jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Oh was just gonna ask u cause I bought the Eleos to replace my novablast 3, and rotate with novablast 4. Still otw haha
It's not as bouncy and soft was my NB 2. But it still does the job for my recovery days when my legs are fatigue from the cumulative training loads for the week.

Ender

this is gold thanks for sharing.
be careful when using Runna though, it tends to be very very aggressive at default setting.
they will add speedwork and throw in speedwork into long runs as well.
i think that's why i got injured due to the high load from speedwork despite my mileage being the same.
Thanks for the advice on Runna. But I am going in with Runna next year SCSM. It's really a lot cheaper combine with Strava.

Ender

Her advice is gold. Especially point 1. My personal guide, be it injury or training, rest day is never more than 2 days. Typically is one day, injury 2 days. Have to start running or walking on the 3rd day, even if it means it's walking pace and only 20 minutes.

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1120292970126237
My philopshy for injury aligns with the above FB link and this book. Injury is not the reason to rest, work thru the pain and adapt. Like regress mileage, regress pace, regress duration or even run on softer grounds. But don't sit still and rest completely. Unless it's something structurally broken like a fracture.

https://mattfitzgerald.org/
Pan-and-Performance-Front-Cover-scaled.jpg

rarenick

My current asics shoes not due for replacement but recently went to harbourfront and johore to see see rook rook Anta. Really is not bad. Bought their running jerseys and tried 2 pairs of shoes, quite comfortable.

WussRedXLi

Only issue is - too expensive.

If not might be useful for my cycling in certain situations. Better than spending on bike or wheels if you wanna go fast.

mcylo

My current asics shoes not due for replacement but recently went to harbourfront and johore to see see rook rook Anta. Really is not bad. Bought their running jerseys and tried 2 pairs of shoes, quite comfortable.
anta running shirt, get those w the sheep head logo

supposed to be their performance.series

i have one, better than nike.dri.fit shirt

Ender

If you are not the paiseh type, can try for size there at the boutique, and then order from TB or PDD.

winningeleven

May I know your Achilles tendon is it the insertional kind ?

How do you cure it ?
I also not sure which kind. The pain is right below my ankle position and above the heel .

I didn't run for 2 weeks to let it cure. Let it recover by it own .

The pain is very obvious.. u wont want to go for run with that feeling .

xllms

Just saw his video on max cushion shoes from Peak and BMAI. The BMAI mach6 really look like their other model 远征者. China still a long way to geting the max cushion shoes right. That said, I find my 361 Eleos not bad. But not the novablast level of easy on the fatigue leg yet. But the QD 强风3TR is forgiving for the legs like novalast, but lack the stability.
At 170rmb, QD 强风3TR stability issue can be sorted out with a change of insole, at least from my own experience. Asics Novablast 5 is approx. S$200, more than 5x the price. Is it really worth paying so much more?

远征者 isn't too bad either if one like soft cushioning feel. I have a pair of the v5, which is too soft for my ankles. Nice to run, but i suffer after that. Have same issue with NB rebel v4 (even softer and more energy return). Mainly using it as a walking shoe during cooler conditions.

I am enjoying the PEAK 千层浪 both as a walking shoe and daily training. Firmness is just nice after breaking in. Lightweight, highly ventilated and breathable, looks good, and runs decently well.

With a budget of 300rmb, its hard to find any equivalent from western brands.

In terms of performance, maybe it is not as good but for the price, i am happy with Chinese brands so far. Chinese brands are already very competitive in the racing and tempo training shoes market. In terms of cushioning aspects, it is a matter of time they will surpass the usual suspects. In fact, it happen sooner than later.

Jeremy1

I also not sure which kind. The pain is right below my ankle position and above the heel .

I didn't run for 2 weeks to let it cure. Let it recover by it own .

The pain is very obvious.. u wont want to go for run with that feeling .

That's mean should be same as mine like between the heel n ankle, there's a bone noticeable protruding out.

winningeleven

Maybe ground is dirty ba. 😅

I see.....activation exercises also shd work and a possble solution...there is still a certain component in strength building to it. Actually come to think of it, just side to side leg swings also might do the trick if the issue is not a big one in the first place, just that there is too much momentum to that so not sure if it would work.

Actually no need to lie on the side, standing also can. (athlean x said is better)

When i started running in 2022, i also ankle rotation zhuai zhuai one. hehe.......
Now just do a quick one 10 rotations ok liao....dont even know if it works. 🤣 It's probably not too bad a thing for pre exercise as there is movement involved, ie dynamic

Haha. How clean we are expected to be when doing exercise..

Chat with my friend who is also fitness enthusiast who also run, cycle and gym. He also feels part of gluteus medius area is very tough to do stretching for warm up. He recommended me using a band if want to remain standing .

My warm up stretching usually takes less than 10 mins. Even Mok ying ren also mentioned excessive stretching before run is not good at all

WussRedXLi

Haha. How clean we are expected to be when doing exercise..

Chat with my friend who is also fitness enthusiast who also run, cycle and gym. He also feels part of gluteus medius area is very tough to do stretching for warm up. He recommended me using a band if want to remain standing .

My warm up stretching usually takes less than 10 mins. Even Mok ying ren also mentioned excessive stretching before run is not good at all

Dunno leh......for me i like to be really clean, as in no dirt one so i dont like to sit down, even on park benches. But i am ok with perspiration and skin oil. Maybe just a personal pref.

If wanna do with bands also can i guess, just a mini band slid over upper part of your knees and do that standing leg raise sideways can liao. Alternatively, quick n dirty method, use your hands to push dopwn as resistance ba.
Like single leg calf raises, i also use my 2 hands against any railing or what for push upwards for resistance.....i use my long bands when i want even more resistance and really gun for strength and lower reps, with body resting on my door which is slippery so can slide up/down. :LOL:

Jeremy1

Yes. Same area. How u recovered? And what causes to it.

For me..it was I over exercise ..that time I could even run up to 3 x HM in a week.

I twisted my ankle while rushing for traffic light during an early morning run but I never stopped running and it's worsened through time.

I am still not fully recovered yet for sure so I can't speed while running for long but still manageable for easy run.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.