jogging and motivation thread

basic___

Out for a year and resumed running this Feb. Glad to still be able to hit a sub 20 for 5km.

Loving the PB 5.0 so far which was my first shoe purchase for the year. Need to refresh my shoe rotation as most of my shoes from 2 years ago are almost dead.

qDAptuY.jpeg

lKkNeag.jpeg
GX GX. Didnt know West Coast got park run too.. maybe next time can join. Better than travelng all the way down to East Coast.

If I can attain a sub 9 2.4km in two weeks time, I should be around sub 20 fitness for 5km

WussRedXLi

Pls recommend some places to buy nice and comfortable clothings for running. Usually don't like very sexy highcut shorts and big holes sleeveless singlets. I don't mind tight fit, like cycling suit.

Shorts just buy any of the cheong nike, adidas, underarmours. 😇
They work. I have quite a few of them.
Actually i wear them for shorter distance cycling as well, errands etc.

edit - prob also one big reason why i dont mind sava, quick pro etc. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Tudo88

GX GX. Didnt know West Coast got park run too.. maybe next time can join. Better than travelng all the way down to East Coast.

If I can attain a sub 9 2.4km in two weeks time, I should be around sub 20 fitness for 5km
Never been to ECP park run yet. Last week went to Bay East one. Actually prefer that one.

WCP park run need to go underpass twice with a mini slope up and down.

rarenick

Safety items better buy got safety rated one.

Last time I always change my $300 helmet every few years. Now more than 3 years already, but only use once a week n ride slow slow. Dunno whether to change liao or not.

sales69

Pls recommend some places to buy nice and comfortable clothings for running. Usually don't like very sexy highcut shorts and big holes sleeveless singlets. I don't mind tight fit, like cycling suit.
Decathlon kiprun shorts not bad. T-shirt and singlet also can. Just don't get the cheapest model.

rarenick

Shorts just buy any of the cheong nike, adidas, underarmours.
1f607.png

They work. I have quite a few of them.
Actually i wear them for shorter distance cycling as well, errands etc.
edit - prob also one big reason why i dont mind sava, quick pro etc.
1f923.png
Didn't know got cheong brand shorts. Will keep a look out

sales69

WussRedXLi

What the.......

The tiongs are crazy aggressive and wanna penetrate into esp those in domestic market who just wanna buy buy buy. Shunfeng no issue. (ang mohs dont like this)

O1CN01gHHRZ01HHlMluw1Mg_!!2216571000733.jpg

O1CN01a5IfMQ1Vmoqi7cD0A_!!4611686018427384696-0-tbbala.jpg_960x960.jpg_.webp

WussRedXLi

Safety items better buy got safety rated one.

Oh good catch. Seems like this new brand didnt even send for domestic certification.

I have actually "personally tested" a PMT (actually this one is sold locally and somewhat known relatively speaking) and another GUB one myself. Advertised on TB as passed their domestic certification but of coz we'll never know if that is true.
So gotta personally test, which i use my hammer to full force whack and also 2 pax standing on it. No issue at all, not like those you see on youtube which would be crushed by just standing on it......those are the cheapass ones you see on TB (i actually have 1 of those, the outer shell just collapses). Not anything that is certified of coz, but better than nothing and just believing their word for it.
But nowadays i dont use those helmets to run errands already, i use Sunrimoon now for errands. That's why can test those and see if will fail (which they didnt).

Actually their smoke detectors too, CCC certified (can find on their fire bureau database and verify) by of coz still need to personally. We now have like over 70 smoke detectors in my parents, in law house in indonland (quite big over 2000 sq metres so need quite a few, cant afford ang moh brand ones) and my house, which i sample test with smouldering tissue and hair dryer coz it's photoelectric + thermal sensors. Regardless, whenever my MIL came to fry stuff in my house, quite a few times triggered already. So i guess it works. MIL went to watch TV and 1 time attend phone call and then forgot. 😅
SCDF stats, that is the number 1 cause of domestic fire cases here.

Ender

WussRedXLi

Last time I always change my $300 helmet every few years. Now more than 3 years already, but only use once a week n ride slow slow. Dunno whether to change liao or not.

Not much different if not exposed to much UVA / UVB, ie if dont ride much later than 10am or before 5pm where UV Index is low, no issue. ie That is where you'd get your suntan.
PC, like most car headlamp covers, suseceptible to this yellow discolouration / structural breakdown.
(but i think sunrimoon not using PC, some other polyamide stuff). There are processes to slow this down but wont totally prevent it. Same thing with kevlar fibres and UV, that one for kite flying esp susceptible even with different types of coating protection employed hoping to mitigate breakdown, but ultimately still would degrade after prolonged exposure...something like your SPF sunscreen in practice.......that's why we also use Dyneema / UHMWPE but that one in field practice also got other issues).
Its gonna be the same with kevlar fibre spokes.

If wanna know and dont wanna change and you have extra helmets to use, just do it like i do to test. Whack with hammer / stand on it 2 pax. Or 1 pax wear shoe and stomp on it. etc etc 🤣
Bo bian, that's the best that we personally can do.

Anyway this is today's UVI. 12 noon came the sumatra squall.
When the sun is near the horizon and the light needs to pass thru quite a bit of our atmosphere, our atmosphere really cuts the UVA/UVB significantly, relative to visible.
Of coz not to say that 9am totally no issue even after decades, but wrt Feb's possible UVI 13-15 at 1pm, relatively no issue lah.

5i6tsyN.jpg

huattoeat

any worth it hm events this year? stanchart too expensive.

Online see run calendar like not many events.

Ender

any worth it hm events this year? stanchart too expensive.

Online see run calendar like not many events.
Coming hot one is Lazada. Garmin HM on October, early bird registration opened liao.
Eco run in June sold out. Only ECO run is cheap, probably why it's sold out.

buffybuffy

If you running long distance, better have those airy and big holes to prevent skin abrasion with the sleeves.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.