jogging and motivation thread

Tudo88

Hit my PB as well. Started at Wave 2 because waiting for toilet. Weather was good today man.

KIa5fEi.jpeg

TflIuuR.jpeg

bbbbbw

If let’s say we cycle on the road then got the manhole 🕳️ or cycle on pcn then landslide then our bicycle damaged how ah ? Hahaha

WussRedXLi

If let’s say we cycle on the road then got the manhole 🕳️ or cycle on pcn then landslide then our bicycle damaged how ah ? Hahaha

Ownself pay if no insurance bought. No way of suing / claiming from gahment.
No so heart pain if get cheaper bikes/wheels as well in a way.

Ender

Ownself pay if no insurance bought. No way of suing / claiming from gahment.
No so heart pain if get cheaper bikes/wheels as well in a way.

I got compensated for my A&E by Npark, when I submitted the fault on the ONE service app. It was a raised bump from the dug up road work at the Punggol PCN. They covered up the work, but over time it become a raise bump. No bright color marking, and that place wasn't lit. Trip over it and fell. Showed them my medical recepit and a picture of my injuries on my face and knees. After that I realize I forgot to claim my TADA ride to the hospital. LOL.
But bicycle, I don't think can..

WussRedXLi

Last year spoke with the 2 gals before.

Fazzboy recently injured right?

Not sure about fazzboi or similar pple, coz i ride alone and dont join any group rides so not sure about folks in the riding scene.

Thinking of changing to a 52/36T and 160 or 165mm. I know how a 165mm feels coz i have that on my foldie.
Going to ask how much Hup Leong can do.....if not need to go C2C (much farther at AMK) or maybe ask some other smaller shops who can and are interested to do via appointment.

BTW this one can fit my current 105 Di2 R7170 right?
https://www.chapter2cycle.sg/collec...-fc-r7100-crankset-12s?variant=43991032168586

Oh.....cheaper at Spin Axis, also closer to my home

https://www.spinaxis.com.sg/products/shimano-105-crankset-r7100?variant=48550083363114

WussRedXLi

I got compensated for my A&E by Npark, when I submitted the fault on the ONE service app. It was a raised bump from the dug up road work at the Punggol PCN. They covered up the work, but over time it become a raise bump. No bright color marking, and that place wasn't lit. Trip over it and fell. Showed them my medical recepit and a picture of my injuries on my face and knees. After that I realize I forgot to claim my TADA ride to the hospital. LOL.
But bicycle, I don't think can..

Wow......runners really have it covered.

Bicycle, i guess is tricky ultimately. Coz some are !@#@#! expensive. 🤣

But that sinkhole no joke. If Mazda also can fall in (wrong place wrong time), a bicycle or a peloton also can.
That'd be really like striking jackpot.

WussRedXLi

Just did a slightly more in-depth analysis. Got a mirror and i got into my "TT" pseudo position, my head is down there bear the bars and chin just 2-4 inches above the bar.

I dont have a hip impingement issue per se, my hips can touch my sternum/chest no issue with my back nearly flat out.;

I have a rather serious hamstring flexibility issue though. That means with my back nearly flat and chin just 2-4 inches above the handlebar, i have a pulling feeling when my legs are at the downstroke. I could feel my hamstrings being pulled even when it is bent. Uncomfortable is one thing, power production at 5-6 o'oclock pedal position is another. No issue at all when normal seated position.

Thing is, i dig the low down TT position, can easily sustain 45 mins no issue (with short breaks in between by riding up).
Also i noticed that when i train in this position, i have a bit of lower back tiredness. Not pain, but like a bit of sore and tired, like maciam got lactate there.
My core strength and posterior chain strength and deltiods, traps, triceps sterngth pretty ok, i think no issue to tahan cycling demands.

I have done nerve flossing before but not much effect leh.

Think cheap enough to try 160mm. Though it is just a 10mm diff at the 6 o'clock position...not say a lot.
But i think if both the top and bottom position results in a more comfy position esp for TT pos, worth it already.
Coz i really am not a flexible pax. My sit n ring really CMI one, i bend over my finger tips just barely reaching half of my tibia. Some cyclists i have seen can easily both palms on the floor one.

This position i can tahan (though might not be entirely comfy esp over very long distances)

But this one , i dont think can.

WussRedXLi

Also, not sure if 160mm cranks can enable me to comfortably do > 400km per week.....*comfortably* esp with no petallar tendon (front upper part, just immediately below the kneecap central front part) discomfort....majority Z2 (withn 125bpm during night time) with 1 workout per week. See if it'd work. I have already played with the usual seatpost height and fore/aft already, nothing much i can further do with my frame.
I dont thnik it is due to my running, coz this part really not much load.

rarenick

Not sure about fazzboi or similar pple, coz i ride alone and dont join any group rides so not sure about folks in the riding scene.
Thinking of changing to a 52/36T and 160 or 165mm. I know how a 165mm feels coz i have that on my foldie.
Going to ask how much Hup Leong can do.....if not need to go C2C (much farther at AMK) or maybe ask some other smaller shops who can and are interested to do via appointment.
BTW this one can fit my current 105 Di2 R7170 right?
https://www.chapter2cycle.sg/collec...-fc-r7100-crankset-12s?variant=43991032168586
Should be OK. Your current cassette and chainring how big? Rd cage must be long enough to accommodate. Your bike is tt or normal road bike? Crank length is dependent on your height as well. It will affect your saddle height and your hip angle. 5 to 10 mm quite alot of difference for better or worse. You might want to do bike fit.

rarenick

Just did a slightly more in-depth analysis. Got a mirror and i got into my "TT" pseudo position, my head is down there bear the bars and chin just 2-4 inches above the bar.
I dont have a hip impingement issue per se, my hips can touch my sternum/chest no issue with my back nearly flat out.;
I have a rather serious hamstring flexibility issue though. That means with my back nearly flat and chin just 2-4 inches above the handlebar, i have a pulling feeling when my legs are at the downstroke. I could feel my hamstrings being pulled even when it is bent. Uncomfortable is one thing, power production at 5-6 o'oclock pedal position is another. No issue at all when normal seated position.
Thing is, i dig the low down TT position, can easily sustain 45 mins no issue (with short breaks in between by riding up).
Also i noticed that when i train in this position, i have a bit of lower back tiredness. Not pain, but like a bit of sore and tired, like maciam got lactate there.
My core strength and posterior chain strength and deltiods, traps, triceps sterngth pretty ok, i think no issue to tahan cycling demands.
I have done nerve flossing before but not much effect leh.
Think cheap enough to try 160mm. Though it is just a 10mm diff at the 6 o'clock position...not say a lot.
But i think if both the top and bottom position results in a more comfy position esp for TT pos, worth it already.
Coz i really am not a flexible pax. My sit n ring really CMI one, i bend over my finger tips just barely reaching half of my tibia. Some cyclists i have seen can easily both palms on the floor one.
This position i can tahan (though might not be entirely comfy esp over very long distances)

But this one , i dont think can.

Lower your seat first. Might even need to move cleats slightly away from the front. Suspect u are tip toeing when cycling, ie heels up. Seems too much usage on your hamstrings and perhaps also hips rocking left right since lower back is sore. But after u change crank length, need to readjust seat height. Your problem now is likely over stretching and straining your hamstrings. Do u once in a while (esp in the middle of sleep) having cramp on the hamstrings? If yes, it is quite severe over working them.

Any particular reason why u adjust fore aft, and do u know what u are actually trying to achieve? Or just trying luck only?

Also a bit strange when u say your back is inflexible but yet can go flat with knees near sternum.

WussRedXLi

Lower your seat first. Might even need to move cleats slightly away from the front. Suspect u are tip toeing when cycling, ie heels up. Seems too much usage on your hamstrings and perhaps also hips rocking left right since lower back is sore. But after u change crank length, need to readjust seat height. Your problem now is likely over stretching and straining your hamstrings. Do u once in a while (esp in the middle of sleep) having cramp on the hamstrings? If yes, it is quite severe over working them.

Any particular reason why u adjust fore aft, and do u know what u are actually trying to achieve? Or just trying luck only?

For saddle fore aft, this is done after i have set the saddle height properly. What i did when i got the new road bike is to get the saddle height calculator and punch in the inseam height. Made a mark with a scotch take + marker pen and noted the height so that i can adjust easily in future. Actually that already felt pretty good initially already, but i saw another youtube video something about fine tuning that by lowering it by 2-3mm each time and going by feel something about having the most control at the downstroke.
I asked my kid to take video of my back and from the side, looks like not much tip toe and pelvis instability leh. Though probably not to the level of bike fitters accuracy, i think shd be close enough.....coz i think for the fitters they also fit depends on the situation and what the riders want, no real hard and fast rule.

Also for me i don't ride 1 shot long rides one, usually per day i never get above 60-70km range.

Then after having dialed in my preferred saddle height, i dialed in fore/aft so that i can maintain a 45 deg bend forwards without having to hold onto the bars....... so for me i did that and tested with 1 min duration without having to hold onto the bars with a 45 deg front bent. I think that is the correct thing to do right?

Yeah i know after changing crank length, need to adjust the height + a bit of the fore/aft again, no issue ba.

No i dont have overworked or cramped hamstrings or for that matter any cramped muscles. No cramps while sleeping also. For reference, i train a fair bit of the hamstrings with bands and my current strength, while still not able to do a nordic curl from the ground up, i can slowly curl downwards (ie negative rep) comfortably past 45 deg before i fall towards the floor.....or i can maintain an isometric hold @ 45 deg no issue. Coz i train all muscle groups for running purpose also ba.....including things like hamstrings, anterior tibialis, TFL.
Not sure if it might be helping a bit in this sense as well to mask....

But one thing is for sure, earlier this year i have changed my foldie to 165mm cranks (from 170), that one is quite easy and cheap, Litepro 165mm is only $40 from Taobao, and i just asked my home biz pal to change for me @ $15 only. So far so good, no issue.
So that is why i have confidence with 160mm, this is for my case.

But ultimately, is hands itchy also.....this is the cheapest and best bang for the buck upgrade that i can think of now. 🤣
ie not really intending to spend anymore.

Also a bit strange when u say your back is inflexible but yet can go flat with knees near sternum.

Yeah coz of slightly old age i think, there is a bit of a hunched back around L5 disc, or about middle of the spine...that is whenever i am standing or sitting. My posture (shoulders/scapula) also a bit rounded forwards.....that's also one reason why i gotta do posterior/back muscles training with pull exercises, coz i train a fair bit of push ups so gotta like balance it up.

But just now i just confirmed while lying down flat on the floor, the upper legs (ie femur part) can be bent all the way and touch the chest/ribs. Or put it this way also, i can sit on my chair now and both legs' femur i can bend and touch tightly against my chest but that is with the knees fully bent as well.
However, i cannot do this while in the sit n reach position, ie knees fully straightened. So it's due to the hamstring tightness restricting the ROM.

Like this , no issue my upper leg / thigh can touch the chest.

I have already tried the nerve glide / nerve floss........ and stretches like this. Many months liao. Not working for me. 🤣

winningeleven

Below 2hr 30 mins I very happy Liao 😂
But likely won’t happen lah, coz like torturing ownself
If u r younger than me (48 years old)..still possible to go below 2hr for HM.

Actually I feel to go 10km below 50 mins is much tougher than HM below 2 hours..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.