jogging and motivation thread

Tudo88

Ya, agree the ending part from the narrow dam "bridge" to the sharp last 20m right turn to the finish line. Really hard to keep up momentum for those using the last left over reserve to chiong.
The start point has been on top for the past few years despite them knowing the danger on the slipepry dopwn slope. Coz the DJ keeps on warning not to run too fast down, that mean the organiser knows about it but just doesn't want to change the location. Someone mentioned that if they need the big space on top for gathering of runners and setting up the stage for DJ. They could flag off by walking each wave to the bottom of the slope and then flagged them off.
For the ending part at the dam, they could rearrange the divider to give the returning runners more space say after 1hour after last flag off.
Also because merged with 15km runners,that's why quite squeezy.

But other than the start and end points,pretty well organized run. Maybe lesser runners also.

Looking forward to Lazada run liao. Think I can start aiming 4.20 to 4.25/km already since 4.30/km had been taken down although with some struggles

Ender

woohoo, took a leap of faith and bought Qiaodan Strong Wind 3 and Bmai Jingtan Fly. currently using barefoot sandals and NB FC elite V4
Ya, buying China branded shoes, always has that leap of faith. Coz most us didn't try for size, since most brands aren't available here. Lack of youtube reviews, especially western reviewers. Mostly rely on word of mouths.

But I find some of the Chinese reviewers are very good, in the details. from composition, specs, and running feel. They also recommend if the shoes are suitable for sub 5, sub 4 or sub 3:30 runners. Something lacking from the western reviewers.

Skyrillex

Come to this thread more often. post your runs and kudos each other here for motivation.
Your pace is very elite. Congrats on your PR.

This was a great run. Weather is perfect. got my pacing right and able to achieve negative split (5km split chart below)and PBed. Post race hydration was more than adequate. All these makes up for the delayed start time. Can say is a enjoyable race.

Great experience with the 361 Flames 4 for this race. So far for races this is the best shoes I have used. But my race experiences is limited, only like 2 or 3 per years.

Saw one runner's alphafly fell apart.

CKqSZvPaec5dkp_kKr33w33oiXHsGNKFkmGGApitrVQ-2048x1077.jpg

image.png
Very solid pacing!

kkkkdllmkkkk

Ya, buying China branded shoes, always has that leap of faith. Coz most us didn't try for size, since most brands aren't available here. Lack of youtube reviews, especially western reviewers. Mostly rely on word of mouths.

But I find some of the Chinese reviewers are very good, in the details. from composition, specs, and running feel. They also recommend if the shoes are suitable for sub 5, sub 4 or sub 3:30 runners. Something lacking from the western reviewers.
Actually quite a lot reviews on bmai but at Malaysia.

Qiaodan u all know lah a lot reviews from where

actually I read a lot of reviews on Taobao itself on sizing and fit. Now can only pray for the best

Tudo88

Qiaodan,Li Ning, Anta, Xtep quite established brands already.

BMAI got Malaysian influencers repping the brand.

Think lesser known china brands for running is 361(Although quite well known for its basketball shoes), Erke, Peak, Dowin and maybe more that I do not know of.

sales69

Received today my 6.6 backside itchy hoot. Bought for $120 on Lazada after voucher and coins. 😄

Mizuno Wave Sky 8
https://s.lazada.sg/s.Xd8tg

SH_J1GC240253_09.png

Supposed to be neutral, soft, cushioned, bouncy, non-plated trainer.

Will share more after few runs.

First impression after 10k.

Neutral, soft, cushioned, bouncy - All checked.

Only problem. The upper is close knit type. Not that breathable. Feet felt warm. Never had this problem for a long time.

Otherwise, this Mizuno Sky Wave 8 is what NB Rebel 4 should have been.

Felt like it followed the philosophy of Rebel 2/3 and improved on the softness and bounciness.

The actual Rebel 4 tried going into Novablast territory and ended up no where imho.

Also if NB ever want to launch a Rebel Pro line, they just need to private label Bmai Jingtan 3.0 Turbo. Settled.

Conclusion: this is really backside itchy hoot. I still have Rebel 2/3 in cold storage + 2 x Jingtan 3 turbo.

End up with many shoes in similar genre. Should have hooted 361 飞燃😄

Ender

Only problem. The upper is close knit type. Not that breathable. Feet felt warm. Never had this problem for a long time.

Felt like it followed the philosophy of Rebel 2/3 and improved on the softness and bounciness.

The actual Rebel 4 tried going into Novablast territory and ended up no where imho.

Also if NB ever want to launch a Rebel Pro line, they just need to private label Bmai Jingtan 3.0 Turbo. Settled.

Conclusion: this is really backside itchy hoot. I still have Rebel 2/3 in cold storage + 2 x Jingtan 3 turbo.

Warning, flame 4 is only good for racing, or tempo run. And performs badly for slow runs. So not a LSD , or easy day shoes.
That's why I contemplate if I wanna make this my FM race shoes. What if I kenna low form and drop my pace to sub 7 min, it's going to be a torture for 5 hours race on this shoes.

sales69

Warning, flame 4 is only good for racing, or tempo run. And performs badly for slow runs. So not a LSD , or easy day shoes.
That's why I contemplate if I wanna make this my FM race shoes. What if I kenna low form and drop my pace to sub 7 min, it's going to be a torture for 5 hours race on this shoes.
Thanks for heads-up. 👍

Indeed I can understand after my experience with Plaid 2. Won't want to slow run beyond 10k with it.

Don't run long distance anymore but I'd race in a familiar pair that is comfortable over different paces.

Keep the fast pace shoes for tempo. 😄

kkkkdllmkkkk

wow nb fan spotted

alex22

just gotten a pair of 安踏pg7 for my 10k run. should arrive in 2 weeks
Pg7 hv a few diff ones right.
All are 2E wide right.
Tried at the store, quite bouncy.
Taobao like half the price

Moi also rotating but mainly xtep

HirotoXeno

The start really horrendous. Hope no more events will have this kind of starting point again.

Actually the last part to ending point also bad. It's nearly impossible for those that want a sprint finish. I was considering it with 500m to go but seeing how squeezy it was,better not
Yes how come people starting their run when we are ending strange.

Dr. Sbaitso

Yes how come people starting their run when we are ending strange.
The shorter distance ones start later.

But yes the ending is jialat, so narrow and crowded. Impossible to overtake if there are people in front overtaking yet slower than you :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.