jogging and motivation thread

Jurong640

Now can run along F1 area, republic ave etc. My kid also i always gun there one during weekends (ie nearly every weekend as we will pass by there lol) , nice open area + the tunnel there as we chiong down damn fast and then roll up. Can improve our skills (reaction, neuro etc).
Nobody (workers) chased us off last weekend while we did our usual track gunning. No security also.
But then again we are always rather early like at most just after sunrise timing at 7+. There is security at a certain carpark entrance to the F1 building though, but as usual they are just sitting there and not prowling.

Closer to Aug a bit difficult as they will close.

front as well as the back there all still open btw. But
Thanks, think I need to go soon before it's sealed for preparations for F1. :s12:

Jurong640

after one month u will be back
Hope so. Currently, trying to force myself to run more regularly. Since 2 weeks ago, I have been only clocking 1 run per week and each run at 5.2km.

Last time used to do 3 to 4 runs per week and each at 6km.

sales69

I never listen music as I scare I drop my phone or forget to bring when I do my statics during my cool down at my area

Use running belt ba.

Taobao have many. This one cheap and good if you don't mind the look.

【淘宝】大促价保 https://e.tb.cn/h.h0XlFNdUL25qvHc?tk=iT58VrV1Ecg HU071 「运动跑步腰包多功能手机袋透气晨跑户外手机包男女健身高弹力腰带」

mcylo

Hope so. Currently, trying to force myself to run more regularly. Since 2 weeks ago, I have been only clocking 1 run per week and each run at 5.2km.

Last time used to do 3 to 4 runs per week and each at 6km.
as u age, your mindset neef to change.

rathet than chase after PB, its better to treat it as a form of 养生。

WussRedXLi

Super crazy pace. 2:38 fastest pace for 1k intervals.

I full gas only ever achieved 2:54 fastest. (GPS reading)

Tried 1 more time after full recovery > 10 mins later also cannot, 3:08.....then blur liao coz not used to it.

The zharboh's pace for 1k.

Still very fast for women.

WussRedXLi

Do u all run at 180 cadence?

Just like cycling, you'd find your own body's preferred cadence and gravitate towards that be it higher or lower. But if you find you find it comfortable coz you are not running at really really slow paces, then it is a good ballpark to shoot for. In some cases for me, i find it easier to pace when you listen to music and follow the bpm, then you alter the stride length.

Can listen to dnb stuff and then lock into the zone. Very easy for me (used to it liao) if do high 3s to 5 min/km paces. Ok for me @ 1.74m with a 79-80cm inseam if you need a reference (much taller or much taller runners would definitely be different).

179 for this. There are some dnb stuff that are a wee bit faster, 182-183.
Use an app that uses a manual tapper that can calculate the bpm.

But if currently if you are well over 20% away from this ballpark, you need to slowly adjust to it and not in 1 or 2 sessions.

ps. For me, listening to dnb also kinds of numbs the pain and supports me mentally to gun it.
Actually same for cycling, but not too loud coz dangerous if mask vehicle noises.

Ender

Do u all run at 180 cadence?
Not a metric one should be obsessed about. Too many influencer oversold this metric without understanding nuances when Jack DAniel make that statement. I think most of those influencer didn't even read Jack Daniel's Running Formula at all. Just preach the latest internet running wisdom.

rarenick

Not a metric one should be obsessed about. Too many influencer oversold this metric without understanding nuances when Jack DAniel make that statement. I think most of those influencer didn't even read Jack Daniel's Running Formula at all. Just preach the latest internet running wisdom.

Coz they only know Jack Daniel whiskey.

rarenick

Just like cycling, you'd find your own body's preferred cadence and gravitate towards that be it higher or lower. But if you find you find it comfortable coz you are not running at really really slow paces, then it is a good ballpark to shoot for. In some cases for me, i find it easier to pace when you listen to music and follow the bpm, then you alter the stride length.
Can listen to dnb stuff and then lock into the zone. Very easy for me (used to it liao) if do high 3s to 5 min/km paces. Ok for me @ 1.74m with a 79-80cm inseam if you need a reference (much taller or much taller runners would definitely be different).
179 for this. There are some dnb stuff that are a wee bit faster, 182-183.
Use an app that uses a manual tapper that can calculate the bpm.
But if currently if you are well over 20% away from this ballpark, you need to slowly adjust to it and not in 1 or 2 sessions.
ps. For me, listening to dnb also kinds of numbs the pain and supports me mentally to gun it.
Actually same for cycling, but not too loud coz dangerous if mask vehicle noises.

Wow the music so fast. Hear liao later dizzy or heart cannot take it. Will try app tapper method in future. For now let my knee pain recover first.

sph777

Recap on Income Run today. Delayed due to thunderstorm. The starting point was atrocious but other than that, I felt it was a pretty good race. Did what I set up to do which was a 4.30/km pace. Struggled at 18-21km,totally no kick at all and was overtaken quite a number of times during that period.

Lots of people wearing QD Plaid 1.5. Think cult favourite among the locals now.

After this run, think 4.25/km is achieveable for Lazada run.

8hNOtil.jpeg

dnoN4nR.jpeg
Good job. My target for Lazada is also around there. My current pb running during training was 1:33:53

sph777

The start really horrendous. Hope no more events will have this kind of starting point again.

Actually the last part to ending point also bad. It's nearly impossible for those that want a sprint finish. I was considering it with 500m to go but seeing how squeezy it was,better not
The starting point was the same as Garmin which everyone complained about

WussRedXLi

Wow the music so fast. Hear liao later dizzy or heart cannot take it. Will try app tapper method in future. For now let my knee pain recover first.

The funny thing for me is that when i started running proper in Q3 of 2022, i am the type who just looked at "youtube wisdom" and go sold on this 180 cadence thingy. 🤣 Cant be helped coz newbie. So just tried Dnb music and continued training with it lor, it was not until 2023 then folks here sold me the racing idea (first one AHM 2023) and i really ran with more structure with intervals and such.

Continued "training" with this and hence the only other variable is stride length in which i'd be varying to get various paces for easy or faster runs. But one thing i didnt do was recovery runs, like those in 6 mins range so i cant say if 180 is too fast for that. Didnt get injured (much or seriously). DnB 179-180bpm music so easy and convenient to lock my stride into and not think about it and maintain pace.

Prior to that my experience is in walking (racewalking) when COVID started and before that just Sprint Interval Training and a bit of stairs climbing here and there as physical activity

So it might or might not work for you or anyone else, just try and see.
But since you said it is fast, then you slowly raise it but without listening to the music. Just basing on your watch's cadence try to raise 5% first at slower paces to get used to it.
If cannot after a few weeks, then no need to try already.

But seriously if not racing or aiming to improve timings, just for health purposes, really no need to change anything lah. 🤣 😇

WussRedXLi

Good job. My target for Lazada is also around there. My current pb running during training was 1:33:53

Time for Tudo88 and you to break 1:30 lah.

Actually i believe the main thing is just to try more. Try more, just based on "experience" alone and luck, that might just be the factor that nets you that few % of improvement. Some very experienced/fast runners on youtube also mentioned this point, and i agree with it.

But of coz the issue with longer distances (vs shorter) is cannot try. With 3k or even 5k, you literally can try every week. If cannot get it then treat it as a LT2-ish - VO2Max workout. 😇 No harm.
1 year got 54 weeks , even if fortnightly try that is well over 20 times.

Actually for me, every time i post my timings once, same thing, many other times like easily 5 other times i just lagi screwed up the pacing or just that day no feeling to run fast. Just never post only.
But the more times you try the more chances you get.

xllms

Time for Tudo88 and you to break 1:30 lah.

Actually i believe the main thing is just to try more. Try more, just based on "experience" alone and luck, that might just be the factor that nets you that few % of improvement. Some very experienced/fast runners on youtube also mentioned this point, and i agree with it.

But of coz the issue with longer distances (vs shorter) is cannot try. With 3k or even 5k, you literally can try every week. If cannot get it then treat it as a LT2-ish - VO2Max workout. 😇 No harm.
1 year got 54 weeks , even if fortnightly try that is well over 20 times.

Actually for me, every time i post my timings once, same thing, many other times like easily 5 other times i just lagi screwed up the pacing or just that day no feeling to run fast. Just never post only.
But the more times you try the more chances you get.
weekday slow runs + 1 session of HIIT or intervals, maybe can try a HM on every weekend 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.