jogging and motivation thread

Ender

I know I am a salty sweaty, coz I participated in a hydration study where they took measurements. Anyway I don't have all the 4 signs, only it taste salty, but whose doesn't and white stain on certain nights run.

Cramp, almost non existent for me. There are studies that counter this cramp and electrolyte relationship. Burns eye, hardly for me too.

Disable javascript if you want to go behind the paywall to read the whole article.

https://run.outsideonline.com/nutri...s-youre-a-salty-sweater-and-why-that-matters/

4 Signs You’re a Salty Sweater​

You’ll typically be able to tell if your sweat is predominantly salty based on the following indicators, according to Burgess Horvath:

• Your sweat tastes salty: “One of the most common signs I usually see in practice is definitely the salt taste within your sweat, like when it hits your lips, during exercise,” Burgess Horvath says.
  • Your sweat burns your eyes: It’s not the run making you cry; it’s the salt from your sweat getting in your eyes. (Granted, this could be sunscreen or mascara, so look out for the other signs.)
  • You notice white stains on your clothes: Look for white chalky stains or crust on your workout clothes, like your shirt or the inside of your hat, as another sign your sweat is majorly salty, according to Burgess Horvath. You’ll likely be able to see white salt lines on your skin post-run, too.
  • You frequently get muscle cramps: Muscle cramping, especially in hot and humid conditions, is another signal your sweat is salty, Burgess Horvath says. Losing sodium (an electrolyte) through your sweat causes your muscles to tighten and cramp. (It’s important to note that muscle cramps could also be the result of many other factors, like dehydration, overexertion or fatigue, circulatory issues, medications, and other medical conditions, so it’s important to chat with your doctor if you experience them regularly.)

xllms

I know I am a salty sweaty, coz I participated in a hydration study where they took measurements. Anyway I don't have all the 4 signs, only it taste salty, but whose doesn't and white stain on certain nights run.

Cramp, almost non existent for me. There are studies that counter this cramp and electrolyte relationship. Burns eye, hardly for me too.

Disable javascript if you want to go behind the paywall to read the whole article.

https://run.outsideonline.com/nutri...s-youre-a-salty-sweater-and-why-that-matters/
i have never tasted my sweat, but 2 & 3 do happen to me. i hardly have cramps, but today after 11km run, instead of having a bottle of plain water and coconut juice, i drank 2 bottles of water. Return run of 10km, both legs kena cramps even at slow recovery pace of 8:30min/km 😂

winningeleven

[url=https://ibb.co/qLxhcLjz] [/URL]

Just did a short 30 mins run and I thought i am good coz no pain when walking and climbing the stair yesterday. In the end..my gluteus medius injury is still there . Strike me hard right at the beginning at 2km mark..I feel so sad that I might have to rest completely without running for at least 1 or 2 weeks.

sales69

Just did a short 30 mins run and I thought i am good coz no pain when walking and climbing the stair yesterday. In the end..my gluteus medius injury is still there . Strike me hard right at the beginning at 2km mark..I feel so sad that I might have to rest completely without running for at least 1 or 2 weeks.
Take it easy and get back gradually.

My recurring shoulder pain/stiff also back again for 2 weeks+.

Got to rest and do light exercises. Pull ups and dips back to zero. Must be that 60 dips session few weeks ago inflamed the joint again...

Always 2 steps forward, 1-2 steps backwards. :(

winningeleven

Got to rest and do light exercises. Pull ups and dips back to zero. Must be that 60 dips session few weeks ago inflamed the joint again...

For me to left out of 2 weeks not running will have a serious impact of my running form . After that . It will take probably 4 to 6 weeks to regain back my usual running fitness .

WussRedXLi

Can empathize with him, going to take some time to recover. Wonder which grade of ligament torn is he suffering from.

Watched the vid in detail, he never said, only torn ligament but does not seem to be a severe torn (else limping liao) and the MRI did not seem jialat so that is why can do elliptical and aqua jogging. He will scan another time for MRI and see what happens comparing before and after.

You see the above video of T100 Unfiltered. The men's winner Hayden Wilde, he just 90+ days ago / 3 months, he had a shattered scapula, 6 broken ribs and a punctured lung due to a bicycle accident in Tokyo. He has excellent medical care in Belgium though, medivac from Tokyo to Belgium as he said the medical care in Tokyo pretty lousy.

WussRedXLi

Sometimes really gotta consider winging it with NSAIDs for 3-5 days (if no GI medical issues), it's like a restart button for the PC/laptop, many people dont like it but sometimes gotta do it. And after that still need another week or more of much lowered vol and intensity before figuring out if the whole thing works and how to prevent it.

Sales69, you can try to incoporate deadhangs for "strengthening" your dips and pull ups. :ROFLMAO:
Active deadhangs that is.
60 dips in a session i feel quite too much for those of us not really into these...... push ups majority of the time is can and is usually risk free (unless those with wierd wrists positions like you go do incline diamonds or clapping then not so risk free). But 60 dips 60 pull ups etc, ie full bodyweight, not so risk free.
Prefer just 1 warm up set and then 2 working sets within 12 reps....after that need to consider weighted already. Coz pretty easy to know how many Reps in Reserve with just 12 and below, then just do 1-2 RIRs, if you are feeling motivated then can consider do to failure once in a while and even drop sets to get yourself into the sore realm 1-2 days after but with correspondingly 1-2 days of full recovery.

WussRedXLi

Seems like my KETO brother in law might still be getting something wrong. Overall he (slowly) losing weight, but i have been suspecting that he has a visceral fat issue (he still has a bit of fatty liver with his liver profile).
And that visceral fat is quite a bit issue.

Butter / fatty meats grp gained 2X the viscereal fat vs polyunsaturated fat (nuts, fatty fish etc).
Even though both groups gained the same amount of weight.

Technically it is extremely difficult to outrun a bad diet, but then taken to the other extreme, not exercising and relying totally on diet (esp still a not excellent diet and taken to the extreme in some areas like really overeating saturated fats like he and his kid loves KFC) is not gold.

His teen kid also, super skinny fat. His arms and legs look normal (no visible muscles though), but the belly area is like OMG and is "overflowing" to pecs / nipples area.

And of coz, fructose screws up visceral fat gain and insulin sensitivity much worse than glucose. Mainly in sugared drinks (not fruits coz of the fiber)

Ender

Seems like my KETO brother in law might still be getting something wrong. Overall he (slowly) losing weight, but i have been suspecting that he has a visceral fat issue (he still has a bit of fatty liver with his liver profile).
And that visceral fat is quite a bit issue.

Butter / fatty meats grp gained 2X the viscereal fat vs polyunsaturated fat (nuts, fatty fish etc).
Even though both groups gained the same amount of weight.

Technically it is extremely difficult to outrun a bad diet, but then taken to the other extreme, not exercising and relying totally on diet (esp still a not excellent diet and taken to the extreme in some areas like really overeating saturated fats like he and his kid loves KFC) is not gold.

His teen kid also, super skinny fat. His arms and legs look normal (no visible muscles though), but the belly area is like OMG and is "overflowing" to pecs / nipples area.

And of coz, fructose screws up visceral fat gain and insulin sensitivity much worse than glucose. Mainly in sugared drinks (not fruits coz of the fiber)

Seems like keto is losing the war in the latest science studies that are coming out recently.
First was a Lean mass hyper responder study that attribute keto dieter has lower risk of artery clogged and this was picked up by mass media and many keto influencer as 'proof' . But other scienctists were quick to point out it was a poorly conducted and one chart literally show those lmhr were actually growing plague faster than control group which the researcher ignore.
And another new study or actually relook at an old study that vindicated seed oil as superior than dairy butter in mortality for heart disease.

I just feel the Dieters influencernhas inflated importance of diet by down playing exercises. They use to say health is 80% diet and 20% exercise mantra. I think this has sabo a lot of people thinking if they just do good diet regime, exercise can be totally ignore. Very wrong. Like insulin sensitivity, is almost primary related metabolic health which almost wholey depends on the quality, quantity of our mitochondria cells. Diet can't improve that. Sarcopenia, vo2max (predictor for longevity), osteopetrosis, good luck overcoming this without exercise.

WussRedXLi

Seems like keto is losing the war in the latest science studies that are coming out recently.
First was a Lean mass hyper responder study that attribute keto dieter has lower risk of artery clogged and this was picked up by mass media and many keto influencer as 'proof' . But other scienctists were quick to point out it was a poorly conducted and one chart literally show those lmhr were actually growing plague faster than control group which the researcher ignore.
And another new study or actually relook at an old study that vindicated seed oil as superior than dairy butter in mortality for heart disease.

I just feel the Dieters influencernhas inflated importance of diet by down playing exercises. They use to say health is 80% diet and 20% exercise mantra. I think this has sabo a lot of people thinking if they just do good diet regime, exercise can be totally ignore. Very wrong. Like insulin sensitivity, is almost primary related metabolic health which almost wholey depends on the quality, quantity of our mitochondria cells. Diet can't improve that. Sarcopenia, vo2max (predictor for longevity), osteopetrosis, good luck overcoming this without exercise.

I see i see, thx for sharing....got time i go search more.

sph777

Yeah must rest. To keep up cardio, maybe can try swimming or other cross training before going back to running

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.