jogging and motivation thread

sales69

Yo bros.......

Anybody got any lobang from online sources (other than iherb of coz) for 1kg unflavoured creatine monohydrate?

Best deal right now i have gotten is S$35-36 after discounts (shipping inclusive, foc when hit usd 60 for eg) for 1kg from iherb. California Gold Nutrition, reputable and 3rd party tested.

Cant find much from shopee it seems.
Wah you whack so much Creatine?

Do you have Lazada coins?

I added a random Creatine 250g x 4. Around $31. (after minus my $11 worth of Lazcoins)

WussRedXLi

Wah you whack so much Creatine?

Do you have Lazada coins?

I added a random Creatine 250g x 4. Around $31. (after minus my $11 worth of Lazcoins)

10g per day per pax, for me is muscle + VO2max microburst intervals shd be good, plus cognitive benefits.
Also esp for my kid (cognitive stress, studying, exams, tuition on top of normal lessons). My pops has mild cognitive impairment / MCI.....ie just beneathe dementia, still rather high functioning......
Need like 8-10g to really cross the blood-brain barrier. Muscles easy enough, 3-5g ok liao.
For me and pops is 2 x 5g doses, no lao sai.
My kid needs to be 3 x 3.3g and also 2 doses need to be after meals......if not got a bit of lao sai.

So overall is approx 30g per day max load. Sometimes some days might slack off a little, but that's about it.
So that is nearly 1kg per month liao, 12kg per year.

Ok Lazada i go chk.

sales69

10g per day per pax, for me is muscle + VO2max microburst intervals shd be good, plus cognitive benefits.
Also esp for my kid (cognitive stress). My pops has mild cognitive impairment, still rather high functioning......
Need like 8-10g to really cross the blood-brain barrier. Muscles easy enough, 3-5g ok liao.
For me and pops is 2 x 5g doses, no lao sai.
My kid needs to be 3 x 3.3g and also 2 doses need to be after meals......if not got a bit of lao sai.

So overall is approx 30g per day max load. Sometimes some days might slack off a little, but that's about it.
So that is nearly 1kg per month liao, 12kg per year.

Ok Lazada i go chk.
Interesting. Maybe I will explore beyond 5g.

The brand I added to cart is GreenPeople creatine.

Should in the coins section to get maximal coin discount.

WussRedXLi

Go search/check the few youtube vids, got a few vids and all the quoted studies are there.

Ender

Yo bros.......

Anybody got any lobang from online sources (other than iherb of coz) for 1kg unflavoured creatine monohydrate?

Best deal right now i have gotten is S$35-36 after discounts (shipping inclusive, foc when hit usd 60 for eg) for 1kg from iherb. California Gold Nutrition, reputable and 3rd party tested.

Cant find much from shopee it seems.
Only bought from lazada and iherb during sales. My stock can last for a year, so can afford to wait till next sales come around and hoot a few bottles.

Lazada usually has more frequent sales due to their monthly 1.1,2.2 .... and payday sales.

Ender

I seen this green people on lazada or shopee before, their price quite cheap. But they seems to be from Malysia and product likely from china factory. So really no confidence if they have the real thing.

From Lazada/shopee, I usually get from this seller Ultimate Sup. Coz they usually have good coupons during sales and they carry legit brands.

sph777

WTH. Think I received a chiong Plaid 2? I felt mine is damn firm! :s13:

But energy return indeed is tops.

I did tried putting in Mizuno Wave Sky insole and the feel became softer and more enjoyable. No more flat slab as I described earlier.

Also bought the Plaid 2 insole. Not as soft as Mizuno but have increased energy return.

The shoes are true to size and I thought there's no space left for insole. But somehow the upper stretches out enough. Can't speak for over 10k though.
Depends on personal opinion ba. For me feels soft haha. Haven’t run enough in it I guess. Just the first time haha

sales69

I seen this green people on lazada or shopee before, their price quite cheap. But they seems to be from Malysia and product likely from china factory. So really no confidence if they have the real thing.

From Lazada/shopee, I usually get from this seller Ultimate Sup. Coz they usually have good coupons during sales and they carry legit brands.
Thanks for the recommendation. Ya I'm also apprehensive of Singapore sellers.

Not all but some. Usually import China lowest spec. goods then sell more expensive than China highest spec. retail price.

Rather buy made in US brand from iHerb. Chances are the raw material also from China, but there's QC at US factory.

Ender

Read this counter argument before. Mainly their argument is we are sold on the idea we need electrolytes by sport drinks companies, pull out studies how no performance difference between those with or without electrolytes.

But the hydration studies I participates, the researcher mentioned rehydration with proper electrolytes is important for recovery. I stick with drinking electrolytes post runs and if LSD, the inter runs too.

sales69

Depends on personal opinion ba. For me feels soft haha. Haven’t run enough in it I guess. Just the first time haha
Ya different preference. Guess I'm spoiled by soft soft Plaid 1.

Plaid 2 firmness does have its use. More ground feel, responsive, then come the propulsion.

I did my fastest hill sprints with it. Felt like there's a floating propulsion for lack of better word.

Should work very well for your pace.

WussRedXLi

Is it me or is it ridicoulously hot tonight?
Think tomorrow early morning 5.30am need to change from run/cycle to solely cycle liao.
Dont think it is getting below 36 deg C heat index for my area

Sentosa
30.1 deg C 80% RH
Heat index = 38.1 deg C

Tai Seng 30.8 deg C 70% RH
Heat index = 37.1 deg C

ECP = 37.0 deg C heat index

AMK 37.6 deg C heat index

Clementi 37.1 deg C heat index

WussRedXLi

Only bought from lazada and iherb during sales. My stock can last for a year, so can afford to wait till next sales come around and hoot a few bottles.

Lazada usually has more frequent sales due to their monthly 1.1,2.2 .... and payday sales.

I searched on Lazada/shopee and Amazon.sg liao.

Think i will still stick to California Gold nutrition. But will try hoot autoship method. Can edit and cancel anytime. First time order i think i will hoot 4 packs of 1kg, each one is S$31 autoship price. I will set the frequency to 6 months but still will cancel later coz the discount drops from 30% for first order to 15% subsequent autoship. Will cancel autoship next few days and then use another account to hoot autoship again (I have 5 accounts).

Is MIC and packaged in USA

b5WzH6Y.jpg

dbdawnp.jpg

CA6gM7Y.jpg

WussRedXLi

Going for RIBA tomorrow. Hope weather won't be so brutal. :o

Ok lah......not a race just hit check points nia. Zone 1 + lots of iced water. Already freezing my vaccum flask, tomorrow squeeze it full of ice cubes. Maybe stop once at 7-11 to hoot the $1 350ml winter melon tea and AC cool down..... 🥳

Ender

Back to this topic, as there are both sides to this. Both sides also cites scientific studies, and in Singapore (hot and humid) for runners running > 1 hours per session, I personally think most studies that downplay the necessitate of electrolytes might not apply to us. If it's 40 minute run, then the studies might be correct. I personally will just drink teh-siew dai for post run if it's a easy 40 minute.

I asked the latest GROK 4 Pro to search of counter argument, and below is it's reply.

Are there counter arguments to this that is also science based?

Yes, there are science-based counterarguments to the article's main assertions that electrolyte drinks are largely unnecessary for most workouts and that water alone is typically sufficient for hydration. While the article draws on credible research and experts to make a case against routine electrolyte supplementation, the field of sports nutrition is nuanced, and evidence exists on both sides. Counterarguments often emphasize scenarios involving prolonged, high-intensity exercise—especially in hot, humid environments like Singapore—where electrolyte loss through sweat can be significant. These points are supported by peer-reviewed studies, guidelines from organizations like the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), and meta-analyses.I'll outline the key counterarguments below, focusing on those backed by scientific evidence. Keep in mind that individual factors (e.g., your sweat rate, acclimatization to heat, diet, and training intensity) play a big role, so what works best can vary. For marathon training in Singapore's climate (where temperatures often exceed 30°C with high humidity, leading to sweat rates of 1-2 liters per hour or more), these counterpoints may be particularly relevant. I recommend consulting a sports dietitian or physician for personalized advice.

1. Electrolytes Can Improve Performance and Delay Fatigue in Prolonged Endurance Exercise

• Counterargument: The article cites studies showing no performance difference between water and electrolyte drinks, even in heat (e.g., 5-hour runs at 30°C). However, other research suggests that for endurance activities lasting 2+ hours—common in marathon training—electrolyte supplementation (especially sodium) can help maintain plasma volume, reduce perceived exertion, and delay fatigue. This is because heavy sweating in heat can deplete sodium levels, leading to cramps, hyponatremia (low blood sodium), or cardiovascular strain.
  • Scientific Support:
    • A 2019 meta-analysis in the Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition reviewed 15 studies and found that sodium supplementation during endurance exercise (e.g., marathons or ultra-runs) improved performance by 2-5% in hot conditions, particularly for athletes with high sweat sodium losses (some "salty sweaters" lose 1-3 grams of sodium per hour).
    • ACSM's 2016 position stand on exercise and fluid replacement recommends electrolyte-containing fluids for exercise >1 hour in heat, stating they can enhance palatability (encouraging more drinking) and prevent hyponatremia. They note that plain water might dilute blood sodium in prolonged sessions.
    • A 2020 study in Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise on cyclists in simulated heat (35°C) showed that electrolyte drinks improved time-to-exhaustion by 12% compared to water, attributed to better maintenance of blood volume and muscle function.
  • Relevance to You: In Singapore's humidity, where dehydration can set in quickly during long runs, this could mean the difference between hitting your training goals and bonking early.

2. Individual Variability and High-Sweat Environments Warrant Personalized Electrolyte Replacement

• Counterargument: The article argues that the body naturally maintains sodium concentration and that meals suffice for replacement. However, not everyone sweats the same—genetics, fitness level, and environment influence sweat composition. In hot, humid climates, sweat rates can exceed 2 liters/hour, leading to substantial electrolyte losses (e.g., 500-1,000 mg sodium per liter of sweat). For some athletes, this can impair nerve/muscle function without supplementation, and relying solely on post-workout meals might not address real-time needs during training.
  • Scientific Support:
    • Research from the Gatorade Sports Science Institute (2021 review in Sports Medicine) highlights that athletes acclimated to heat (like those training in Singapore) may sweat more efficiently but still lose more electrolytes overall. They recommend testing sweat sodium levels (via patches or labs) to tailor intake, as some runners need 300-600 mg sodium per hour during marathons.
    • A 2018 study in Scandinavian Journal of Medicine & Science in Sports on marathon runners in warm conditions found that those using electrolyte tablets reported fewer muscle cramps and better hydration status than those using water alone. The study noted individual sweat profiles as a key factor.
    • The International Society of Sports Nutrition (ISSN) 2022 guidelines emphasize that in "extreme" conditions (e.g., heat >30°C with humidity), electrolytes are "essential" for events >90 minutes to prevent performance decrements, countering the article's broader dismissal.
  • Relevance to You: If you're a heavy sweater (e.g., notice salty residue on your skin/clothes after runs), you might benefit from electrolytes during 20+ km training sessions in Singapore's weather, even if the article downplays this for "regular workouts."

3. Electrolytes Enhance Hydration Absorption and Prevent GI Issues

• Counterargument: While the article notes that electrolytes have "little impact" beyond energy from carbs/sugars, evidence shows they can improve fluid absorption in the gut via sodium-glucose co-transport mechanisms, leading to faster rehydration. This is especially useful in heat, where dehydration can cause gastrointestinal distress or heat exhaustion.
  • Scientific Support:
    • A 2023 systematic review in Nutrients analyzed 20+ studies and concluded that beverages with electrolytes (e.g., 20-50 mmol/L sodium) rehydrate 20-30% faster than plain water after dehydrating exercise, reducing symptoms like headache and fatigue.
    • ACSM guidelines (updated 2024) support this, recommending 0.5-0.7 grams of sodium per liter of fluid for optimal absorption during prolonged exercise in heat.
    • Field studies on ultra-endurance athletes (e.g., a 2017 paper in Frontiers in Physiology on Ironman triathletes) showed electrolyte drinks reduced hyponatremia risk and improved race completion rates compared to water or low-electrolyte options.
  • Relevance to You: For marathon prep involving back-to-back long runs in humid conditions, this could help you recover faster between sessions and avoid issues like nausea from over-drinking plain water.

Balancing the Perspectives​

• Not a Complete Rebuttal: These counterarguments don't invalidate the article entirely—it's correct that for shorter workouts (<1 hour) or casual exercise, electrolytes are often overhyped by marketing (the global market is indeed massive, as noted). Over-supplementation can lead to unnecessary calories or rare issues like hypernatremia, and contamination risks (e.g., from unregulated powders) are real, as the article mentions.
  • The Science is Evolving: Sports nutrition research is ongoing, with hundreds of papers published yearly (as your original search noted). Some studies have conflicting results due to variables like study design, participant fitness, or environmental controls. For instance, while the article references 1990s advice being outdated, newer guidelines from ACSM and ISSN incorporate post-2010 data supporting targeted electrolyte use.
  • Practical Advice for Your Training: Test what works for you—start with water and add electrolytes (e.g., via drinks like Gatorade, Nuun tablets, or homemade solutions with salt) during longer runs. Track symptoms like cramps or fatigue. If possible, get a sweat test (available at some sports labs in Singapore) to quantify your needs.
If you'd like me to dive deeper into specific studies, recommend products, or search for more recent research (as of my last training data in 2025), just let me know! Remember, this isn't medical advice—personalize it with a professional.

Ender

I searched on Lazada/shopee and Amazon.sg liao.

Think i will still stick to California Gold nutrition. But will try hoot autoship method. Can edit and cancel anytime. First time order i think i will hoot 4 packs of 1kg, each one is S$31 autoship price. I will set the frequency to 6 months but still will cancel later coz the discount drops from 30% for first order to 15% subsequent autoship. Will cancel autoship next few days and then use another account to hoot autoship again (I have 5 accounts).

Is MIC and packaged in USA

b5WzH6Y.jpg

dbdawnp.jpg

CA6gM7Y.jpg
Ya, this california gold is good stuff. I have one tub from previous sales.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.