jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Ender

Any recommendations sir?
If really not high mileage, just part of your holistic regime that includes other form exercises, no need to spend so much. The li Ning red hare 8 pro gives extreme value for the money, especially if you can snatch it during the 618 or 11.11 sales. Got mine for less than sgd 47. Other than super shoes, I really don't want to spend above $100 for a pair.

Shawny88

If really not high mileage, just part of your holistic regime that includes other form exercises, no need to spend so much. The li Ning red hare 8 pro gives extreme value for the money, especially if you can snatch it during the 618 or 11.11 sales. Got mine for less than sgd 47. Other than super shoes, I really don't want to spend above $100 for a pair.
Too bad 8pro only has 3 colour designs…none i like haha

looking at 安踏旅步2(PG7) or 乔丹强风3TR

winningeleven

Actually how to get injured from running ah? Niggles all that usually just take a break do easy run .. don't gey kiang go and do speedwork. Been running 50mile weeks for 4 years no injury.
I had Achilles tendon injury before. It just strike me when I did my long run in east coast park when i was in area F and my car was parked at near fort road there. Have to walk back the half of east coast park distance. It took me 2 weeks to recover.

Another injury was gluteus medius. Very sharp pain on my hip.. caused by changing of running shoe that is way too firm and hard . I was so used to wear my saucony endorphins speed and ran about 1500km without shoe rotation. . This injury dragged me almost off and on for 2 months. I have to limit my each run less than 7km during that period.

VonDeVous

ukfTAEH.jpeg

new AMA from the elite coach

kkkkdllmkkkk

wow so cheap? from taobao?

LWZ

Actually how to get injured from running ah? Niggles all that usually just take a break do easy run .. don't gey kiang go and do speedwork. Been running 50mile weeks for 4 years no injury.
what non-cardio exercise do you do ?

WussRedXLi

Another injury was gluteus medius. Very sharp pain on my hip.. caused by changing of running shoe that is way too firm and hard . I was so used to wear my saucony endorphins speed and ran about 1500km without shoe rotation. . This injury dragged me almost off and on for 2 months. I have to limit my each run less than 7km during that period.

Side topic : always good for runners to do some glute medius strengthening. Not sure if that was the root cause in your case that dragged for 2 months, quite the injury setback actually for 2 months esp if you are training for anything.

Most runners do "front back" (eg lunges and stuff) and rarely any "side to side"......esp if they have lousy biomechanics for side to side or worse some anatomy irregularities. Came across most youtube or running websites/articles saying this is the #1 factor.....im not a pro but i guess there is a reason for that.

So esp if there is any issue in any way, it's always good to intro 2 sets of quick n dirty mini band work, within 30 seconds can finish each set liao......just do relatively heavy sets of 5-6 rep can liao. (actually i lazy to do warm up set even...if not doing bodybuilding level you might be able to skip warm up and still be safe). 2 times a week......set liao, easy peasy not time consuming. We prefer strength, not high easy reps....

Can even do in office while sitting on your office chair, i just shared the cheap $2.39 set of 5 bands on shopee with Rarenrick yesterday. It's literally idiot proof and takes so fast, and connected to so many issues like knee pain / muscle imbalance issues even for walkers. My father and FIL knee pain got great help when i introduced this strengthening to them like 2 yrs ago........they used to pop Arcoxia, naproxen sodium, even those non-arcoxia etoricoxib 200mg strength for up to max 2 weeks before last time before i digged into this.
200mg etoricoxib for 2 weeks, no joke. Then kneecap like swollen until i see also scared myself, tot need to go specialist or what. Past 2 years, zero cases of kaobei kneecap pain for both of them.......i mean this is anecdotal and possibly pseudo-science, but this is good enough for me.....it works.

For me as i am cycling even more than running, i also know that most cyclists dont do this.
Then kaobei pain here injured there lah.....esp when they are not training consistently and then they jump in volume esp if also there is a jump in intensity (eg impromptu races in malaysia, which have monster distances/ elevation gains.....compared to here SG). Also can sorta say the usual "too much too soon" lah......

Ender

wow so cheap? from taobao?
This pair got it from PDD during the 6:18 sales. Sales is not immediate, but the shoes from this seller was in my wishlist. So every now and then PDD will entice me with vouchers for those items in my wish list. Though the prices were already lower than usual, like 269 to 329 yuan, I didn't bite till when they finally offer me 249 yuan. Of course I run the risk of my size being sold out, coz it's the last pair from this seller that has my size. So abit of luck too.

WussRedXLi

WTF....really a social issue nowadays. Those zombie vids look serious. :oops:
My office got 8 interns, 6 of them vaping (pang kang instantly light up at the traffic light liao in the group maybe go makan or go home together). Not sure if they are on lower levels of kpod or not.

:oops:

PZ9lIfZ.jpg

winningeleven

Side topic : always good for runners to do some glute medius strengthening. Not sure if that was the root cause in your case that dragged for 2 months, quite the injury setback actually for 2 months esp if you are training for anything.

Most runners do "front back" (eg lunges and stuff) and rarely any "side to side"......esp if they have lousy biomechanics for side to side or worse some anatomy irregularities. Came across most youtube or running websites/articles saying this is the #1 factor.....im not a pro but i guess there is a reason for that.

So esp if there is any issue in any way, it's always good to intro 2 sets of quick n dirty mini band work, within 30 seconds can finish each set liao......just do relatively heavy sets of 5-6 rep can liao. (actually i lazy to do warm up set even...if not doing bodybuilding level you might be able to skip warm up and still be safe). 2 times a week......set liao, easy peasy not time consuming. We prefer strength, not high easy reps....

Can even do in office while sitting on your office chair, i just shared the cheap $2.39 set of 5 bands on shopee with Rarenrick yesterday. It's literally idiot proof and takes so fast, and connected to so many issues like knee pain / muscle imbalance issues even for walkers. My father and FIL knee pain got great help when i introduced this strengthening to them like 2 yrs ago........they used to pop Arcoxia, naproxen sodium, even those non-arcoxia etoricoxib 200mg strength for up to max 2 weeks before last time before i digged into this.
200mg etoricoxib for 2 weeks, no joke. Then kneecap like swollen until i see also scared myself, tot need to go specialist or what. Past 2 years, zero cases of kaobei kneecap pain for both of them.......i mean this is anecdotal and possibly pseudo-science, but this is good enough for me.....it works.

For me as i am cycling even more than running, i also know that most cyclists dont do this.
Then kaobei pain here injured there lah.....esp when they are not training consistently and then they jump in volume esp if also there is a jump in intensity (eg impromptu races in malaysia, which have monster distances/ elevation gains.....compared to here SG). Also can sorta say the usual "too much too soon" lah......
After suffering this injury. I went to YouTube to search and found some of the warm up videos is helpful and prevent this gluteus medius injury. .after my warn up run. I will lie on the side and rise up my leg to warm and stretch the muscles (hip and butt area). So far This is very effective for me . I also noticed not many recreational jogger at the stadium do that (lie on the side) for their warn up

I dunno why . I always see jogger like to do ankle rotation 😄

Another stretch must do for me is calf stretch.

Of all my pre running ritual . A warm up run of 1.2km is the most important for me . Followed by the 2 must do stretch. By the way. I do skip the ankle rotation...

Ender

check out this person's youtube, quite informative on Chinese brands running shoes.

Just saw his video on max cushion shoes from Peak and BMAI. The BMAI mach6 really look like their other model 远征者. China still a long way to geting the max cushion shoes right. That said, I find my 361 Eleos not bad. But not the novablast level of easy on the fatigue leg yet. But the QD 强风3TR is forgiving for the legs like novalast, but lack the stability.

Jeremy1

I had Achilles tendon injury before. It just strike me when I did my long run in east coast park when i was in area F and my car was parked at near fort road there. Have to walk back the half of east coast park distance. It took me 2 weeks to recover.

May I know your Achilles tendon is it the insertional kind ?

How do you cure it ?

WussRedXLi

After suffering this injury. I went to YouTube to search and found some of the warm up videos is helpful and prevent this gluteus medius injury. .after my warn up run. I will lie on the side and rise up my leg to warm and stretch the muscles (hip and butt area). So far This is very effective for me

Another stretch must do for me is calf stretch.

Of all my pre running ritual . A warm up run of 1.2km is the most important for me . Followed by the 2 must do stretch. By the way. I do skip the ankle rotation...

. I also noticed not many recreational jogger at the stadium do that (lie on the side) for their warn up
Maybe ground is dirty ba. 😅

I see.....activation exercises also shd work and a possble solution...there is still a certain component in strength building to it. Actually come to think of it, just side to side leg swings also might do the trick if the issue is not a big one in the first place, just that there is too much momentum to that so not sure if it would work.

Actually no need to lie on the side, standing also can. (athlean x said is better)

I dunno why . I always see jogger like to do ankle rotation 😄

When i started running in 2022, i also ankle rotation zhuai zhuai one. hehe.......
Now just do a quick one 10 rotations ok liao....dont even know if it works. 🤣 It's probably not too bad a thing for pre exercise as there is movement involved, ie dynamic

mcylo

Just saw his video on max cushion shoes from Peak and BMAI. The BMAI mach6 really look like their other model 远征者. China still a long way to geting the max cushion shoes right. That said, I find my 361 Eleos not bad. But not the novablast level of easy on the fatigue leg yet. But the QD 强风3TR is forgiving for the legs like novalast, but lack the stability.
anta PG 7 isthe lowest.peak.gravity of all running show maker now.

even brand like Adiddas the.peak.gravity is.above 8

sph777

Oh was just gonna ask u cause I bought the Eleos to replace my novablast 3, and rotate with novablast 4. Still otw haha

MrAwesomeX

WTF....really a social issue nowadays. Those zombie vids look serious. :oops:
My office got 8 interns, 6 of them vaping (pang kang instantly light up at the traffic light liao in the group maybe go makan or go home together). Not sure if they are on lower levels of kpod or not.

:oops:

PZ9lIfZ.jpg

Wrong thread . Ppl wanna get motivated to exercise here .

Not deal with social issues haha

WussRedXLi

Wrong thread . Ppl wanna get motivated to exercise here .

Not deal with social issues haha

That one really polar opposite of being healthy and healthy habits mah.......

Sometimes good to create and have a sense of comparison as we know the benefits of exercise, actually come to think of it i will show to my kid later. If he can appreciate the BIG difference between exercising he cyclist) vs kpod, i pang sim liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.