went to collect more water at toilet but came back that time SCDF alpha came liao......nothing more my kid and I could do.

All the best. Didnt stick around for their on site diagnosis/tests.

PS. Quite high index this morning. Saw many sweating like pig and panting running moderately fast without running vest/water.
We cycling with insulated bottle iced water with ice inside also hot need to control pace. 🤣
(actually more like my kid kaobei it was too warm 🤣 )

Getting heat injury now to lay half naked against girl. :o

Joke aside. Really damn hot. I was hanging clothes at 12pm also felt the heat.

Yesterday 5.30pm run. Also very hot and humid. Stop twice at water cooler. After 9k run, did water parade until stomach felt full. 😄

xllms

Got to check with our pro @xlims.

I find the Chinese brands generally don't focus on non plated cushiony trainers like these mentioned.

Don't attack this category enough.

I have PG7 旅步 which is cushiony but don't have rocker effect like Novablast.

QD Team 2 which is like a cheapo 5km version of Fuelcell Rebel 2/3. After 5km, less bouncy and kind of lao hong.

Previously was looking at Feiying 2 or similar named. Non plated.

Outsole looks good but their marketing don't communicate the selling point well, unlike the higher end stuffs. So not sure what to expect = no buy.

I like to use Jingtan 3 turbo as a trainer despite plated. Feels neutral, natural and bouncy like Rebel.
yes, i love Jingtan 3.0 Turbo, feels very natural to the feet and feels bouncy and responsive.

WussRedXLi

Getting heat injury now to lay half naked against girl. :o

Joke aside. Really damn hot. I was hanging clothes at 12pm also felt the heat.

Yesterday 5.30pm run. Also very hot and humid. Stop twice at water cooler. After 9k run, did water parade until stomach felt full. 😄

Might be the GF or wife. Not sure. If passerby then he tan tio, "this is how i met your mother"...

Half naked with chest HR sensor = pro look
Tho i am not sure if he or the lady took off the top. But useless one lah, also room temp water (esp just small amts of it like 250-400ml) is useless.
Too bad mine in insulated bottles is big blocks iced up, no water...water all consumed liao. Usually my kid and i agaration it and then go Amoy/Maxwell for brunch, further fill up with water then it further melts just nice one.
By the time we came back from GBTB toilet and refilled, ambulan already arrived.
Another water point there would be Merlion toilet, but still pretty far + cannot ride fast lah.....esp with the stupid renovation beside 1 Marina Blvd which is taking so long to complete.

tldr - yall need iced water bros.......normal room temp water + normal evaporative cooling not very useful esp when you really want fast cooling (when there isnt much evap in the first place @ nearly 80% RH). That's my experience at T100 as well.

WussRedXLi

From now till 618 still have chance.

Today got the 20rmb shipping voucher and used it for some stuff.

Tomorrow see if still can get 1 at 1200h

WussRedXLi

Tried 2.4km today and felt disappointed.
gxFN2dY.jpeg

Need some structured/faster training i think.

That time mid 2022 i just zone 2 fun runs 2-3km , i plateaued for a good few weeks in 11 mins range. No structure at all. Assuming our ages 50-60.
Wasnt until i did the intervals and faster running neuro etc then i managed to get into 9:30 (iirc 2023 May approx. )

WussRedXLi

Brother, i saw her instagram picture.

I am very confused now, I don't really believe her now.

Chillax ba.....meet first talk later. Dont let small bro think.

Anyway, whatsapp cannot use filters right. (wait can they use WA)

Below just for laughs dont take serious hor......but just kiv in your mind. Always maintain clarity in everything you see and do. (y)

sales69

Brother, i saw her instagram picture.

I am very confused now, I don't really believe her now.
Please make sure you are interacting with a real person, face to face, body to body, not video.

Then just move on as friend, a fling. No need so serious for a start.

buffybuffy

Need some structured/faster training i think.

That time mid 2022 i just zone 2 fun runs 2-3km , i plateaued for a good few weeks in 11 mins range. No structure at all. Assuming our ages 50-60.
Wasnt until i did the intervals and faster running neuro etc then i managed to get into 9:30 (iirc 2023 May approx. )
I cut down on my short runs and focus on longer runs. Used to be the opposite. Looks like more short runs help to build stamina.

Tudo88

I cut down on my short runs and focus on longer runs. Used to be the opposite. Looks like more short runs help to build stamina.

You need both actually.

Intervals to build up your speed
Long run to build up your aerobic capacity.

When I resumed running this year,my 2.4 was close to 11 mins. Now it's at 0850. The most effective way in my opinion are "controlled intervals" whereby you are pushing and still be able to complete all the sets at the end of the day.

rarenick

Pls recommend some places to buy nice and comfortable clothings for running. Usually don't like very sexy highcut shorts and big holes sleeveless singlets. I don't mind tight fit, like cycling suit.

WussRedXLi

Yeah see what works for ya. It's part of the fun......try here try there.

Now i also focusing more towards shorter run stuff, but faster. I think more fun for my character and i more enjoy running.
Cycling for longer stuff (typically 2-3hrs weekdays then fun zone 1 ride for me with kid weekends/PH)

WussRedXLi

Pls recommend some places to buy nice and comfortable clothings for running. Usually don't like very sexy highcut shorts and big holes sleeveless singlets. I don't mind tight fit, like cycling suit.

If you are not doing any longer than 10k, try the li ning tops. I have literally the whole range, is my running workhorse.
Go for size S then.

I wear the li ning polo Ts for office also....coz i run bt my home and office for morning, lunch and evening.
More comfy. Cotton polo T cannot make it for me.

Wah basket now so cheap, 36rmb only....... i purchased at 45.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=i1u0hcib7932&id=583233688822&pisk=gWK0sM1CdE7feOcRy3sj-5Y49x0-lis6bCEO6GCZz_5SCrUxhNWwICx9kd5OjCAMssQZGiKMZp9thhHf0cXw9Qj9HsC9ZAAvClhj5iEasI9EGKCthhfNZIRG5x1O_1A9QEH-vDpXhGsNjXnKvGuDCLd07s5qQ_WNQYBqFEow8GsZ9f48bZihfIJ45344zT55IOz4uCSzz9XdbO5V_YfPI9aagCRZEgWhK5rN7syPa_63_o7Ng_zPhtPNQNRwUYXCa1SNuCJriLrNth-W4bwVjcSV44ulhZfe3_qHdEW4q6mCGlPv4tvl_Kz_bl-lnZx6pyag8ZLwdwtvHcq5DpYP4tAZYjSyLUvdonc3D1_MqIYMMAU1EFvwAis3QmJlmsbemZw_cBJkQeQk2voCmi52Wi9TKjpkmIpXqdeazijvrwxcYDNV6UpHjOxs10AH3eRwSgP8zySZgl_nGe4_5ZW5E6QVjerY_WTYEYDuRq_VFthKEY4_5ZW5E6HoEyNfuT6x9&sku_properties=1627207:20183249412&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.77f72e8dEFOdbe

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.