jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

For saddle fore aft, this is done after i have set the saddle height properly. What i did when i got the new road bike is to get the saddle height calculator and punch in the inseam height. Made a mark with a scotch take + marker pen and noted the height so that i can adjust easily in future. Actually that already felt pretty good initially already, but i saw another youtube video something about fine tuning that by lowering it by 2-3mm each time and going by feel something about having the most control at the downstroke.
I asked my kid to take video of my back and from the side, looks like not much tip toe and pelvis instability leh. Though probably not to the level of bike fitters accuracy, i think shd be close enough.....coz i think for the fitters they also fit depends on the situation and what the riders want, no real hard and fast rule.
Also for me i don't ride 1 shot long rides one, usually per day i never get above 60-70km range.
Then after having dialed in my preferred saddle height, i dialed in fore/aft so that i can maintain a 45 deg bend forwards without having to hold onto the bars....... so for me i did that and tested with 1 min duration without having to hold onto the bars with a 45 deg front bent. I think that is the correct thing to do right?
Yeah i know after changing crank length, need to adjust the height + a bit of the fore/aft again, no issue ba.
No i dont have overworked or cramped hamstrings or for that matter any cramped muscles. No cramps while sleeping also. For reference, i train a fair bit of the hamstrings with bands and my current strength, while still not able to do a nordic curl from the ground up, i can slowly curl downwards comfortably past 45 deg.....or do an isometric hold @ 45 deg no issue. Coz i train all muscle groups for running purpose also ba.
Not sure if it might be helping a bit in this sense as well to mask....
But one thing is for sure, earlier this year i have changed my foldie to 165mm cranks (from 170), that one is quite easy and cheap, Litepro 165mm is only $40 from Taobao, and i just asked my home biz pal to change for me @ $15 only. So far so good, no issue.
So that is why i have confidence with 160mm, this is for my case.
Yeah coz of slightly old age i think, there is a bit of a hunched back around L5 disc, or about middle of the spine...that is whenever i am standing or sitting. My posture (shoulders/scapula) also a bit rounded forwards.....that's also one reason why i gotta do posterior/back muscles training with pull exercises, coz i train a fair bit of push ups so gotta like balance it up.
But just now i just confirmed while lying down flat on the floor, the upper legs (ie femur part) can be bent all the way and touch the chest/ribs. Or put it this way also, i can sit on my chair now and both legs' femur i can bend and touch tightly against my chest but that is with the knees fully bent as well.
However, i cannot do this while in the sit n reach position, ie knees fully straightened. So it's due to the hamstring tightness restricting the ROM.

U got most things covered. The only things I suspect are cleats position and hip angle. Any further is also beyond my knowledge. Maybe consider doing a bike fit after the new crank is fitted.

WussRedXLi

U got most things covered. The only things I suspect are cleats position and hip angle. Any further is also beyond my knowledge. Maybe consider doing a bike fit after the new crank is fitted.

I think more or less there. Also so far done around 5000km mileage on the Sava R7, bike hardware so far so good leh.....no injuries with the DIYed position, maybe occasionally i have that front petallar tendon upper part a bit uncomfortable but not painful. 1 day recover ok liao. Shd be dialed in pretty ok for my use cases/distance.

But i know too short a seatpost really whacks the petallar as well. Coz once my seatpost slipped (not torqued down sufficiently when i was riding on the bike at first), wah lao.....the pain was obvious mid right. Heng i always have allen key tied to the seat as i was then playing with the torque. (the 8Nm max torque + CF paste + riding a bit and then hitting on it from all directions did not work,,,,eventually torqued to 15Nm and pray no crack, so far so good even after hitting pot holes).

Maybe will do a bike fit eventually if doing longer distances or harder distances/climbs esp for the MY races, but i also doubt so lah.
Like T100 full duathlon 64k with + 600m of Sheares bridge and other more minor slopes and no drafting allowed i think already i'd hate that (coz got 18k run also, i am already not digging the standard distance total 10k)

But part of the fun is also the journey of figuring things out. heh.....
But also must control. If not black holes abound, it's like Hifi like that

hydeyoshi

Achieved sub 2hrs timing for my first HM race..

Garmin timing is 1:58:10.. probably official timing is 20 to 30secs more cos I started my watch like 20m later..

Could have done faster by 1min.. was in wave 3 and the traffic was pretty bad for the 1st 1.5km.. 1st km pace was like 6:53..

rarenick

I think more or less there. Also so far done around 5000km mileage on the Sava R7, bike hardware so far so good leh.....no injuries with the DIYed position, maybe occasionally i have that front petallar tendon upper part a bit uncomfortable but not painful. 1 day recover ok liao. Shd be dialed in pretty ok for my use cases/distance.
But i know too short a seatpost really whacks the petallar as well. Coz once my seatpost slipped (not torqued down sufficiently when i was riding on the bike at first), wah lao.....the pain was obvious mid right. Heng i always have allen key tied to the seat as i was then playing with the torque. (the 8Nm max torque + CF paste + riding a bit and then hitting on it from all directions did not work,,,,eventually torqued to 15Nm and pray no crack, so far so good even after hitting pot holes).
Maybe will do a bike fit eventually if doing longer distances or harder distances/climbs esp for the MY races, but i also doubt so lah.
Like T100 full duathlon 64k with + 600m of Sheares bridge and other more minor slopes and no drafting allowed i think already i'd hate that (coz got 18k run also, i am already not digging the standard distance total 10k)
But part of the fun is also the journey of figuring things out. heh.....
But also must control. If not black holes abound, it's like Hifi like that
Lower knee + upper foot tendon + hamstring
Very likely cleats position need to pull back away from the front.

For the seat post, 15 nm is over the limit. Something is compromised.

winningeleven

Achieved sub 2hrs timing for my first HM race..

Garmin timing is 1:58:10.. probably official timing is 20 to 30secs more cos I started my watch like 20m later..

Could have done faster by 1min.. was in wave 3 and the traffic was pretty bad for the 1st 1.5km.. 1st km pace was like 6:53..
Sometime I also don't understand why slow runner put themselves in the front wave such as wave 3..

The last official running race was Garmin run 2023 and it was poor organised with 2 choked points I also partly to blame and ended up in the pen D or E . I spend the 1st 10km running zig zag to overtake and very exhausted after 10km. I finished my half marathon in 2hr 20mins.

WussRedXLi

@sph777
Do you hill repeats here..

For those who dont know......that's Lor Sesuai

Anyway for south siders like sph777 can just loop Sentosa or something, for more scenery.

South side all along WCH also a fair number of climbs to do in a string.
All these are not so well known in the running circle, so for those who are interested can try....
It is not easy even for endurance runners if do all the west side ones.

sph777

For those who dont know......that's Lor Sesuai

Anyway for south siders like sph777 can just loop Sentosa or something, for more scenery.

South side all along WCH also a fair number of climbs to do in a string.
All these are not so well known in the running circle, so for those who are interested can try....
It is not easy even for endurance runners if do all the west side ones.

I think the slope at our place nobody knows haha

Ender

I think the slope at our place nobody knows haha
I think @WussRedXLi mentioned here a few times. But I still don't know where. Cantonment is an hilly area. Actually central quite a few hills, like the Chin Swee/Kukoh/Pearl Hill area. And Bukit Ho Swee is itself a hill.

kkkkdllmkkkk

@xllms what running singlet or vest from taobao will u recommend??? nike aeroswift like damn shiok but i cant afford $100 for one

WussRedXLi

I think @WussRedXLi mentioned here a few times. But I still don't know where. Cantonment is an hilly area. Actually central quite a few hills, like the Chin Swee/Kukoh/Pearl Hill area. And Bukit Ho Swee is itself a hill.

Oh, that one is just Yan Kit Rd, very small hill lah, very very low traffic also so it is suitable esp off peak periods....can run on the pathway or even road. Cantonment road/sidewalk not suitable to run.
But it is only suitable for hill sprints coz short distance, not really hill intervals. But srsly is enough liao lah.

WussRedXLi

@xllms what running singlet or vest from taobao will u recommend??? nike aeroswift like damn shiok but i cant afford $100 for one

Srsly bro, if you like it, just get it. Invest in the $100, shiok shiok, just 1 solid nice one with brand ok already. $100 still pretty afforadable for the vast majority of working folks.
Then for rougher use for short runs, get a few pieces from TB.

Coz actually it is pretty simple, you'd just need 1 solid T, 1 solid singlet, can liao. Hand wash it and just wring it a bit (no need to be too dry) and it dries within 3-4 hrs, ie next day can use. You can use that piece for 1000 runs, this kind of material still would look ok.

WussRedXLi

Lower knee + upper foot tendon + hamstring
Very likely cleats position need to pull back away from the front.

For the seat post, 15 nm is over the limit. Something is compromised.

Just got the 105 52/36 and 165mm crank arms. $178 and 35 labour. So many places no stock in this configuration, even Shimano also dont have. Only managed to find at New Era Cycle and C2C. Actually i prefer 160mm, but that is only available in Ultegra, $330 at C2C and New Era Cycle but i am not gonna pay that $$$ for just a 18g savings.

Looking forward to try at Sentosa downhills, my 50/34 a bit limiting for speed....not that 52/36 is a world of difference of coz but at least get +2 kmh at the same cadence in top gear.
Tommorow night go hoot 80km Z2 which is my mileage limit see see.
Going to adjust a bit the seat later to factor for the 165.

Actually i am not on cleats, just wearing TB flat cycling shoes which locks on pretty well to the flat pedals but with 12 pins, MTB size.

rarenick

Just got the 105 52/36 and 165mm crank arms. $178 and 35 labour. So many places no stock in this configuration, even Shimano also dont have. Only managed to find at New Era Cycle and C2C. Actually i prefer 160mm, but that is only available in Ultegra, $330 at C2C and New Era Cycle but i am not gonna pay that $$$ for just a 18g savings.
Looking forward to try at Sentosa downhills, my 50/34 a bit limiting for speed....not that 52/36 is a world of difference of coz but at least get +2 kmh at the same cadence in top gear.
Tommorow night go hoot 80km Z2 which is my mileage limit see see.
Going to adjust a bit the seat later to factor for the 165.
Actually i am not on cleats, just wearing TB flat cycling shoes which locks on pretty well to the flat pedals but with 12 pins, MTB size.

No cleats then depending on where u place foot on pedals.

52 vs 50, 36 vs 34

It will slightly affect your current cadence/speed at each sprocket even though you didn't change cassette.

52t you might go faster at the same chain line.
36t your climbing slightly affected because the chain line is now nearer to the rear wheel hub, not as efficient (and hopefully not increase chances of chain drop when not careful).

Actually I kinda regretted changing from 50 to 52 chainset.

New era and c2c both are reputable.

WussRedXLi

Or you all can run 3 laps of Sentosa. 3 laps of 13.5km each = 40.5
Elevation gain would also be no joke.
Actually much more shag than any FM.

edit - oh, Jasper GPS noted it to be 483m of gain. But slightly different route from mine. But i think 400m cannot siam one lah.

LTyGaGV.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.