jogging and motivation thread

Ender

WussRedXLi

76 years old senior marathon runner (3:33:27 ) becomes a subject of study for scientist. high weekly volume seems to maintain her VO2Max. She has 3 interval session per week, but it's not all out. I take it that she doesn't do the Norwegian 4X4 type of intensity. VO2MAx 47.8, weekly 50 miles

https://www.runnersworld.com/uk/training/motivation/a64295682/jeannie-rice-vo2-max/

Seems around there, anyway 5k world record for W75 (her age grp 75-79) is 21:54 just set a few months ago. If her LT and RE and all the other mumbo jumbos all swee swee bo zhao zui, this kinda timing range vs VO2max shd be no issue and totally achievable. In fact the slightly shorter 3k distance would even be more reflective estimation of the number, eg the widely researched Cooper test 12 mins or even 6 mins if extrapolate.

The 5k world record for the W75 age group (75-79) is held by Sarah Roberts, who ran it in 21:54, according to an Instagram post. She achieved this feat, surpassing her own previous record of 22:31, according to a Facebook post.
Roberts also holds world records in other distances for her age group, including 800m, 1500m, and 10km, according to The Guardian. She only started running in her late 60s.

🤣 🤣 🤣

WussRedXLi

Actually the body is a pretty wonderful thing dont you all think.

Late 60s grandma go play running, few years later adapt liao, set WR. Esp if little to no medical comorbidities.

The same goes for other sports, even things like diet.

No parking thing as being too old so too slow one or too old so i eat healthy also useless lah.... merely excuses and improper allocation of priorities. This is proof everything we have all said is adaptable.

WussRedXLi

New vid from our fav siaolang again.....see if you have idea and wanna copy anything. Actually not say super different from the other plyo/conditioning stuff that some of us might be doing, just maybe more hardcore (due to the gradient) and non-deliberate nia. Sprints up with 1kg ankle weights.....looks tough. 😓
I think our Mt Faber Kg Bahru side or Serapong in Sentosa also no 35 deg gradient .
Think can only use staircase / steps.

1:45 mark got zhar boh wants to join, not sure if she knows what she might be getting into. 🤣

WussRedXLi

3:28 pace

Rant time :
Problem is that even for recreational runners, some people cant even manage 3:30 for 75m sprints. Dont say normal non-exercising population in which their energy system (even for ATP-PC), musclature/power/power to weight and neuro just not set up at all.
My 16 yr old nephew cant, just tested like a few weeks ago when my wife and we all went up to try (coz going NS soon etc, that sorta BS lah)....pretty skinny fat, but you know, normal people dont/wont/cant recognise such ectomorph-but-still-fat things and think no problem etc.

Then the/his father recommended "just go walking" - technically no issue in that idea i mean i started off with racewalking, until the pace is only ~ -10:00 (WTF) and the twice he's been up there on the rooftop was with the phone one (WTF again).....my wife was walking significantly faster than him. (and my wife i'd still consider to be relatively unfit, but just mai hiam buay pai).
Still, nothing wrong until you hit a big comorbidity, but he really gotta start after which you'd want consistency....if not 2.4k i think 18 mins also got problem.

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

Rant time :
Problem is that even for recreational runners, some people cant even manage 3:30 for 75m sprints. Dont say normal non-exercising population in which their energy system (even for ATP-PC), musclature/power/power to weight and neuro just not set up at all.
My 16 yr old nephew cant, just tested like a few weeks ago when my wife and we all went up to try (coz going NS soon etc, that sorta BS lah)....pretty skinny fat, but you know, normal people dont/wont/cant recognise such ectomorph-but-still-fat things and think no problem etc.

Then the/his father recommended "just go walking" - technically no issue in that idea i mean i started off with racewalking, until the pace is only ~ -10:00 (WTF) and the twice he's been up there on the rooftop was with the phone one (WTF again).....my wife was walking significantly faster than him. (and my wife i'd still consider to be relatively unfit, but just mai hiam buay pai).
Still, nothing wrong until you hit a big comorbidity, but he really gotta start after which you'd want consistency....if not 2.4k i think 18 mins also got problem.

Pros and Cons

We have volume training load, and then there is also cognitive load.

WussRedXLi

Watching the podcast above.

Actually it is really true for the young gen nowadays. Mentally sick is first, then later the physical/fitness aspect (coz our body is able to take lots of neglect and living life asymptomatically until it goes past the point of no return).
Cellphones first, then socials (initially promised to help us to connect also), then....
Cannot go extreme....

Bookmarked for you here :

WussRedXLi

Best medicine for your brain = EXERCISE

Children nowadays are not getting enough exercise, coz they are on devices.

I see my 16 yr old newphew still on his phone while exercising + at the end just 2,4k 3 rounds of 800m @ 10 min pace zone 2 already, i really sim tiah.
But to be perfectly honest, there are also relatively young adults who zone 2 is at 10-11 min pace.....no harmful intention meant with this statement.

Time bookmark here :

WussRedXLi

edit - All these PB type TTs are not glamourous. For me as posted before here, is possible vomitting (abit of stuff comes out) even, usually heng is just retching + expletives (yes, others do look at you, but you'd get used to that). Which i also experience sometimes during ending parts of VO2max microburst intervals.
A bit hardcore but you do what you need to do. :frown:

Also why i dont like longer stuff like HM or even 10k. The amount of suffering (prolonged), i dont like.
Even a 5k race actually is not short a distance, i dont know why a lot of people say that is easy short stuff.
But of coz if you run a 3k 5k maciam like your full marathon, then it is easy lah......

WussRedXLi

@sph777 you go see 5:20 mark, hahaha..... that's why it's either after 9pm or early mornings for me. Or go Sentosa etc. Even the farther away Geylang PCN both sides along Mountbatten same, sure got people set up cones and TT etc. And because of older age, my vision actually not so good (i have pretty bad astig)

Suddenly zham brake or pok gai or superman from the bike i also gong gong dont know what happened.
Reminded me i had to suddenly brake during AHM also at around 4:00 pace coz got sudden oncoming, not sure if that contributed to my subsequent injury.

sph777

@sph777 you go see 5:20 mark, hahaha..... that's why it's either after 9pm or early mornings for me. Or go Sentosa etc. Even the farther away Geylang PCN both sides along Mountbatten same, sure got people set up cones and TT etc. And because of older age, my vision actually not so good (i have pretty bad astig)

Suddenly zham brake or pok gai or superman from the bike i also gong gong dont know what happened.
Reminded me i had to suddenly brake during AHM also at around 4:00 pace coz got sudden oncoming, not sure if that contributed to my subsequent injury.
Yeah, that's why I only do early morning runs. Evening till 8 plus is siao

WussRedXLi

Runninglevel puts WR at 58:04. Wiki 1h 11m for 10k

12k is
M901:34:40Roy Englert
Flag_of_the_United_States_%2823px%29.png
United States
11 Sep 19229117 Nov 2013Alexandria, Virginia USA

Dont know how these M90s run one.

1:46 for 12k for the JHK is impressive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.