jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

36t your climbing slightly affected because the chain line is now nearer to the rear wheel hub, not as efficient (and hopefully not increase chances of chain drop when not careful).

Actually I kinda regretted changing from 50 to 52 chainset.

New era and c2c both are reputable.

I dont really like climbing actually, but still can climb a bit just for kicks. Is due to the hot weather here basically, high power but literally no wind for cooling.

But ON lah, tomorrow night go hoot a few laps of Sentosa to test.

rarenick

I dont really like climbing actually, but still can climb a bit just for kicks. Is due to the hot weather here basically, high power but literally no wind for cooling.
But ON lah, tomorrow night go hoot a few laps of Sentosa to test.
Go easy. New setup needs to adapt.

rarenick

Here’s a detailed summary of the episode featuring Dr. Rhonda Patrick on The Diary of a CEO with Steven Bartlett, titled **"Anti‑Aging Expert: Missing This Vitamin Is As Bad As Smoking! The Truth About Creatine!"**

---

🧠 Key Insights

1. Lifestyle vs. Genetics in Aging

Up to 70% of how we age is determined by lifestyle choices rather than DNA .

Incorporating behavior changes can dramatically impact longevity and functional health.

2. Vitamin D & Omega‑3 Deficiency Risks

Vitamin D deficiency may raise dementia risk by 80%.

Low omega‑3 index is linked to mortality risks comparable to smoking .

3. Exercise: Can Reverse Heart Age

A structured training program over two years can reverse heart age by approximately 20 years .

Studies show hippocampus (memory-related region) in older adults can grow by 1–2% per year with regular exercise instead of shrinkage .

4. Creatine Beyond Muscle Performance

A high 25–30 g creatine dose reversed cognitive decline after 21 hours of sleep deprivation, making users perform better than well-rested peers .

Creatine benefits include vascular health: 5 g/day supplementation improved macro- and microvascular endothelial function, potentially reducing cardiovascular events by ~13% .

5. Magnesium’s Mortality Impact

Adequate magnesium intake is associated with a 40% lower all-cause mortality rate. Yet, ~50% of the U.S. population is deficient .

6. Other Health-Boosting Strategies

Additional longevity tools discussed: HIIT workouts, sauna use, red light therapy, ketogenic diets, blueberries, e‑electrolytes, and other anti-aging habits .

---

🗂 Episode Structure & Breakdown

(From episode timestamp references)

Segment Topics Covered

Early Intro Why Dr. Patrick researches aging, impact of lifestyle vs. genetics
Mid Episode Training protocols, HIIT, exercise protocols for heart and brain health
Supplements Deep dive into vitamin D, omega‑3 coatings, creatine, magnesium, plus others
Later Sections Saunas, red light, ketogenic diet, anti-aging superfoods
Wrap-Up Strategies to reverse biological aging; how simple choices have outsized effects

---

✅ Practical Takeaways

Know your levels: Test for vitamin D, omega‑3s, magnesium, and creatine if possible.

Exercise strategically: Incorporate HIIT and endurance training to boost heart and brain health.

Use evidence-backed supplements: Creatine in 25–30 g doses during acute cognitive stress or maintain lower daily doses; magnesium for mortality risk reduction.

Don’t overlook simple tools: Saunas, blueberries, ketogenic diets, red light therapy can contribute meaningfully to aging resilience.

WussRedXLi

I think if he marathoner, sure can hit sub 3:30
The good thing is that he can have full recovery for the rest of the day coz no work. (he naps also)
So doubles are ok for him.

xllms

WussRedXLi

Microburst intervals again for number 1

I have a love-hate relationship with these. Feels great but i hate them.

WussRedXLi

Imagine going to your regular parkrun and have a 12 yr old ATB running 15 mins+ and smoking everyone else including national athletes / triathletes both sexes.

Bonus

WussRedXLi

Go easy. New setup needs to adapt.

Yeah i know need to be progressive generally speaking, but this one multiple literature said this change in crankarm length our body/brain literally adapts instantly. Technically also wont get injured (by going smaller)

But to be sure i think need 2 consecutive nights of high mileage (like 60km for me). That is when previously i always start to notice a wee wee bit of discomfort at the front petallar top part of the tendon. (not pain)

xllms

I think more or less there. Also so far done around 5000km mileage on the Sava R7, bike hardware so far so good leh.....no injuries with the DIYed position, maybe occasionally i have that front petallar tendon upper part a bit uncomfortable but not painful. 1 day recover ok liao. Shd be dialed in pretty ok for my use cases/distance.

But i know too short a seatpost really whacks the petallar as well. Coz once my seatpost slipped (not torqued down sufficiently when i was riding on the bike at first), wah lao.....the pain was obvious mid right. Heng i always have allen key tied to the seat as i was then playing with the torque. (the 8Nm max torque + CF paste + riding a bit and then hitting on it from all directions did not work,,,,eventually torqued to 15Nm and pray no crack, so far so good even after hitting pot holes).

Maybe will do a bike fit eventually if doing longer distances or harder distances/climbs esp for the MY races, but i also doubt so lah.
Like T100 full duathlon 64k with + 600m of Sheares bridge and other more minor slopes and no drafting allowed i think already i'd hate that (coz got 18k run also, i am already not digging the standard distance total 10k)

But part of the fun is also the journey of figuring things out. heh.....
But also must control. If not black holes abound, it's like Hifi like that
congrats on your new toy @WussRedXLi :giggle:
btw, what made you choose the Sava R7 when there are so many options in the market

sales69

Guys, weather damn hot and humid now. Remember to stay hydrated. Best run in shade.

This evening started run at 5.40pm. Supposed to easy run 4k then attempt a 2.4k.

But hao lian. Went to run 4k under sun for suntan. Took a water break. Drinking water from water cooler is warm. At this moment already feel not quite right and thought of quitting.

End up want to speed up for 2.4 also cannot. Can only chug along and struggle to finish.

Don't play play with the heat.

rarenick

Guys, weather damn hot and humid now. Remember to stay hydrated. Best run in shade.
This evening started run at 5.40pm. Supposed to easy run 4k then attempt a 2.4k.
But hao lian. Went to run 4k under sun for suntan. Took a water break. Drinking water from water cooler is warm. At this moment already feel not quite right and thought of quitting.
End up want to speed up for 2.4 also cannot. Can only chug along and struggle to finish.
Don't play play with the heat.
How can we know at which point is our heat injury limit?

SyraLeo

For those who dont know......that's Lor Sesuai

Anyway for south siders like sph777 can just loop Sentosa or something, for more scenery.

South side all along WCH also a fair number of climbs to do in a string.
All these are not so well known in the running circle, so for those who are interested can try....
It is not easy even for endurance runners if do all the west side ones.

you can still cycle in to sentosa?

i last did in 2012, they made us pay like... 4 bucks? then i heard it was banned shortly after.

Kuudere

I think if he marathoner, sure can hit sub 3:30
The good thing is that he can have full recovery for the rest of the day coz no work. (he naps also)
So doubles are ok for him.

A bit too far fetched.

Based on last year results, fastest Singaporean 60-69 year old ran 3:36 FM, while 70+ year old ran 4:11 FM.

https://www.singaporemarathon.com/results/

50s still got chance, quite a number managed to hit it still.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.