jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Bro, I drink 2 bottle of mineral water and one 100 plus (refill nvr counted) plus one bun while day from 8am to 5pm.

Yeah lunch break I did not eat cos I was far behind the group. By the time I join the group, thry started to move. I follow the lead group...nvr eat...only rest less than 5 min after morning start to noon about 15km..

Eat more then. Take some snickers / mars along the way, valueshop got heaps. And some gummy bears, gummy bears easier to digest and absorb coz not like MArs/snickers which are fat laden. Since you are walking in a grp and so you might not have time to eat properly.

Also carbo load before the long walk, it should help.

You want to do such long endurance, pick up cycling, it's easier / cooler. But still can build the aerobic base.

The_Davis

Wow TRP interview Noah in person and Noah request for post race breakdown sia

WussRedXLi

Marina Bay East accident again, nearly the same spot as last Sunday's cyclist-cyclist head-on accident that i posted.

But this time round was night time accident. MBE around 200 metres stretch lampposts pai liao. Near Marina Barrage bridge end. So do take note.
It is pitch black there, and i do mean pitch black, cannot see one. Cyclist buanged a walker there and the fella was lying on the ground on the leftmost side direction heading Sheares Bridge. I believe a big contributing factor is also coz walker was at the opposite side of the walking path.

This reminds me of rail corridor at night. A cyclist at speed + dipped headlights very difficult to avoid a jogger/walker, esp if the fella is clad in black clothings. Esp if the fella is very dark in complexion. (not trying to be racist, but it's a fact).

Whole stretch no lights. Those running there need to bring your own lights. Dont think tomorrow morning or even tomorrow night can fix.

tSWx9YK.jpg

Ender

Marina Bay East accident again, nearly the same spot as last Sunday's cyclist-cyclist head-on accident that i posted.

But this time round was night time accident. MBE around 200 metres stretch lampposts pai liao. Near Marina Barrage bridge end. So do take note.
It is pitch black there, and i do mean pitch black, cannot see one. Cyclist buanged a walker there and the fella was lying on the ground on the leftmost side direction heading Sheares Bridge. I believe a big contributing factor is also coz walker was at the opposite side of the walking path.

This reminds me of rail corridor at night. A cyclist at speed + dipped headlights very difficult to avoid a jogger/walker, esp if the fella is clad in black clothings. Esp if the fella is very dark in complexion. (not trying to be racist, but it's a fact).

Whole stretch no lights. Those running there need to bring your own lights. Dont think tomorrow morning or even tomorrow night can fix.

tSWx9YK.jpg
Howcome you get to see so many accident? LOL.. I run SK and Punggol Water regularly and quite alot of traffic for cyclists and runners. . The only accident I witness is myself fall down.
Just arm rubbed a walker who insisted on walking on his right side. Get to spread some of my sweat on his arms. LOL

WussRedXLi

Howcome you get to see so many accident? LOL.. I run SK and Punggol Water regularly and quite alot of traffic for cyclists and runners. . The only accident I witness is myself fall down.
Just arm rubbed a walker who insisted on walking on his right side. Get to spread some of my sweat on his arms. LOL

Probably coz im always rounding and jogging these high traffic areas. Actually since like last year Nov i have been to Marina Bay nearly daily, else would be Sentosa (where i do most of my jogging along the Beach area) or Rail Corridor. Just now I was out there from 7.30pm and only returned 12 midngiht. 68km.
Last night i did 3.5 hrs but slower ride. 39km. I also spent like 45 mins at SG River Clark Quay that catapult launch ride area watching the tourists taking the rides.
That's how i clock like 60+ hours monthly.

That MBE place is also like jinxed i feel. Very poor lane discipline. It's full of people at various speeds, 4kmh, 6kmh, 10kmh, 12kmh, 20 kmh. 25kmh (Grab/deliveroo ebikes). 25-35kmh road bikes. Walkers, joggers, skate boarders, inline skaters, some folks going left right left right hip power skating, cyclists,

Oh yeah, 1 time i nearly killed or at the very least seriously injured a dog. 4-5m leash, those extendable type, extended nearly across the path. The leash was black in colour. Luckily i could " sense" it and braked hard.

WussRedXLi

Video better lah........

Some cyclists also go whack in GBTB, in which cycling is prohibited except for that 1 single asphalt path which is closest to MBS. Esp prevalent during weekends. Saw a whole brompton group of 10+ jitao group ride in last weekend. If 1 or a couple pair slowly cycle at walking pace or waddle in i think nobody cares lah.

The traffic for 8-9.30pm period is like at least double of the video below. Esp if Supertrees show ended.
Doesn't matter that there are actually 2 paths for walkers/joggers, even if extend up to 2m out from the yellow line or 2-3 abreast out if the yellow line also very manageable.
But nope it's gotta be whole path. And for some areas like the curvy road just outside the 2 conservatories, the curves present a slight blind spot if you are on the inner side, even if you are not riding fast, a head-on with a runner at 4.00 pace presents very little reaction time.

But don't get me wrong, i don't mind getting around folks coz it is what it is, but issue is if accident, sure is point at cyclist.
That's also why already mentally made it a point, if accident, just gun it.

DUJEOXU.jpg

Lchlch

Eat more then. Take some snickers / mars along the way, valueshop got heaps. And some gummy bears, gummy bears easier to digest and absorb coz not like MArs/snickers which are fat laden. Since you are walking in a grp and so you might not have time to eat properly.

Also carbo load before the long walk, it should help.

You want to do such long endurance, pick up cycling, it's easier / cooler. But still can build the aerobic base.
noted bro...
yeah, should get one mars or snickers in the bag everytime i go long walk...
in case...
but usually i am very thirsty i think due to the hot afternoon sun...it is terrible...

Kuudere

tSWx9YK.jpg
Covered the route at night before, still have lighting but quite dim. If cycle too fast, then really can bump into ppl. I think common knowledge that there's a lot of ppl there, best to cycle slowly.

Rail Corridor > Really don't advise going there at night since no lighting.

sph777

tSWx9YK.jpg
Yeah that stretch damn dark, I usually slow down there

Ender

noted bro...
yeah, should get one mars or snickers in the bag everytime i go long walk...
in case...
but usually i am very thirsty i think due to the hot afternoon sun...it is terrible...
Should not do it for every training. Only for challenges, like the 42km.
Reason is you want to train your body to be metabolic flexible by staying in the fat burning zone for a long period with consistency. It means your body can adapt to fat burning easily compare to average joe. In running, it's the easy days, which we run almost daily at easy pace but for a duration of 30 min to 90min. Only on challenge like the weekend LSD for 25k or more, some may resort to gels. But personally I don't fined it helpful,

Kuudere

Yeah that stretch damn dark, I usually slow down there
So far the darkest place I ever ran before is Rifle range road. At one point, is totally pitched black at the end, 3 minute into the video.

Used to run with the poly running team there when I was in NS. Have to rely on instinct and run forward. Now that I think about that, it's dangerous since cars/motorbikes can go that area one.

WussRedXLi

So far the darkest place I ever ran before is Rifle range road. At one point, is totally pitched black at the end, 3 minute into the video.

Used to run with the poly running team there when I was in NS. Have to rely on instinct and run forward. Now that I think about that, it's dangerous since cars/motorbikes can go that area one.

RRR and even Mount Faber not that safe...... Frequented by fast road bikes and cars do rounding. Heard stories before. If wanna run better be visible and do it during day time. Some cars can hit 80-90kmh there.
Actually since 2-3 decades ago, RRR already frequented by modified cars / clubs as one of the place for roundings, not sure about now tho since i do not drive now.

There is one place that is dangerous even for cyclists, that is South Bouna Vista road (99 bends). Cars do roundings there.
Though i think not that many joggers frequent there.

WussRedXLi

Covered the route at night before, still have lighting but quite dim. If cycle too fast, then really can bump into ppl. I think common knowledge that there's a lot of ppl there, best to cycle slowly.

Rail Corridor > Really don't advise going there at night since no lighting.

If the lampposts are working it's very safe if keep to the lane. Issue is that one whole stretch of lampposts there pai liao last night and folks are not in the lane. :ROFLMAO:

Going there again now, see if they fixed during day time just now or not.

Ender

If the lampposts are working it's very safe if keep to the lane. Issue is that one whole stretch of lampposts there pai liao last night and folks are not in the lane. :ROFLMAO:

Going there again now, see if they fixed during day time just now or not.
Lol. Want to check npark got do work or not .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.